DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Retrospective: Seven Sins and Other Confessions in Polish Documentary Film

Those who seek disobedience in documentary film inevitably arrive at its Polish school. Its representatives have always been agitators in the best multiple sense of the word: courageous and radical, they sounded out the political and artistically creative limits, then transcended them. Displaying a proximity to fiction film, an openness in form and an affirmation towards staging, the Polish documentary film creates style characteristics all its own and assumes a unique stance internationally.

The programmes in this series refrain from placing the films in a correlation to film history and instead opt for a thematic, often provocative context. They consequently provide entertaining looks at and astute insights into universal themes, for instance the perpetual conflict between generations, the fear of the unfamiliar, and the demise of the individual within the system. The reference to religion, ‘sin’ and promise is always present thereby, albeit in a playful and humorous fashion. Yet the programmes will also deal with issues regarding the nation and the family, with shortage, censorship and approaching it creatively, and ultimately with vodka.

Alongside classics by Kazimierz Karabasz, Jerzy Bossak, Krzysztof Kieślowski and Marcel Łoziński among others, there is a whole series of barely known works to discover, such as “Wave” by Piotr Łazarkiewicz, who offers a raucous, wild description of the punk rebellion in the late 1980s.

 

Disobedience equally applies to Jerzy Bossak and Jarosław Brzozowski. In “Warsaw 1956”, they retaliate against the portrayals given in propaganda-disseminating newsreels and broadcasts by showing post-war Warsaw from its damaged, ramshackle and hazardous side. In doing so the filmmakers trigger a change of perspective towards the problems in establishing the new society there. Just as in Edward Skórzewski and Jerzy Hoffman’s “Look Out, Hooligans!”, the documentary element is staged in a completely open manner in order to create a counter-depiction, a rebuttal.

In “The 24 Hours of Jadwiga L.”, Krystyna Gryczełowska observes a factory worker and mother whose daily routine is defined by duties and chores. The result: an early feminist oeuvre. Another strong feminine voice in Polish cinema speaks out in the form of filmmaker Maria Zmarz-Koczanowicz. In “Everyone Knows Who They Are Standing Behind”, she humorously addresses the absurdity of an everyday phenomenon in the People’s Republic: queuing.

 

Happy End (1972); Director: Marcel Łoziński

The kinds of ramifications life in a totalitarian society can have are shown sagely and allegorically by Marcel Łoziński by setting up an artificial situation: “Happy End” is a psychological experiment in which a party meeting threatens to turn into a collective hunt.

In turn, Krzysztof Kieślowski paints a portrait of a man who, in alignment with his credo that rules are more important than people, presents himself as the perfect outgrowth of an authoritarian regime in “From a Night Porter’s Point of View”.

 

In the aftermath of a complicated phase of post-’89 restructuring, in the early 21st century it’s the followers of Łoziński, Dziworski and Zmarz-Koczanowicz who successfully manage to pick up where their predecessors left off and develop their traditions further.

For example, in “Such A Nice Boy I Gave Birth To”, Marcin Koszałka exposes himself to the vociferous reproaches his mother directs towards him and his entire generation. In “I Am Bad”, a film set in a socially stranded suburb of Warsaw, Grzegorz Pacek hands over the camera to a group of adolescents, who promptly take advantage of the opportunity for self-dramatisation.

 

I Am Bad (2000); Director: Grzegorz Pacek

Chronologically the series ends with the world premiere of “The Intensity of Watching”, in which Andrzej Sapija looks back on the life and works of master Kazimierz Karabasz.

 

The programmes are going to be presented by renowned Polish filmmakers. In addition, a DOK Talk Special devotes itself to the issue of the possibility for cinematic disobedience in Poland, both in the past and – above all – the present.

 

The Retrospective is being carried out in co-operation with the Krakow Film Foundation and Polnisches Institut Berlin/Leipzig and is being supported by FGPC, the Foundation for German-Polish Cooperation. Kornel Miglus (curator and advisory expert for film at Polnisches Institut), Lars Meyer (film journalist and programmer at DOK Leipzig) and Grit Lemke (head of the Film Programme at DOK Leipzig) acted as curators for the Retrospective.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Retrospektive: Sieben Sünden und andere Bekenntnisse im polnischen Dokumentarfilm

Sucht man den Ungehorsam im Dokumentarfilm, so kommt man unweigerlich auf dessen polnische Schule. Deren Vertreter/innen waren stets Unruhestifter/innen im besten, mehrfachen Sinne: Mutig und radikal haben sie politische und künstlerische Grenzen ausgelotet und überschritten. Mit der Nähe zum Spielfilm, der Offenheit der Form und dem Bekenntnis zur Inszenierung schafft der polnische Dokumentarfilm ganz eigene Stilcharakteristika und nimmt international eine einzigartige Stellung ein.

Dabei stellen die Programme der Reihe die Filme nicht in einen filmhistorischen, sondern in einen thematischen, oft provokativen Zusammenhang und geben so unterhaltsame Einblicke und kluge Einsichten in universale Themen wie den immerwährenden Konflikt der Generationen, die Angst vor dem Fremden und das Verschwinden des Einzelnen im System. Auf spielerische und humorvolle Weise ist der Bezug zu Religion, „Sünde“ und Verheißung dabei stets präsent. Aber auch um Fragen nach der Nation und der Familie wird es gehen, um Mangel, Zensur und den kreativen Umgang mit ihr, und schließlich auch um Wodka.

Neben Klassikern u.a. von Kazimierz Karabasz, Jerzy Bossak, Krzysztof Kieślowski und Marcel Łoziński wird es eine ganze Reihe kaum bekannter Werke zu entdecken geben, wie „Wave“ von Piotr Łazarkiewicz, der die Punk-Rebellion der späten 1980er laut und wild beschreibt.

 

Ungehorsam sind auch Jerzy Bossak und Jarosław Brzozowski, die sich in „Warsaw 1956“ gegen die propangandistischen Darstellungen der Wochenschauen wehren und das Nachkriegswarschau von seiner lädierten, baufälligen und gefährlichen Seite zeigen. Damit leiten die Filmemacher einen Perspektivwechsel auf die Probleme beim Aufbau der neuen Gesellschaft ein. Ebenso wird hier, wie auch in Edward Skórzewski und Jerzy Hoffmans „Look Out, Hooligans!“, das Dokumentarische ganz offen inszeniert, um eine Gegendarstellung zu schaffen.

In „The 24 Hours of Jadwiga L.“ beobachtet Krystyna Gryczełowska den von Pflichten bestimmten Alltag einer Fabrikarbeiterin und Mutter und schafft so ein frühes feministisches Werk. Auch mit der Filmemacherin Maria Zmarz-Koczanowicz meldet sich eine starke weibliche Stimme des polnischen Kinos zu Wort. Sie widmet sich in „Everyone Knows Who They Are Standing Behind“ humorvoll der Absurdität eines alltäglichen Phänomens in der Volksrepublik: dem Schlangestehen.

 

Happy End (1972); Regie: Marcel Łoziński

Welche Auswirkungen das Leben in einer totalitären Gesellschaft haben kann, zeigt Marcel Łoziński klug und allegorisch, indem er eine künstliche Situation schafft: „Happy End“ ist ein psychologisches Experiment, in dem sich ein Parteitreffen in kollektive Hetze zu wandeln droht.

Und Krzysztof Kieślowski porträtiert in „From a Night Porter’s Point of View“ einen Nachtwächter, der sich mit seinem Credo, Regeln seien wichtiger als Menschen, als perfekter Auswuchs des autoritäres Regimes präsentiert.

 

Es sind die Schülerinnen und Schüler von Łoziński, Dziworski und Zmarz-Koczanowicz, denen es nach einer komplizierten Phase der Post-‘89-Neustrukturierung zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts gelingt, an ihre Vorgänger/innen anzuknüpfen und deren Traditionen weiter zu entwickeln.

Marcin Koszałka etwa setzt sich in „Such A Nice Boy I Gave Birth To“ den lautstarken Vorwürfen seiner Mutter an ihn und seine ganze Generation aus. Grzegorz Pacek übergibt in „I Am Bad“ in einem sozial abgehängten Warschauer Vorort die Kamera an eine Gruppe Jugendliche, die die Chance zur Selbstinszenierung umgehend nutzt.


 

I Am Bad (2000); Regie: Grzegorz Pacek

Die Reihe schließt zeitlich mit der Weltpremiere von „The Intensity of Watching“, in dem Andrzej Sapija auf das Leben und Werk des Altmeisters Kazimierz Karabasz zurückblickt.

 

Die Programme werden von namhaften polnischen Filmschaffenden präsentiert, ein DOK Talk Special widmet sich außerdem der Frage nach der Möglichkeit des filmischen Ungehorsams im Polen der Vergangenheit und – vor allem – der Gegenwart.

 

Die Retrospektive wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Krakow Film Foundation und dem Polnischen Institut Berlin/Leipzig durchgeführt und von der Stiftung für Deutsch-Polnische Zusammenarbeit gefördert. Sie wurde von Kornel Miglus (Kurator und Referent für Film beim Polnischen Institut), Lars Meyer (Filmjournalist und Programmer bei DOK Leipzig) und Grit Lemke (Leiterin des Filmprogramms bei DOK Leipzig) kuratiert.