DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Internationaler Wettbewerb animierter Dokumentarfilm


Webarchiv


International Competition
Animated Documentary



International Competition Animated Documentary

  

Bill Morrison

USA

 

The New York-based film artist Bill Morrison, born in 1965, studied at the renowned Reed College until 1985 and graduated from the Cooper Union School of Art. He is often called a “film archaeologist” because many of his works are based on analogue archive material that he assembles in collages set to contemporary music, often in collaboration with notable composers. His collage film “Decasia” (2002) is considered to be a masterpiece and was selected for the collection of the New York Museum of Modern Art, which honoured Morrison with a retrospective in 2014/15. He is a Fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and received an Alpert Award in the Arts in the category Film/Video in 2006.

 


 

Miriam Ryndová

Czech Republic

 

Myriam Ryndová graduated in Aesthetics and Slovak Language and Literature, supplemented by Artes Liberales courses in Film Studies, in Bratislava and Prague in 2002. From 1999 to 2005 she worked as editor, literature and film critic for the Slovak arts magazine “Vlna” and organised film events at the Soros Center for Contemporary Art in Bratislava. She moved to Prague in 2005, where she curated the music video and animation film sections of Datatransfer, a festival of contemporary visual culture. She is a long-standing member of the Prague Institute of Documentary Film, for which she organises transmedia projects and industry events.

 


 

Jani Leinonen

Finland

 

Media and conceptual artist Jani Leinonen’s subjects are global trademarks and well-known public figures as well as the media strategies used to form,

advertise and sell them. His installations, performances, films, exhibition architectures and objects adapt the iconography of popular advertising and image campaigns and enhance it to the point of acute ridicule, exposing the power commercial interests have over our values. Leinonen graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Helsinki. His works were exhibited at the Venice Biennale in 2009 and other places. In 2015/16 Kiasma dedicated an extensive retrospective to him which included his educational performance project “School of Disobedience”.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Internationaler Wettbewerb animierter Dokumentarfilm


Webarchiv


Jury Internationaler Wettbewerb
animierter Dokumentarfilm



Jury Internationaler Wettbewerb animierter Dokumentarfilm

 


  

Bill Morrison

USA

 

Der in New York lebende Filmkünstler Bill Morrison, Jahrgang 1965, studierte bis 1985 am traditionsreichen Reed College und ist Absolvent der Cooper Union School of Art. Häufig apostrophiert als „Film-Archäologe“, basieren viele seiner Arbeiten auf analogem Archivmaterial, das er, oft in Kollaboration mit namhaften Komponisten, in Collagen zusammenstellt und zu zeitgenössischer Musik re-inszeniert. Als Meisterwerk gilt der Collagefilm „Decasia“ (2002). Er gehört zum Sammlungsbestand des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art, das Morrison 2014/15 mit einer Retrospektive ehrte. Er ist Fellow der John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation und wurde 2006 mit einem Alpert Award in the Arts in der Kategorie Film/Video ausgezeichnet.

 


 

Miriam Ryndová

Tschechische Republik

 

Miriam Ryndová schloss 2002 ihr Studium der Ästhetik und Slowakistik in Bratislava und Prag ab, ergänzt durch Artes-Liberales-Studien in Filmwissenschaft. 1999–2005 arbeitete sie als Redakteurin, Literatur- und Filmjournalistin für das slowakische Kulturmagazin „Vlna“ und organisierte Filmveranstaltungen im Soros-Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Bratislava. Seit 2005 lebt sie in Prag, wo sie im Rahmen von Datatransfer, einem Festival zur zeitgenössischen Bildkultur, den Bereich Musikvideo und Animationsfilm kuratierte. Seit vielen Jahren ist sie Mitarbeiterin am Prager Institut für Dokumentarfilm, für das sie Transmedia-Projekte und Branchenangebote betreut.

 


  

Jani Leinonen

Finnland

 

Der Medien- und Konzeptkünstler Jani Leinonen beschäftigt sich mit globalen Handelsmarken und prominenten Figuren des öffentlichen Lebens sowie den medialen Strategien, mit denen sie geformt, beworben und verkauft werden. Seine Installationen, Performances, Filme, Ausstellungsarchitekturen und Objekte adaptieren die Ikonografie populärer Werbe- und Image-Kampagnen, übersteigern sie ins Lächerlich-Schrille und offenbaren so die Macht, die kommerzielle Interessen über unsere Wertvorstellungen haben. Leinonen ist Absolvent der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Helsinki. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem 2009 auf der Biennale in Venedig ausgestellt. 2015/16 widmete ihm das Kiasma eine umfangreiche Retrospektive, zu der auch das performative Lehrprojekt „School of Disobedience“ gehörte.