DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Nickel


Webarchiv


Programmübersicht Rhythms of India Jürgen Böttcher

Sometimes you want to fly - Homage à Gitta Nickel

Gitta Nickel's oeuvre does not only abound with extremely valuable references to his-tory: It also contains unadorned images of every-day life in a country that no longer exists. At the same time it conveys the utopia that there is something else in the works of „great" artists who Nickel has managed to portray so masterly, as has been done in the dreams and longings of ordinary people, where she felt at home.


But Ain’t I Right Just a Little?


R: Gitta Nickel
Deutschland, 1997, 15:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


The lives and working conditions of women in the countryside are a recurrent theme of Gitta Nickel’s work, which is continued and commented on in this miniature produced for an MDR television series. If you wonder what may have become of the women Nickel portrayed in her pre-unification films, this might be the answer: Ida, who was left alone in her big house and keeps trying, in spite of old age and increasing isolation, to preserve her rural way of life, from keeping small livestock to crop rotation, while she never ceases to worry about the hunger in the world. Grit Lemke

To Feel the Wind on the Skin


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1989, 77:00min

Fr, 21.10. 10:00 Uhr Universum


Following a bathing accident in his youth, Thomas is paralysed from the neck down and, given up by the doctors and pumped full of morphine, dozes his life away in a hospital. But his parents fight for him and thus against the practices of the GDR health care system and its customary treatment of disabled persons. Their support and his admirable self-discipline enable him to return to life as a translator of Japanese and a painter who also becomes an activist in one of the first self-help organisations of the GDR. In this empathetic work with its strict composition of impressive black and white photos and dissonant music, Gitta Nickel focuses once more on the individual’s right to lead a self-determined life, which could hardly be demonstrated more drastically than with the example of Thomas. Grit Lemke

Gundula – Born in ‘58


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1982, 59:00min

Do, 20.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


In many ways, the single mother Gundula, who works shifts in a nursing home and tours dance events as a singer in her spare time, evokes the heroine of the DEFA fiction film “Solo Sunny”, which later achieved cult status, except that her reality is even more drab and devoid of all glamour. Like Sunny, Gundula fights for her right to be an individual, which includes caring for patients in the bleak and thoroughly standardised life of the care home (the depiction of which was another taboo in the GDR) as well as her music, which is eyed suspiciously by the “work collective”. When Gundula – though the residents of the home love and appreciate her – must justify her way of life in front of a tribunal, one realises that a country can also perish because it is too narrow-minded. Award of the Film Clubs Leipzig in 1982. Grit Lemke

Time to Make Hay


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1972, 43:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


This multiple award winner (Silver Dove Leipzig 1972, Main Prize of the Jury of the Association of German Adult Education Centres and Prize of the AID Oberhausen 1973) is one of the most important and honest documents of the reorganisation of agriculture in the GDR. The story of a village and an LPG (Agricultural Production Cooperative) in the Oderbruch region is told on two levels: the memories and daily life of calf breeder Frieda and her husband Ernst in 1972, and material filmed by Karl Gass at an LPG meeting in 1963. The latter, the only footage from the days of the “socialist spring”, had never been released before because it openly showed mismanagement, alcoholism and poverty. The biographies of two rural workers are intertwined with the history of a century, and beyond the then highly explosive socio-political content of the film a touching story of life and love emerges. Grit Lemke

Sometimes You Want to Fly


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1981, 62:00min

Do, 20.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


The Berlin-Marzahn construction site was considered the most important and prestigious project of the GDR residential construction programme, which in turn constituted the core of the SED’s (Socialist Unity Party of Germany) social policy. Nickel’s long term observation of the Lademann “youth brigade” gives us an idea of why this ambitious project ultimately failed: the workers’ initial enthusiasm (mixed with a spirit of adventure) gradually gives way to disillusionment in the face of mismanagement, lack of materials and phrase mongering. The image of the proud builder – one of the most effective icons of socialism – is shattered, not least because we can feel the desperation of the real workers at their own cramped living conditions. Small wonder then that the reactions to the film were extremely hostile; its release was temporarily prohibited and made possible only when it won the Silver Dove in Leipzig. Grit Lemke

Musicians


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1981, 59:00min

So, 23.10. 11:00 Uhr Universum


When the Neues Gewandhaus opened in Leipzig, Gitta Nickel, commissioned by GDR television, produced a portrait of the Gewandhaus Orchestra. The musicians at rehearsals, on tour, talking about and making music. Kurt Masur on the rostrum, during a private moment in the garden and with workers on the construction site. As in her preceding artists’ portraits, Nickel manages to create a composition of music, images and attitude. She brings out what is special about this ensemble under its mastermind Masur: dedication, passion, discipline, strong ties to their place of residence and its tradition and – as one of the musicians puts it – “not letting the bandmaster drive you crazy”. Grit Lemke

Tay Ho – The Village in the Fourth Zone


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1973, 35:00min

Sa, 22.10. 19:30 Uhr Universum


Gitta Nickel’s Vietnam film, which was awarded the Leipzig Golden Dove in 1973, captures images of the long awaited peace: laughing children, impressions of village life and a will to rebuild the country that is felt in a production counselling session and a birthday party for Uncle Ho. But reflective notes creep into this praise of socialist construction, for example when a young woman talks of personal sacrifices. Nickel later said that working in Vietnam, where she realised three films, had been difficult and changed her perspective. Grit Lemke

Do Not Scorch Our Earth


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1980, 42:00min

Sa, 22.10. 19:30 Uhr Universum


When Gitta Nickel visited Hiroshima in 1980, she found a society that wanted to forget at all costs and nuclear victims whose stories nobody wanted to hear. In an expressive montage, she mixes the quiet moments of remembrance with torn Penderecki sounds and pictures of a fast-growing metropolis and prosperous industry in a frenzy of capitalist accumulation, where only healthy, able-bodied people find their place. Doubtless one of the highlights in Gitta Nickel’s work which will endure far beyond its time: an impressive and painful demonstration of the road that led to Fukushima. Grit Lemke

… and the Polish Farmgirls Are Coming Tomorrow


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1975, 52:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


This is regarded both as Gitta Nickel’s most important work of the 1970s and a highlight of the GDR television documentary. The film is a precise observation of an encounter between German workers and Polish women who come to a poultry factory for training. In individual portraits that talk of problems and desires, the film questions and deconstructs the permanently asserted “steadfast friendship” with the “socialist brother countries”. By revealing conflicts and prejudices, it breaks a closely guarded taboo; but it also finds moments of real warmth behind the starkly depicted hardships of working life and the clash of cultures which even seem subversive in this context. Grit Lemke

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Nickel


Webarchiv


Programmübersicht Rhythms of India Jürgen Böttcher

Manchmal möchte man fliegen - Hommage à Gitta Nickel

In Nickels Arbeit finden wir nicht nur Historisches von unschätzbarem Wert: ungeschönte Bilder vom Alltag eines untergegangenen Landes. Zugleich ist da immer die Utopie, dass es noch etwas anderes gibt – in den Werken der „großen" Künstler, die Nickel so meisterhaft porträtierte, wie in den Träumen und Sehnsüchten der „kleinen" Leute, bei denen sie sich zu Hause fühlte.


Aber hab' ich nich'n büschen Recht?


R: Gitta Nickel
Deutschland, 1997, 15:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


Das Leben und die Arbeitsbedingungen von Frauen auf dem Land sind ein wiederkehrendes Thema der Arbeiten von Gitta Nickel, das mit dieser für eine MDR-Serie entstandenen Miniatur fortgesetzt und kommentiert wird. Wenn man sich fragt, was weiter mit den Frauen geschah, die Nickel in ihren Vorwende-Filmen porträtierte, könnte dies eine Antwort sein: Ida, die allein in ihrem großen Haus zurückblieb und trotz hohen Alters und zunehmender Isolation versucht, ihre ländliche Lebensweise von der Kleinviehhaltung bis zur Feldfruchtfolge beizubehalten. Und die dabei nicht aufhört, sich über den Hunger in der Welt zu sorgen. Grit Lemke

Den Wind auf der Haut spüren


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1989, 77:00min

Fr, 21.10. 10:00 Uhr Universum


Nach einem Badeunfall als Jugendlicher ist Thomas bis zum Hals gelähmt und dämmert, von den Ärzten aufgegeben und mit Morphinen vollgepumpt, in der Klinik vor sich hin. Doch seine Eltern kämpfen um ihn und damit auch gegen die Praktiken des DDR-Gesundheitswesens und den üblichen Umgang mit Behinderten. Mit ihrer Unterstützung und bewundernswerter Selbstdisziplin gelingt ihm die Rückkehr ins Leben als Japanisch-Übersetzer und Maler, der zudem in einer der ersten Selbsthilfe-Organisationen der DDR aktiv wird. Einmal mehr geht es Gitta Nickel in diesem sensiblen, mit impressiven Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos und dissonanter Musik durchkomponierten Werk um das Recht des Einzelnen auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben, das kaum drastischer als am Beispiel von Thomas auszudrücken ist. Grit Lemke

Gundula – Jahrgang 58


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1982, 59:00min

Do, 20.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


Die alleinerziehende Krankenschwester Gundula, die im Schichtdienst in einem Altenpflegeheim arbeitet und in ihrer Freizeit als Sängerin auf Tanzveranstaltungen tingelt, erinnert in vielem an die Heldin des später zum Kultfilm avancierten „Solo Sunny“ – nur dass die Realität noch trister und ganz ohne Glamour daherkommt. Wie jene kämpft Gundula um das Recht auf Individualität, was die Hinwendung zu Patienten im trostlosen und durchnormierten Pflegealltag (auch dies zu zeigen ein Tabu in der DDR) ebenso wie die vom „Arbeitskollektiv“ misstrauisch beäugte Musik einschließt. Wenn Gundula – obwohl von den Heimbewohnern geliebt und geschätzt – sich vor einem Tribunal für ihre Lebensweise verantworten muss, weiß man, dass ein Land auch an seiner Spießigkeit zugrunde gehen kann. Ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis der Filmklubs Leipzig 1982. Grit Lemke

Heuwetter


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1972, 43:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


Der mehrfach preisgekrönte Film (Silberne Taube Leipzig 1972, Hauptpreis der Jury des Deutschen Hochschulverbandes und Preis der AID Oberhausen 1973) ist eines der wichtigsten und ehrlichsten Dokumente der Umgestaltung der Landwirtschaft in der DDR. Die Geschichte eines Dorfes und einer LPG im Oderbruch wird auf zwei Ebenen erzählt: Die Erinnerungen und der Alltag der Kälberzüchterin Frieda und ihres Mannes Ernst im Jahr 1972 sowie Filmaufnahmen von Karl Gass, 1963 auf einer LPG-Versammlung gedreht. Letztere, das einzige Filmmaterial aus den Tagen des „sozialistischen Frühlings“, waren aufgrund der offenen Darstellung von Misswirtschaft, Alkoholismus und Armut vorher nie veröffentlicht worden. Die Biografien zweier Landarbeiter verweben sich mit der Geschichte eines Jahrhunderts, und über die seinerzeit enorme gesellschaftspolitische Brisanz des Films hinaus bleibt eine berührende Geschichte vom Leben und von der Liebe. Grit Lemke

Manchmal möchte man fliegen


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1981, 62:00min

Do, 20.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


Die Großbaustelle Berlin-Marzahn galt als wichtigstes und prestigeträchtigstes Vorhaben des DDR-Wohnungsbauprogramms, das wiederum den Kern der SED-Sozialpolitik bildete. Woran dieses ehrgeizige Projekt letztendlich scheiterte, lässt Nickels Langzeitbeobachtung der „Jugendbrigade“ Lademann erahnen: Der anfängliche (mit Abenteuerlust gemischte) Enthusiasmus der Arbeiter weicht angesichts von Misswirtschaft, Materialmangel und Phrasendrescherei einer zunehmenden Desillusionierung. Das Bild der stolzen Erbauer – eine der wirkmächtigsten Ikonen des Sozialismus – wird nicht zuletzt gebrochen, wenn die Verzweiflung der realen Bauarbeiter über die eigenen beengten Wohnverhältnisse spürbar wird. Insofern verwundert es nicht, dass der Film starken Anfeindungen ausgesetzt war, seine Aufführung zeitweilig verhindert und nur durch die Auszeichnung mit der Silbernen Taube in Leipzig möglich wurde. Grit Lemke

Musikanten


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1981, 59:00min

So, 23.10. 11:00 Uhr Universum


Aus Anlass der Eröffnung des Neuen Gewandhauses zu Leipzig porträtiert Gitta Nickel 1981 im Auftrag des DDR-Fernsehens das Gewandhausorchester. Die Musiker bei der Probe, auf Tournee, beim Reden über Musik und beim Musizieren, Kurt Masur am Pult, privat im Garten und mit Arbeitern auf der Baustelle. Wie schon in vorangegangenen Künstlerporträts gelingt Nickel hier eine Komposition aus Musik, Bild und Haltung. Es wird deutlich, was das Besondere dieses Klangkörpers unter seinem Mastermind Masur ist: Hingabe, Leidenschaft, Disziplin, eine starke Bindung an den Ort und dessen Tradition und – wie einer der Musiker sagt – „sich vom Kapellmeister nicht irre machen lassen“. Grit Lemke

Tay Ho – Das Dorf in der 4. Zone


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1973, 35:00min

Sa, 22.10. 19:30 Uhr Universum


Es sind Bilder vom lang ersehnten Frieden, die Gitta Nickel in diesem 1973 in Leipzig mit der Goldenen Taube ausgezeichneten Vietnam-Film einfängt: lachende Kinder, Impressionen vom Dorfleben und ein Aufbauwille, der in einer Produktionsberatung und auf der Geburtstagsfeier für Onkel Ho spürbar wird. Doch in das Loblied des sozialistischen Aufbaus mischen sich nachdenkliche Töne, wenn etwa eine junge Frau von persönlichen Opfern spricht. Nickel äußerte später, die Arbeit in Vietnam, wo sie insgesamt drei Filme realisierte, sei schwierig gewesen und hätte ihr zu neuen Sichtweisen verholfen. Grit Lemke

Verbrennt nicht unsere Erde


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1980, 42:00min

Sa, 22.10. 19:30 Uhr Universum


Als Gitta Nickel 1980 in die Stadt Hiroshima kommt, findet sie eine Gesellschaft, die um jeden Preis vergessen will, und Atombombenopfer, deren Geschichten keiner hören mag. In einer expressiven Montage mischen sich die stillen Momente der Erinnerung mit zerrissenen Penderecki-Klängen sowie Bildern einer schnell wachsenden Metropole und prosperierenden Industrie im Rausch kapitalistischer Akkumulation, in der nur Gesunde, Leistungsfähige einen Platz haben. Zweifellos einer der Höhepunkte im Schaffen von Gitta Nickel mit Bestand weit über seine Zeit hinaus: So eindrucksvoll wie schmerzhaft wird hier deutlich, welcher Weg zu Fukushima führte. Grit Lemke

… und morgen kommen die Polinnen


R: Gitta Nickel
DDR, 1975, 52:00min

Mi, 19.10. 14:00 Uhr Universum


Diese Arbeit gilt als die wichtigste von Gitta Nickel in den 70er-Jahren und zudem als ein Höhepunkt des DDR-Fernsehdokumentarismus. In der genauen Beobachtung der Begegnung von deutschen Arbeiterinnen und polnischen Frauen, die zum Anlernen in den Geflügel verarbeitenden Betrieb kommen, und in von Problemen und Sehnsüchten erzählenden Einzelporträts hinterfragt und dekonstruiert der Film die stets behauptete „unverbrüchliche Freundschaft“ mit den „Bruderländern“. Indem er Konflikte und Vorurteile aufzeigt, bricht er ein wohlbehütetes Tabu, findet aber hinter der schonungslos dargestellten Härte des Arbeitsalltags und dem Zusammenprall der Kulturen zugleich auch Momente echter Herzenswärme – die hier schon fast subversiv wirkt. Grit Lemke