DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programme


Webarchiv


International Competition
Short Documentary and Animated Film

You can find the programme in our Filmfinder, too.

There, you can also buy tickets online.

The 31 short documentary and animated films represented in this competition were nominated by a joint Selection Committee, a prerequisite that equally applies for the entire programme this year. 11 works are entering the race for the Golden Dove for a Short Documentary Film, 20 are competing for the Golden Dove for a Short Animated Film. The prizes enable both Dove winners to qualify for an OSCAR® (in the respective categories Short Film and Documentary Short Subject), provided they fulfil the formal criteria of the Academy.

The jury, which likewise consists of representatives of the two genres, also awards a Silver Dove for an individual outstanding artistic contribution. The short films are presented at the cinemas together with long films according to curatorial aspects. As was the case last year, audiences with an affinity for animated film are additionally given the opportunity to view all animated and animated documentary films once again in clustered form within compilation programmes.

 

Nighthawk (2016); Director: Špela Čadež

The competition entries come from 22 production countries, including Kenya, Lebanon, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia and Brazil, whereby Switzerland, France, Canada, Poland and Belgium are particularly strongly represented. Well-known names in Leipzig can be found among directors, too, for instance Martina Carlstedt from Sweden ­– her third time in the competition, this time with the documentary film “Livingroom” – as well as the Slovenian animation artist Špela Čadež (Golden Dove 2013) with “Nighthawk”. Otto Alder from Switzerland, who headed the Animated Film section in Leipzig from 1993 to 2005 and marked it decisively, returns with his experimental photo film “Progress” (“Fortgang”) – one of several artistic border-crossers in the competition.

 

Thematically and technically the programme distinguishes itself due to its great variety. A number of films address political conflicts and enhance the subject matter by adding new perspectives. In “My Daughter Nora”, which celebrates its world premiere in Leipzig, Jasna Krajinovic compassionately documents the despair and courage of a woman from Brussels whose daughter has joined the jihad in Syria. “This Migrant Business”, an animated film from Kenya by Ng’endo Mukii, imparts visibility to the no-holds-barred business with African migrants who traverse the continent – and is one of the rare African films represented in the competition.

 

Some Will Forget (2016); Director: Ruth Grimberg

In the autobiographical film entitled “Holy God”, Vladlena Sandu consolidates the personal consequences of the war in Chechnya in a portrait spanning three generations. Chadi Aoun from Lebanon recounts the conflict in the Middle East as a bloody dystopia in the style of a graphic novel in “SAMT (Silence)”, while Ruth Grimberg’s “Some Will Forget” is a nightmarish visualisation of the agony in an English miners’ settlement before the last mine is closed down.

 

In the Polish entry “Three Conversations on Life”, atheist director Julia Staniszewska argues with her Catholic mother about the ethical implications of in vitro fertilisation. Like “Close Ties”, a chamber play filmed with virtuosity by Zofia Kowalewska, it is one more proof of the fine art exhibited by Polish short documentary film. Dennis Stauffer and Norbert Kottmann employ affectionate humour in letting a senior citizens course discover the infinite vastness of the computer as “Digital Immigrants”.

 

Close Ties (2016); Director: Zofia Kowalewska

Up-to-date, fast-paced and anarchistic, several animated films dismantle conventional fictional narrative patterns and reassemble them anew. Works such as “Super Film” by Piotr Kabat and “This Ain’t Disneyland” by Faiyaz Jafri look critically at Hollywood myths. With “I Am Here” Eoin Duffy designs the world as a brainchild, while in “Drop Nowhere” Qing Sheng Ang has a baby crawl around in a thriller of Spielberg-like dimensions. Even the cultural history of an underestimated organ is retold in “The Clitoris” by Lori Malépart-Traversy – this time truthfully!

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Programme


Webarchiv


Internationaler Wettbewerb
kurzer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm

Das Programm finden Sie auch im Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

Die 31 im Wettbewerb vertretenen kurzen Dokumentar- und Animationsfilme wurden, wie das gesamte diesjährige Programm, von einer gemeinsamen Auswahlkommission nominiert. 11 Arbeiten gehen ins Rennen um die Goldene Taube Kurzer Dokumentarfilm, 20 konkurrieren um die Goldene Taube Kurzer Animationsfilm. Damit können sich beide Taubengewinner für den OSCAR® (in den Kategorien ‚Short Film‘ bzw. ‚Documentary Short Subject‘) qualifizieren, sofern sie die formalen Kriterien der Academy erfüllen.

Die Jury, die ebenfalls aus Vertreter/innen beider Genres besteht, vergibt außerdem eine Silberne Taube für eine herausragende künstlerische Einzelleistung. In den Kinos werden die Kurzfilme nach kuratorischen Aspekten gemeinsam mit langen Filmen präsentiert. Wie im letzten Jahr bietet sich dem Animationsfilm-affinen Publikum zusätzlich die Gelegenheit, in Kompilationsprogrammen alle Animations- sowie Animadok-Filme noch einmal jeweils gebündelt zu sehen.

 

Nighthawk (2016); Regie: Špela Čadež

Die Wettbewerbsbeiträge stammen aus 22 Produktionsländern, darunter Kenia, Libanon, Hong Kong, Singapur, Australien und Brasilien, wobei die Schweiz, Frankreich, Kanada, Polen und Belgien besonders stark vertreten sind. Unter den Regisseur/innen befinden sich auch in Leipzig bekannte Namen, darunter die Schwedin Martina Carlstedt ­– mit dem Dokumentarfilm

Livingroom“ zum dritten Mal im Wettbewerb – und die slowenische Animationskünstlerin Špela Čadež (Goldene Taube 2013) mit „Nighthawk“. Der Schweizer Otto Alder, der von 1993 bis 2005 die Sektion Animationsfilm in Leipzig leitete und maßgeblich prägte, kehrt mit seinem experimentellen Fotofilm „Fortgang“ zurück – einer von mehreren künstlerischen Grenzgängen des Wettbewerbs.

 

Thematisch und formal zeichnet sich das Programm durch eine große Vielfalt aus. Mehrere Filme greifen politische Konflikte auf und ergänzen sie um neue Perspektiven. In „My Daughter Nora“, der in Leipzig seine Weltpremiere feiert, dokumentiert Jasna Krajinovic einfühlsam Verzweiflung und Mut einer Frau aus Brüssel, deren Tochter sich in Syrien dem Jihad angeschlossen hat. Dem knallharten Geschäft mit afrikanischen Migrant/innen, die den Kontinent durchqueren, verleiht der kenianische Animationsfilm „This Migrant Business“ von Ng’endo Mukii Sichtbarkeit – womit er einer der wenigen afrikanischen Filme ist, die in Leipzig für einen der Wettbewerbe nominiert worden sind.

 

Some Will Forget (2016); Regie: Ruth Grimberg

Im autobiografischen „Holy God“ verdichtet Vladlena Sandu die persönlichen Folgen des Tschetschenienkriegs in einem Dreigenerationenporträt. Der Libanese Chadi Aoun erzählt mit „SAMT (Silence)“ den Nahost-Konflikt als blutige Dystopie im Stil einer Graphic Novel, während Ruth Grimbergs „Some Will Forget“ die Agonie einer englischen Bergarbeitersiedlung vor der Schließung der letzten Grube beklemmend visualisiert.

 

Im polnischen Beitrag „Three Conversations on Life“ streitet die atheistische Regisseurin Julia Staniszewska mit ihrer katholischen Mutter über ethische Implikationen der In-vitro-Fertilisation. Es ist, wie auch das virtuos gedrehte Kammerspiel „Close Ties“ von Zofia Kowalewska, ein weiterer Beweis der hohen Kunst des polnischen Kurzdokumentarfilms. Als „Digital Immigrants“ lassen Dennis Stauffer und Norbert Kottmann mit liebevollem Humor einen Seniorenkurs die unendlichen Weiten des Computers entdecken.

 

Close Ties (2016); Regie: Zofia Kowalewska

Poppig, temporeich und anarchistisch zerlegen mehrere Animationsfilme gängige fiktionale Erzählmuster und setzen sie neu zusammen. Werke wie „Super Film“ von Piotr Kabat und „This Ain't Disneyland“ von Faiyaz Jafri arbeiten sich an Hollywood ab. Eoin Duffy entwirft mit „I Am Here“ die Welt als Kopfgeburt, während Qing Sheng Ang in „Drop Nowhere“ ein Baby in einen Thriller von Spielbergscher Dimension krabbeln lässt. Und auch die Kulturgeschichte eines unterschätzten Organs wird in „The Clitoris“ von Lori Malépart-Traversy neu erzählt – und zwar wahrheitsgemäß!