DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Retrospektive

Retrospective: FRGDR. Alternate Looks at 40 Years of Dual German Statehood

THE ECONOMIC MIRACLE, CDU party political broadcast
“There’s nothing still standing and no one still alive”. The roof of Hitler’s bunker is detonated in August 1988. There’s no longer even a single stone in front of the Theatre of the Jewish Cultural Association either. Eduard Schreiber’s TRACES (1989) explores what remains of the Second World War, but first and foremost what no longer does.
 
With this year’s Retrospective, DOK Leipzig turns its attention to the four decades between the National Socialist dictatorship and the Fall of the Berlin Wall, during which two German states existed: an era pervaded by enthusiasm for the future and repression of the past, by economic reconstruction and political reform as well as a neck and neck race of opposing ideologies.
 
While autumn 2019 will be characterised by the anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution, DOK Leipzig takes on a slightly different perspective on the events: “We made a conscious choice not to place the date 1989 at the centre of our focus. We’re more interested in what happened before and after”, comments Ralph Eue, programmer at DOK Leipzig, who curated the Special Programme together with film scholar Olaf Möller.
 
Reciprocal relationship: the enemy brothers FRG and GDR
 
What anchors the film selection is the idea that the former West and East Germany could not have existed without one another: “The provisional state of West Germany and the provisional state of East Germany behaved like two enemy brothers towards one another, each of whom urgently needed the other in order to understand themselves”, explains Eue.
 
Before the backdrop of this reciprocal relationship, the selected films also enter into dialogue with each another. The ten programmes that make up the Retrospective forge different thematic paths to this end, which enable events in both former German states to be juxtaposed. The Volkswagen city thus meets the “Stalin city” and the economic miracle is contrasted with anti-fascism. And while the West engages with the “brothers and sisters in the East” (AUS DEM ALLTAG IN DER DDR: DRITTER VERSUCH EINER REKONSTRUKTION), East Germany also eyes its enemy brother and draws on its anti-Communist initiatives for its own propaganda (KGU – THE COMBAT GROUP OF INHUMANITY, 1955).
The Retrospective offers a colourful compilation of formats, ranging from an VW advertising film (AUS EIGENER KRAFT, 1954) via a CDU party political broadcast (THE ECONOMIC MIRACLE, 1957) all the way to an animated film that extolls the virtues of the Deutschmark (… SIE BEWEGT UNS ALLE, 1950).
 
It goes without saying that the reunification era is not left out. The Retrospective programme examines it in bottom-up fashion: In SNACK-SPECIAL, Thomas Heise turns his attention to the everyday experiences and worries of people at a Berlin fast food stand during the period of upheaval.

And ultimately, the hypothesis comes up again and again that reunification didn’t just mean the end of East Germany but also that of West Germany in its previous form. In ES WERDE STADT! by Dominik Graf and Martin Farkas, this exact hypothesis is examined in detail by way of the history of television, taking in numerous different facts and ideas.   
 
Thematic links: Project presentation, Symposium, Matinee Saxon State Archive
 
Another programme point of the Retrospective also examines the television of the post-reunification era, albeit with a more regional focus. Prof. Rüdiger Steinmetz and Dr. Judith Kretzschmar from Leipzig University will be presenting some initial research findings from their comprehensive archive and media project on the programming of local broadcasters in Saxony between 1990 and 1995.
 
Films and Tickets

You can find the programme and buy tickets online in our Filmfinder.

Film list Retrospective

 

All films in the 2019 Retrospective >>

 

We will announce the schedule of all festival screenings with our complete film programme on 10 October. 

GUN WOUND by Thomas Harlan

Last, but not least, one Retrospective programme block forges a thematic link to our symposium, entitled Who Owns the Truth? Aiming the Camera at the Political Opponent. In GUN WOUND, filmmaker Thomas Harlan confronts a former SS commander with his crimes in an unflinching interrogation. Robert Kramer’s OUR NAZI adds another layer to the whole proceedings, documenting Harlan’s film shoot and bringing the way in which his directorial colleague works with his protagonist to the fore. “These two entirely stand-alone films are simultaneously impossible to separate", says Ralph Eue, "Perhaps their stances towards one another behave in a similar way to that of West Germany towards East Germany and vice versa.”

This year’s Matinee Saxon State Archive is also dedicated to the theme of the Retrospective within a regional framework. In collaboration with archivist Konstantin Wiesinger, a selection of audiovisual sources from the institution’s holdings will be compiled in tried and tested fashion.
“We’re very happy to be able to present valuable treasures from the Saxon State Archive each year”, emphasises Ralph Eue. “The material from the archive is like a time capsule that allows us to access a present moment from the past.”


 

The Retrospective is supported by means of the Federal Foundation for the Study of Communist Dictatorship in East Germany. The Matinee Saxon State Archive has been curated in cooperation with the Saxon State Archive.

DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Retrospektive

Retrospektive: BRDDR. Wechselblicke auf 40 Jahre deutsche Doppelstaatlichkeit

DER WIRTSCHAFTSWUNDERBAUM, CDU Wahlwerbespot
„Nichts steht mehr, keiner lebt mehr.“ Die Decke des Hitler-Bunkers wird im August 1988 gesprengt. Auch vom Theater des Jüdischen Kulturbunds steht kein Stein mehr. Eduard Schreibers SPUREN (1989) erforscht, was noch übrig ist vom Weltkrieg, vor allem aber, was nicht mehr übrig ist.
 
Mit der Retrospektive wendet sich DOK Leipzig den vier Jahrzehnten zwischen NS-Diktatur und Wende zu, in denen zwei deutsche Staaten existierten: eine Ära, die durchzogen ist von Zukunftsenthusiasmus und Vergangenheitsverdrängung, von wirtschaftlichem Auf- und politischem Umbau sowie vom Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen gegensätzlicher Ideologien.
 
Während der Herbst 2019 im Zeichen des Jubiläums der Friedlichen Revolution steht, nimmt DOK Leipzig eine etwas andere Perspektive auf die Ereignisse ein: „Wir wollen bewusst nicht das Datum 1989 ins Zentrum unserer Aufmerksamkeit stellen. Uns interessiert viel mehr seine Vor- und Nachgeschichte“, so Ralph Eue, Programmer bei DOK Leipzig. Gemeinsam mit dem Filmwissenschaftler Olaf Möller hat er die Sonderreihe kuratiert.
 
Wechselseitige Beziehung: Die feindlichen Brüder BRD und DDR
 
Ankerpunkt der Filmauswahl war der Gedanke, dass die ehemalige BRD und die DDR ohne einander nicht existieren konnten: "Das Provisorium BRD und das Provisorium DDR haben sich verhalten wie zwei feindliche Brüder, die den jeweils anderen dringend für ihr eigenes Selbstverständnis brauchten", führt Eue aus.
 
Vor dem Hintergrund dieser wechselseitigen Beziehung treten auch die ausgewählten Filme in dialogische Verhältnisse. Die zehn Programme der Sonderreihe bilden dabei thematische Schneisen, in denen Ereignisse beider ehemaliger deutscher Staaten in Opposition gebracht werden. So trifft etwa Volkswagen-Stadt auf ‚Stalinstadt‘ und Wirtschaftswunder auf Antifaschismus. Und während sich der Westen mit den ‚Brüdern und Schwestern im Osten‘ auseinandersetzt (AUS DEM ALLTAG IN DER DDR: DRITTER VERSUCH EINER REKONSTRUKTION NACH BERICHTEN UND DIALOGEN, 1971), beäugt auch die DDR den feindlichen Bruder und nutzt dessen antikommunistische Initiativen für die eigene Propaganda (KGU – KAMPFGRUPPE DER UNMENSCHLICHKEIT, 1955). 

An Formaten bietet die Retrospektive dabei eine bunte Mischung – vom VW-Imagefilm (AUS EIGENER KRAFT, 1954) über einen CDU-Wahlwerbespot (DER WIRTSCHAFTSWUNDERBAUM, 1957) bis hin zum Animationsfilm, der für die D-Mark wirbt (SIE BEWEGT UNS ALLE, 1950).
 
Selbstverständlich bleibt auch die Wendezeit nicht ausgespart. Das Programm der Retrospektive begegnet ihr mit Blick von unten: In IMBISS SPEZIAL widmet sich Thomas Heise an einem Berliner Imbiss-Stand den Alltagserlebnissen und Sorgen der Menschen in der Umbruchzeit.

Und schließlich steht immer wieder auch die These im Raum, dass die Wende nicht nur den Untergang der DDR bedeutete, sondern auch den der BRD alten Zuschnitts. In ES WERDE STADT! von Dominik Graf und Martin Farkas wird genau diese These anhand der Geschichte des Fernsehens fakten- und ideenreich durchdekliniert.
 
Thematische Verknüpfungen: Projektpräsentation, Symposium, Matinee Sächsisches Staatsarchiv
 
Mit dem Fernsehen zur Nachwendezeit befasst sich auch ein besonderer Programmpunkt mit regionalem Fokus. Prof. Rüdiger Steinmetz und Dr. Judith Kretzschmar von der Universität Leipzig stellen erste Forschungsergebnisse ihres umfangreichen Medien- und Archivprojekts zu den Programmangeboten sächsischer Lokalsender zwischen 1990 und 1995 vor.
Filme und Tickets

Das Programm finden Sie in unserem Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

 

 

ZUR FILMLISTE

 

Alle Filme der Retrospektive im Überblick >>

 

Die Termine und Uhrzeiten der Kinovorführungen veröffentlichen wir mit dem gesamten Filmprogramm am 10. Oktober.

WUNDKANAL von Thomas Harlan
Nicht zuletzt schlägt die Retrospektive in einem Programmblock den thematischen Bogen zum Symposium unter dem Titel Wem gehört die Wahrheit? Der politische Gegner im Visier der Kamera. In WUNDKANAL konfrontiert der Filmemacher Thomas Harlan einen ehemaligen SS-Befehlshaber in  einem wenig zimperlichen Kreuzverhör mit dessen Verbrechen. Robert Kramers NOTRE NAZI fügt dem Ganzen eine weitere Ebene hinzu: Er dokumentierte Harlans Dreharbeiten und stellte den Umgang seines Regiekollegen mit dem Protagonisten in den Mittelpunkt seines Interesses. „Die beiden absolut eigenständigen Filme sind zugleich untrennbar miteinander verschweißt", so Ralph Eue, „Und sie verhalten sich vielleicht ähnlich zueinander, wie die DDR zur BRD und umgekehrt.“
 
Auch die diesjährige Matinee Sächsisches Staatsarchiv widmet sich dem Thema der Retrospektive im regionalen Rahmen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Archivar Konstantin Wiesinger wurde in bewährter Tradition eine Auswahl an audiovisuellen Quellen aus dem Bestand der Institution zusammengestellt.
 
„Wir freuen uns, jedes Jahr wieder einige kostbare Fundstücke des Sächsischen Staatsarchivs präsentieren zu können“, betont Ralph Eue. „Das Material aus dem Archiv ist wie eine Zeitkapsel, die in einen vergangenen Gegenwartsmoment führt“.

 

Die Retrospektive wird gefördert mit Mitteln der Bundesstiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur.
Die Matinee Sächsisches Staatsarchiv entstand in Kooperation mit dem Sächsischen Staatsarchiv.