DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Teaching Integrity.
Homage Marina Razbezhkina

Marina Razbezhkina approaches post-Soviet Russia and its people from the fringes. Rather than the big cities and centres of power, what this filmmaker born in 1948 in Kazan captures in compassionately perceptive observations are ordinary people, mostly from the countryside.

 

Life As It Is (2002); Director: Marina Razbezhkina

The director, screenwriter and producer became known to an international audience through her feature-length film “Harvest Time”. To date Razbezhkina has made a total of around 30 films, many of which have been screened at international film festivals. She has repeatedly been a guest at DOK Leipzig as well. With this homage DOK Leipzig is honouring the documentary filmmaking by Razbezhkina, who has unfailingly maintained her integrity within the Russian cinematic landscape. Alongside well-known works such as “Life as It Is”, “The Holidays”, or “Another Country”, early gems from the filmmaker can also be seen, films which have hardly run on an international scale until now and have been subtitled especially for DOK Leipzig.

 

The Holidays (2005); Director: Marina Razbezhkina

The spectrum of Razbezhkina’s film oeuvre ranges from Direct Cinema works to quasi-documentary feature-length films and on to more experimental projects, for instance “End of the Road”. On this excursion to an ethnic group called the Mari in 1991, the year of the attempted coup d’état, while this event of worldwide importance is being broadcast on radio the director is plainly less interested in Gorbachev than in an eerily deserted village and its dormant railroad tracks. Equally set out in the sticks, the film “Life as It Is” devotes itself to a resolute, ageing female protagonist between rides on a tractor, peeling potatoes and studying lonely hearts columns. Against the background of the love songs she hums, the yearnings of everyday life are revealed. In contrast, Razbezhkina’s most well-known documentary entitled “The Holidays” immerses the viewer in the rhythm of a family that copes with its day-to-day life in the midst of the harsh Siberian snowscape.

 

Shrove Sunday (2013); Director: Dina Barinova

Yet Razbezhkina displays an affection for people not only in her films: she consistently seeks interactive exchange with young filmmakers. As the head of a school for documentary film in Moscow, together with co-founder Mikhail Ugarov she established a significant alternative to VGIK, the state university of cinematography. Razbezhkina persistently stands up to authoritarian and patriarchal structures. With the school and her own studio she has established a trailblazing tradition of Direct Cinema for today’s Russian documentary genre. The homage ushers in this tradition with a programme dedicated to students of her work.

 

As an active supporter of young talent, it’s only logical that Razbezhkina additionally selects the winning film in the Next Masters Competition at DOK Leipzig. She will also be passing on the experiences she has made in a Master Class. Last of all, Razbezhkina is marking this year’s edition of the festival with a festival trailer she designed especially for DOK Leipzig. 

 

Barbara Wurm, a film scholar and specialist in Slavonic studies, acted as curator for the Homage programme.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


Schule des aufrechten Gangs.
Hommage Marina Razbezhkina

Marina Razbezhkina nähert sich dem postsowjetischen Russland und seinen Menschen von den Rändern her. Nicht die großen Städte und Machtzentren, sondern einfache Leute, meist vom Land, hält die 1948 in Kazan geborene Filmemacherin in einfühlsamen Beobachtungen fest.

 

Life As It Is (2002); Regie: Marina Razbezhkina

Einem internationalen Publikum bekannt geworden ist die Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Produzentin mit ihrem Spielfilm „Harvest Time“. Insgesamt hat Razbezhkina bisher rund 30 Filme realisiert, von denen viele auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt worden sind. Mehrmals war sie auch bei DOK Leipzig zu Gast. Mit der Hommage ehrt DOK Leipzig das Dokumentarfilmschaffen Razbezhkinas, die innerhalb der russischen Filmlandschaft stets ihre Integrität bewahrt hat. Zu sehen sind neben bekannten Arbeiten wie „Life as It Is“, „The Holidays“ oder „Another Country“ auch frühe filmische Kleinode der Filmemacherin, die bisher kaum international gelaufen sind und nun eigens für DOK Leipzig untertitelt wurden.

 

The Holidays (2005); Regie: Marina Razbezhkina

Das Spektrum von Razbezhkinas Filmschaffen reicht von Direct Cinema-Arbeiten über quasi-dokumentarische Spielfilme bis hin zu experimentelleren Werken wie „End of the Road“. Bei dieser Exkursion zu den Mari im Putsch-Jahr 1991 interessiert sich die Regisseurin – während das Weltereignis im Radio übertragen wird – nicht etwa für Gorbatschow, sondern vielmehr für ein gespenstisch verlassenes Dorf und seine still-gelegten Eisenbahnschienen. „Life as It Is“ widmet sich, ebenfalls in der Provinz, einer resoluten, alternden Protagonistin zwischen Traktorenfahrten, Kartoffelschälen und dem Studieren von Kontaktanzeigen: Vor dem Hintergrund ihrer gesummten Liebeslieder entblättern sich Sehnsüchte des alltäglichen Lebens. Dagegen taucht Razbezhkinas bekanntester Dokumentarfilm „The Holidays“ in den Rhythmus einer Familie ein, die inmitten der rauen sibirischen Schneelandschaft ihren Alltag bewältigt.

 

Shrove Sunday (2013); Regie: Dina Barinova

Doch nicht nur in ihren Filmen ist Razbezhkina den Menschen zugewandt, sie sucht stets den Austausch mit jungen Filmschaffenden. Als Leiterin einer Schule für Dokumentarfilm in Moskau etablierte sie gemeinsam mit Mikhail Ugarov eine wichtige Alternative zur staatlichen Filmhochschule VGIK. Razbezhkina stellt sich beständig autoritären und patriarchalen Strukturen entgegen und begründete mit der Schule und ihrem eigenen Studio eine für den aktuellen russischen Dokumentarfilm richtungsweisende Direct Cinema-Tradition. In diese führt die Hommage mit einem Programm ein, das ihren Schülerinnen gewidmet ist.

 

Als Unterstützerin junger Talente ist es nur folgerichtig, dass Razbezhkina bei DOK Leipzig außerdem den Gewinnerfilm im Next Masters-Wettbewerb kürt. Zudem gibt sie ihre Erfahrungen in einer Meisterklasse weiter. Die diesjährige Festivalausgabe prägt Razbezhkina schließlich durch ihren eigens für DOK Leipzig entworfenen Festivaltrailer. 

 

Das Programm der Hommage wurde kuratiert von der Filmwissenschaftlerin und Slawistin Barbara Wurm.