DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


International Competition
Long Documentary and Animated Film

You can find the programme in our Filmfinder, too.

There, you can also buy tickets online.

The International Competition at DOK Leipzig has a great deal to offer: great names, great subjects, great movies. The twelve competition entries, among them five directed by women and including twelve participating production countries and six international or world premieres, penetrate deeply into present-day and human conflicts, though they equally surprise with their humour and a healthy portion of heart. Moreover, the competition offers a juxtaposition of newcomers, along with well-known names such as renowned Swiss-German director Heidi Specogna, famed French actor and director Valeria Bruni Tedeschi or Mia Halme from Finland, as well as former Dove winners including Sergei Loznitsa, Serhiy Bukovsky, Vitaly Mansky and Miroslav Janek.

 

Cahier Africain (2016); Director: Heidi Specogna

Painful yet irreplaceable through the in-depth look they take behind the headlines are the works that head for international crisis hotspots. In the Danish entry entitled “The War Show”, Obaidah Zytoon and Andreas Dalsgaard accompany a circle of friends in Syria from the first onsets of revolution all the way to the agony of a horrible war whose course has never been seen this way before. The harrowing tale of three Yazidi girls, sexually assaulted by ISIS and driven out of their home country, and the attemps to cope with the trauma is told in “A157” by Iranian director Behrouz Nooranipour. In contrast, Heidi Specogna channels the focus on a smouldering crisis that threatens to vanish from our awareness: Set in scenes of sorrowful beauty, “Cahier Africain” heads out to the Central African Republic on an odyssee between the fronts of Muslim and Christian rebels. In “Rodnye (Close Relations)”, Vitaly Mansky portrays the Russian-Ukrainian conflict as an excruciating rift splitting his own family in his most personal film up to now. How the horror of the past becomes an event of the present is, in turn, explored by Sergei Loznitsa in “Austerlitz”, in which he observes visitors to a concentration camp with their selfie sticks: an eery scenery set in black & white tableaux.

 

 The Leading Role (2016); Director: Serhiy Bukovsky

A legend in his Croatian homeland, author Pero Kvesić is confronted with the terror of his own skulking death – and uses his mastery of the humour so typical of Balkan countries to transform it into a midnight-black comedy with a happy end: “Dum Spiro Spero”. New looks at ageing are a recurring subject at this year’s festival edition: Valeria Bruni Tedeschi and Yann Coridian let the elderly Blanche live out the last great love of her life in dreamlike dance scenes via the intervention of choreographer Thierry Thieû Niang in “A Young Girl in Her Nineties”. And in “The Leading Role”, Serhiy Bukovsky uses a scenographic dialogue with his mother, a former Soviet film star, to ask who or what plays the leading role in our lives and where the (self-)staging ends.

 

Another grand theme in this year’s programme is the inner world of autistic children and adolescents. Whereas Miroslav Janek’s “Normal Autistic Film” almost physically transmits the exuberant fantasy and energy of his protagonists, in her first film entitled “Communion” the young Polish director Anna Zamecka stages a coming-of-age drama displaying utopian charisma with a fiction-like dramatisation.

 

 Every Other Couple (2016); Director: Mia Halme

An equally universal drama, the separation of couples and the breakup of families, is approached by Mia Halme in a lyrically dense meshwork composed of recollections and scenes between trauma and coping.

 

The same two factors could also headline the story of Icare alias Courgette, who has to fight his way to a new future in a children’s home after his mother’s death. What sets Claude Barras’ “My Life as a Courgette” apart from the other films is simply the fact that it is an animated film. And in the process the competition at DOK Leipzig opens itself up to new target groups as well: great cinematic art for a wide audience.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Internationaler Wettbewerb
langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm

Das Programm finden Sie auch im Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

Der Internationale Wettbewerb bei DOK Leipzig hat viel zu bieten: große Namen, große Themen, großes Kino. Die zwölf Beiträge, darunter fünf von Regisseurinnen, mit zwölf beteiligten Produktionsländern und sechs internationalen bzw. Weltpremieren dringen tief in die Konflikte der Gegenwart und des Menschen vor, doch überraschen auch mit Humor und einer gehörigen Portion Herz. Zudem bietet er ein Nebeneinander von Newcomer/innen und bekannten Namen wie der renommierten deutsch-Schweizer Regisseurin Heidi

Specogna, der bekannten französischen Schauspielerin und Regisseurin

Valeria Bruni Tedeschi oder der Finnin Mia Halme sowie ehemaligen Tauben-Gewinnern wie Sergei Loznitsa, Serhiy Bukovsky, Vitaly Mansky und Miroslav Janek.

 

 Cahier Africain (2016); Regie: Heidi Specogna

Schmerzhaft und doch unersetzbar in ihrem tiefer gehenden Blick hinter die Schlagzeilen sind jene Werke, die sich an internationale Krisenherde begeben: In dem dänischen Beitrag „The War Show“ begleiten Obaidah Zytoon und Andreas Dalsgaard einen Freundeskreis in Syrien von den Aufbrüchen der Revolution bis in die Agonie eines schrecklichen Kriegs, dessen Verlauf so noch nie zu sehen war. Die erschütternde Geschichte dreier jesidischer Mädchen, vom IS vergewaltigt und vertrieben, und des Versuchs einer Bewältigung des Traumas erzählt „A157“ des iranischen Regisseurs Behrouz Nooranipour. Heidi Specogna hingegen lenkt den Fokus auf eine schwelende Krise, die aus unserem Bewusstsein zu verschwinden droht: In der Zentralafrikanischen Republik begibt sich „Cahier Africain“ in Bildern von trauriger Schönheit auf eine Odyssee zwischen die Fronten muslimischer und christlicher Rebellen. Vitaly Mansky stellt in „Rodnye (Close Relations)“ den russisch-ukrainischen Konflikt in seinem bisher persönlichsten Film als schmerzhaften Riss durch die eigene Familie dar. Wie wiederum das Grauen der Vergangenheit zum Event der Gegenwart wird, erkundet Sergei Loznitsa in „Austerlitz“, indem er KZ-Besucher/innen mit ihren Selfie-Sticks beobachtet: eine gespenstische Szenerie in Schwarz-Weiß-Tableaus.

 

 The Leading Role (2016); Regie: Serhiy Bukovsky

Mit dem Schrecken des eigenen, schleichenden Todes ist der in seiner Heimat Kroatien legendäre Autor Pero Kvesić konfrontiert – und transformiert ihn mit der Meisterschaft Balkan-typischen Humors in eine tiefschwarze Komödie mit Happy End: „Dum Spiro Spero“. Neue Blicke auf das Alter sind ein wiederkehrendes Sujet dieses Festivaljahrgangs: So lassen Valeria Bruni Tedeschi und Yann Coridian in „A Young Girl in Her Nineties“ die greise Blanche mittels der Intervention des Choreographen Thierry Thieû Niang in traumhaften Tanzszenen ihre letzte große Liebe erleben. Und Serhiy Bukovsky fragt in „The Leading Role“ im szenischen Dialog mit seiner Mutter, einem einstigen sowjetischen Filmstar, danach, wer oder was die Hauptrolle in unserem Leben spielt und wo die (Selbst-)Inszenierung endet.

 

Ein weiteres großes Thema des Jahrgangs ist die Innenwelt autistischer Kinder und Jugendlicher. Während Miroslav Janeks „Normal Autistic Film“ geradezu physisch die überbordende Phantasie und Energie seiner Protagonist/innen überträgt, inszeniert die junge polnische Regisseurin Anna Zamecka in ihrem Erstlingswerk „Communion“ dramaturgisch nahe am Spielfilm ein Coming-of-Age-Drama von utopischer Strahlkraft.

 

 Every Other Couple (2016); Regie: Mia Halme

Einem ebenfalls universellen Drama, der Trennung von Paaren und dem Zerbrechen von Familien, nähert sich Mia Halmes „Every Other Couple“ in einem lyrisch-dichten Geflecht von Erinnerungen und Bildern zwischen Trauma und Bewältigung.

 

Beides könnte auch über der Geschichte von Icare alias Courgette stehen, der sich nach dem Tod der Mutter im Kinderheim eine neue Zukunft erkämpfen muss – was Claude Barras‘ „My Life as a Courgette“ von den anderen Filmen unterscheidet ist lediglich die Tatsache, dass es sich um einen Animationsfilm handelt. Damit öffnet sich der Wettbewerb bei DOK Leipzig auch neuen Zielgruppen: große Filmkunst für ein großes Publikum.