DOK Leipzig 30. Oktober – 5. November 2017
60. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 30 October – 5 November 2017
60th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


WE ARE HIP HOP

This year's Special Programme WE ARE HIP HOP delves into different elements of hip hop culture. For hip hop is more than just music: the lifestyle that is borne of and inspired by the music manifests itself in a wide range of fields and takes on various creative forms. As well as shedding light on the music and its lyrics, the six selected short and long films focus on street art and dance in particular.

 

In the short portrait "Boombox Collection: Boots Riley" the rapper and frontman of hip hop act "The Coup" talks about his music and the political messages it contains. "This Is What It Is" by French filmmaker Léa Rinaldi also provides insights into the political aspects of the musical genre: she spends time with Cuban hip hop group Los Aldeanos. The duo constantly come up against difficulties as their struggle for freedom of speech and artistic autonomy is made next to impossible in Cuba. On their first tour through the USA and South America they are confronted with the extent of their fame, of which they had previously had no idea. The contrast between the Cuban underground scene and the big festival stages could hardly be bigger.

 

MissMe: The Artful Vandal (2015); Director: Mohammad Gorjestani The disobedience of hip hop culture makes itself felt on the streets in the form of art: "Street Art. The Ephemeral Rebellion" explores the provocative, political and frequently funny artistic form of street art, which is particularly prevalent in big cities. Anne Brüger and Benjamin Cantu follow artists from Berlin, New York, Paris and Moscow as they go about their work. While Brad Downey confounds passers-by in Berlin with his "Spontaneous Sculptures", Princess Hijab paints hijabs and burqas over the half-naked bodies displayed on advertising billboards in Paris. In "MissMe: The Artful Vandal", Mohammad Gorjestani shows the street artist MissMe carrying out her mission on the streets of Montreal. She too has declared war on society's view of women with her large- and small-format posters.

 

Martha & Niki (2015); Director: Tora Mkandawire Mårtens

In "Martha & Niki" Tora Mkandawire Mårtens (Golden Dove Award 2012 for “Colombianos”) tells the story of Swedish street-style dancers Martha Nabwire and Niki Tsappos, who successfully navigate their way through the male-dominated street dance scene. Having grown up between different cultures, both started to express themselves through dance at an early age. This documentary follows them on their quest to discover themselves and uncover their respective Ugandan and Ethiopian roots.

 

The special programme is suitable for audiences over 13 years of age and was curated by Kim Busch, DOK Leipzig Programme Coordinator.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm


Webarchiv


WE ARE HIP HOP

Die diesjährige Sonderreihe We Are Hip Hop nähert sich verschiedenen Elementen der Hip-Hop-Kultur. Denn Hip-Hop ist mehr als Musik: Der Lifestyle, der von der Musik getragen und inspiriert wird, manifestiert sich in ganz unterschiedlichen Bereichen und hat verschiedenste kreative Ausprägungen. Die sechs ausgewählten Kurz- und Langfilme beleuchten neben der Musik und ihren Texten auch Street-Art und Tanz.

 

In dem kurzen Portrait „Boombox Collection: Boots Riley“ spricht der Rapper und Frontman der Hip-Hop Band „The Coup“ über seine Musik und deren politische Komponente. Auch „This Is What It Is“ von der französischen Filmemacherin Léa Rinaldi gibt Einblicke in die politischen Aspekte der Musikrichtung: Sie begleitet die kubanische Hip-Hop-Band Los Aldeanos. Das Duo stößt immer wieder auf Schwierigkeiten, denn ihr Kampf für Meinungsfreiheit und künstlerische Autonomie wird in Kuba fast unmöglich gemacht. Auf ihrer ersten Tour durch die USA und Südamerika werden sie mit dem Ausmaß ihres Ruhms konfrontiert, von dem sie bisher keine Ahnung hatten. Der Kontrast von der kubanischen Untergrund-Szene zu den großen Festivalbühnen könnte kaum größer sein.

 

MissMe: The Artful Vandal (2015); Regie: Mohammad Gorjestani Auf den Straßen zeichnet sich der Ungehorsam der Hip-Hop-Kultur in Form von Kunst ab: „Streetart. Die vergängliche Rebellion“ gibt Einblicke in die provokante, politische und häufig witzige Kunstform Street-Art, die besonders die Straßen der Großstädte prägt. Anne Brüger und Benjamin Cantu folgen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Berlin, New York, Paris und Moskau bei ihrer Arbeit. Während Brad Downey mit seinen „Spontaneous Sculptures“ die Berliner Passanten irritiert, übermalt Princess Hijab in Paris halbnackte Körper auf Werbeplakaten mit Hijabs und Burkas. In „MissMe: The Artful Vandal“ zeigt Mohammad Gorjestani die Street-Art-Künstlerin MissMe auf ihren Zügen durch Montreals Straßen. Auch sie hat mit ihren groß- und kleinflächigen Plakaten dem Blick der Gesellschaft auf Frauen den Kampf angesagt.

 

Martha & Niki (2015); Regie: Tora Mkandawire Mårtens

In „Martha & Niki“ erzählt Tora Mkandawire Mårtens (Goldene Taube 2012 für „Colombianos“) die Geschichte der schwedischen Street-Style-Tänzerinnen Martha Nabwire und Niki Tsappos, die ihre Wege sehr erfolgreich durch die männerdominierte Streetdance-Szene gehen. Zwischen verschiedenen Kulturen aufgewachsen haben beide früh angefangen, sich durch Tanz auszudrücken. Der Dokumentarfilm begleitet sie auf ihrer Suche nach ihren ugandischen bzw. äthiopischen Wurzeln und sich selbst.

 

Die Sonderreihe richtet sich an ein Publikum ab 13 Jahren und wurde kuratiert von Kim Busch, Programmkoordinatorin bei DOK Leipzig.