DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Internationaler Wettbewerb langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm


Webarchiv


Jury International Competition
Long Documentary and Animated Film



Jury International Competition Long Documentary and Animated Film

 

Achim Freyer
Germany

Achim Freyer, one of the most innovative and seminal German set designers of his generation, has been a major influence on the European theatre landscape for decades. Born in Berlin in 1934, he was educated as a commercial artist before he became a student of Bertolt Brecht’s stage design master class (1954–1956) at the Academy of the Arts. He then created set and costume designs for the Dresden puppet theatre. In 1962 he started to work for the DEFA Animation Film Studio, too. In 1972 Freyer fled the GDR, became a professor at the (West-)Berlin Academy of the Arts in 1976 and went on, in addition to his work as a visual artist, to work as a stage director, set and costume designer for renowned German and international theatres where he achieved some groundbreaking successes, especially in music theatre.

 


 

 

Anca Damian

Romania

 

The filmmaker, cinematographer and screenwriter Anca Damian was born in Cluj in 1962. She received a PhD from the long-established National University of Theatre and Film in Bucharest. Her first feature film as a director, “Crossing Dates”, was released in 2008 and attracted worldwide attention as well as participating in a number of international film festival competitions. “Crulic – The Path to Beyond” (2011), her second feature-length film as a director, became another success with international festivals and critics due to its experimental form and autobiographical narrative perspective, as did “The Magic Mountain”, for which Damian won the MDR Film Prize at DOK Leipzig in 2015.

 


 

Jørgen Leth

Denmark

 

Jørgen Leth, born in 1937, studied Literature and Anthropology in Copenhagen and his native city of Aarhus. He first worked as a music, theatre and film critic for various Danish newspapers, then for a long time as a television sports commentator and made several journeys across the world which influenced his films. Leths oeuvre on film which comprises, in addition to the hugely influential “The Perfect Human” (1967), more than 40 works did not only receive a number of prestigious awards and earned him professorships at the renowned National Film School of Denmark and in the U.S. It is also regarded, along with his teaching activities, as an essential impulse for succeeding generations of Danish filmmakers, including the signatories of the Dogme 95 Manifesto.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Internationaler Wettbewerb langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm


Webarchiv


Jury Internationaler Wettbewerb
langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm



Jury Internationaler Wettbewerb langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm

 


 

Achim Freyer

Deutschland

 

Seit Jahrzehnten prägt Achim Freyer die europäische Theaterlandschaft als einer der innovativsten und stilbildenden deutschen Bühnenbildner seiner Generation. 1934 in Berlin geboren, absolviert er eine Ausbildung zum Gebrauchsgrafiker und ist 1954–1956 Meisterschüler für Bühnenbild bei Bertolt Brecht an der Akademie der Künste. Danach entstehen Bühnen- und Kostümbilder für das Puppentheater Dresden, ab 1962 auch für das DEFA-Trickfilmstudio. 1972 flieht Freyer aus der DDR, wird 1976 Professor an der Hochschule der Künste (West-)Berlin und wirkt fortan neben seiner freien bildkünstlerischen Arbeit als Regisseur, Bühnen- und Kostümbildner an renommierten deutschsprachigen und internationalen Bühnen mit bahnbrechenden Erfolgen, insbesondere auf dem Gebiet des Musiktheaters.

 


  

Anca Damian

Rumänien

 

Die Filmemacherin, Kamerafrau und Drehbuchautorin Anca Damian wurde 1962 in Cluj geboren. Sie promovierte an der traditionsreichen Nationaluniversität für Theater und Film in Bukarest. 2008 erschien mit „Crossing Dates“ ihr erster abendfüllender Spielfilm unter eigener Regie, der weltweit Interesse weckte und in die offizielle Auswahl internationaler Filmfestivals aufgenommen wurde. „Crulic – The Path to Beyond“ (2011), ihre zweite abendfüllende Regiearbeit, avancierte aufgrund seiner experimentellen Form und autobiografischen Erzählhaltung zu einem weiteren internationalen Festival- und Kritikererfolg, ebenso wie zuletzt „The Magic Mountain“, für den Damian bei DOK Leipzig 2015 den MDR-Filmpreis gewann

 


  

Jørgen Leth

Dänemark

 

Jørgen Leth, Jahrgang 1937, studierte Literatur und Anthropologie in Kopenhagen sowie in seiner Geburtsstadt Aarhus. Er war zunächst als Musik-, Theater- und Filmkritiker für dänische Zeitungen tätig, arbeitete lange Jahre als Sportberichterstatter für das Fernsehen und unternahm Weltreisen, die immer wieder auch Eingang in seine Filme fanden. Leths filmisches Œuvre, das neben dem Referenzwerk „The Perfect Human“ (1967) über 40 Arbeiten umfasst, wurde nicht nur mit namhaften Preisen ausgezeichnet und führte zu Professuren an der renommierten National Film School of Denmark sowie in den USA. Es gilt auch, gemeinsam mit seiner Lehrtätigkeit, als wesentlicher Impuls für nachfolgende Generationen von dänischen Filmschaffenden, etwa die Unterzeichner des Dogma-95-Manifests