DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Programm

Commanders – Chairmen – General
Secretaries. Communist Rule in the Visual Languages of Cinema

How was the communist ideal reflected in the visual language of film? How did communist films regard the regimes and their leaders? How is the iconography of communism reflected in political and media discourse today? Divided into eight categories, this year's Retrospective explores Marx's notion that history repeats itself - first as tragedy, then as farce.

 

One hundred years after the October Revolution, the festival will screen films that were made during the communist era and others made more recently, some deeply rooted in ideology, others looking at it from a distance, thus providing a multi-faceted insight into communism.

 

Der Sekretär (1967); Director: Jürgen BöttcherDer Sekretär (1967); Director: Jürgen Böttcher

The programme starts with the magic, the fascination and the enthusiasm that accompanied the idea of communism. Then, how communism portrayed itself in film as the ideology imposed itself on daily life. Der Sekretär depicts the daily life of an SED party secretary at the Buna factory near Halle by the DEFA documentary filmmaker Jürgen Böttcher - it is a filmic hymn to the dialectic of plight and pathos.

 

Films of different geographical origins rotate around some key terms in the history of communism, including cult of personality and revisionism. The ambivalent relationship with religious traditions is explored in Peter von Bagh's A Day at the Grave of Karl Marx. Two works by the Cuban filmmaker Santiago Álvarez depict how the ideology took hold in what was then widely known as the Third World. In The Missing Picture, which won an award at Cannes, the Cambodian filmmaker Rithy Panh uses clay figures to retrace the history of the Khmer Rouge genocide powerfully and in a way which remains unreconciled with Cambodia. Works about Rosa Luxemburg, about the Black Panther Party in the US and Angela Davis and Kathleen and Eldridge Cleaver give an insight into the role of ethnic background and gender with regard to communism.

 

The Missing Picture (2013), Regie: Rithy PanhThe Missing Picture (2013), Director: Rithy Panh

Finally, in a podium discussion, the journalist Jörg Becker and cultural scientist Christian Schulte will show excerpts to guide audiences through Alexander Kluge's opus magnum News from Ideological Antiquity: MarxEisensteinThe Capital. They will also examine his polemical thesis that "good revolutions" only come about every 800 years.

 

Two matinees will complement the Retrospective:

In the Saxony state archives programme, some splendid documents of daily life in the GDR will be presented to the public for the first time. How did high-ranking representatives from the GDR leadership in Berlin present themselves in Leipzig? How did they want to be perceived? How were they received unofficially?

 

The DEFA Matinee focuses on Karl Gass, the "documentary filmmaker in socialism" who would have turned 100 this year. In 1954, he was made responsible for the artistic direction of the popular science department at DEFA. He was also a co-founder of the Leipzig Documentary and Short Film Week, as DOK Leipzig was originally called. The festival will pay tribute to Gass' oeuvre with two of his films.

 

The topic of the Retrospective will be also discussed at a symposium that was developed in cooperation with the Leibniz Institute for the History and Culture of Eastern Europe.

 

Ralph Eue is responsible for the Retrospective. This year, he became DOK Leipzig's programmer, as well as the chairman of the Selection Committee, of which he has been a member since 2007.


 

Supported by means of the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Programm

Kommandanten  –  Vorsitzende  –  Generalsekretäre. Kommunistische Herrschaft in den Bildsprachen des Films

Wie hat sich die kommunistische Idee in der Bildsprache des Films niedergeschlagen? Wie blicken die Filme auf das Regime und ihre Führer? Und an welcher Stelle finden Ikonografien von damals auch im politisch-medialen Diskurs von heute wieder Anwendung? Die diesjährige Retrospektive geht in acht Programmen der These nach, dass sich geschichtliche Ereignisse nicht nur einmal, sondern mindestens zweimal ereignen – frei nach Marx, einmal als Tragödie, ein weiteres Mal als Farce.

 

100 Jahre nach der Oktoberrevolution präsentiert das Festival Filme von damals und heute, manche tief in der Ideologie verwurzelt und andere aus der Distanz blickend, um ein vielschichtiges Bild des Kommunismus zu zeichnen.

 

Der Sekretär (1967), Regie: Jürgen BöttcherDer Sekretär (1967), Regie: Jürgen Böttcher

Es geht zunächst um den Zauber, die Faszination und den Enthusiasmus, die die kommunistische Idee zu Beginn begleitet haben. Und darum, wie sich der Kommunismus selbst filmisch dargestellt hat, als die Ideologie Alltag geworden ist. Der Sekretär etwa ist ein Porträtfilm des DEFA-Dokumentaristen Jürgen Böttcher über den Alltag eines Parteisekretärs der SED in den Buna-Werken bei Halle – eine filmische Hymne über die Dialektik von Mühsal und Pathos.

 

Filme unterschiedlichster geografischer Herkunft kreisen um einige Schlagworte in der Geschichte des Kommunismus, darunter Personenkult und Revisionismus. Das ambivalente Verhältnis zu religiösen Traditionen wird unter anderem in Peter von Baghs A Day at the Grave of Karl Marx thematisiert. Welchen Verlauf die Ideologie in Ländern der sogenannten Dritten Welt nahm, das untersuchen zum Beispiel zwei Filme des Kubaners Santiago Alvarez. Und in seinem in Cannes prämierten Tonfigurenfilm The Missing Picture zeichnet der kambodschanische Regisseur Rithy Panh ebenso kraftvoll wie unversöhnt die Geschichte des Völkermordes der Roten Khmer in Kambodscha nach. Wie sehr im Zusammenhang des Kommunismus auch Fragen von ethnischer Herkunft und Geschlecht eine Rolle spielen, zeigen u.a. Filme über Rosa Luxemburg, über die US-amerikanische Black Panther Party, über die politischen Aktivistinnen Angela Davis sowie Kathleen und Eldridge Cleaver.

 

The Missing Picture (2013), Regie: Rithy PanhThe Missing Picture (2013), Regie: Rithy Panh

Der Publizist Jörg Becker und der Kulturwissenschaftler Christian Schulte navigieren schließlich auf einem Podium mit Filmausschnitten durch Alexander Kluges Opus Magnum Nachrichten aus der ideologischen Antike. Marx – Eisenstein - Das Kapital. Zur Debatte stehen soll in diesem Rahmen auch Kluges Polemik, "dass gute Revolutionen nicht unter 800 Jahren zu haben sind".

 

Zwei Matineen ergänzen die Retrospektive:

Im Programm des Sächsischen Staatsarchivs werden einige herausragende filmische Archivalien zur Alltagsgeschichte der DDR erstmals öffentlich vorgestellt. Wie präsentierten sich Vertreter des DDR-Regimes in Leipzig? Wie wollten sie wahrgenommen werden und wie wurde solch hoher Besuch aus der Hauptstadt inoffiziell aufgenommen?

 

Eine DEFA Matinee rückt Karl Gass in den Fokus: Der Dokumentarfilmer übernahm 1954 die künstlerische Leitung des DEFA-Studios für populärwissenschaftliche Filme, war aber auch Mitbegründer der Leipziger Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmwoche, wie DOK Leipzig ursprünglich hieß. Mit zwei Filmen verbeugt sich das Festival vor dem Lebenswerk des "Dokumentaristen im Sozialismus", der in diesem Jahr 100 Jahre alt geworden wäre.

 

Zum Thema der Retrospektive findet ein Symposium statt in Kooperation mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Geschichte und Kultur des östlichen Europa.

 

Verantwortlich für die Retrospektive ist Ralph Eue. Er ist seit 2017 Programmer bei DOK Leipzig und Vorsitzender der Auswahlkommission, der er seit 2007 angehört.

 


 

Die Retrospektive wird gefördert mit Mitteln der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur.