DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Brothers Quay

Potentiae Materialis. Homage Brothers Quay

MASKA by the Brothers Quay
Hybrid spheres materialise, where lifeless dolls move – or rather, are moved, by the Brothers Quay – along with lively machine-like creatures and a host of objects in stop-motion technique to the tones of New Music, such as Stockhausen. Things are seemingly brought to life, as are hands: in the film IN ABSENTIA the latter appear without a body attached, magnified in close-up, transformed into protagonists themselves.
 
One Night, One Special Programme, One Carte Blanche
 
The legendary artist duo Brothers Quay works in the liminal zone between animated and documentary film, openly embracing the predicament that only one of many perceptions can be realised in speech and mise-en-scene. The animated filmmakers seek inspiration in literature, for instance that of Robert Walser, upon whose work INSTITUTE BENJAMENTA OR THIS DREAM PEOPLE CALL HUMAN LIFE is based. The first feature-length film from the Brothers Quay (from 1995) treats the story of Jakob von Gunten, who resolved to become a servant.
“It is as if the Quays for example took a literary source into themselves, encoded it in their own personal language and threw it back out into the world cinematically in images, symbols and collages. It is nearly impossible to transform this process back into language, since they add a non-linguistic element to the mix,” explains programme curator André Eckardt, who will be welcoming the brothers to Brothers Quay Night*footnotes for a screening and talk on Friday, 1 November.
 
The cinematic worlds of the Brothers Quay can rarely be grasped as reality, although their contents appear to be material, recognisable and not particularly symbolic. The audience is challenged to supplement the perspective of the hybrid protagonists with their own personal experience, resulting in emotional, atmospheric impressions more than self-contained narratives.
Films and Tickets

You can find the programme and buy tickets online in our Filmfinder.

Film list brothers quay

 

All films in the Special Programme >>

 

We will announce the schedule of all festival screenings with our complete film programme on 10 October. 

THE CABINET OF JAN ŠVANKMAJER, PRAGUE’S ALCHEMIST OF FILM by Brothers Quay
THE CABINET OF JAN ŠVANKMAJER is also one of these collage-like films, which – totally in the spirit of the surrealist master himself – creates fascinatingly creepy atmospheres with its cabinets overflowing with absurdity. Under the title Potentiae Materialis: Homage Brothers Quay, DOK Leipzig is offering a comprehensive look into the cinematic work of the two artists. One of the programmes of this Special Programme was curated as a carte blanche by the filmmakers themselves and features films that have provided inspiration for their own work.
 
With the body of work they’ve assembled over the past 40 years, the Brothers Quay have themselves also consistently stood as an inspiration to others: Christopher Nolan outed himself as a huge fan with his film QUAY (2015), for instance. In addition, the duo has produced music videos for artists such as 16 Horsepower and Peter Gabriel, or film materials for the brand launch of the fragrance Comme des Garçons. For DOK Leipzig, they have created the trailer for this year’s festival edition.

DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Brothers Quay

Potentiae Materialis. Hommage Brothers Quay

MASKA von den Brothers Quay
Hybride Sphären entstehen, wo sich leblose Puppen mit lebhaften Maschinenwesen und dinglichen Inventaren in Stop-Motion-Technik zu Neuer Musik wie der von Stockhausen bewegen oder vielmehr: von den Brothers Quay bewegt werden. Dinge werden scheinbar zum Leben erweckt, oder Hände: Im Film IN ABSENTIA erscheinen sie körperlos, in Großaufnahme, werden selbst zu Protagonisten.
 
Eine Nacht, eine Werkschau, eine Carte Blanche
 
Das legendäre Künstlergespann Brothers Quay arbeitet am Grenzbereich zwischen Animations- und Dokumentarfilm und geht dabei ganz offen damit um, dass sich in Sprache und Inszenierung nur eine von vielen Wahrnehmungen verwirklichen lässt. Die Animationsfilmer suchen ihre Inspiration in literarischen Stoffen wie etwa bei Robert Walser, an den INSTITUTE BENJAMENTA OR THIS DREAM PEOPLE CALL HUMAN LIFE angelehnt ist. Der erste Langfilm der Brothers Quay von 1995 lässt sich auf die Geschichte Jakob von Guntens ein, der sich vornimmt, zum Diener aufzusteigen.
„Es ist, als würden die Quays z.B. eine literarische Vorlage in sich aufnehmen, sie in ihrer persönlichen Sprache kodieren und in Bildern, Symbolen und Collagen filmisch wieder auswerfen. Diesen Prozess wieder zurück in Sprache zu transformieren ist fast unmöglich, weil sie etwas Unsprachliches hinzufügen", so André Eckardt, der als Kurator des Programms die Brüder zur Brothers Quay Night*footnotes zu Screening und Talk am Freitag, den 1. November geladen hat.
 
Die filmischen Welten der Brothers Quay lassen sie sich selten als Wirklichkeit greifen, obwohl die Inventare dinglich, wiedererkennbar, wenig symbolisch anmuten. Das Publikum ist gefragt, die Perspektive der hybriden Protagonisten um persönliche Erfahrungen zu ergänzen: So entstehen emotionale, sphärische Eindrücke, mehr noch als geschlossene Erzählungen.
Filme und Tickets

Das Programm finden Sie in unserem Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

 

 

ZUR FILMLISTE

 

Alle Filme der Sonderreihe im Überblick >>

 

Die Termine und Uhrzeiten der Kinovorführungen veröffentlichen wir mit dem gesamten Filmprogramm am 10. Oktober.

THE CABINET OF JAN ŠVANKMAJER von Brothers Quay
Auch THE CABINET OF JAN ŠVANKMAJER ist einer dieser collageartigen Filme, der – ganz vom surrealistischen Meister inspiriert – in Kabinetten voller Absurditäten faszinierend sphärischen Grusel kreiert. Unter dem Titel Potentiae Materialis. Hommage Brothers Quay bietet DOK Leipzig einen umfassenden Einblick ins filmische Schaffen der beiden Künstler. Eines der Programme dieser Sonderreihe wurde dabei als Carte Blanche von ihnen selbst kuratiert und zeigt Filme, die ihr eigenes Schaffen inspirierten.
 
Die Brothers Quay waren und sind mit ihrem Werk der letzten 40 Jahre stets auch selbst Inspiration für andere: Christopher Nolan hat sich mit seinem Film QUAY (2015) als großer Fan offenbart. Zudem produziert das Duo Musikvideos, u.a. für 16 Horsepower und Peter Gabriel, oder Filmisches zum Markenlaunch des Parfums Comme des Garçons. Für DOK Leipzig steuern sie den diesjährigen Festivaltrailer bei.