DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Projekte

Interactive Works 2017

Artificial World

Bas Jansen
360° Film
Netherlands / 2017 / 4min


basjansen.weebly.com/artificial-world.html

 

“I am Eva. I would like to welcome you to ‘The Second Chance’ research institute for biodiversity. Most life went extinct and you are almost the last of your kind.” Eva is an AI, an artificial intelligence, built to restore balance on earth. Two worlds clash in this 360-degree film. A motley organic microcosm created in the sterile interior of a super computer, suggests a possible future. Humanity puts its fate into Eva’s hands. Can we trust her judgement? Is there a place for us at all in this new artificial world?

The Congo Tribunal:
Witness J & The Hearings

Milo Rau, Daniel Wagner
Transmedia Installation
Germany / 2017 / 15min


www.the-congo-tribunal.com

The game “Witness J.” is part of the transmedia project “The Congo Tribunal” which investigates the background of the biggest and bloodiest economic war in history. We are thrown into a massacre in the village of Mutarule. Shot and delirious, we are trying to find a safe place … In addition to this browser game, a room scale VR experience lets us undergo even more intensely the reality lived by the victims of the Congo war. An additional comprehensive online archive, consisting of the complete filmed material for “The Congo Tribunal”, enables us to browse and edit the footage individually.

Deep Inside / Gluboko vnutri

Ksenia Diodorova, Aleksei Poleukhin
Web Documentary
Russia / 2017 / 30min


deep-inside.me

This web documentary reveals what’s supposed to be hidden from the eyes of society. 1,030 people are “held in safe custody” in one of Russia’s biggest secure mental hospitals in Peterhof near St. Petersburg – locked away and isolated from the outside world. Interviews with employees and patients offer intimate insights into the lives of the “invisible people”, which follow a different rhythm. Time passes, flowing like the tracking shot through the seemingly endless corridors of the institute. The audience decide whether they walk past the rooms, look into them or “enter” at last to meet the residents.

The Invented Village / A cidade inventada

Liliana Sulzbach
Web Documentary
Brazil / 2017 / 105min


acidadeinventada.com.br

“I wound up in here. In paradise. Itapuã is like a five star hotel for me. It’s my home.” A village surrounded by mountains and forest. Founded in the 1940s, Itapuã was home to almost 2,500 people so far. Today only 35 are left, all of them over 60. The portrait of a miniature city, built as the solution to a complex problem. A virtual map in which the content can be activated step by step guides us through the story. The inhabitants reminisce. Old documents and photos as well as films shot then and today gradually reveal the sad truth that links those who remained in Itapuã.

BIOSCOPE

Maarten Isaäk de Heer
Animated Painting
Germany / 2017


maartenisaakdeheer.com/bioscope/

A gang of garden gnomes is terrorising the city. A ladybug as a basketball. A girl skipping rope on top of an earthworm. A bird being beaten up. The riot of detail in this two by four metre work of art recalls paintings by Pieter Bruegel the Elder or Hieronymus Bosch, but it’s more than a painting. What we see is an analogue animation, grotesque scenery animated by the spectators’ movements and their interaction with the picture – completely without electricity. The technology – lenticular printing – is known from flip images and 3D postcards.

The Maribor Uprisings:
A Live Participatory Film

Maple Razsa, Milton Guillen
Interactive Film
USA / 2017 / 50min


mariboruprisings.org

“Twice we went into the streets. Twice the police drove us away. Twice the news media embedded behind the police lines portrayed us all as hooligans and criminals. Things looked different on our side of the police line.” The viewers find themselves in the middle of the third Maribor uprising in Slovenia. Stay on “Freedom Square” and protest peacefully with the others? Or put banners and whistles aside to have your hands free for a rougher form of protest? This participatory film forces its viewers again and again to choose – experienced individually in the exhibition and as a cinema experience with collective voting.

Planet ∞

Momoko Seto
360° Film
France / 2017 / 7min


arte.tv/planet-infini

Pollution, food shortages, exploitation of resources, arms race and nuclear threat – all of them warning catchphrases for a changing – no, changed by us – earth. We need it as a biosphere, but it doesn’t need us. “Planet ∞” shows a 360-degree space taken over by one of many possible dystopias. There is no human life left in this new world. The planet has changed so much that only a few organisms are able to survive. Only mushrooms, insects and marine creatures are capable of adapting to the new conditions. Is this doom-mongering or realistic fear?

Notes to My Father

Jayisha Patel
360° Film
India, USA / 2017 / 11min


widemanagement.com/virtualreality

“We never talked about what happened to me there. But the truth is darker than any memory could be. So black that its silence haunts me. How do you go on living when you’ve played dead to escape reality for such a long time?”

This delicate 360-degree film takes us to India, into the life and memories of Ramadevi, a woman sold to sex traffickers under cover of an arranged marriage. She is one of the few who escaped the brothel and were reunited with their families. This piece is dedicated to her father, who gave away his daughter in the belief that he was giving her a better life.

Sea Prayer

Francesca Panetta, Nicole Jackson, Anrick Bregman, Shehani Fernando
360° Film
UK / 2017 / 7min


theguardian.com/vr

Aylan Kurdi, a three-year-old Syrian boy, drowned while attempting to cross the Mediterranean. On 2 September 2015 his body was washed up on a Turkish beach. The photo of the dead boy spread across the world under the hashtag #KiyiyaVuranInsanlik – humanity washed away – and will probably be remembered forever because of the enormous media attention it got. Touched by a fate that was so expressively summarised in this one photo, Khaled Hosseini, UNHCR goodwill ambassador, wrote the monologue “Sea Prayer”: a father’s fictitious letter to his son, just before their escape to Europe. Illustrated by Liz Edwards using “Tilt Brush”, a 3D painting tool.

 

HOMO DIGITALIS – How Much Longer Are We Going to Stay Human?

Christiane Miethge, Nils Otte
Transmedia Installation
Germany, France, Austria, UK, USA, Japan / 2017 / 60min


arte.tv/homodigitalis

We live in times of upheaval. More and more technical innovations are part of our everyday life. But how dependent do we want to be? Or are we already addicted? Will there be a time when we have nothing but digital friendships, sex with robots, when we hack our own bodies? The transmedia project “HOMO DIGITALIS” consists of a documentary web series and a self testing game. How does the digital revolution affect us human beings? Does it turn Homo sapiens into a new species – Homo digitalis?

ADVERTISEMENTS

DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Projekte

Interaktive Arbeiten 2017

Artificial World

Bas Jansen
360° Film
Niederlande / 2017 / 4min


basjansen.weebly.com/artificial-world.html


„Ich bin Eva. Ich heiße dich willkommen im Forschungsinstitut für Biodiversität ‚Die zweite Chance‘. Fast alles Leben ist erloschen und du gehörst zu den Letzten deiner Art.“ Eva ist eine KI, eine künstliche Intelligenz, gebaut, um das Gleichgewicht auf der Erde wiederherzustellen. In diesem 360-Grad-Film treffen zwei Welten aufeinander. Ein bunter organischer Mikrokosmos, kreiert im sterilen Innenleben des Supercomputers, zeigt eine mögliche Zukunft. Die Menschheit legt ihr Schicksal in Evas Hände. Können wir ihrem Urteilsvermögen trauen? Ist in der neuen künstlichen Welt überhaupt Platz für uns?

Das Kongo Tribunal:
Zeuge J & Die Hearings

Milo Rau, Daniel Wagner
Transmedia Installation
Deutschland / 2017 / 15min


the-congo-tribunal.com

Das Spiel „Witness J.“ ist Teil des Transmediaprojektes „Das Kongo Tribunal“, welches die Hintergründe des größten und blutigsten Wirtschaftskrieges der Geschichte durchleuchtet. Man wird hineingeworfen in ein Massaker in dem Dorf Mutarule. Angeschossen und im Delirium versucht man, sich in Sicherheit zu bringen … Ergänzend zu diesem browserbasierten Spiel ermöglicht eine Room-Scale-VR-Experience einen noch intensiveren Einblick in das, was für die Opfer des Kongokrieges Realität ist. Zusätzlich bietet ein umfassendes Online-Archiv, bestehend aus dem kompletten Filmmaterial zu „Das Kongo Tribunal“, die Möglichkeit einer individuellen Erschließung und Aufbereitung der Aufnahmen.

Deep Inside / Gluboko vnutri

Ksenia Diodorova, Aleksei Poleukhin
Web Documentary
Russland / 2017 / 30min


deep-inside.me

Diese Webdokumentation macht sichtbar, was vor den Augen der Gesellschaft verborgen bleiben soll. 1.030 Menschen werden in einer der größten geschlossenen Nervenanstalten Russlands in Peterhof bei Sankt Petersburg „verwahrt“ – abgeschottet und isoliert von der Außenwelt. Interviews mit Mitarbeitern und Patienten gewähren einen intimen Einblick in das Leben der „Unsichtbaren“. Es folgt einem anderen Rhythmus. Zeit vergeht. Sie fließt wie der Gang durch den schier endlos langen Korridor der Anstalt. Der Zuschauer entscheidet selbst, ob er an den Zimmern vorbeigeht, in sie hineinschaut oder sie schließlich „betritt“ und die Bewohner kennenlernt.

The Invented Village / A cidade inventada

Liliana Sulzbach
Web Documentary
Brasilien / 2017 / 105min


acidadeinventada.com.br

„Ich bin hier gelandet. Im Paradies. Itapuã ist wie ein 5-Sterne-Hotel für mich. Es ist mein Zuhause.“ Eine Siedlung, umringt von Bergen und Wäldern. Gegründet in den 40er Jahren, beherbergte Itapuã seither fast 2.500 Menschen. Heute sind es nur noch 35, alle über 60 Jahre alt. Das Porträt einer Miniaturstadt, gebaut als Lösung für ein komplexes Problem. Durch die Geschichte führt eine virtuelle Karte, in der nach und nach Inhalte freigeschaltet werden können. Die Bewohner schwelgen in Erinnerungen. Alte Dokumente und Fotografien sowie Filmaufnahmen von damals und heute enthüllen Stück für Stück, welch traurige Wahrheit die in Itapuã Verbliebenen miteinander verbindet.

BIOSCOPE

Maarten Isaäk de Heer
Animated Painting
Deutschland / 2017


maartenisaakdeheer.com/bioscope/

Eine Horde Gartenzwerge terrorisiert die Stadt. Ein Marienkäfer als Basketball. Ein Mädchen springt Seil auf einem Regenwurm. Ein Vogel wird zusammengeschlagen. Das 2-mal-4-Meter-große Kunstwerk erinnert mit seiner Detailfreude an Gemälde von Pieter Bruegel dem Älteren oder Hieronymus Bosch. Es ist jedoch mehr als nur Malerei. Was wir sehen, ist eine analoge Animation. Zum Leben erwacht die groteske Szenerie durch die Bewegung des Zuschauers und dessen Interaktion mit dem Bild – ganz ohne Elektrizität. Die Technik – der Lentikulardruck – wurde bekannt durch Wackelbilder und 3D-Postkarten.

The Maribor Uprisings:
A Live Participatory Film

Maple Razsa, Milton Guillen
Interactive Film
USA / 2017 / 50min


mariboruprisings.org

„Zweimal gingen wir auf die Straße. Zweimal drängte uns die Polizei zurück. Zweimal stellten uns die Medien als Hooligans und Kriminelle dar. Doch auf unserer Seite, in den Reihen der Demonstranten, sah die Realität anders aus.“ Der Zuschauer ist mittendrin: im dritten Aufstand von Maribor in Slowenien. Auf dem „Platz der Freiheit“ bleiben und friedlich mit anderen demonstrieren? Oder Banner und Trillerpfeifen beiseitelegen, um die Hände für den handgreiflichen Protest freizuhaben? Dieser partizipative Film stellt seine Teilnehmer immer wieder vor die Wahl – individuell erfahrbar in der Ausstellung und als Kinoerlebnis mit kollektiver Abstimmung.

Planet ∞

Momoko Seto
360° Film
Frankreich / 2017 / 7min


arte.tv/planet-infini

Umweltverschmutzung, Nahrungsmittelmangel, Ausbeutung der Rohstoffquellen, Aufrüstung und atomare Bedrohungen – alles mahnende Schlagworte für die sich verändernde, nein: die durch uns veränderte Erde. Wir brauchen sie als Lebensraum, aber sie braucht uns nicht. „Planet ∞“ zeigt einen 360-Grad-Raum, in dem sich eine von vielen möglichen Dystopien breitmacht. In dieser neuen Welt gibt es kein menschliches Leben mehr. Der Planet hat sich so verändert, dass nur noch wenige Organismen auf ihm überleben können. Nur Pilze, Insekten und Meereskreaturen sind fähig, sich an die neuen Bedingungen anzupassen. Ist das Schwarzmalerei oder realistische Befürchtung?

Notes to My Father

Jayisha Patel
360° Film
Indien, USA / 2017 / 11min


widemanagement.com/virtualreality

„Wir haben nie darüber gesprochen, was mir dort passiert ist. Die Wahrheit ist jedoch schwärzer, als es jede Erinnerung sein könnte. So schwarz, dass mich die Stille verfolgt. Wie lebst du weiter, wenn du dich lange tot gestellt hast, um deiner Realität zu entkommen?“

Dieser sensibel gestaltete 360-Grad-Film führt uns nach Indien, mitten in den Alltag und die Erinnerungen von Ramadevi, einer Frau, die unter dem Deckmantel einer arrangierten Ehe an Sexhändler verkauft wurde. Sie gehört zu wenigen, die dem Bordell entkommen und sich wieder mit ihrer Familie vereinen konnten. Das Stück widmet sich dem Vater, der seine Tochter im Glauben, ihr ein besseres Leben zu schenken, weggab.

Sea Prayer

Francesca Panetta, Nicole Jackson, Anrick Bregman, Shehani Fernando
360° Film
UK / 2017 / 7min


theguardian.com/vr

Aylan Kurdi, ein dreijähriger syrischer Junge, ertrank bei dem Versuch, das Mittelmeer zu überqueren. Am 2. September 2015 wurde sein Leichnam an einem türkischen Strand angespült. Unter dem Hashtag #KiyiyaVuranInsanlik – die fortgespülte Menschlichkeit – ging das Bild des Toten um die Welt und wird durch seinen medialen Wiederhall wohl niemals mehr vergessen. Berührt von diesem in einer Fotografie so erschlagend zusammengefassten Schicksal, schrieb Khaled Hosseini, UNHCR-Sonderbotschafter, den Monolog „Sea Prayer“: ein fiktiver Brief des Vaters an den Sohn, kurz vor ihrer Flucht nach Europa. Liz Edwards illustriert ihn mittels „Tilt Brush“, einem Malwerkzeug für den 3D-Raum.

HOMO DIGITALIS – Wie lange sind wir noch Mensch?

Christiane Miethge, Nils Otte
Transmedia Installation
Deutschland, Frankreich, Austria, UK, USA, Japan / 2017 / 60min


arte.tv/homodigitalis

Wir leben in Zeiten des Umbruchs. Zunehmend halten technische Innovationen Einzug in unser Leben und unseren Alltag. Doch wie abhängig wollen wir werden? Oder sind wir es schon längst? Werden wir irgendwann nur noch virtuelle Freundschaften pflegen, Sex mit Robotern haben, unseren eigenen Körper hacken? Das Transmediaprojekt „HOMO DIGITALIS“ besteht aus einer dokumentarischen Web-Serie und einem spielerischen Selbsttest. Was macht die digitale Revolution mit uns Menschen? Verwandelt sie den Homo sapiens in eine neue Spezies – den Homo digitalis?

ANZEIGEN