DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


An Alternative Vision?
Everyday Life in the GDR

The moving pictures we know from the GDR tend to originate from DEFA productions or television. The Special Programme An Alternative Vision? Everyday life in the GDR brings to the big screen footage from beyond these sources that has been unknown to most until now. The series is based around two research projects that are devoted to uncovering hitherto largely untapped film stocks. The first part of the programme casts a spotlight on amateur film. The second part focuses on works produced by the Staatliche Filmdokumentation (State Film Documentation), which primarily produced films for archival purposes.


Until 1000 Voices Sing in Harmony (1983)

In the GDR the making of amateur films was a popular part of organised leisure activities. In 40 years around 950 amateurs made more than 10,000 films. Many turned to their immediate surroundings, joined forces in company film studios and filmed in their places of work. In so doing some of these amateurs had a stab at taking on an artistic approach, sometimes conforming to the system and sometimes displaying critical undertones. The part of the programme entitled At Work (curated by Ralf Forster) affords insight into Cottbus' state textile manufacture with the film "Präsent", featuring engineered production and a fashion show. The work "Assembly with the DM-SPE" documents the assembly of a blast furnace with the help of a helicopter, set to music by Richard Wagner. Held on the Sunday of the festival, the Leipzig Matinee (curated by Stefan Gööck) brings to the screen amateur film production in Leipzig and the surrounding area, featuring among others fêtes held in an allotment, the inauguration of Leipzig's urban railway network, and a satirical city tour.

 

Name-plate of the SFD at the entrance of the building in Berlin (c) Martina Liebnitz The programme State Film Documentation combines both films and film extracts, most of which are being shown for the first time. The film production group SFD was active from 1970 to 1986 as part of the GDR's State Film Archive. They were tasked with documenting life in the GDR for the generations to come. Therefore the works remained in storage in the archives and virtually inaccessible to GDR citizens. The works were intended for various uses, including, for example, future research purposes, documentary film projects or pedagogical work. Another part of their task was to document those areas of East German society that were otherwise not supposed to be seen. They brought to the fore subjects that were to a large extent taboo: problems of state housing policy, alternative ways of life and the dereliction of Berlin's old buildings were captured on film. The programme State Film Documentation was curated by Anne Barnert and Andreas Kötzing. The films will be shown at Leipzig's Zeitgeschichtliches Forum.

 

The project is a collaboration with the Filmmuseum Potsdam, the Sächsisches Staatsarchiv and the Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung at the TU Dresden. It was funded by the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Programm


Webarchiv


Der andere Blick?
Alltag in der DDR

Bewegte Bilder, die man aus der DDR kennt, stammen in der Regel von DEFA-Produktionen oder aus dem Fernsehen. Das Sonderprogramm Der andere Blick? Alltag in der DDR bringt jenseits dieser Quellen bisher weitgehend unbekanntes Bildmaterial auf die Leinwand. Die Grundlage für die Reihe bilden zwei Forschungsprojekte, die sich bisher kaum erschlossenen Filmbeständen gewidmet haben. Der erste Teil des Programms rückt den Amateurfilm ins Zentrum. Der zweite Teil konzentriert sich auf Werke der Staatlichen Filmdokumentation (SFD), die Filme in erster Linie für archivalische Zwecke produzierte.

 

Bis tausend Stimmen stimmen (1983)

In der DDR war das Amateurfilmschaffen als Teil der organisierten Freizeitbeschäftigung beliebt. In 40 Jahren drehten etwa 950 Amateur/innen mehr als 10.000 Filme. Viele wandten sich ihrer vertrauten Umgebung zu, schlossen sich in Betriebsfilmstudios zusammen und filmten in ihrer Arbeitsstätte. Dabei hatten einige Laien einen künstlerischen Anspruch und probierten sich aus, teils systemkonform, teils mit kritischen Untertönen. Der Programmteil Bei der Arbeit (kuratiert von Ralf Forster) gibt mit dem Film „Präsent“ etwa Einblick in das Textilkombinat Cottbus samt technisierter Produktion und Modenschau. Die Arbeit „Montage mit DM-SPE“ dokumentiert eine Montage an einem Hochofen mit Hubschraubereinsatz, unterlegt mit Musik von Richard Wagner. Die Leipzig­-Matinee (kuratiert von Stefan Gööck) bringt am Festivalsonntag das Amateurfilmschaffen in Leipzig und Umgebung auf die Leinwand: Zu sehen sind u.a. Volksfeste in einer Kleingartensparte, die Einweihung des Leipziger S-Bahnnetzes und ein satirischer Stadtrundgang.

 

 

Türschild der SFD am Eingang des Gebäudes in Berlin (c) Martina Liebnitz

Das Programm Staatliche Filmdokumentation vereint in zwei Teilen Filme und Filmausschnitte, die größtenteils erstmals öffentlich aufgeführt werden. Die Filmdokumentationsgruppe SFD wirkte von 1970 bis 1986 als Teil des Staatlichen Filmarchivs der DDR. Sie hatte die Aufgabe, das Leben in der DDR für nachfolgende Generationen zu dokumentieren. So blieben die Werke für DDR-Bürger/innen nahezu unzugänglich in Archiven gelagert. Die Arbeiten sollten beispielsweise für zukünftige Forschungszwecke, Dokumentarfilmprojekte oder pädagogische Arbeit verwendet werden. Teil ihrer Aufgabe war es, auch solche Bereiche der DDR-Gesellschaft zu dokumentieren, die sonst öffentlich nicht zu sehen sein sollten. So rückten sie Themen ins Zentrum, die weitestgehend tabuisiert waren: Probleme der staatlichen Wohnungspolitik, alternative Lebensentwürfe oder der Verfall der Altbausubstanz in Berlin wurden auf Film festgehalten. Das Programm Staatliche Filmdokumentation wurde kuratiert von Anne Barnert und Andreas Kötzing. Veranstaltungsort ist das Zeitgeschichtliche Forum Leipzig. 

 

Das Projekt entstand in Kooperation mit dem Filmmuseum Potsdam, dem Sächsischen Staatsarchiv und dem Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung an der TU Dresden. Es wurde gefördert von der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur.