DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Next Masters Competition

You can find the programme in our Filmfinder, too.

There, you can also buy tickets online.

This year the competition involves nine world and two international premieres and offers more than ever the opportunity to discover names to remember. Eleven films – of which seven were directed by women! – from 13 different countries are vying with each other for the Golden Dove, sponsored by the Media Foundation of Sparkasse Leipzig, and with prize money of 10,000€. Renowned Russian director and producer Marina Razbezhkina, to whom DOK Leipzig is dedicating this year’s homage, will decide who the prize goes to. Once again we are dealing with bold aesthetic projects that challenge the genre as well as the audience and reveal the filmmaker's talent and signature style as early as the first or second film. Wild hybrids, sensitive insider views, biographical and poetic essays cover a wide range of what is possible in documentary film.

 

Co-produced in Germany and made by Israeli directors Sagi Bornstein and Udi Nir, the film "#uploading_holocaust" is entirely composed of YouTube videos and shows how new media can be used innovatively in film and lead a young audience to a difficult historical subject. By showing the personal testimonials of young Israelis visiting various concentration camps, it reveals the ritual ‘trip to Poland’ to be an initiation rite that is full of expectations, disappointments and constraints. An accompanying interactive project led by YouTuber Jakob Gentsch, in which young people can explore history by means of smartphones, will be presented for the first time at one of the festival’s panels.

 

The Third Shore (2016); Director: Fabian Remy

Social change and political conflicts are extrapolated from the insider view. In "Behind the Stone Wall" Magali Roucaut takes a silent look behind the walls of a factory that produces carefully manufactured cardboard in the middle of Paris and discovers a relic of a long-standing working culture shortly before it has to yield to gentrification. In "Convictions" Tatyana Chistova accompanies Russian conscientious objectors to their trials, and depicts pacifists, homosexuals and political activists caught in the machinery of a merciless system – but also the courage of conviction. Meanwhile in "The Third Shore" Fabian Remy portrays the identity conflict of modern Brazil by retracing the life of a settler boy who grew up in an indigenous tribe in the Amazon region. The Finnish-Colombian entry "Land Within" by Jenni Kivistö also reflects on home and identity and lays bare an unexpected spiritual kinship between South American deserts and the far north of Europe with elegiac, dreamlike images.

 

Sacred Water (2016); Director: Olivier Jourdain

Set in Rwanda, the Belgian film "Sacred Water" considers the female orgasm to be a traditional cultural technique that must be defended against colonial discourses – with director Olivier Jourdain providing a refreshingly different picture of the country to the one we usually see.

 

The Swiss film "Looking like my Mother" is a very personal journey through time that has surreal moments and a hybrid form. As reflected in the life story of her depressive mother, Dominique Margot faces up to the impossibility of escaping a family legacy. Using impressionistic imagery, Niina Brandt approaches the living environment and wishes of a young autistic man in "My Secret Forest" (Finland). Two more films take on questions about perception and the senses, exploring the world of the deaf in completely different ways. While in "Seeing Voices" (Austria) Dariusz Kowalski visually conveys the way in which the deaf experience the world and asks how inclusive Europe really is, in "Listen to the Silence", by Mariam Chachia, little Luka dances his way into the hearts of the audience like a deaf Georgian "Billy Elliot".

 

Listen to the Silence (2016); Director: Mariam Chachia

Finally, Andrea Culková explores the inner driving force of art and the art market in a particularly provocative way in "H*ART ON", a film full of experimental fury and Czech humour.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Next Masters Wettbewerb

Das Programm finden Sie auch im Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

Mit neun Welt- und zwei Internationalen Premieren bietet dieser Wettbewerb mehr denn je die Gelegenheit, Namen, die man sich merken sollte, zu entdecken. Elf Filme ­­– davon sieben von Regisseurinnen! – aus 13 beteiligten Produktionsländern konkurrieren um die von der Medienstiftung der Sparkasse Leipzig gestiftete Goldene Taube in Höhe von 10.000 €. Über den Preis entscheidet die renommierte russische Regisseurin und Produzentin Marina Razbezhkina, der DOK Leipzig dieses Jahr eine Hommage widmet. Einmal mehr sind es die mutigen ästhetischen Entwürfe, die das Genre und das Publikum herausfordern und Talent sowie eine eigene Handschrift schon beim ersten oder zweiten Film verraten. Wilde Hybride, sensible Innensichten, biografische und poetische Essays decken eine große Bandbreite dessen ab, was dokumentarisch möglich ist.

 

Wie man neue Medien innovativ filmisch nutzen und ein junges Publikum an ein schwieriges historisches Thema führen kann, zeigt der in Deutschland koproduzierte Beitrag der israelischen Regisseure Sagi Bornstein und Udi Nir, der komplett aus YouTube-Videos komponierte Film „#uploading_holocaust“. Er zeigt die Selbstzeugnisse israelischer Jugendlicher auf der rituellen „Reise nach Polen“ zu diversen Konzentrationslagern als Initiation voller Erwartungen, Enttäuschungen und Zwänge. Bemerkenswert ist hier auch ein begleitendes interaktives Projekt, in welchem Jugendliche mittels Smartphone und geführt von YouTuber Jakob Gentsch Geschichte erkunden können, und das in Leipzig auf einem Panel erstmals vorgestellt wird.

 

The Third Shore (2016); Regie: Fabian Remy

Aus der Innensicht erschließen sich gesellschaftlicher Wandel und politische Konflikte. Mit einem stillen Blick hinter die Mauern einer Fabrik für feinste Kartonagen mitten in Paris entdeckt Magali Roucaut in „Behind the Stone Wall“ das Relikt einer traditionsreichen Arbeitskultur, kurz bevor sie der Gentrifizierung weichen muss. In „Convictions“ begleitet Tatyana Chistova Wehrdienstverweigerer in Russland zu ihren Gerichtsverhandlungen, zeigt Pazifisten, Homosexuelle und Politaktivisten in den Mühlen eines gnadenlosen Systems – aber auch den Mut der Überzeugung. Währenddessen zeichnet Fabian Remy mit „The Third Shore“ den Identitätskonflikt des modernen Brasiliens nach, indem er die biografischen Spuren eines Siedlerjungen, der bei einem indigenen Stamm aufwuchs, ins Amazonasgebiet zurückverfolgt.

 

Über Heimat und Identität reflektiert auch der finnisch-kolumbianische Beitrag „Land Within“ von Jenni Kivistö, der mit elegischen, traumnahen Bildern eine unerwartete Seelenverwandtschaft zwischen südamerikanischen Wüsten und Europas hohem Norden offenlegt. Den weiblichen Orgasmus als eigene, überlieferte Kulturtechnik, die es gegen koloniale Diskurse zu verteidigen gilt, betrachtet der belgische Film „Sacred Water“ in Ruanda. So vermittelt Regisseur Olivier Jourdain auf erfrischende Weise ein ganz anderes Bild des Landes als üblich.

 

Sacred Water (2016); Regie: Olivier Jourdain

Eine sehr persönliche Zeitreise mit surrealen Momenten und in hybrider Form tritt der Schweizer Film „Looking Like My Mother“ an. Im Spiegel der Lebensgeschichte ihrer depressiven Mutter setzt sich Dominique Margot mit der Unmöglichkeit auseinander, dem Familienerbe zu entkommen. Mit impressionistischen Bildern nähert sich Niina Brandt in „My Secret Forest“ (Finnland) der Lebenswelt und den Wünschen eines jungen Autisten. Fragen nach Wahrnehmung und Sinnen greifen auch zwei Filme auf, die auf völlig unterschiedliche Weise die Welt von Gehörlosen erkunden. Während Dariusz Kowalski mit „Seeing Voices“ (Österreich) die alltägliche Erfahrungswelt visuell vermittelt und fragt, wie es um die Inklusion in Europa wirklich steht, tanzt sich der kleine Luka in „Listen to the Silence“ von Mariam Chachia als ein gehörloser, georgischer „Billy Elliot“ in die Herzen der Zuschauer/innen.

 

Listen to the Silence (2016); Regie: Mariam Chachia

Die innere Antriebskraft von Kunst und Kunstmarkt schließlich exploriert Andrea Culková auf besonders provokante Weise in „H*ART ON“ mit experimenteller Wut und tschechischem Humor.