DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Projekte 2018

DOK Neuland Projects 2018

Blind Vaysha – VR

Theodore Ushev

360°-Film

Canada / 2017 / 8min

Language: English, French

nfb.ca/interactive/blind_vaysha_vr

 

Vaysha is not like other girls: she sees the past with her left eye, the future with her right eye. Caught in a blurred world between the two, the present is a blind spot for her. This 360° film combines traditional linocut with innovative animation techniques. The use of stereoscopic images enables us to see the world through Vaysha’s eyes.

The Bridge

Nikita Shalenny

360°-Film

Ukraine, Denmark / 2017 / 10min

Language: without dialogue
nikitashalenny.com/the-bridge-vr

 

We are on a journey around the world. Accompanied by ghost-like creatures we cross oceans and forests, pass desolate places. The horizon is only an illusion – an imaginary line that will never be reached. The bridge as starting and endpoint serves as a symbol for an escape to a better reality.

Denoise

Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin

360° Film

Italy, USA, Switzerland / 2017 / 15min

Language: English, German, Italian, Tagalog

beautifulthings.it

 

A Texas oil field, the engine room of an ocean freighter, an anechoic room, a waste incineration plant – contrasting sceneries that are connected by the protagonists of this 360° collage film. They lead lonely lives, far removed from our own lifestyle. The quiet of the free field chamber clashes with the roaring of the engine room, but ultimately it’s all one.

Equator 360° – The Centre of the World

Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

360°-Film

Germany, Canada / 2018 / 14min

Language: English, German, Barasana

arte.tv/arte360

 

We plunge into an impressive world of sound and colour. The shamans of the Yuruparí tribe live in the Amazonas rainforest in south-west Colombia. Their sacred sites are distributed over a network that precisely follows the line of the equator. The Yuruparí believe that they live at the centre of the world and that it’s their duty to keep the earth in spiritual balance.

The Future Is Not Unwritten

Susanne Steinmassl

Endless Smart Film

Germany, Japan / 2017 / infinite

Language: English

thefutureisnotunwritten.com

 

Are humans about to make themselves redundant? Or are we evolving into digital hybrids? The transition to trans-humanism is addressed via five recurring narrative islands about existence, corporeality, identity, transformation and consciousness. A living film which, thanks to machine learning code, narrates itself with an infinite number of changes.

Homestay

Paisley Smith, the NFB, Jam3

VR-Experience*

Canada / 2018 / 20min
Language: English

nfb.ca/interactive/homestay

We are in the midst of Paisley Smith’s reflections about Taro, a Japanese exchange student who committed suicide in his guest family’s home in Canada. The Nitobe Memorial Garden in Vancouver was the model for the paper world Paisley Smith designed for her personal memory course. This sensitively designed adaptation was created in cooperation with the NFB and Jam3.

In my Absence

Niki Smit

VR-Experience*

Netherlands / 2018 / 6min
Language: Dutch, English
areyouthere.nl

 

Absence seizures are a type of epilepsy that affects mainly children and adolescents. Those affected are “absent” for a few seconds – often a hundred times a day. Where are they during their absence? This multi-sensory VR experience is like a dream, offering insights into the protagonists’ worlds that are almost impossible to describe in words.

Manic VR

Kalina Bertin

VR-Experience*

Canada / 2018 / 11min

Language: English

eyesteelfilm.com/web-projects/manic-vr

 

Guided by Felicia’s and François’s voices we set out on a journey through the phases of bipolar disorder: an intimate insight into the constantly changing realities and states that are part of the typical symptoms of manic depression. “Manic VR” tells a non-fictional story by means of 3D animation, psychedelic pigmentation effects and room-scale interaction.

The MetamorphosisVR
– Project of the Goethe-Institut Prague

Mika Johnson 

VR-Experience*

Czech Republic, Germany / 2018 / 5min
Language: Czech, English, German
goethe.de/VRwandlung

 

“When Gregor Samsa woke up one morning from unsettling dreams, he found himself changed in his bed into a monstrous vermin.” This VR experience, based on Franz Kafka’s short novel “The Metamorphosis,” opens a metaphorical space that’s otherwise only accessible through our imagination. This is where you can experience physically how it feels to be Kafka’s bug.

Place – Part 1

Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins
VR-Experience*

Germany, Israel, Canada / 2018 / 10min
Language: English, Hebrew, Italian

 

The main synagogue of Aleppo in Syria was heavily damaged in the civil war. This is the visualisation, detached from space and time, of the history of a place that no longer exists. It’s like stepping into an old black and white film where several strands of time converge. Encounters are suddenly possible: with characters who are still alive or who died decades, centuries ago.

The Real Thing

Benoit Felici

360°-Film

France / 2018 / 16min
Language: Chinese, English, German, Mandarin
therealthing.film

 

We’re travelling from Paris to Venice without leaving China. This 360° film explores the fascinating reality of “fake cities” and allows us access to a world of imitation where the boundaries between original, fake, real and virtual are blurred. Locals guide us through almost empty cityscapes that serve as projection screens for a wholly different culture.

Why did you come to Berlin?!

Michael Ginsburg, Martin Heller, Christiane Wittenbecher

360°-Film

Germany / 2017 / 9min

Language: German

intovr.de/2017/05/11/stasi-gefaengnis-360-film-was-wollten-sie-in-berlin

 

The headset works as a time machine that puts us in the role of a prisoner in the Stasi prison of Berlin-Hohenschönhausen. Based on the memories of GDR writer Jürgen Fuchs and numerous interviews with contemporary witnesses, this 360° film doesn’t just depict recent German history but, for a brief moment, makes it present.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Projekte 2018

DOK Neuland Projekte 2018

Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde

Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

360°-Film

Deutschland, Kanada / 2018 / 14 min.

Sprache: Englisch, Deutsch, Barasana

arte.tv/arte360

 

Wir tauchen ein in eine beeindruckende Klang- und Farbenwelt. Die Schamanen des Volkes der Yuruparí leben im Regenwald des Amazonas im Südwesten Kolumbiens. Ihre heiligen Stätten befinden sich verteilt in einem Netzwerk, das exakt der Äquatorlinie folgt. Die Yuruparí glauben, im Zentrum der Welt zu leben und dass es ihre Aufgabe sei, die Erde spirituell im Gleichgewicht zu halten.

Blind Vaysha – VR

Theodore Ushev

360°-Film 

Kanada / 2017 / 8 min.

Sprache: Englisch, Französisch

nfb.ca/interactive/blind_vaysha_vr

 

Vaysha ist nicht wie andere Mädchen: Auf ihrem linken Auge sieht sie die Vergangenheit, auf dem rechten die Zukunft. Gefangen in einer verschwommenen Zwischenwelt, ist die Gegenwart für sie ein blinder Fleck. Der 360°-Film vereint den traditionellen Linolschnitt mit innovativen Animationstechnologien. Der Einsatz von stereoskopischen Bildern ermöglicht es, die Welt mit Vayshas Augen zu sehen.

The Bridge

Nikita Shalenny

360°-Film

Ukraine, Dänemark / 2017 / 10 min.

Sprache: ohne Dialog

nikitashalenny.com/the-bridge-vr

 

Wir begeben uns auf eine Reise rund um die Welt. Begleitet von geisterhaften Gestalten, durchqueren wir Ozeane und Wälder, ziehen vorbei an desolaten Orten. Der Horizont ist nur eine Illusion – eine imaginäre Linie, die unerreicht bleibt. Die Brücke als Ausgangs- und Endpunkt dient als Symbol für die Flucht in eine bessere Realität.

Denoise

Giorgio Ferrero, Federico Biasin

360°-Film

Italien, USA, Schweiz / 2017 / 15 min.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch, Tagalog

beautifulthings.it

 

Ein Ölfeld in Texas, der Maschinenraum eines Überseefrachters, ein schalltoter Raum, eine Müllverbrennungsanlage – verbindendes Element dieser gegensätzlichen Szenerien sind die Protagonisten dieses collageartigen 360°-Films. Sie führen einsame Existenzen, fernab unseres eigenen Lebensstils. Die Stille der reflexionsarmen Kammer trifft auf das Dröhnen im Maschinenraum. Doch am Ende ist alles eins.

The Future Is Not Unwritten

Susanne Steinmassl

Endless Smart Film

Deutschland, Japan / 2017 / infinite

Sprache: Englisch

thefutureisnotunwritten.com

 

Ist der Mensch im Begriff, sich selbst überflüssig zu machen? Oder entwickeln wir uns zu digitalen Zwischenwesen? Fünf wiederkehrende Erzählinseln über Existenz, Körperlichkeit, Identität, Transformation und Bewusstsein thematisieren den Übergang zum Transhumanismus. Ein lebendiger Film, der sich mittels „Machine Learning Code“ selbst erzählt und unendlich oft verändert.

Homestay

Paisley Smith, the NFB, Jam3

VR-Experience*

Kanada / 2018 / 20 min.

Sprache: Englisch

nfb.ca/interactive/homestay

 

Wir sind mitten in Paisley Smiths Reflexion über Taro, einen japanischen Austauschschüler, der sich im Haus seiner Gastfamilie in Kanada das Leben nahm. Der Nitobe Memorial Garden in Vancouver diente als Vorbild für die Papierwelt, die Paisley Smith für ihren persönlichen Erinnerungsparcours entworfen hat. Diese sensibel gestaltete Aufarbeitung entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem NFB und Jam3.

In my Absence

Niki Smit

VR-Experience*

Niederlande / 2018 / 6 min.

Sprache: Niederländisch, Englisch

areyouthere.nl

 

Eine Absence ist eine Form der Epilepsie, unter der vor allem Kinder und Jugendliche leiden. Betroffene sind dabei für wenige Sekunden „weg“ – oft hundertmal am Tag. Wo sind sie in ihrer Abwesenheit? Die multisensorische VR-Erfahrung gleicht einem Traum. Sie gibt Einblicke in die Welten der Protagonisten, die sich mit Worten kaum fassen lassen.

Manic VR

Kalina Bertin

VR-Experience*

Kanada / 2018 / 11min

Sprache: Englisch

 

Begleitet von den Stimmen von Felicia und François, begibt man sich hier auf eine Reise durch die Phasen einer bipolaren Störung. Ein intimer Einblick in die sich ständig verändernden Realitäten und Zustände, die zum typischen Krankheitsbild einer manischen Depression gehören. Manic VR erzählt eine non-fiktionale Geschichte – mithilfe von 3-D-Animation, psychedelischen Pigmenteffekten und Room-Scale-Interaktion.

Place – Part 1

Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins

VR-Experience*

Deutschland, Israel, Kanada / 2018 / 10 min.

Sprache: Englisch, Hebräisch, Italienisch

 

Die Hauptsynagoge von Aleppo in Syrien wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer beschädigt. Losgelöst von Raum und Zeit wird hier die Geschichte eines Ortes visualisiert, der nicht mehr existiert. Es ist, als trete man in einen alten Schwarz-Weiß-Film, in dem mehrere Zeitstränge zusammenlaufen. Begegnungen werden möglich: mit Charakteren, die noch leben oder vor Jahrzehnten, Jahrhunderten gestorben sind.

The Real Thing

Benoit Felici

360°-Film

France / 2018 / 16 min.

Sprache: Chinesisch, Englisch, Deutsch, Mandarin

therealthing.film

 

Wir reisen von Paris nach Venedig und London, ohne China zu verlassen. Der 360°-Film erkundet die faszinierende Realität von „gefälschten Städten“ und ermöglicht den Zugang zu einer kopierten Welt, die die Grenzen zwischen original, gefakt, real und virtuell verschwimmen lässt. Einheimische führen uns durch fast leere Stadtlandschaften, die als Leinwände für eine ganz andere Kultur dienen.

VRwandlung 
– Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Prag

Mika Johnson

VR-Experience*

Tschechische Republik / 2018 / 5 min.
Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Tschechisch

goethe.de/VRwandlung

 

„Als Gregor Samsa eines Morgens aus unruhigen Träumen erwachte, fand er sich in seinem Bett zu einem ungeheueren Ungeziefer verwandelt.“ – Die VR-Erfahrung auf Grundlage der Novelle Die Verwandlung von Franz Kafka öffnet einen metaphorischen Raum, der sonst nur unserer Fantasie zugänglich ist. Hier kann man am eigenen Leib erleben, wie es sich anfühlt, Kafkas Käfer zu sein.

Was wollten Sie in Berlin?!

Michael Ginsburg, Martin Heller, Christiane Wittenbecher

360°-Film

Deutschland / 2017 / 9 min.

Sprache: Deutsch

intovr.de/2017/05/11/stasi-gefaengnis-360-film-was-wollten-sie-in-berlin

 

Das Headset fungiert als Zeitmaschine und versetzt uns in die Rolle eines Häftlings im Stasi-Gefängnis in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen. Basierend auf den Erinnerungen des DDR-Schriftstellers Jürgen Fuchs sowie zahlreichen Interviews mit Zeitzeugen, veranschaulicht dieser 360°-Film nicht nur die jüngere deutsche Geschichte, sondern lässt sie für einen kurzen Moment Gegenwart werden.


DOK Neuland wird unterstützt von ARTE.

 

DOK Bildung ist ein Bestandteil des Nachwuchs Angebotes und wird in Kooperation mit der SLM realisiert.