DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

70 Jahre DEFA


Webarchiv


DEFA 70. Joris Ivens, Leipzig,
the GDR and the World

2016 marks the 70th anniversary of the foundation of DEFA, whose history is as closely bound up with the name Joris Ivens as is that of DOK Leipzig. Ivens was not only one of the most important directors of the 20th century, he is also considered to be one of the founding fathers of the festival and worked closely with DEFA from 1951 to 1956. The programme looks back on both aspects of his career.

 

"The Windrose" is an opulent work that lies somewhere between feature film and documentary. Made by DEFA in 1957, this large-scale international project featuring a distinguished cast was made under the direction of Joris Ivens. Alongside director Alberto Cavalcanti, the world-famous actors Helene Weigel and Simone Signoret as well as Yves Montand also participated in the film. DEFA hoped the collaboration would bring the GDR a cultural renown and that Ivens' know-how would result in an internationally and commercially successful film that would withstand the censorship of non-communist countries. This epic work made in cooperation with the Women's International Democratic Federation depicts episodes from the lives of women workers from all corners of the globe in their fight for a better society.

 

The Windrose (1957); Directors: Alberto Cavalcanti, Joris Ivens
© DEFA-Stiftung Robert Menegoz, Joop Huisken

In Brazil Ana fights against the exploitation of unemployed workers come to find their fortune in São Paulo. In the Soviet Union Nadezhda goes against her boyfriend's will in her efforts to reclaim land. Teacher Jeanine campaigns for the rights of a housing community in a poor Parisian suburb and has to live with the consequences. After threats of redundancy Giovanna and her colleagues occupy an Italian textile factory. And in China Chen Hsiu Hua is elected chairperson of her collective farm and has to gain the respect of both the men and the women.

 

In addition to this, film historian Günter Jordan will be giving a first reading from an as yet unpublished book about Joris Ivens and the GDR, which is the result of comprehensive archival research. The work promises to cast new light on the work of a great master, on film production in the GDR, as well as on the history of DOK Leipzig.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

70 Jahre DEFA


Webarchiv


DEFA 70. Joris Ivens, Leipzig,
die DDR und die Welt

2016 jährte sich zum 70. Mal die Gründung der DEFA, deren Geschichte ebenso wie jene von DOK Leipzig eng mit dem Namen Joris Ivens verbunden ist. Ivens war nicht nur einer der bedeutendsten Regisseure des 20. Jahrhunderts, sondern gilt als einer der Gründerväter des Festivals und arbeitete von 1951 bis 1956 eng mit der DEFA zusammen. An beides erinnert das Programm.

 

Zur Aufführung gelangt „Die Windrose“, ein opulentes, zwischen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm changierendes Werk, das 1957 unter Joris Ivens‘ Leitung als großangelegtes internationales Projekt mit prominenter Beteiligung bei der DEFA entstand. So wirkten neben dem Regisseur Alberto Cavalcanti auch die weltberühmten Schauspielerinnen Helene Weigel und Simone Signoret sowie der Schauspieler Yves Montand mit. Die DEFA erhoffte sich von der Kooperation, der DDR ein kulturelles Renommee zu verschaffen und mit Ivens‘ Expertise einen internationalen, kommerziell erfolgreichen Film produzieren zu können, der auch die Zensur nicht-kommunistischer Länder überstehen würde. Das in Zusammenarbeit mit der Internationalen Demokratischen Frauenföderation entstandene Monumentalwerk zeigt Episoden aus dem Leben von Arbeiterinnen aller Himmelsrichtungen in ihrem Kampf für eine bessere Gesellschaft.

 

Die Windrose (1957), Regie: Alberto Cavalcanti, Joris Ivens
© DEFA-Stiftung Robert Menegoz, Joop Huisken

In Brasilien wehrt sich Ana gegen die Ausnutzung von Arbeitslosen, die ihr Glück in São Paulo suchen. In der Sowjetunion bricht Nadeshda gegen den Willen ihres Freundes zur Neulandgewinnung auf. Die Lehrerin Jeanine engagiert sich im armen Pariser Vorort für die Rechte einer Hausgemeinschaft und muss mit den Konsequenzen, die daraus entstehen, leben. Giovanna und ihre Kolleginnen besetzen nach Entlassungsandrohungen eine italienische Textilfabrik. Und in China wird Chen Hsiu Hua zur Vorsitzenden ihrer Landwirtschaftsgenossenschaft gewählt und muss sich nun bei Männern und Frauen Respekt einholen.

 

Ergänzend dazu wird der Filmhistoriker Günter Jordan erstmals aus einem bisher unveröffentlichten Buch über Joris Ivens und die DDR lesen, das auf Grundlage umfangreicher Archivrecherchen entstand. Die Publikation verspricht bislang unbekannte Einblicke in das Schaffen eines großen Meisters und die Filmproduktion in der DDR sowie die Geschichte von DOK Leipzig.