Film Archive

Das Fieber

Documentary Film
Austria,
Germany,
Switzerland
2019
99 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Markus Wailand
Katharina Weingartner
Siri Klug
Andrea Wagner
Toby Cornish
Katharina Weingartner
Patrick Becker, Peter Braeker
The fight won’t end. Malaria still rules large parts of Africa. Every 60 seconds a child south of the Sahara dies of the disease. All in all, it causes around half a million deaths per year. But why is it so impossible to successfully conquer the disease, even though countless relief organisations have been working on a solution for many years?

The reason, of course, is money, global conflicts of interest, the powerful pharmaceutical industry. That’s nothing new. But the Austrian filmmaker Katharina Weingartner produced an enthralling documentary thriller which literally inscribes exciting, context-shifting and -widening lines of connection into the more or less familiar general picture: connections between the parasite and the pharmaceutical industry, between self-determination in East Africa and the richest man in the world. The focus is on three courageous people in Uganda and Kenya who are fighting the disease on the spot and are often more successful with alternative methods than Western medicine is comfortable with. Because after all a solution of their own, without foreign help and technology, without the mercantile and public philanthropic interests of the helpers, would mean independence.

Julia Weigl

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Robolove

Documentary Film
Austria
2019
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Michael Kitzberger, Wolfgang Widerhofer, Markus Glaser, Nikolaus Geyrhalter
Maria Arlamovsky
Andreas Hamza, Boris Hauf
Sebastian Arlamovsky
Emily Artmann, Maria Arlamovsky, Alexander Gugitscher, Sebastian Arlamovsky
Maria Arlamovsky
Andreas Hamza
A few decades ago robots still looked like moving toolboxes. This has changed radically. Today’s humanoids not only look like people, they can roll their eyes and wink, too. In this film, they come mainly from Japan, Korea and the U.S. Ishiguro Hiroshi is a pioneer in the construction of such artificial humans. He even built himself a twin. But most of these new creatures are female and, in line with their creators’ fantasies, endowed with the attributes desired in a patriarchal society: “It’s going to be a woman, so the smile is important,” one of the developers instructs his assistant. Almost all the androids have a dollface bearing a none-too-intelligent and submissive expression, saucer eyes and a slightly opened mouth. Only at the Terasem company in Vermont a talking woman’s bust of more mature age called “BINA 48” is supposed to mimic human behaviour emotionally, too.

It’s not surprising that the developers attribute all kinds of world-improving qualities to their creatures and spurn potential criticism in advance. Or are human beings just machines anyway, as Ishiguro claims? This closely observing film without comments by Maria Arlamovsky offers deep insights into this Brave New World, allowing us to form our own judgement.

Silvia Hallensleben



Awarded with the Gedanken Aufschluss Prize.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Sicherheit123

Documentary Film
Austria,
Italy
2019
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Edgars Rubenis
Julia Gutweniger
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Florian Kofler
The Alps. Nowadays there’s hardly a mountain left untouched. We have long conquered the lofty peaks and developed even the high mountain ranges as recreational landscapes. The fact that there is practically no limit to exploiting the Alps should not be taken for granted: The whole region is covered by a nearly invisible safety system. Well-camouflaged protective precautions against falling rocks and avalanches are there to ensure accessibility and habitability without fear. On the other hand, concrete fortifications around isolated farms or sculptural curved walls on the slopes to secure a whole village look conspicuous and almost surreal.

“Safety123” captures these constructions and the work that’s usually done in the background in breathtaking images. Quiet sequences show impressively how many-layered this safety system is: The landscape is ceaselessly surveyed and emergencies are simulated, whether in computer models, test facilities or large-scale disaster exercises. This observational documentary attentively follows the sometimes mysterious-looking activities and preparations to portray the human struggle against the forces of nature which are unstoppable despite precision technology.

Annina Wettstein



Awarded with a Golden Dove in the Next Masters Competition Long Documentary and Animated Film.

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Space Dogs

Documentary Film
Austria,
Germany
2019
91 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
John Gürtler, Jan Miserre
Yunus Roy Imer
Jan Soldat, Stephan Bechinger
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
Jonathan Schorr, Simon Peter
Laika was actually an ordinary Moscow street dog. Until she became perhaps the most famous bitch in the world when she was catapulted into space in 1957. Since then, she has been regarded as the first living creature transported purposefully into an earth orbit by humans. The fact that Laika died a few hours after the rocket was launched only became known in 2002. The legend that Laika returned to earth as a ghost that has haunted the streets of Moscow ever since is still alive today. In their beautifully edited documentary, Levin Peter and Elsa Kremser go in search of this ghost, following two street dogs on their nocturnal rambles through the Russian capital.

The best animal friends stroll through alleys, hunt cats, observe quietly how people drink away their dreary reality in bars – all this shown from the unusual perspective of two four-legged creatures. Peter and Kremser deftly capture snapshots of today’s Russia, interweaving them with idiosyncratic – so far unpublished – recordings from the Soviet space age. The magical story of a friendship between intimacy and brutality, including small and great departures into unknown spheres.

Julia Weigl

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Royal Train

Documentary Film
Austria,
Romania
2019
92 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Johannes Rosenberger, Constantin Wulff, Johannes Holzhausen (Navigator Film), Ada Solomon, Diana Păroiu (HiFilm)
Johannes Holzhausen
Joerg Burger
Dieter Pichler
Johannes Holzhausen, Constantin Wulff
Andreas Hamza, Vlad Voinescu
A lost monarchy is represented by a princess whose steadfast mission is to restore to her dynasty real political and economic responsibility in contemporary Romania. With great energy, sometimes funny slips, too, but mostly with the appropriate royalist seriousness, Princess Margareta of Romania plays her role as the subject and object of her own campaign. The performance is of the tale of new wine in old wineskins. Surrounded by her courtly entourage, Margareta travels through “her” country in the same old royal train, on the same royal route, in which her father, King Michael the First already sought contact with his subjects. It goes without saying that the red carpet as the most obvious symbol of monarchist grandeur must be immaculate even at the tiniest stop – though this isn’t always achieved perfectly.

Director Johannes Holzhausen observes the bustle around this backwards journey with a distanced and wide-eyed curiosity. After all, it reveals a telling (a-)simultaneity of the ancient k.u.k. ceremonial and current marketing visions.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Das Fieber

Dokumentarfilm
2019
99 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Markus Wailand
Katharina Weingartner
Siri Klug
Andrea Wagner
Toby Cornish
Katharina Weingartner
Patrick Becker, Peter Braeker
Der Kampf will nicht enden. Noch immer regiert Malaria weite Teile Afrikas. Alle 60 Sekunden stirbt südlich der Sahara ein Kind an diesem Parasiten. Insgesamt ist sie der Grund für rund eine halbe Million Todesfälle im Jahr. Aber warum gelingt es einfach nicht, die Krankheit erfolgreich zu bezwingen, obwohl seit etlichen Jahren unzählige internationale Hilfsorganisationen an einer Lösung arbeiten?

Natürlich liegt das am Geld, an globalen Interessenskonflikten, an der mächtigen Pharmaindustrie. Das ist nichts Neues. Doch der österreichischen Filmemacherin Katharina Weingartner ist nun ein spannender dokumentarischer Thriller gelungen, der in das leidlich bekannte große Bild im Wortsinn aufregende, den Kontext verschiebende und erweiternde Verbindungslinien einzeichnet: zwischen dem Parasiten und der Pharmaindustrie, zwischen Selbstbestimmung in Ostafrika und dem reichsten Mann der Welt. Im Fokus stehen drei mutige Menschen in Uganda und Kenia, die vor Ort gegen die Krankheit kämpfen und oft mit alternativen Methoden weiter kommen, als das die westliche Medizin gerne hätte. Denn eine eigene Lösung, ohne fremde Hilfe und Technologien, ohne die merkantilen oder öffentlichkeitswirksam philanthropischen Interessen der Helfenden, würde ja Unabhängigkeit bedeuten.

Julia Weigl

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Robolove

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Michael Kitzberger, Wolfgang Widerhofer, Markus Glaser, Nikolaus Geyrhalter
Maria Arlamovsky
Andreas Hamza, Boris Hauf
Sebastian Arlamovsky
Emily Artmann, Maria Arlamovsky, Alexander Gugitscher, Sebastian Arlamovsky
Maria Arlamovsky
Andreas Hamza
Vor Jahrzehnten sahen Roboter noch aus wie bewegliche Werkzeugkästen. Das hat sich radikal geändert. Die heutigen Humanoiden ähneln den Menschen nicht nur, sie können auch mit den Pupillen rollen und mit den Augen zwinkern. In diesem Film kommen sie hauptsächlich aus Japan, Korea und den USA. Ishiguro Hiroshi ist ein Pionier in der Konstruktion solcher Kunstmenschen. Sogar einen Zwilling hat er sich gebaut. Doch die meisten der Neu-Geschöpfe sind weiblich und entsprechend den Fantasien ihrer Schöpfer auch mit den in einer patriarchalen Gesellschaft erwünschten Attributen ausgestattet: „Es wird eine Frau werden, also ist das Lächeln wichtig“, weist einer der Entwickler seine Assistentin an. Fast alle der Androiden haben ein Püppchengesicht mit dümmlichem und unterwürfigem Ausdruck, Kulleraugen und leicht geöffnetem Mund. Nur bei der Firma Terasem in Vermont soll eine sprechende Frauenbüste reiferen Alters namens „BINA 48“ auch emotional an menschliches Verhalten andocken.

Nicht überraschend sprechen die Entwickler ihren Geschöpfen allerlei weltverbessernde Eigenschaften zu und lassen mögliche Kritik schon im Vorfeld abperlen. Oder ist der Mensch sowieso auch nur eine Maschine, wie es Ishiguro behauptet? Der nah und genau beobachtende, kommentarlose Film von Maria Arlamovsky gibt uns tiefe Einblicke in diese Schöne Neue Welt, um uns selbst Urteile zu bilden.

Silvia Hallensleben



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Gedanken-Aufschluss Preis.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Sicherheit123

Dokumentarfilm
2019
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Edgars Rubenis
Julia Gutweniger
Julia Gutweniger, Florian Kofler
Florian Kofler
Die Alpen. Heute scheint kaum ein Berg mehr unberührt. Längst haben wir die erhabenen Gipfel bezwungen und selbst das Hochgebirge als Freizeitlandschaft erschlossen. Dass die Alpen fast grenzenlos nutzbar sind, ist nicht selbstverständlich: Die gesamte Region durchzieht ein nahezu unsichtbares Sicherheitssystem. Gut getarnt sollen Schutzvorkehrungen gegen Steinschlag oder Lawinen für angstfreie Begeh- und Bewohnbarkeit sorgen. Auffallend und fast surreal erscheinen jedoch Betonbefestigungen um einzelne Bauernhöfe herum oder skulptural geschwungene Mauern am Hang zur Sicherung eines ganzen Dorfes.

„Sicherheit123“ fängt in atemberaubenden Bildern diese baulichen Maßnahmen und die meist im Hintergrund laufende Arbeit ein. Ruhige Einstellungen zeigen eindrucksvoll auf, wie vielschichtig das Sicherheitssystem ist: Unaufhörlich wird die Landschaft vermessen und der Ernstfall simuliert, ob in Computermodellen, Versuchsanlagen oder in groß angelegten Katastrophenübungen. Aufmerksam hält sich der beobachtende Dokumentarfilm an die manchmal fast rätselhaft wirkenden Tätigkeiten und Vorkehrungen und erzählt vom Kampf der Menschen gegen die Naturgewalt, die trotz Präzisionstechnik nicht aufzuhalten ist.

Annina Wettstein



Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube in Next Masters Wettbewerb Langer Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm.

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Space Dogs

Dokumentarfilm
2019
91 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
John Gürtler, Jan Miserre
Yunus Roy Imer
Jan Soldat, Stephan Bechinger
Elsa Kremser, Levin Peter
Jonathan Schorr, Simon Peter
Laika war eigentlich eine ganz gewöhnliche Moskauer Straßenhündin. Bis sie zur vielleicht berühmtesten Hündin der Welt wurde, als man sie 1957 ins Weltall katapultierte. Seither gilt sie als erstes Lebewesen, das die Menschen gezielt in eine Umlaufbahn der Erde beförderten. Dass Laika bereits einige Stunden nach dem Start der Rakete starb, wurde erst im Jahr 2002 bekannt. Bis heute hält sich die Legende, Laika sei als Geist zur Erde zurückgekehrt und zöge seitdem durch die Straßen von Moskau. Levin Peter und Elsa Kremser begeben sich nun mit ihrem wunderbar montierten Dokumentarfilm auf die Spuren dieses Geistes. Sie begleiten zwei Straßenhunde auf ihren nächtlichen Streifzügen durch die russische Hauptstadt.

Die tierischen besten Freunde flanieren durch Gassen, jagen Katzen, beobachten still, wie die Menschen in Bars ihre triste Realität wegsaufen – und das alles aus der ungewöhnlichen Perspektive zweier Vierbeiner. Geschickt fangen Peter und Kremser Momentaufnahmen im heutigen Russland ein und vermengen sie mit eigenwilligen – bislang unveröffentlichten – Filmaufnahmen der sowjetischen Raumfahrtära. Die magische Geschichte einer Freundschaft zwischen Vertrautheit und Brutalität sowie kleinen und großen Aufbrüchen in unbekannte Sphären.

Julia Weigl

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Royal Train

Dokumentarfilm
2019
92 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Johannes Rosenberger, Constantin Wulff, Johannes Holzhausen (Navigator Film), Ada Solomon, Diana Păroiu (HiFilm)
Johannes Holzhausen
Joerg Burger
Dieter Pichler
Johannes Holzhausen, Constantin Wulff
Andreas Hamza, Vlad Voinescu
Eine untergegangene Monarchie wird von einer Prinzessin repräsentiert, deren unerschütterliche Mission es ist, dass ihrer Dynastie wieder eine echte Verantwortung für Politik und Wirtschaft in der rumänischen Gegenwart übertragen wird. Mit großer Energie, manchmal auch komischen Ausrutschern, überwiegend aber mit dem gebührenden royalistischen Ernst spielt Prinzessin Margareta von Rumänien ihre Rolle als Subjekt und Objekt der eigenen Kampagne. Aufgeführt wird das Stück vom neuen Wein in alten Schläuchen. Mit höfischer Entourage bereist Margareta „ihr“ Land im gleichen königlichen Zug, auf derselben königlichen Strecke, in dem auch schon ihr Vater König Michael I. den Kontakt zu seinen Untertanen suchte und pflegte. Dass der rote Teppich als offensichtlichstes Symbol von monarchischer Grandezza auch beim kleinsten Zwischenstopp einen makellosen Eindruck zu machen hat, versteht sich von selbst – lässt sich aber nicht immer hundertprozentig herstellen.

Den Betrieb, der sich um diese Reise ins Rückwärts entfaltet, beobachtet Regisseur Johannes Holzhausen mit distanziert-staunender Neugier, offenbart sich darin doch eine vielsagende (Un-)gleichzeitigkeit zwischen altwurzelndem K.-u.-k.-Zeremoniell und aktueller Marketing-Vision.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.