DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

IWA


Webarchiv


Programmübersicht Retrospektive Robert Drew Int. Programm Animation

International Competition Animated Film

The best from the international world of animation. As usual, the competition films will guarantee artistically outstanding and innovative animated films.


A Morning Stroll


R: Grant Orchard
Großbritannien, 2011, 7:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


When a New Yorker walks past a chicken on his morning stroll, we are left to wonder which one is the real city slicker … Loosely inspired by a real life event recounted in Paul Auster’s book “True Tales of American Life”, this surprising story of a momentous early morning encounter spans different decades, genres and styles.

Bach


R: Anton D'jakov
Russische Föderation, 2010, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A blade of grass can be a long distance for a snail … a minimalist and ironic meditation about slowness and the sound of the universe.

Blik


R: Bastiaan Schravendeel
Niederlande, 2010, 9:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


When a young boy moves to a new neighbourhood, he falls in love with the older girl next door. While he is desperately trying to get her attention, he finds out she belongs to another guy. A story, told without words or faces, that concentrates fully on the body language.

Blue Red


R: Daniela Krajčová
Slowakei, 2010, 7:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


A woman cares for her old father. His room is divided into two differently coloured sections – red for him, blue for the daughter. When she crosses the boundary, images of her childhood are released. A colourful and poetic variation on the theme of remembrance.

Body Memory


R: Ülo Pikkov
Estland, 2011, 10:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Our body remembers more than we would ever imagine. Our body also remembers the sorrows and the pain of our ancestors. Our body bears the stories of our parents and grandparents as well as the lives of their grandsires. But, how far back is it possible to go in your bodily memory?

Caffeine


R: Danae Diaz
Deutschland, 2011, 5:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


In a mechanical world of men, a mass of identical people start their day with coffee. At a certain point of a typical working day, one of them wants a break from his routine. “Caffeine” represents a visual metaphor for Brandt Brauer Frick's music: As acoustic sounds are put together electronically, hand drawn images are animated by traditional and computer media.

Chest of Drawers


R: Sanni Lahtinen
Finnland, 2011, 7:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


It’s not always easy to keep a chest of drawers tidy, especially when you yourself are the chest of drawers and an uninvited guest messes everything up. A puppet animation about the great challenge of dealing with a break from routine.

Coast Warning


R: Aleksandra Šadrina
Russische Föderation, 2011, 8:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A love story without words: Two shy people are waiting for each other on the coast. He brings the mail, she writes letters. But it takes a major thunderstorm to bring them together.

Conformis


R: Martin Grötzschel
Deutschland, 2011, 6:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Dance as an expression of individuality is soon threatened by the rhythm of the crowd. The outsider becomes the hunted, adaptation the only possible survival strategy … It’s amazing what footprints can reveal about human group behaviour.

Dripped


R: Léo Verrier
Frankreich, 2010, 8:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


New York 1950. Fascinated by painting, Jack fleeces museums all day long. He steals the paintings and puts them on his own walls, when he discovers that eating the master pieces gives him unexpected power. A rather unusual homage to Jackson Pollock, told as a fantastic film noir.

Étude


R: Ania Hazel Leszczynska
Großbritannien, 2011, 4:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A young woman who plays the piano, a sex offender who watches her from the garden and a cat with a predilection for smoking cigarettes that gets in his way. A punctilious variation on the mechanisms of suspense.

Fiesta Brava


R: Steven Woloshen
Kanada, 2011, 4:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


For one day each year, bulls run wild in the streets of Pamplona. And this is what a stampede might look like … A colourful and dynamic abstract take on what it’s like to be born under the sun.

Captain Hu


R: Basil Vogt
Schweiz, 2011, 9:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


What does an old salt do when his ship runs aground in the Alps? He struggles with a helpful native who has his own ideas about how to use offshore gear. A slightly different adventure story scratched directly on the film.

Little Deaths


R: Ruth Lingford
USA, 2010, 11:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


What do people feel, think, or hallucinate at the moment of orgasm? One man sees an exploding bomb, another a street in Riga. An animated exploration of one of our most fleeting and private experiences, based on real life interviews.

Little Theatres: Homage to the Mineral of Cabbage


R: Stephanie Dudley
Kanada, 2010, 5:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


The theatre is usually a place where larger-than-life stories are explored. Here, however, we look between the tiny cracks for the beauty and subtleties that often go unnoticed. Like the ones of cabbage. A poetic homage to a vegetable with many layers, based on a poem by Erín Moure.

Luminaris


R: Juan Pablo Zaramella
Argentinien, 2011, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


Caught in a dreary routine controlled and structured by light, a man gets up every day, makes light bulbs in a factory and goes back home. But he has a plan to escape from this bleak world. Perhaps all he needs is an ally?

Machination 84


R: Lia
Österreich, 2010, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A forest of flickering, superimposed wavy lines grows denser and more complicated to the rhythm of a suggestive composition of knocks, clicks and ringing. The images were created live in real time to the music with no post-processing – a film without cuts, a continuous flow of abstract mutations.

Muybridge's Strings


R: Koji Yamamura
Kanada, 2011, 12:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Though separated by a century and an ocean, the lives of photographer Eadweard Muybridge and that of a Japanese mother clash poetically, as they share the irrepressible human desire to make time stand still. Immediately recognizable by the filmmaker’s refined style of animation, “Muybridge’s Strings” is an artistic meditation on the passage of time and ties that no longer bind.

Night Guise


R: Franziska Bachmaier
Deutschland, 2011, 8:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


An angry old man follows a recurring noise that disturbs him during the night. On his way through his secluded house, he discovers the tracks of a child … A film that calmly sleepwalks into the past through a dreamlike painted atmosphere.

Noise


R: Przemysław Adamski
Polen, 2011, 7:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Sound as a powerful motor for the imagination plays the leading role in this audiovisual work. The noises seeping into the protagonist's flat become subject to his individual interpretation. Several sounds deprived of their visual correlations evoke images which are often remote from their sources in reality – but still tell a story.

Oedipus


R: Paul Driessen
Kanada, 2011, 14:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Oedipus, who can't understand why his mistress inexplicably ran off, decides to join a therapy group of relationship-challenged individuals and is prompted to go back in time, regressing to find the root of his love problem. Parodying the Greek myth, and throwing in a bunch of well-known animated characters, director Paul Driessen offers up a backwards tragicomic version of the classic tale.

Partition


R: Delia Hess
Schweiz, 2011, 6:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A disastrous event brings two lonely and bored neighbours made of paper together. Though they seem hopelessly lost, they discover a new and free world together.

Romance


R: Georges Schwizgebel
Schweiz, Kanada, 2011, 7:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A man and a woman meet on a plane and watch a romantic movie, which conjures up quite original images in their minds … Ingeniously interwoven reflections on the visual codes of romance.

Shatalo


R: Aleksej Demin
Russische Föderation, 2010, 13:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A black cat roams through an idyllic Russian village, transforming the lives of its inhabitants. Episodic and atmospheric images of the river bank in summer, based on the writings of Jurij Koval' – as beautiful and ephemeral as summer itself.

Sweetheart


R: Ekaterina Sokolova
Russische Föderation, 2010, 12:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Life as a train ride. A man always travels the same route. Over the years he comes to the bittersweet conclusion that the life that’s passing by outside the windows could have been his. Is it too late to get out?

The Conquerors


R: Tibor Banoczki
Frankreich, Kanada, 2011, 12:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


On a mysterious remote island a couple tries to survive. But soon they realize this is not the island they expected. Anthropological observation told as a fantastic adventure and with a surprising mixture of techniques.

The Gallery


R: Robert Proch
Polen, 2010, 5:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A couple and their dog arrive in the strange world of a retail park, and in doing so enter a twisted game where how they appear to one another defines how they act. A grotesque picture about how the day off can become a hard working one.

The Making of Longbird


R: Will Anderson
Großbritannien, 2011, 15:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


An animator struggles with the character he draws. Not with any character but with the famous longbird, a classical Russian figure. At least he pretends to be famous. An ironic mockumentary about the process of artistic creation.

The Peacock Eye


R: Gerlando Infuso
Belgien, 2010, 13:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Hunter, gatherer, artist – a woman in search of the perfect, ultimate adventure. This sumptuous Gothic period tale unleashes a tragic battle of the sexes and practices the art of seduction using every trick in the book.

The Shoemaker


R: David Doutel
Portugal, 2010, 12:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


A shoemaker absorbed in memories of his life and the exigencies of his job experiences a crucial moment in his existence. In poetic images the film follows him through a pivotal day in his life which will determine his future.

The Storyteller


R: Nandita Jain
Großbritannien, 2011, 10:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Seven year old Nirmala lives in a cabin on the beach with her grandfather. The old man’s fishing net is showing more and more holes, as is his memory. While he fights the demons of dementia, Nirmala resolutely tries to wring all the details of her favourite story from him one more time.

Tintouin the Kid


R: Loïc Malo
Frankreich, 2010, 13:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Tintouin is suffering from visual hallucinations and voices in his head. Almost any act of everyday life is a problem and makes him panic. Caught up in his obsessions, phobias, schizophrenic behaviour patterns, he does not know where to turn. A concrete and emphatic case study.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

IWA


Webarchiv


Programmübersicht Retrospektive Robert Drew Int. Programm Animation

Internationaler Wettbewerb Animationsfilm

Das beste aus der internationalen Welt der Animation. Wie gewohnt sind die Wettbewerbsfilme ein Garant für herausragende und innovative künstlerische Animationsfilme.


A Morning Stroll


R: Grant Orchard
Großbritannien, 2011, 7:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


Ein New Yorker kommt bei seinem Morgenspaziergang an einem Huhn vorbei und wir fragen uns, wer von den beiden die echte Großstadtpflanze ist … Frei nach einem wahren Ereignis aus Paul Austers Buch „True Tales of American Life“, umspannt diese überraschende Geschichte einer folgenschweren Begegnung am frühen Morgen mehrere Jahrzehnte, Genres und Stile.

Bach


R: Anton D'jakov
Russische Föderation, 2010, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Für eine Schnecke kann ein Halm zu einer langen Strecke werden … Minimalistische und ironische Meditation über die Langsamkeit und den Klang des Universums.

Blik


R: Bastiaan Schravendeel
Niederlande, 2010, 9:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein Junge zieht in eine neue Gegend und verliebt sich in das ältere Mädchen nebenan. Während er noch verzweifelt versucht, ihre Aufmerksamkeit zu erregen, findet er heraus, dass sie einem anderen gehört. Ohne Worte oder Gesichter erzählt, konzentriert sich die Geschichte nur auf die Körpersprache.

Blue Red


R: Daniela Krajčová
Slowakei, 2010, 7:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Eine Frau versorgt ihren alten Vater. Sein Zimmer ist in zwei farbig markierte Bereiche unterteilt – der rote für ihn, der blaue für die Tochter. Als sie die Grenze überschreitet, werden Bilder aus ihrer Kindheit freigesetzt. Farbpoetische Variation des Themas Erinnerung.

Body Memory


R: Ülo Pikkov
Estland, 2011, 10:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Unser Körper erinnert sich an mehr, als wir uns vorstellen können. Unser Körper erinnert sich auch an die Sorgen und Schmerzen unserer Vorfahren. Unser Körper trägt die Geschichten unserer Eltern und Großeltern in sich, ebenso wie die Leben unserer Ahnen. Aber wie weit kann man im Körpergedächtnis zurückgehen?

Caffeine


R: Danae Diaz
Deutschland, 2011, 5:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


In einer mechanischen Welt beginnen Massen identischer Menschen jeden Tag mit Kaffee. Irgendwann an einem typischen Arbeitstag möchte einer von ihnen aus der Routine ausbrechen. „Caffeine“ ist eine visuelle Metapher für die Musik von Brandt Brauer Frick: Während akustische Geräusche elektronisch zusammengefügt sind, werden handgezeichnete Bilder traditionell und per Computer animiert.

Chest of Drawers


R: Sanni Lahtinen
Finnland, 2011, 7:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ordnung in einer Kommode zu halten, ist nicht immer einfach, vor allem, wenn man selbst die Kommode ist und ein ungebetener Gast alles durcheinander bringt. Puppenanimation über die große Herausforderung, mit einer durchbrochenen Routine umzugehen.

Coast Warning


R: Aleksandra Šadrina
Russische Föderation, 2011, 8:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Eine Liebesgeschichte ohne Worte: Zwei schüchterne Menschen warten an der Küste aufeinander. Er bringt die Post, sie schreibt Briefe. Doch es braucht schon ein ordentliches Unwetter, um die beiden zusammenzubringen.

Conformis


R: Martin Grötzschel
Deutschland, 2011, 6:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Der Tanz, verstanden als Ausdruck von Individualität, wird schnell bedroht durch den Gleichschritt der Masse. Der Ausreißer wird zum Gejagten, die Anpassung zur einzig möglichen Überlebensstrategie … Erstaunlich, was Fußspuren über das menschliche Gruppenverhalten erzählen können.

Dripped


R: Léo Verrier
Frankreich, 2010, 8:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


New York, 1950. Von der Malerei fasziniert, nimmt Jack den ganzen Tag Museen aus. Er stiehlt die Gemälde und hängt sie bei sich auf, bis er entdeckt, dass ihm das Verspeisen der Meisterwerke ungeahnte Kräfte verleiht. Eine ziemlich ungewöhnliche Hommage an Jackson Pollock im Stil eines fantastischen Film noir.

Étude


R: Ania Hazel Leszczynska
Großbritannien, 2011, 4:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Eine junge Frau, die Klavier spielt, ein Triebtäter, der sie vom Garten aus beobachtet, und eine Katze mit einer Vorliebe fürs Rauchen, die ihm im Weg ist. Spitzfindige Variation auf die Mechanismen der Suspense.

Fiesta Brava


R: Steven Woloshen
Kanada, 2011, 4:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


An einem Tag im Jahr werden Stiere in den Straßen von Pamplona losgelassen. Und so könnte eine Stampede aussehen … Ein farbenfroher und dynamisch-abstrakter Versuch darüber, wie es ist, unter der Sonne geboren zu sein.

Kapitän Hu


R: Basil Vogt
Schweiz, 2011, 9:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Was macht ein alter Seebär, wenn er mit seinem Schiff in den Alpen strandet? Er schlägt sich dort mit einem hilfsbereiten Einheimischen herum, der seine eigenen Vorstellungen von der Verwendung der Hochseeausrüstung hat. Eine etwas andere Abenteuergeschichte, direkt auf das Filmmaterial gekratzt.

Little Deaths


R: Ruth Lingford
USA, 2010, 11:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Was empfinden, denken, halluzinieren die Menschen beim Orgasmus? Der eine sieht eine Bombe, die hochgeht, der andere eine Straße in Riga. Animierte Erkundung eines der flüchtigsten und privatesten Erlebnisse, basierend auf realen Interviews.

Little Theatres: Homage to the Mineral of Cabbage


R: Stephanie Dudley
Kanada, 2010, 5:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Normalerweise ist das Theater ein Ort, an dem überlebensgroße Geschichten erzählt werden. Hier schauen wir jedoch durch die kleinsten Ritzen auf Schön- und Feinheiten, die oft unbemerkt bleiben. Wie die des Kohls. Poetische Hommage an ein vielschichtiges Gemüse nach einem Gedicht von Erín Moure.

Luminaris


R: Juan Pablo Zaramella
Argentinien, 2011, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 22:00 Uhr Centraltheater


Gefangen in einem eintönigen Alltag, der vom Licht kontrolliert und strukturiert wird, steht ein Mann jeden Tag auf, produziert in der Fabrik Glühbirnen und geht wieder nach Hause. Aber er hat einen Plan, mit dem die Flucht aus dieser tristen Welt gelingen könnte. Vielleicht braucht er nur eine Verbündete?

Machination 84


R: Lia
Österreich, 2010, 6:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein sich verdichtender Wald von flackernden, einander überlagernden und komplizierenden Wellenlinien zum Rhythmus einer suggestiven Klangkomposition aus Pochen, Klicken und Klingeln. Die Bilder entstanden live, also in Realzeit zur Musik und wurden nicht nachbearbeitet – ein Film ohne Schnitt, ein kontinuierlicher Fluss der abstrakten Mutationen.

Muybridge's Strings


R: Koji Yamamura
Kanada, 2011, 12:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Auch wenn sie durch ein Jahrhundert und einen Ozean getrennt sind, treffen die Leben des Fotografen Eadweard Muybridge und einer japanischen Mutter auf poetische Weise aufeinander. Beiden gemeinsam ist die unbezähmbare menschliche Sehnsucht danach, die Zeit anzuhalten. Unverkennbar durch den raffinierten Animationsstil des Filmemachers, ist „Muybridge’s Strings“ eine künstlerische Meditation über das Vergehen der Zeit und Fesseln, die längst abgestreift sind.

Nachtgestalt


R: Franziska Bachmaier
Deutschland, 2011, 8:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein mürrischer alter Mann folgt einem immer wiederkehrenden Geräusch, das ihn nachts wachhält. Bei seinem Gang durch das abgelegene Haus entdeckt er die Spuren eines Kindes … Ein ruhiger Film, der durch eine traumartig-malerische Atmosphäre in die Vergangenheit schlafwandelt.

Noise


R: Przemysław Adamski
Polen, 2011, 7:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Die Hauptrolle in dieser audiovisuellen Arbeit spielen Klänge als Motor der Fantasie. Die Geräusche, die in die Wohnung des Protagonisten dringen, werden von ihm ganz eigenwillig interpretiert. Einige Geräusche, zu denen es keine visuelle Entsprechung zu geben scheint, beschwören Bilder herauf, die mit der realen Sound-Quelle oft wenig zu tun haben – aber dennoch eine Geschichte erzählen.

Oedipus


R: Paul Driessen
Kanada, 2011, 14:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ödipus, der nicht verstehen kann, warum seine Geliebte ohne Erklärung weggelaufen ist, beschließt, in eine Therapiegruppe für Beziehungsgestörte zu gehen. Man empfiehlt ihm eine Reise zurück durch die Zeit, um die Wurzel seines Problems mit der Liebe zu finden. Regisseur Paul Driessen parodiert die griechische Mythologie, gibt eine Handvoll bekannter Comicfiguren dazu und bietet eine rückwärts ablaufende, tragikomische Version der klassischen Sage.

Partition


R: Delia Hess
Schweiz, 2011, 6:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Zwei einsame und gelangweilte Nachbarn aus Papier lernen sich durch ein desaströses Ereignis kennen. Obwohl scheinbar rettungslos verloren, entdecken sie gemeinsam eine neue und freiere Welt.

Romance


R: Georges Schwizgebel
Schweiz, Kanada, 2011, 7:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein Mann und eine Frau begegnen sich in einem Flugzeug und sehen einen romantischen Film. In ihren Köpfen entstehen dabei ganz eigene Bilder … Kunstvoll verwobene Reflexion über die visuellen Codes der Liebesromantik.

Shatalo


R: Aleksej Demin
Russische Föderation, 2010, 13:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein schwarzer Kater streift durch eine russische Dorfidylle und verwandelt das Leben der Bewohner. Episodische Stimmungsbilder vom Flussufer zur Sommerzeit nach literarischen Motiven von Jurij Koval’ – so schön und flüchtig wie der Sommer selbst.

Sweetheart


R: Ekaterina Sokolova
Russische Föderation, 2010, 12:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Das Leben als Zugreise. Ein Mann fährt immer wieder dieselbe Strecke. Über die Jahre kommt er zur bittersüßen Erkenntnis, dass das Leben, das draußen an den Fenstern vorbeizieht, auch seines hätte sein können. Ist es schon zu spät, um auszusteigen?

The Conquerors


R: Tibor Banoczki
Frankreich, Kanada, 2011, 12:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Auf einer geheimnisvollen einsamen Insel versucht ein Paar zu überleben. Aber bald wird ihnen klar, dass dies nicht die Insel ist, für die sie sie gehalten haben. Anthropologische Beobachtung als fantastisches Abenteuer, mit einer verblüffenden Vielfalt an Techniken erzählt.

The Gallery


R: Robert Proch
Polen, 2010, 5:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein Paar betritt mit seinem Hund die bizarre Welt eines Einkaufszentrums und es beginnt ein völlig abgedrehtes Spiel, in dem ihr Aussehen ihr Verhalten bestimmt. Ein grotesker Film darüber, wie ein freier Tag in harte Arbeit ausarten kann.

The Making of Longbird


R: Will Anderson
Großbritannien, 2011, 15:00min

Do, 20.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Fr, 21.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria

So, 23.10. 17:00 Uhr Astoria


Ein Animationskünstler kämpft mit der Figur, die er zeichnet. Nicht mit irgendeiner Figur, sondern mit dem berühmten Langvogel, einer klassischen russischen Märchengestalt. Zumindest tut er so, als sei er berühmt. Ironische Mockumentary über den künstlerischen Schaffensprozess.

The Peacock Eye


R: Gerlando Infuso
Belgien, 2010, 13:00min

Di, 18.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Mi, 19.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Jägerin, Sammlerin, Künstlerin – eine Frau auf der Suche nach dem vollkommenen Abenteuer, das keine Steigerung mehr kennt. Das opulente Schauermärchen in historischem Gewand entfesselt einen tragischen Geschlechterkampf und übt sich mit allen Finessen in der Kunst der Verführung.

The Shoemaker


R: David Doutel
Portugal, 2010, 12:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Ein in Erinnerungen an sein Leben und die Anforderungen seines Berufs versunkener Schuster durchlebt einen entscheidenden existenziellen Moment. In poetischen Bildern folgt ihm der Film durch einen Tag, der sein Leben verändern kann und seine Zukunft bestimmen wird.

The Storyteller


R: Nandita Jain
Großbritannien, 2011, 10:00min

Mi, 19.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Do, 20.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Die siebenjährige Nirmala lebt mit ihrem Großvater in einer Hütte am Strand. Doch nicht nur das Fischernetz des Alten wird immer löchriger, sondern auch sein Gedächtnis. Während er mit den Dämonen der Demenz kämpft, lässt Nirmala nicht locker, ihm noch einmal alle Einzelheiten ihrer Lieblingsgeschichte abzuringen.

Tintouin the Kid


R: Loïc Malo
Frankreich, 2010, 13:00min

Fr, 21.10. 20:00 Uhr Astoria

Sa, 22.10. 13:30 Uhr Astoria


Tintouin leidet unter visuellen Halluzinationen und inneren Stimmen. Fast jede alltägliche Handlung ist ein Problem und versetzt ihn in Panik. Gefangen in seinen Obsessionen, Phobien und schizophrenen Verhaltensmustern weiß er nicht mehr wohin. Konkrete und eindringliche Fallstudie.