DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm

Import/Export – Georgian Cinema Across Borders

Films from Georgia are in fashion. In recent years, they have received more and more attention from international film festivals and distribution companies. Within Georgia, there's a simmering generational conflict as younger aspiring filmmakers turn away from the cultural space of the former Soviet Union and try to participate in wider European discourses. How do documentaries reflect this change and filmmakers' desire to detach themselves from the Soviet past?

 

The Country Focus on Georgia explores the rapid recent developments and asks whether the way of making films is changing in view of the fact that the whole world seemingly has its eyes on Georgian cinema.

 

The Dazzling Light of Sunset (2016); Regie: Salomé JashiThe Dazzling Light of Sunset (2016); Director: Salomé Jashi

In The Dazzling Light of Sunset, Salomé Jashi focuses on a local television station to give a sense of the atmosphere in a small Georgian town. The film depicts a phenomenon that recurs in many of the selected films: the clash between the way Georgians perceive themselves and want to appear modern and the perhaps contradictory way in which others perceive Georgians. By contrast, the skateboarding kids in When the Earth Seems to Be Light seem to represent universal youth culture and yet they are very much trapped in their own region as they drift along, as is illustrated by the abrupt juxtaposition of images of street riots. Clearly, it is not only the Caucasian country's film market that has changed; Georgia has been in upheaval since 1989 and is still seeking its place between the East and the West.

 

No contemporary trend is spared by the films of the Georgian New Wave, as opposed to Soviet documentary which used a lot of suggestive music and manipulative commentary to ensure that there would be no undesirable political interpretation. Some filmmakers today approach the realm of feature film, for example Nino Kirtadze in Don't Breathe or Rati Oneli in the feature-length debut City of the Sun. Rati Oneli captures the city of Chiatura in western Georgia as it shrinks against a spectacular natural backdrop. Whereas mounds of manganese used to be extracted in the surrounding mountains, today the mine lays almost idle and has left behind what appears like a ghost town. The margins between documentary and fiction are barely decipherable in Vakhtang Jajanidze's Exodus.

 

When the Earth Seems to Be Light (2015); Regie: Salome Machaidze, Tamuna Karumidze, David MeskhiWhen the Earth Seems to Be Light (2015); Directors: Salome Machaidze, Tamuna Karumidze, David Meskhi

For 2+2=22 [The Alphabet], Heinz Emigholz accompanied the German band Kreidler to  Tbilisi to film them recording their album. He paid particular attention to the architecture, creating unseen images of the Georgian capital - providing a valuable outsider's perspective.

 

A panel discussion will complement the Country Focus and contrast two approaches to Georgian cinema: The Western audience's yearning gaze towards eastern Europe and its stories and the sceptical self-reflexion of Georgian filmmakers.

 

The Country Focus was curated by the filmmaker and producer Zaza Rusadze, who is also a member of DOK Leipzig's Selection Committee. The program was developed in cooperation with the Heinrich Böll Foundation.

The Heinrich Böll Foundation is supporting female Georgian filmmakers through its "Female Gazes from Georgia" program that will be going on tour to four more cities.


 

In cooperation with the Heinrich Böll Stiftung

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Programm

Import/Export –
Georgischer Film im Grenzverkehr

Länderfokus

Filme aus Georgien liegen im Trend. Seit einigen Jahren bekommen sie die Aufmerksamkeit von internationalen Filmfestivals und zunehmend auch von Weltvertrieben. Im Landesinneren schwelt unterdessen noch ein Generationenkonflikt, denn aufstrebende Filmschaffende wenden sich vom kulturellen Raum der ehemaligen Sowjetunion ab und wollen sich an breiteren europäischen Diskursen beteiligen. Wie werden dieser Wandel und die Ablösung von der sowjetischen Vergangenheit im Dokumentarischen reflektiert?

 

Der Länderfokus Georgien bildet die rasante Entwicklung der vergangenen Jahre ab und hinterfragt kritisch, ob sich die Machart der Filme ändert, wenn die ganze Welt auf diese zu blicken scheint.

 

The Dazzling Light of Sunset (2016); Regie: Salomé JashiThe Dazzling Light of Sunset (2016); Regie: Salomé Jashi

Die Regisseurin Salomé Jashi entwirft in The Dazzling Light of Sunset ausgehend von einem lokalen TV-Sender ein Stimmungsbild einer georgischen Kleinstadt. Jashi reflektiert dabei etwas, das in vielen der ausgewählten Filme mitschwingt: die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Selbstbild der Georgier/innen, die als modern wahrgenommen werden wollen, und dem vermeintlichen Fremdbild, das einem Vorzeige-Image zuwiderlaufen könnte. Die skateboardfahrenden Jugendlichen in When the Earth Seems to Be Light verkörpern dagegen eine universelle Jugendkultur, sind dann aber doch ganz in ihrer Region verhaftet, wenn durch abrupte Gegenschnitte auf Staßentumulte das Dahindriften der jungen Leute irritieren. Es ist offenkundig, das sich nicht nur der Filmmarkt im kaukasischen Land gewandelt hat, das ganze Land befindet sich seit 1989 im Umbruch und sucht nach einem eigenen Platz zwischen Ost und West.

 

When the Earth Seems to Be Light (2015); Regie: Salome Machaidze, Tamuna Karumidze, David MeskhiWhen the Earth Seems to Be Light (2015); Regie: Salome Machaidze, Tamuna Karumidze, David Meskhi

In den Filmen dieser sogenannten Neuen Georgischen Welle werden keine zeitgenössischen Tendenzen ausgelassen, anders als beim sowjetischen Dokumentarfilm, der viel mit suggestiver Musik und gedankenführendem Kommentartext arbeitete, um keine politisch ungewollte Interpretationen zuzulassen. Heute verwenden einige Filmschaffende beispielsweise Mittel der dokumentarischen Inszenierung und rücken in die Nähe des Spielfilms, etwa Nino Kirtadzes Don’t Breathe oder Rati Onelis Langfilm-Debüt City of the Sun. Rati Oneli fängt die schrumpfende ostgeorgische Stadt Tschiatura vor dem Hintergrund einer gewaltigen Naturkulisse ein. Wurden im umliegenden Gebirge einst Mengen an Mangan abgebaut, liegt das Bergwerk heute fast brach und hinterlässt eine geisterhaft wirkende Stadt. Bei Vakhtang Jajanidzes Exodus sind die Grenzen zwischen Dokumentarfilm und Fiktion kaum noch auszumachen.

 

Wenn Heinz Emigholz in 2+2=22 [The Alphabet] schließlich die deutsche Band Kreidler bei deren Albumaufnahmen in Tiflis begleitet und den Ort mit besonderem Blick auf die Architektur filmt, schafft er Bilder, die es so von der georgischen Hauptstadt noch nicht gegeben hat – ein wertvoller Blick von außen.

 

Begleitend zum Länderfokus gibt es eine Paneldiskussion, in dem das Aufeinanderprallen zweier unterschiedlicher Sichtweisen auf den georgischen Film thematisiert wird: der sehnsüchtige Blick des westlichen Publikums auf Geschichten osteuropäischer Länder und die zweifelnde Selbstreflexion georgischer Filmemacher/innen.

 

Der Länderfokus Georgien wurde kuratiert von Zaza Rusadze, Filmemacher, Produzent und Mitglied der Auswahlkommission von DOK Leipzig. Das Programm entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung.

Mit ihrer Filmreihe „Female Gazes from Georgia – Contemporary Documentaries“ fördert die Heinrich Böll Stiftung georgische Regisseurinnen und tourt durch vier weitere Städte.


 

In Kooperation mit der Heinrich Böll Stiftung