DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Projekte 2019

DOK Neuland Projects 2019

4 Feet: Blind Date

María Belén Poncio, Damián Turkieh

360° Film

Argentina / 2018 / 19 min

Language: English, Spanish

 

“I will not be a virgin forever!” We follow Juana who is just discovering her own body. On her way through the non-barrier-free city she hears the occasional comment. Her answer: “Keep calm! It’s just a wheelchair!” But the obstacle to overcome is something else: nervousness before a blind date where Juana hopes to pop her cherry.

 

More: 4feetseries.com

Aftermath: Euromaidan

Alexey Furman, Sergii Polezhaka

VR Experience*

Ukraine / 2019 / 30 min

Language: English, Ukrainian

 

This VR documentary reconstructs the events of 20 February 2014 on Kiev’s Independence Square. On that day, fifty people lose their lives when the police open fire on the Euromaidan protesters. Using archive material and 360° interviews, the story unfolds step by step in an environment recreated using CGI and photogrammetry.

 

More: newcavemedia.com/aftermathvr

ARTE presents: Der Traum des Cesare

Fabian Mrongowius, Nicolas de Leval Jerzierski, Floris Asche

VR Experience*, 360° Film

Germany / 2019 / 5 min

Language: English, German

 

 

100 years after the shooting of Robert Wiene’s silent film “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” ended, the story of the old showman and the somnambulist Cesare is reanimated as a volumetric video by 3D human body reconstruction technology. In this walk-in film, the perspective chosen determines one’s view of the expressionist and dreamlike scenery.

 

More: ufa-x.de/das-kabinet-vr, arte.tv/caligari

Ayahuasca - Kosmik Journey

Jan Kounen

VR Experience*

France, Luxembourg / 2019 / 18 min

Language: English

 

Guided by the meditative chants of a virtual Shipibo healer we embark on an inner journey. Our companions are snakes, beetles and scorpions. The destination of our journey is a world that seems to be pure geometry. Kaleidoscopic visions create a meditative state whose intensity is heavily dependent on our level of attention.

 

More: diversioncinema.com/ayahuasca

Candy World

Lenn Blaschke

VR Experience*

Germany / 2019 / 6 min

Language: English

 

Visually inspired by “Candy Crush”, one of the most popular games of our time, we find ourselves in a pink world filled with candy-sweet creatures. They confront us with real comments from image boards like “4chan” and “8chan”, where, under cover of irony and anonymity, the boundaries between trolling and social radicalisation are becoming increasingly blurred.

 

More: thisisfake.team/works/candy-world

Dark Origins: Mephisto (Preview)

Calum Bowden

VR Experience*

UK / 2019 / 10 min
Language: English

 

A few kilometres underground our flashlights are the only source of light. About thirty years ago, at a place with seemingly impossible living conditions, scientists discovered a hidden ecosystem that fundamentally changed our understanding of life. Among its inhabitants is the “Mephisto worm”. To explore its dark world at eye level we become as small as the creature.

 

More: planetary.life

Hanahana Full Bloom

Mélodie Mousset

VR Experience*

France, Switzerland  / 2019 / infinite

Language: without dialogue

 

Odd shapes stand in a desert landscape. At the push of a button, countless hands sprout from the ground. Hands, hands everywhere. Modelled on the Anime character Nico Robin who can make body parts grow anywhere at will, we are asked to contribute our own narratives and physical, intellectual and sensual impressions to this desert. The result is satisfying, in a surprising way.

 

More: hanahana.world

Le Lac

Nyasha Kadandara

360° Film

Kenya / 2019 / 10 min
Language: Chadian Arabic, English, French

 

“The source of life, that is who I am!” The constantly shrinking Lake Chad itself takes stock: Its life-giving power is diminishing, its destination as an oasis is getting lost, inexorably. Since the 1960s the interior lake has lost more than 90 percent of its surface. This drastic decline, triggered by climate change, has devastating consequences for millions of people.

The Holy City

Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

VR Experience*

Canada, Israel / 2019 / 20 min
Language: English, Hebrew

In a mix of room-scale gaming and live action film Jerusalem can be experienced as a religious epicentre where three world religions overlap. Believers of all denominations work on the narrative of the place, pleading for mutual understanding. The starting point of this intellectual game is the ambivalent term of Abrahamism which initiates a trialogue between Judaism, Christianity and Islam.

 

More: holycityvr.com

Traveling While Black

Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah

360° Film

USA / 2018 / 21 min

Language: English

 

Published between 1936 and 1966, the “Green Book” was a survival guide for African-American U.S. citizens, recommending safe places to avoid racist hostility on domestic journeys. “Ben’s Chili Bowl” has been among those recommendations since 1958. The intimate corners of this Washington restaurant become spaces of reflection for the racist degradation existing even today.

Unceded Territories

Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun

VR Experience*

Canada / 2019 / 6 min
Language: English

 

In an age of dramatic climate predictions, each and everyone should ask themselves how big their own share in the destruction of the world is. Rage drives this work and rage is what it will ignite. The “Spirit Bear” invites us to the iconic world of the indigenous artist Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun and confronts us with the worst exploiters of nature: humans.

Your Spiritual Temple Sucks

John Hsu
360° Film

Taiwan / 2017 / 10 min
Language: English, Mandarin

 

According to Taoist tradition, our fate is represented by a spiritual temple. Guided by a monk, a blindfolded person can enter the afterworld during their lifetime. The VR headset as an analogue blindfold is ritually charged in order to follow Mister Chang to his temple of fate. Once there, we follow his attempts to resolve marital and financial problems.

 

More: sfilms.com.tw/your-spiritual-temple-sucks


DOK Neuland is supported by ARTE.


DOK Neuland technology partner:


DOK Neuland is part of the DOK Nachwuchs programme and realised in cooperation with the SLM.
ADVERTISEMENTS

DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Projekte 2019

DOK Neuland Projekte 2019

4 Feet: Blind Date

María Belén Poncio, Damián Turkieh

360° Film 

Argentinien / 2018 / 19 min

Sprache: Englisch, Spanisch

 

„Ich werde nicht für immer eine Jungfrau sein!“ Wir begleiten Juana, die dabei ist, ihren Körper zu entdecken. Auf dem Weg durch die nicht barrierefreie Stadt erntet sie den einen oder anderen Kommentar. Ihre Antwort: „Entspannt euch! Es ist nur ein Rollstuhl!“ Doch die Hürde, die es zu überwinden gilt, ist eine andere: die Nervosität vor einem Blind Date, bei dem Juana hofft, ihr erstes Mal zu erleben.

 

Mehr: 4feetseries.com

Aftermath: Euromaidan

Alexey Furman, Sergii Polezhaka

VR Experience*

Ukraine / 2019 / 30 min

Sprache: Englisch, Ukrainisch

 

In der VR-Dokumentation werden die Ereignisse des 20. Februar 2014 auf dem Unabhängigkeitsplatz in Kiew rekonstruiert. Fünfzig Menschen verlieren an diesem Tag ihr Leben, als die Polizei das Feuer auf Euromaidan-Protestanten eröffnet. Durch den Einsatz von Archivmaterial und 360°-Interviews entfaltet sich die Geschichte Stück für Stück in der mittels CGI und Fotogrammetrie nachgebauten Umgebung.

 

Mehr: newcavemedia.com/aftermathvr

ARTE präsentiert: Der Traum des Cesare

Fabian Mrongowius, Nicolas de Leval Jezierski, Floris Asche

VR Experience*, 360° Film

Deutschland / 2019 / 5 min

Sprache: Englisch, Deutsch

 

100 Jahre nach Abschluss der Dreharbeiten zu Robert Wienes Stummfilm „Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari“ wird die Geschichte um den alten Schausteller und den somnambulen Cesare durch 3D-Human-Body-Reconstruction-Technologie als volumetrisches Video zu neuem Leben erweckt. In diesem begehbaren Film entscheidet der gewählte Blickwinkel über die Sicht auf die expressionistische und traumähnliche Szenerie.

 

Mehr: ufa-x.de/das-kabinet-vr, arte.tv/caligari

Ayahuasca - Kosmik Journey

Jan Kounen

VR Experience*

Frankreich, Luxemburg / 2019 / 18 min

Sprache: Englisch

 

Geleitet durch die meditativen Gesänge eines virtuellen Shipibo-Heilers begeben wir uns auf eine Reise in unser Inneres. Unsere Begleiter sind Schlangen, Käfer und Skorpione. Reiseziel ist eine Welt, die reine Geometrie zu sein scheint. Kaleidoskopische Visionen stellen einen meditativen Zustand her, dessen Intensität stark von unserer eigenen Aufmerksamkeit abhängt.

 

Mehr: diversioncinema.com/ayahuasca

Candy World

Lenn Blaschke

VR Experience*

Deutschland / 2019 / 6 min

Sprache: Englisch

 

Optisch angelehnt an „Candy Crush“, eines der beliebtesten Spiele unserer Zeit, finden wir uns in einer rosafarbenen Welt mit bonbonsüßen Wesen wieder. Diese konfrontieren uns mit realen Kommentaren von Imageboards wie „4chan“ und „8chan“. Unter dem Deckmantel von Ironie und Anonymität verschwimmen dort zunehmend die Grenzen zwischen Trolling und gesellschaftlicher Radikalisierung.

 

Mehr: thisisfake.team/works/candy-world

Dark Origins: Mephisto (Preview)

Calum Bowden

VR Experience*

UK / 2019 / 10 min

Sprache: Englisch

 

Einige Kilometer unter der Erde sind unsere Taschenlampen die einzige Lichtquelle. An einem Ort mit scheinbar unmöglichen Lebensbedingungen fanden Forscher vor rund dreißig Jahren ein bis dahin verborgenes Ökosystem, das unser Verständnis von Leben maßgeblich veränderte. Zu den Bewohnern gehört der Teufelswurm. Um seine dunkle Welt auf Augenhöhe erkunden zu können, werden wir so klein wie er.

 

Mehr: planetary.life

Hanahana Full Bloom

Mélodie Mousset

VR Experience*

Frankreich, Schweiz / 2019 / infinite

Sprache: ohne Dialog

 

Seltsame Gebilde stehen in einer Wüstenlandschaft. Auf Knopfdruck sprießen unendlich viele Hände aus dem Boden. Hände, überall Hände. Angelehnt an den Anime-Charakter Nico Robin, die Körperteile überall beliebig wachsen lassen kann, wird man hier aufgefordert, eigene Narrative, Körper-, Geist- und Sinneseindrücke in diese Wüste einzubringen. Das Ergebnis ist, auf überraschende Art, zufriedenstellend.

 

Mehr: hanahana.world

Le Lac

Nyasha Kadandara

360° Film

Kenia / 2019 / 10 min

Sprache: Chadian Arabic, English, French

 

„Die Quelle des Lebens, das ist, was ich bin!“ Der stetig schrumpfende Tschadsee selbst zieht Bilanz: Seine lebensspendende Kraft nimmt ab, seine Bestimmung als Oase geht verloren, unaufhaltsam. Seit den 1960er Jahren büßte der Binnensee über 90 Prozent seiner Fläche ein. Ausgelöst durch den Klimawandel, hat dieser drastische Rückgang verheerende Folgen für Millionen von Menschen.

The Holy City

Nimrod Shanit, Timur Musabay

VR Experience*

Kanada, Israel  / 2019 / 20 min

Sprache: Englisch, Hebräisch

 

In einem Mix aus Room-Scale-Gaming und Realfilm wird Jerusalem als religiöses Epizentrum erfahrbar, in dem sich drei Weltreligionen überlagern. Gläubige aller Konfessionen arbeiten am Narrativ des Ortes und plädieren gleichzeitig für Verständigung. Ausgangspunkt für das Gedankenspiel ist der ambivalente Begriff des Abrahamismus, der einen Trialog zwischen Judentum, Christentum und Islam in Gang setzt.

 

Mehr: holycityvr.com

Traveling while black

Roger Ross Williams, Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël, Ayesha Nadarajah

360° Film

USA  / 2018 / 21 min

Sprache: Englisch

 

Das „Green Book“ war ein zwischen 1936 und 1966 erscheinender Überlebensratgeber für afroamerikanische US-Bürger. Um auf Inlandsreisen rassistischen Anfeindungen zu entgehen, wurden hier sichere Orte empfohlen. Seit 1958 gehörte „Ben’s Chili Bowl“ zu diesen Empfehlungen. Die intimen Sitzecken des Washingtoner Restaurants werden zu Reflektionsräumen für die bis heute bestehende rassistische Abwertung.

Unceded Territories

Paisley Smith, Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun

VR-Experience*

Canada / 2019 / 6 min.
Sprache: Englisch

 

In Zeiten dramatischer Klimaprognosen sollte sich jede und jeder fragen, wie groß der eigene Anteil an der Zerstörung der Welt ist. Wut treibt diese Arbeit an und Wut wird sie entfachen. Der „Spirit Bear“ bittet uns in die ikonische Welt des indigenen Künstlers Lawrence Paul Yuxweluptun und konfrontiert uns mit den schlimmsten Ausbeutern der Natur: den Menschen.

 

Mehr: uncededterritories.ca

Your Spiritual Temple Sucks

John Hsu

360° Film

Taiwan / 2017 / 10 min

Sprache: English, Mandarin

 

Nach taoistischer Tradition repräsentiert ein spiritueller Tempel das eigene Schicksal. Geführt von einem Mönch, kann eine Person mit verbundenen Augen zu Lebzeiten das Jenseits betreten. Das VR-Headset wird als analoge Augenbinde rituell aufgeladen, um gemeinsam mit Mister Chang in dessen Schicksalstempel zu gelangen. Dort begleiten wir seine Versuche, Eheprobleme und finanzielle Sorgen zu beheben.

 

Mehr: sfilms.com.tw/your-spiritual-temple-sucks


DOK Neuland wird unterstützt von ARTE.


DOK Neuland Technikpartner:


DOK Neuland ist ein Bestandteil des DOK Nachwuchsangebotes und wird in Kooperation mit der SLM realisiert.
ANZEIGEN