DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm

Escaping Realities

Imagine waking up one day to find all your friends have disappeared. For Martin, this concept has become a reality. Now he tirelessly scours the city streets looking for Angel, Gaël and Luna. But just how real is his world in fact? How real is he himself? Jonathan Vinel uses the computer game Grand Theft Auto V for his film Martin Cries to tell a story about loss, anger and loneliness. Animation that remains true to the real world meets nightmare vision. The border between reality and fiction becomes blurred. Who decides what’s real and what isn’t? And couldn’t an escape from so-called reality also offer up new freedoms?

 

Martin Cries (2017); Director: Jonathan VinelMartin Cries (2017); Director: Jonathan Vinel

That’s exactly the question posed by this year’s Youth Programme ESCAPING REALITIES. Films will be shown in which the protagonists withdraw from everyday life and take up a new perspective on the world. In A Free Man Andreas Hartmann follows the 22-year-old Kei, who of his own free will lives on the streets and under the bridges of Kyoto. Still an introverted outsider at school, now he spends his days encountering the most varied of people and stories. He has exchanged the warmth of a home for a lifestyle of his own choosing and financial security for personal freedom.

 

A Free Man (2017); Director: Andreas HartmannA Free Man (2017); Director: Andreas Hartmann

Jose is also dreaming of opting out in an animated short film by Fernando Pomares. Morning Cowboy humorously shows that it’s never too late to realise your childhood dreams. Instead of putting on his usual suit and tie, one morning Jose just slips on boots and a waistcoat, grabs his hat and walks into the office as a cowboy. Clothing becomes an expression of one’s own personality.


Unlike in cosplay, where putting on a costume marks the transition into a different character. Cosplayers change their appearance, voice and movements in order to immerse themselves in the lives of fictional characters. In her documentary film The World is Mine Ann Oren plays a young cosplayer, and in so doing promptly slips into a second self. Her persona, the young M, moves to Tokyo and imitates the virtual pop star Hatsune Miku, the diminutive blue-haired mascot for a type of synthesizer software. Ann merges with M just as M merges with Hatsune Miku.

 

A cosplayer is appyling make-up in front of a mirrorThe World is Mine (2017); Director: Ann Oren

As much as an escape from reality can offer independence and protection, it also requires courage. The teenagers in Selma Vilhunen’s Hobbyhorse Revolution feel this especially, as their hobbyhorses really are their true passion. With an eye for detail, they make the wooden horses themselves, then train up for show-jumping courses with them and put on competitions – it’s a hobby that isn’t always taken seriously by their entourage and makes them into a target. The dark side of the escape from reality shows Jonas Odell's animated documentary I Was a Winner, in which three avatars of video games appear on the scene. Behind them are people who talk about how they got lost in the virtual world and how the hobby gaming transformed into an addiction.

 

The Special Programme ESCAPING REALITIES is aimed at audiences aged 13 and above and is curated by Kim Busch, programme coordinator at DOK Leipzig.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Programm

Escaping Realities

Stell dir vor, du wachst eines Tages auf und all deine Freunde sind verschwunden. Für Martin ist diese Vorstellung Realität geworden. Unermüdlich durchkämmt er nun die Straßen der Stadt, auf der Suche nach Angel, Gaël und Luna. Doch wie real ist seine Welt wirklich? Wie real ist er selbst? Jonathan Vinel nutzt für seinen Film Martin Cries das Computerspiel Grand Theft Auto V und erzählt damit eine Geschichte über Verlust, Wut und Einsamkeit. Originalgetreue Grafik trifft auf Alptraumvision. Die Grenze zwischen Wirklichkeit und Fiktion verschwimmt. Wer legt schon fest, was echt ist und was nicht? Und kann eine Flucht aus der sogenannten Realität nicht auch neue Freiheiten bieten?

 

Martin Cries (2017); Regie: Jonathan VinelMartin Cries (2017); Regie: Jonathan Vinel

Genau diese Fragen stellt das diesjährige Jugendprogramm ESCAPING REALITIES. Gezeigt werden Filme, deren Protagonist/innen aus dem Alltag austreten und eine neue Perspektive auf die Welt einnehmen. Andreas Hartmann begleitet in A Free Man den 22-jährigen Kei, der aus freien Stücken auf den Straßen und unter den Brücken Kyotos lebt. In der Schule noch der introvertierte Außenseiter, geht er nun darin auf, jeden Tag auf die unterschiedlichsten Menschen und Geschichten zu treffen. Die wärmenden vier Wände hat er gegen einen selbstgewählten Lebensstil ausgetauscht, die finanzielle Sicherheit gegen persönliche Freiheit.

 

A Free Man (2017); Regie: Andreas HartmannA Free Man (2017); Regie: Andreas Hartmann

Vom Aussteigen träumt auch Jose im animierten Kurzfilm von Fernando Pomares. Morning Cowboy zeigt mit viel Humor, dass es nie zu spät ist, seine Kindheitsträume zu verwirklichen. Anstatt wie sonst Anzug und Krawatte anzulegen, schlüpft Jose eines Morgens einfach in Stiefel und Weste, schnappt sich seinen Hut und spaziert als Cowboy ins Büro. Die Kleidung wird hier zum Ausdruck der eigenen Persönlichkeit.

 

Anders als beim Cosplay, bei dem das Anlegen eines Kostüms den Wechsel zu fremden Charakteren markiert. Cosplayer verändern ihr Aussehen, die Stimme und Bewegungen, um in fiktive Figuren einzutauchen. In ihrem Dokumentarfilm The World is Mine spielt Ann Oren eine junge Cosplayerin und schlüpft somit gleich doppelt in ein anderes Ich. Ihre Rolle, die junge M, zieht nach Tokyo und imitiert den virtuellen Popstar Hatsune Miku, das zierliche, blauhaarige Maskottchen einer Synthesizer-Software. Ann verschmilzt mit M und M mit Hatsune Miku.

 

Eine Cosplayerin steht vor dem Spiegel und schminkt sichThe World is Mine (2017); Regie: Ann Oren

So sehr die Realitätsflucht Unabhängigkeit und Schutz bieten kann, so sehr erfordert sie auch Mut. Das spüren vor allem die Teenager in Selma Vilhunens Hobbyhorse Revolution, deren Leidenschaft wortwörtlich ihr Steckenpferd ist. Mit Liebe zum Detail bauen sie die hölzernen Pferde selbst, trainieren mit ihnen das Parcoursreiten und veranstalten Wettbewerbe – ein Hobby, das vom Umfeld nicht immer ernst genommen wird und Angriffsfläche bietet.
Die dunkle Seite der Realitätsflucht zeigt schließlich Jonas Odells animierter Dokumentarfilm I Was a Winner, in dem drei Videospiel-Avatare auftreten. Hinter ihnen stecken Menschen, die davon erzählen, wie sie sich in der virtuellen Welt verloren und aus dem Hobby Computergaming eine Sucht wurde.

 

Das Sonderprogramm ESCAPING REALITIES richtet sich an ein Publikum ab 13 Jahren und wird kuratiert von Kim Busch, Programmkoordinatorin bei DOK Leipzig.