DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Alternativ

Post-Angst

Animated Film Special Programme

Fear is everywhere. In people's heads, in their minds, in films, on TV, on the radio or in newspapers, as well as in the Animated Film Special Programme. But our question, faithful to the festival's theme, is - what happens after the angst? Is everything going to get much worse or can we perhaps laugh about our fears?

 

There are four programmes which explore both the positive and negative aspects of fear: FEAR FOR FUN is about the humorous, easy dealing with the phenomenon, as well as about saying: I'm not afraid of fear! The filmmakers make use of the resources provided by animated film. Sometimes, like in Birth for example, they go into the really weird and wonderful.

 

Birth (2009); Regie: Signe BaumaneBirth (2009); Director: Signe Baumane

Signe Baumane's film tells the story of a pregnant 17-year-old, who is almost still a child and afraid of giving birth. As she asks older women for advice, she gets even more panicked. EERIE EVOLUTIONS illustrates how animated film has a way of looking at frightening topics with a twinkle in the eye. Mariola Brillowska's Das Handygesetz is an ironic depiction of people's constant use of their phones, which collect data 24/7 - supposedly to advance science. And that's not all. Logorama is an American nightmare: The film is all about brands and names, chains and fast food. The main roles are played by two Michelin men, M&Ms and a McDonalds clown who goes on a rampage.

 

Logorama (2009); Regie: David Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain, François Alaux Logorama (2009); Directors: David Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain, François Alaux

From the ADAPTING TO ANGST and RAW REVELATIONS programmes, it is clear that animated film by no means has to be comical. The programme titles say it all - the films are a bit more angst-ridden, a bit rawer. They are more serious and some even border on horror. Ruben Leaves by the Swiss filmmaker Frederic Siegel raises a problem that will probably be familiar to all audience members: You leave the house, make your way to work and suddenly you start to wonder: Did I lock the door? Did I turn off the cooker? The film's main protagonist Ruben is driven to sheer despair by this uncertainty. In Women’s Work, a young French journalist tells of her experiences and fears during a stint in Syria in summer 2013 - before the country's civil war was all over the media.

 

Le Meat (2014); Regie: Wolfgang MatzlLe Meat (2014); Director: Wolfgang Matzl

And finally, there is a sense of eminent apocalypse. The tables are turned in Wolfgang Matzl's Le Meat - a vegetarian's nightmare -  when a raw chicken drumstick jumps up from the table and proceeds to eat the faceless people it was served to.

 

The programme was curated by the animated film expert Franziska Bruckner, who is head of the Media Creation research group at St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences.

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film

Alternativ

Nach der Angst

Sonderprogramm Animationsfilm

Angst ist überall. In den Köpfen der Menschen, in ihren Gemütern, in Film, Fernsehen, Radio und Zeitungen. Auch im Sonderprogramm Animationsfilm. Aber wir fragen, getreu dem Festivalmotto: Was passiert eigentlich nach der Angst? Wird alles noch viel schlimmer, oder können wir vielleicht über unsere Ängste lachen?

 

Vier Reihen decken die positiven sowie negativen Facetten von Angst ab: Die Reihe FEAR FOR FUN steht für den lustvollen und leichten Umgang mit der Angst und meint dann auch mal: Vor der Angst habe ich keine Angst! Die Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen bedienen sich der Mittel, die der Animationsfilm bietet. Und übersteigern ins liebevoll Abstruse, wie etwa in Birth.

 

Birth (2009); Regie: Signe BaumaneBirth (2009); Regie: Signe Baumane

Der Film von Signe Baumane erzählt die Geschichte einer 17-Jährigen, die schwanger ist. Noch mehr Kind als Frau gruselt es sie vor der Geburt. Sie holt sich Rat und Tipps von älteren Frauen – und gerät noch mehr in Panik. Auch im Programmpunkt EERIE EVOLUTIONS dreht sich noch alles darum, dass gerade der Animationsfilm die Gabe hat, beängstigende Themen mit einem Augenzwinkern darzustellen. Das Handygesetz von Mariola Brillowska geht ironisch mit unserem heutigen Handy-Nutzungsverhalten um und stößt uns gewollt vor den Kopf – das Telefon muss 24 Stunden pro Tag am Leibe geführt werden, um am laufenden Band Daten über uns zu sammeln, die angeblich der Wissenschaft dienen. Doch das ist längst nicht alles. Logorama lebt einen Amerikanischen Alptraum: In dem Film dreht sich alles um Marken und Namen und Ketten und Fastfood. In den Hauptrollen: Zwei Michelin-Männchen, M&Ms und ein amoklaufender Mc-Donalds-Clown.

 

Logorama (2009); Regie: David Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain, François Alaux Logorama (2009); Regie: David Alaux, Hervé de Crécy, Ludovic Houplain, François Alaux

Die Reihen ADAPTING TO ANGST und RAW REVELATIONS zeigen, dass Animationsfilm nicht immer lustig sein muss. Es geht, das sagen schon die Titel, etwas rauer zu. Die Filme werden ernster, manche grenzen gar ans Genre Horror. Ruben Leaves aus der Feder des Schweizers Frederic Siegel handelt von einem Problem, das vermutlich jeder kennt: Man verlässt das Haus, macht sich auf den Weg zur Arbeit und plötzlich ist sie da, die Angst: Hab ich die Tür abgeschlossen? Und den Herd ausgemacht? Ruben treibt diese Ungewissheit in die schiere Verzweiflung. In Women’s Work erzählt eine junge Journalistin aus Frankreich von ihren Erfahrungen und Ängsten während eines Aufenthaltes in Syrien im Sommer 2013 – noch bevor der Syrien-Konflikt über die Medien verbreitet wurde.

 

Le Meat (2014); Regie: Wolfgang MatzlLe Meat (2014); Regie: Wolfgang Matzl

Am Ende herrscht Weltuntergangsstimmung. Da findet sich zum Beispiel der Alptraum jedes Vegetariers: In Le Meat von Wolfgang Matzl wird der Spieß umgedreht – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Ein roher Hähnchenschenkel springt vom Tisch und verzehrt den gesichtslosen Menschen, dem er serviert wird.

 

Kuratiert wird das Programm von Franziska Bruckner, Animationsfilmwissenschaftlerin und Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe Media Creation an der Fachhochschule St. Pölten.