DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


International Programme

By bringing together a spectrum that ranges from political thriller to social comedy, documentary cinema, animation and the best of entertainment, the International Programme at DOK Leipzig promises films with a wide appeal. As a special service for the Leipzig audience, for the first time the festival offers a German translation for a number of films outside the competitions. 24 of the films are world or international premieres.

 

Existential issues are the topic at hand: A number of works examine how the digital future influences our present, for instance Michael Palm’s opulent essay “Cinema Futures” about saying farewell to analogue cinema, or “Down the Deep, Dark Web” by Tzachi Schiff and Duki Dror, which investigates the dangers and potentials of the dark web. Equally reminiscent of a science-fiction-vision-come-true is “Future Baby”, in which Maria Arlamovsky pursues the possibilities of humans out of test tubes. On the other hand, how a real-life premature infant perceives a world full of medical devices and how the baby’s parents feel about what’s going on is explored in “Life to Come” by Claudio Capanna in conjunction with an interactive project to be seen at DOK Neuland.

 

The Graduation (2016); Director: Claire Simon

Modern working worlds are the theme of a whole series of films: “Mattress Men” by Colm Quinn is a social comedy filmed in the style of Ken Loach. In “The Graduation”, Claire Simon observes the entrance exams for admission to the very best of French film schools. “Working Life” by Martin Rit and Mariette Désert accompanies young Belgian men and women on their way to a craftsman’s trade, while Katja Duregger uses interviews with experts and animated scenes to give us a look into the world of managers and executives in “EGOnomics”. Two works employ lots of comic relief against a serious background to describe self-experimentation in the field of global business. In “The Chocolate Case”, Benthe Forrer portrays the attempt to produce chocolate without child labour, and Șerban Georgescu struggles with “Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons” for a year while farming in the Romanian agricultural sector.

 

German directors are providing the International Programme with strapping world premieres, too. Elí Roland Sachs displays a sensitive hand as he follows his brother’s path to Salafism: “Brother Jakob” (“Bruder Jakob”) is synonymously a spiritual quest for meaning. In “Fighter”, Susanne Binninger discovers surprising facets of mixed martial arts and the men who fight in cages. Irene Langemann paints a portrait of Pyotr Pavlensky, the contentious Russian performance artist who uses highly physical actions to provoke Putin-era Russia in “Pavlensky – Man and Might”. In contrast, Jo-Anne Velin from Canada sets off for Tröglitz in Saxony-Anhalt in “The Picture of the Day”, a German village where in 2015 an arson attack was committed on a refugee centre. She detects the repressed Foreign in the villagers’ day-to-day lives.

 

Pussy (2016); Director: Renata Gąsiorowska

Several animated films in the programme concern themselves with physicality and disconcerting conversations about it, for example, Alain Delannoy’s “The Talk. True Stories About the Birds & the Bees”. Anne-Sophie Raimond’s “Wind in Your Shoulders” presents us with the traditional Chinese view of the body, while Jeanne Paturle and Cécile Rousset ask: “How’s Your Prostate?” And it takes a number of difficulties before Renata Gąsiorowska’s protagonist can finally relax in “Pussy”.

 

The International Programme is politically up to date as well, as seen in “Oleg’s Choice” by Elena Volochine and James Keogh, who accompany a pro-Russian unit in Donbass first-hand during battlefront deployment and make the soldiers’ inner world a tangible experience. In a different vein, “Do Not Resist” by Craig Atkinson offers a shocking look into police militarisation in the USA and its economic backgrounds. “A Hole in the Head” by Robert Kirchhoff joins European Roma on a journey into their Holocaust past, revealing a shameful line of antiziganism right up to the present.

 

A Hole in the Head (2016); Director: Robert Kirchhoff

And yet, as always, the International Programme has the best of entertainment to offer, too. Take Finland’s worst team of cheerleaders in “Cheer Up” by Christy Garland as one example, a 25-year-long chain of ailing pets in Amy Nicholson’s “Pickle”, a founder of Brazilian Tropicalismo in “Rogério Duarte, the Tropikaoslist“ by José Walter Lima, a father and daughter’s strange trip to Kurdistan in “Paradise! Paradise!“ (“Paradies! Paradies!”) by Kurdwin Ayub, or the emotional coming-of-age story of Laura, who grows up with deaf parents in “Two Worlds” by Maciej Adamek.

You can find the programme in our Filmfinder, too.

There, you can also buy tickets online.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Programm


Webarchiv


Internationales Programm

Das Programm finden Sie auch im Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

Publikumsfilme im besten Sinne verspricht das Internationale Programm von DOK Leipzig, das vom Politthriller bis zur Sozialkomödie dokumentarisches Kino, Animation und beste Unterhaltung zusammenbringt. Erstmals bietet das Festival als besonderen Service für das Leipziger Publikum auch für eine Reihe von Filmen außerhalb der Wettbewerbe eine deutsche Übersetzung an. 24 der Filme sind Welt- bzw. internationale Premieren.

 

Dabei geht es um existentielle Fragen: Eine Reihe von Arbeiten untersucht, wie die digitale Zukunft unsere Gegenwart beeinflusst, so Michael Palms opulenter Essay „Cinema Futures“ über den Abschied vom analogen Kino oder „Down the Deep, Dark Web“ von Tzachi Schiff und Duki Dror, der Gefahren und Potenziale des Darknet untersucht. Wie eine wahr gewordene Science-Fiction-Vision wirkt auch „Future Baby“, in dem Maria Arlamovsky den Möglichkeiten des Menschen aus dem Reagenzglas nachgeht. Wie aber ein reales Frühchen seine Welt aus Apparaten wahrnimmt und was seine Eltern dabei empfinden, ergründet „Life to Come“ von Claudio Capanna in Verbund mit einem interaktiven Projekt, zu sehen bei DOK Neuland.

 

The Graduation (2016); Director: Claire Simon

Moderne Arbeitswelten sind das Thema einer ganzen Reihe von Filmen: „Mattress Men“ von Colm Quinn ist eine Sozialkomödie im Stil von Ken Loach. In „The Graduation“ beobachtet Claire Simon die Aufnahmeprüfungen für den Eintritt in den Olymp der französischen Filmschulen. „Working Life“ von Martin Rit und Mariette Désert begleitet junge Belgier/innen auf dem Weg in einen Handwerksberuf, während Katja Duregger in „EGOnomics“ mittels Expert/inneninterviews und animierter Szenen einen Einblick in die Welt von Manager/innen und Führungskräften gewährt. Gleich zwei Werke beschreiben mit viel Komik, aber ernstem Hintergrund, Selbstversuche im Feld der globalen Wirtschaft: In „The Chocolate Case“ beschreibt Benthe Forrer den Versuch, Schokolade ohne Kinderarbeit zu produzieren, und Șerban Georgescu kämpft ein Jahr lang in der rumänischen Landwirtschaft mit „Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons“.

 

Auch deutsche Regisseur/innen warten im Internationalen Programm mit starken Weltpremieren auf. Sensibel folgt Elí Roland Sachs dem Weg seines Bruders in den Salafismus: „Bruder Jakob“ ist auch eine spirituelle Sinnsuche. Susanne Binninger entdeckt in „Fighter“ überraschende Seiten der Mixed Martial Arts und den Männern, die in Käfigen kämpfen. Irene Langemann porträtiert in „Pawlenski – der Mensch und die Macht“ den streitbaren russischen Künstler Piotr Pawlenski, der mit seinen sehr körperlichen Aktionen das Putinsche Russland provoziert. Die Kanadierin Jo-Anne Velin hingegen begibt sich in „The Picture of the Day“ nach Tröglitz in Sachsen-Anhalt, wo 2015 ein Brandanschlag auf ein Asylbewerberheim verübt wurde, und entdeckt das verdrängte Fremde im Alltag der Dorfbewohner.

 

Pussy (2016); Director: Renata Gąsiorowska

Mit Körperlichkeit und unangenehmen Gesprächen darüber beschäftigen sich einige Animationsfilme des Programms, so beispielsweise Alain Delannoys „The Talk. True Stories About the Birds & the Bees“. Anne-Sophie Raimonds „Wind in Your Shoulders“ zeigt uns den traditionellen chinesischen Blick auf den Körper, Jeanne Paturle und Cécile Rousset fragen: „How’s Your Prostate?“ und Renata Gąsiorowskas Protagonistin kommt in „Pussy” erst nach einigen Schwierigkeiten zur Entspannung.

 

Das internationale Programm ist auch politisch aktuell, so wenn Elena Volochine und James Keogh in „Oleg’s Choice“ eine prorussische Einheit im Donbass sehr hautnah bei ihrem Fronteinsatz begleiten und die Innenwelt der Soldaten erfahrbar machen. „Do Not Resist“ von Craig Atkinson hingegen gibt einen erschreckenden Einblick in die Militarisierung der Polizei in den USA und deren ökonomische Hintergründe. „A Hole in the Head“ von Robert Kirchhoff begibt sich mit europäischen Roma in deren Holocaust-Vergangenheit und zeigt eine beschämende Linie des Antiziganismus bis in die Gegenwart.

 

A Hole in the Head (2016); Director: Robert Kirchhoff

Wie immer aber bietet das Internationale Programm auch beste Unterhaltung: etwa mit dem schlechtesten Cheerleader-Team Finnlands in „Cheer Up“ von Christy Garland, einer 25 Jahre umspannenden Kette an kränklichen Haustieren in Amy Nicholsons „Pickle“, einem der Begründer des brasilianischen Tropicalismo in „Rogério Duarte, the Tropikaoslist“ von José Walter Lima, einer kuriosen Reise von Vater und Tochter nach Kurdistan in „Paradies! Paradies!“ von Kurdwin Ayub oder der gefühlvollen Coming-of-Age-Geschichte von Laura, die mit gehörlosen Eltern groß wird in „Two Worlds“ von Maciej Adamek.