DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Preis der ökumenischen Jury


Webarchiv


Prize of the Ecomenical Jury

donated by the VCH-Hotels Germany GmbH – in the “Verband Christlicher Hoteliers e.V.” including the Hotel MICHAELIS in Leipzig



Prize of the Ecomenical Jury donated by the VCH-Hotels Germany GmbH – in the “Verband Christlicher Hoteliers e.V.” including the Hotel MICHAELIS in Leipzig

Olivier Zuchuat (Switzerland, Greece, France) for the film
Comme des lions de pierra à l’entrée de la nuit (Like Stone Lions at the Gateway into Night)

The film is about so-called re-education camps on the Greek island of Makronissos in the Aegean Sea, where communist intellectuals were detained under degrading conditions from 1947 - 1951. Poetic texts by the internees, found in the cracks of the ruins, have now been reawakened to filmic life. With and in these texts, the prisoners kept their human dignity.

The film is shattering evidence of the courage and mental strength needed to resist a dictatorship of uniformed thinking; a document of gentle poetry against shouted slogans. Texts, touchingly spoken by voices of the past, break with our conceptions of a country that many know only as tourists.

Produced as a filmic essay in an excellent workmanlike fashion, “Comme des lions de pierra à l’entrée de la nuit” presents a stark contrast between a colourful postcard idyll on the image level and a documentation of abysmal powerlessness, deep hopes and lived courage on the sound level.

Perhaps it was necessary that more than 20 years had to pass after the fall of the Iron Curtain before these texts could unfold their deeply human message from a time of ideological polarization and instrumentalisation. It does us here in Europe a lot of good to think about Greece as it is presented in this film.

 

Further information on the film

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Preis der ökumenischen Jury


Webarchiv


Preis der ökumenischen Jury

von den VCH-Hotels Deutschland GmbH - im Verband Christlicher Hoteliers e. V. einschließlich des Hotels MICHAELIS in Leipzig



Preis der ökumenischen Jury von den VCH-Hotels Deutschland GmbH - im Verband Christlicher Hoteliers e. V. einschließlich des Hotels MICHAELIS in Leipzig

Olivier Zuchuat (Schweiz, Griechenland, Frankreich) für den Film
Comme des lions de pierre à l’entrée de la nuit (Like Stone Lions at the Gateway into Night)

Es geht um sogenannte Umerziehungslager in der Zeit von 1947 bis 1951, in denen kommunistische Intellektuelle auf der griechischen Insel Makronissos in der Ägäis unter menschenunwürdigen Umständen festgehalten wurden. Poetische Texte der Internierten wurden in den Ritzen der Ruinen gefunden und nun filmisch zum Leben erweckt. In ihnen bewahrten diese Gefangenen ihre menschliche Würde.

Der Film ist ein erschütterndes Dokument von Mut und geistigem Widerstand gegen eine Diktatur der Uniformierung von Gedanken; ein Dokument von sanfter Poesie gegen gebrüllte Parolen. Eindrucksvoll gesprochene Texte durchbrechen als Stimmen der Vergangenheit unsere Vorstellungen von einem Land, das viele nur als Touristen bereisen.

Als filmisches Essay inszeniert, handwerklich großartig gearbeitet, präsentiert der Film einen schreienden Gegensatz von einer Postkartenidylle auf der Bildebene und einer Dokumentation abgründiger Ohnmacht, tiefen Hoffens und gelebter Courage auf der Tonebene.

Vielleicht mussten erst über 20 Jahre nach der Zeit des „Eisernen Vorhanges“ in Europa vergehen, dass sich diese Texte aus einer ideologischen Polarisierung und Instrumentalisierung tief menschlich entfalten können.
Es tut uns in Europa gut, in dieser im Film präsentierten Art über Griechenland nachzudenken.

 

Mehr Informationen zum Film