DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Länderfokus

Country Focus: Transitionally Diverse. Croatian Conditions

AFTER PARTY by Viktor Zahtila
A flourishing documentary film scene in a country full of contradictions. This year’s Country Focus is dedicated to Croatia, the most recent state to join the EU and a former Socialist Republic of the Federation of Yugoslavia.   
 
While the deserted factories left behind from the socialist era hardly fit into the picture of tourist hot spots, they can also be ignored as necessary. That’s not how things are treated in this documentary programme though. “Ideally, the films are supposed to show the sheer force of the documentary film medium when it is applied with courage – as an active intervention into given situations”, commented Borjana Gaković, curator of the Special Programme.
 
Personal search for traces and current close-ups
 
And such situations have a history. In NAKED ISLAND, the director breaks the silence within her family. In the 1950s, her grandfather disappeared for three whole years. The film shines a light on how those declared “enemies of the people” were persecuted in Tito’s Yugoslavia as well as how dealing with this policy within families still causes pain to this day. This cinematic intervention works in two different directions: outwards, towards society, and inwards, as a personal strategy for the filmmaker to deal with her own past. 
 
“There is an undeniable interest in engaging with the history of one’s own parents and grandparents in intensive, critical fashion”, added Borjana Gaković.
 
AFTER PARTY is entirely rooted in the here and now of Croatia today, telling the intimate story of two lovers in the process of separating who say everything and give each another their all one more time. THEY JUST COME AND GO documents how someone still needs to clear up after the partygoers on the beach the next morning. Goran Dević observes everyday moments in the midst of upheaval in THE STEEL MILL CAFÉ: during the Socialist era, the town of Sisak was home to a flourishing steelworks. Now the couple who own it are shutting the pub there after decades and are about to head to Germany.
 
Independent film initiatives in a vital documentary film scene
 
The vital, multi-faceted Croatian documentary film scene started firing on all cylinders from the end of the 1990s onwards. The internationally-active production company Factum was founded, followed a few years later by the documentary film festival ZagrebDox and Liburnia Film Festival in Opatija. The Zagreb Academy of Dramatic Art (ADU), where generations of renowned documentary filmmakers have received their training since the 1960s, has also functioned as a veritable talent factory. To maintain as great a degree of independence in documentary film practice as possible, numerous independent film initiatives have also been set up over the last years.
Films and Tickets

You can find the programme and buy tickets online in our Filmfinder.

Film list COUNTRY FOCUS

 

All films in the 2019 Country Focus >>

 

We will announce the schedule of all festival screenings with our complete film programme on 10 October. 

PARADE by Arijana Lekić-Fridrih
The film PARADE was the result of one such initiative. In black and white images, Arijana Lekić-Fridrih captures people waving flags sitting on folding chairs they’ve brought with them as they wait for the anniversary celebrations for a military operation to begin. The tanks roll up. The war is now at a distance, but still very much in sight. The abstract electronic music makes the (absent) sounds of the masses resonate and echo all the more piercingly as a result.
 
Even if the films in the Country Focus do not address them directly: the consequences of the Yugoslavian Wars and the frictions and contractions related to the systemic changes they brought about are burnt into them.

 

In cooperation with the Croatian Audiovisual Centre.

DOK LEIPZIG 28. OKTOBER – 3. NOVEMBER 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Länderfokus

Länderfokus: Transitional divers. Kroatische Verhältnisse

AFTER PARTY von Viktor Zahtila
Eine florierende Dokumentarfilmszene in einem Land voller Widersprüche. Der diesjährige Länderfokus liegt auf Kroatien, dem jüngsten EU-Staat einer ehemaligen sozialistischen Republik der Föderation Jugoslawien.
 
Verwaiste und vom Sozialismus übriggebliebene Fabriken passen nicht so recht ins Bild der touristischen Hot Spots, können bei Bedarf aber auch ausgeblendet werden. Anders verhält sich das in diesem Dokumentarfilmprogramm. „Die Filme sollen im besten Fall zeigen, welche Wucht das Medium des Dokumentarfilms entfalten kann, wenn es mutig eingesetzt wird – als aktive Intervention in die Verhältnisse“, so Borjana Gaković, die Kuratorin der Sonderreihe.
 
Persönliche Spurensuchen und aktuelle Nahaufnahmen
 
Und diese Verhältnisse haben eine Geschichte. In NAKED ISLAND bricht die Regisseurin das Schweigen in ihrer Familie. In den 1950er Jahren verschwand ihr Großvater für drei ganze Jahre. Der Film beleuchtet, wie in Titos Jugoslawien als ‚Volksfeinde‘ deklarierte Personen verfolgt wurden und welche Schmerzen der Umgang damit in den Familien noch heute verursacht. Die filmische Intervention wirkt hier zweifach: einmal nach außen, an die Gesellschaft gerichtet, und einmal nach innen, als persönliche Verarbeitungsstrategie der Filmemacherin.
 
„Es gibt ein nicht mehr wegzuargumentierendes Interesse, sich mit der Geschichte der eigenen Eltern und Großeltern intensiv und kritisch auseinanderzusetzen“, so Borjana Gaković.
 
Ganz im Hier und Jetzt des heutigen Kroatiens ist AFTER PARTY verhaftet, eine intime Trennungsgeschichte zweier Liebender, die sich noch einmal alles sagen und einander alles geben. THEY JUST COME AND GO dokumentiert, dass hinter den Partygänger/innen am Strand morgens auch aufgeräumt werden muss. Alltägliche Momente inmitten des Umbruchs beobachtet Goran Dević  in THE STEEL MILL CAFÉ: Während des Sozialismus florierte im Ort Sisak eine Stahlfabrik. Nun schließt das Besitzerpaar nach Jahrzehnten die dortige Kneipe und steht kurz vor der Abreise nach Deutschland.
 
Unabhängige Filminitiativen in einer vitalen Dokumentarfilmszene
 
Die vitale und vielseitige Dokumentarfilmszene Kroatiens kam ab Ende der 1990er Jahre richtig in Bewegung. Die international agierende Produktionsfirma Factum wurde gegründet, einige Jahre später das Dokumentarfilmfestival ZagrebDox oder das Liburnia Filmfestival in Opatija. Die Zagreber Akademie der dramatischen Kunst (ADU), an der seit den 1960er Jahren Generationen von renommierten Dokumentarfilmemacher/innen ausgebildet wurden, funktioniert in den letzten Jahren als wahre Talentschmiede. Um sich in der eigenen Dokumentarfilmpraxis möglichst die Unabhängigkeit zu bewahren, entstanden in den letzen Jahren auch zahlreiche unabhängige Filminitiativen.
Filme und Tickets

Das Programm finden Sie in unserem Filmfinder.

Dort haben Sie außerdem die Möglichkeit, Online-Tickets zu erwerben.

 

 

ZUR FILMLISTE

 

Alle Filme des Länderfokus im Überblick >>

 

Die Termine und Uhrzeiten der Kinovorführungen veröffentlichen wir mit dem gesamten Filmprogramm am 10. Oktober.

PARADA von Arijana Lekić-Fridrih
Der Film PARADE ging aus einer solchen Initiative hervor. Arijana Lekić-Fridrih fängt in schwarzweißen Bildern Fahnen schwingende Menschen auf mitgebrachten Klappstühlen ein, die auf die Feierlichkeiten anlässlich des Jubiläums einer Militäroperation warten. Die Panzer rollen an. Der Krieg ist nun auf Distanz, aber noch immer fest im Blick. Die abstrakte elektronische Musik lässt die (abwesenden) Geräusche der Massen mitschwingen und dadurch umso eindringlicher nachhallen.
 
Auch wenn die Filme im Länderfokus nicht direkt davon handeln: Die Folgen des Jugoslawienkriegs und die mit dem Systemwechsel zusammenhängende Reibungen und Wiedersprüche sind in sie eingebrannt.

 

In Kooperation mit dem Croatian Audiovisual Centre.