Film Archive

Cleaning Schaerbeek

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Lebanon
2017
19 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Yohan Dumas
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
When the terror alert level in Belgium was raised, the Interior Minister made a pithy statement that he was going to clean up the Molenbeek district – by now a synonym for Islamist breeding ground. Meanwhile a resident of the Schaerbeek district, also predominantly populated by migrants, discovered that mysterious things were going on in front of her window. She informed the authorities and filmed what’s happening … An equally intelligent and amusing essayist look at paranoia and the obsession with security.

Frederik Lang

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Displaced

Documentary Film
Belgium
2017
71 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Daniel De Valck
Volkan Üce
David Boulter
Sander Vandenbroucke
Els Voorspoels
Volkan Üce
Gedeon Depauw
The title of this film is taken from Charles Bukowski’s eponymous poem. One of its lines is: “I am not like other people. Other people are like other people.” The young people in Volkan Üce’s “Displaced” know the experience of being different and without a home Bukowski talks about. Sinan, Şule, Orhan and Bahar spent their childhood and youth in Belgium and the Netherlands before they moved (back) to Istanbul, their grandparents’ home country. But even in the city they love so much they are strangers at first.

Over a period of four years – from 2011 to 2015 – Üce follows the Belgian-Turkish or Dutch-Turkish migrants on their quest for identity, jobs and personal happiness. In the face of the political upheavals in Turkey, their European socialisation takes on a different significance. While Orhan sides with Erdoğan, taking part in the Gezi protests becomes a meaningful experience and a way to find his place in society for Sinan: “Gezi is ours. Istanbul is ours. The lightbulb has bursted”, the writing on the wall reads.

Esther Buss

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Domestic Karaoke

Documentary Film
Belgium
2013
35 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Inès Rabadán
Inès Rabadán
Alice Vande Voorde, Vera Cavallin
Olan Bowland
Inès Rabadán
Inès Rabadán
Thibaut Darscotte
A documentary experiment: six women, three housemaids and three employers, who discuss housework and hierarchies, respect and social status, habits and dreams in front of different-coloured backgrounds (red, blue and yellow). Fragmented tales of work and family circumstances make the viewer create their own montage in their heads. Biographies crystallize in front of their inner eye.
All six women, aged between 35 and 64, are played by the filmmaker Inès Rabadán herself. Costumes and masks are identical, so the women whose stories we share are neither marked as representatives of their class (or profession) nor as individual personalities. We hear (and experience!) only their voices and see the actor-director’s magnificent appropriation of their respective personalities through lip-synching and miming. It seems as if Inès Rabadán translated Brecht’s theoretical scepticism of the reliability of simple documentary representation into visual practice: “A recording of the Krupp works or AEG yields almost nothing about these institutes. Actual reality has slipped into the functional. To achieve truth, something must be constructed, something artificial, staged.”

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

I Don’t Feel Anything Anymore

Animated Film
Belgium,
Canada
2017
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
William Henne, Delphine Cousin, Delphine Renard, Marc Bertrand
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
The couple live high above the city in the basket of a crane. The woman fire fighter and the magician share the small joys and worries of life in their intimate life together. The world is still as it should be up here. Or is it? Similarities with escapist tendencies when dealing with the chaos of our riotous world are bound to be purely coincidental in this animated satire. The dynamic lines of the drawings are reinforced by a strong soundtrack by Canadian soprano Natalie Choquette.

Nadja Rademacher

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Inkotanyi

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France
2017
125 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Benoît Roland, Jean-Marc Giri
Christophe Cotteret
Manuel Roland
Jean-François Metz
Florence Ricard
Christophe Cotteret
Eugène Safali
“Inkotana” is a verb in the Bantu language Kinyarwanda. It means to fight without delay, never to give up. The official name of the Inkotanyi is: Rwandan Patriotic Front (RPF). Ever since they ended the historically unprecedented genocide in 1994 with a guerrilla war – within 100 days, 1 million Tutsi were killed by Hutu extremists assisted by the population – they have been ruling the country under their close-lipped president Paul Kagame. The film reviews the history of the Inkotanyi in six chapters: from the historic background of the pogroms against the Tutsi, the time of exile and the founding of the RPF in the 1980s to the invasion of Rwanda in 1990 and the four-year civil war through to Kagame’s rule which was attended by counter-violence and oppression throughout. Archive material and interviews with high-ranking military officers and soldiers of the RPF, with journalists, historians and president Kagame form an image of “the best trained and most disciplined rebellion of the African continent”, as director Christophe Cotteret calls it. Last but not least, the film takes a look at colonial continuities in post-colonialism, apparent, for example, in the French support for the dictatorial Habyarimana regime.

Esther Buss


Nominated for Filmprize "Leipziger Ring"

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Still Alive Pauline Beugnies

Where have you gone, Arabellion? Bravely holding out in Egyptian living rooms where the rebels now raise kids and have relationships. But you’re alive, between routine and rage.

Still Alive

Documentary Film
Belgium
2017
110 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Laurence Buelens
Pauline Beugnies
Grégory Vandamme
Pauline Beugnies, Hervé Verloes, Joan Roels
Pauline Piris Nury
Pauline Beugnies
Marion Guénard, Laurence Buelens
Jean Forest
The rebellions in the Arab world were quickly wrapped with the blue ribbon of the “Arab Spring” – a simplifying bracket that sounds well, a verbal embrace that also suppresses all details. Pauline Beugnies’ film refers to Egypt, explicitly to the “Tahrir generation”. And it refers to the young woman who smiles into the camera at the beginning and has diagnosed a mental disorder in herself and her contemporaries: the great happiness of having been part of it combined with deep regret at having launched the movement.

But is it still alive, that spirit of departure of the early 2011 Egyptian revolution? Or has it adapted already, to the new circumstances, the limitations that quickly grew back, the mushrooming authorities? Beugnies talks to young people who may well be called “old revolutionaries”, even though hardly anyone among them is over 30. She confronts them with recordings of the people they were then – strange re-encounters with old identities they remember like lost friends. She lets them talk about the last years, about the children that were born, the disappointments and the wear and tear of life. But still: they sometimes talk as aggressively and exuberantly as they did in 2011.

Sylvia Görke

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
The Minister of Garbage Quentin Noirfalisse

In the run-up to the planned presidential elections, the Congolese artist Emmanuel Botalatala works tirelessly on his assemblages. He really earned his title of “Minister of Garbage”.

The Minister of Garbage

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France
2017
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Maximilien Charlier, Laetitia Rodari
Quentin Noirfalisse
Pierre Monongi Mopia, Daniel Dibwidi
Adrien Kaempf, Quentin Devillers
Marie Estelle Dieterle
Quentin Noirfalisse
Nicolas Kerjan
The Congolese artist Emmanuel Botalatala is working on his new assemblage. He fixes painted tombs, crosses and tanks made of garbage to a plywood board while a member of his team paints a blood-red street around the “African cemetery”. In the end the work is dominated by the colours of the German flag – an allusion to the European arms shipments that support the wars on this continent.

Before Botalatala started to work as an artist in 1979 he was a teacher and bank clerk. The 68-year-old autodidact invariably points out that he never attended art school. The “Minister of Garbage” combs the garbage dumps of Kinshasa almost daily to collect material for his object paintings. He finds his subjects in the radio news. Resignations, violent dissolutions of rallies and a massacre with hundreds of victims are reported in the run-up to the presidential elections. Botalatala sacrifices a lot for his artistic and educational project, which would be unthinkable without the work of his wife and the self-styled “Vice Presidents”, while his male artist’s ego frequently shines through his socially engaged art. Even a “Minister of Garbage” wants to leave a legacy.

Esther Buss

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

When the Bull Cried

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Bolivia
2017
66 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Tomas Leyers
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama, Bart Goossens
Bram Bosteels
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama
Tom Denoyette
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama, Bart Goossens
Bart Goossens
Giant fourthousanders rise majestically to the skies in the Bolivian Andes. Grey-blue craggy steep faces and white mountain clouds flow into each other. Mining is the sole industry here. People climb down into the stony bowels of the mountains and risk their lives to mine silver and other minerals. The freezing cold, dark mineshafts regularly collapse and bury the workers, many of them still children, alive. They say that the souls of those who die in the shaft must wander for three days, all the time pursued by “el tío”, the evil mountain god. They fight their fear with alcohol and coca; superstitions abound. The men especially live in a loop of work, alcohol and aggression, hoping every day for the big find and trying to propitiate the spirits with sacrifices. Archaic rituals are meant to appease Mother Earth, but a look into the people’s exhausted faces makes one suspect that their faith is shaken with every death.

A visually stunning film that manages to transport the viewer into the breathtaking Andean landscape without turning into a geography lesson. Haunting, alarming and moving – great cinema above the clouds.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for Healthy Workplaces Film Award

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Cleaning Schaerbeek

Dokumentarfilm
2017
19 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Yohan Dumas
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Farah Kassem
Nachdem in Belgien die Terrorwarnstufe angehoben wurde, äußert der Innenminister mit markigen Worten, dass er den Stadtteil Molenbeek – mittlerweile ein Synonym für Islamistenbrutstätte – säubern wird. Währenddessen entdeckt eine Bewohnerin des ebenfalls migrantisch geprägten Bezirks Schaerbeek, dass sich vor ihrem Fenster mysteriöse Dinge abspielen. Sie informiert die Behörden und filmt das Geschehen … Ein intelligenter wie amüsanter essayistischer Blick auf Paranoia und Sicherheitswahn.

Frederik Lang

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Displaced Volkan Üce

Vier Remigranten bei ihrem Versuch, in der Heimat ihrer Großeltern „heimisch“ zu werden: in Istanbul. Persönliche Lebensentscheidungen treffen auf politische Umwälzungen.

Displaced

Dokumentarfilm
2017
71 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Daniel De Valck
Volkan Üce
David Boulter
Sander Vandenbroucke
Els Voorspoels
Volkan Üce
Gedeon Depauw
Der Titel des Films ist dem gleichnamigen Gedicht von Charles Bukowski entlehnt. Darin heißt es: „I am not like other people. Other people are like other people.“ Die jungen Leute in Volkan Üces „Displaced“ kennen die Erfahrung des Anders- und Unbehaustseins, von der Bukowski spricht. Sinan, Şule, Orhan und Bahar haben ihre Kindheit und Jugend in Belgien und in den Niederlanden verbracht, bevor sie nach Istanbul und damit in das Herkunftsland ihrer Großeltern (zurück-)gingen. Doch auch in der Stadt, die sie so sehr lieben, sind sie zunächst Fremde.

Über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren – zwischen 2011 und 2015 – begleitet Üce die belgisch-türkischen beziehungsweise niederländisch-türkischen Migranten bei ihrer Suche nach Identität, Arbeit und persönlichem Glück. Dabei bekommt ihre europäische Sozialisation im Zuge der politischen Umwälzungen in der Türkei noch einmal ein ganz anderes Gewicht. Während sich Orhan auf die Seite von Erdoğan stellt, wird die Teilnahme an den Gezi-Protesten für Sinan zu einem sinnstiftenden und selbstverortenden Erlebnis. „Gezi gehört uns. Istanbul gehört uns. Die Glühlampe ist zerplatzt“, ist auf einer Wand zu lesen.

Esther Buss

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Domestic Karaoke

Dokumentarfilm
2013
35 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Inès Rabadán
Inès Rabadán
Alice Vande Voorde, Vera Cavallin
Olan Bowland
Inès Rabadán
Inès Rabadán
Thibaut Darscotte
Eine dokumentarische Versuchsanordnung: Sechs Frauen, jeweils drei Hausangestellte und drei Hausherrinnen, die sich vor verschiedenfarbigen Hintergründen (rot, blau und gelb) über Hausarbeit und Hierarchien, Respekt und Status in der Gesellschaft, Gewohnheiten und Träume äußern. Ausschnitthafte Erzählungen von Arbeits- und Familienzusammenhängen generieren Montagearbeit im Kopf der Zuschauer. Lebensgeschichten entstehen vor dem inneren Auge.
Alle sechs Frauen im Alter zwischen 35 und 64 Jahren verkörpert die Filmemacherin Inès Rabadán selbst. Kostüm und Maske sind identisch, das heißt die Frauen, an deren Geschichten wir teilhaben, werden weder als Vertreterinnen ihrer Klasse (oder ihres Berufsstandes) noch als individuelle Charaktere kenntlich. Wir hören (und erfahren!) nur ihre Stimmen und sehen die großartige Arbeit der lippensynchronen und mimischen Aneignung der jeweiligen Persönlichkeit durch die Darstellerin-Regisseurin. Es scheint, als überführe Inès Rabadán die theoretische Skepsis Brechts gegenüber der Zuverlässigkeit der schlichten dokumentarischen Abbildung in filmische Praxis: „Eine Aufnahme der Kruppwerke oder der AEG ergibt beinahe nichts über diese Institute. Die eigentliche Realität ist in die Funktionale gerutscht. Um der Wahrheit willen ist also tatsächlich etwas aufzubauen, etwas Künstliches, Gestelltes.“

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

I Don’t Feel Anything Anymore

Animationsfilm
2017
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
William Henne, Delphine Cousin, Delphine Renard, Marc Bertrand
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Noémie Marsily, Carl Roosens
Das Pärchen wohnt hoch oben über der Stadt in einem Krankorb. Die Feuerwehrfrau und der Zauberer teilen in trauter Zweisamkeit die kleinen Freuden und Sorgen des Alltags. Hier ist die Welt noch in Ordnung. Oder? Ähnlichkeiten mit eskapistischen Tendenzen im Umgang mit dem Chaos unserer Welt in Aufruhr sind in dieser animierten Satire sicherlich rein zufällig. Der dynamische Charakter des Zeichenstrichs wird von einer starken Tonspur mit der kanadischen Sopranistin Natalie Choquette bekräftigt.

Nadja Rademacher

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Inkotanyi

Dokumentarfilm
2017
125 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Benoît Roland, Jean-Marc Giri
Christophe Cotteret
Manuel Roland
Jean-François Metz
Florence Ricard
Christophe Cotteret
Eugène Safali
„Inkotana“ ist ein Verb in der Bantusprache Kinyarwanda. Es bedeutet, ohne Aufschub zu kämpfen, nie aufzugeben. Der offizielle Name für die Inkotanyi lautet: Ruandische Patriotische Front (RPF). Seit sie im Jahr 1994 den historisch beispiellosen Genozid mit einem Guerillakrieg beendete – 1 Million Tutsi wurden in 100 Tagen unter Beihilfe der Bevölkerung von Hutu-Extremisten ermordet – , regiert sie unter dem verschwiegenen Staatspräsidenten Paul Kagame das Land. In sechs Kapiteln schreitet der Film die Geschichte der Inkotanyi ab: von den historischen Hintergründen der Pogrome gegen die Tutsi, der Zeit des Exils und der Gründung der RPF in den 1980er Jahren über die Invasion Ruandas 1990 und den vierjährigen Bürgerkrieg bis hin zu der von Gegengewalt und Unterdrückung begleiteten Regentschaft Kagames. Archivmaterial und Interviews mit hochrangigen Armeeangehörigen und Soldaten der RPF, mit Journalisten, Historikern sowie dem ruandischen Präsidenten Kagame formieren das Bild der „am besten vorbereiteten und diszipliniertesten Rebellion des afrikanischen Kontinents“, wie sie Regisseur Christophe Cotteret nennt. Nicht zuletzt wirft der Film einen Blick auf die kolonialen Kontinuitäten im Post-Kolonialismus, wie sie etwa in Frankreichs Unterstützung des diktatorischen Habyarimana-Regimes sichtbar wurden.

Esther Buss


Nominiert für Filmpreis "Leipziger Ring"

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Still Alive Pauline Beugnies

Arabellion, wo bist du hin? Du hältst dich tapfer in ägyptischen Wohnzimmern, wo die Rebellen heute Kinder erziehen und Beziehungen pflegen. Aber du lebst: zwischen Alltags- und Blutrauschen.

Still Alive

Dokumentarfilm
2017
110 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Laurence Buelens
Pauline Beugnies
Grégory Vandamme
Pauline Beugnies, Hervé Verloes, Joan Roels
Pauline Piris Nury
Pauline Beugnies
Marion Guénard, Laurence Buelens
Jean Forest
Schnell hatte man das blaue Band des Frühlings um die Aufstände in der arabischen Welt geschlungen. Eine vereinfachende Klammer mit wohlklingendem Namen, eine verbale Umarmung, die aber auch Feinheiten wegdrückte. Pauline Beugnies’ Film meint Ägypten, er meint ausdrücklich diese „Generation Tahrir“. Und er meint die junge Frau, die hier zu Beginn in die Kamera lächelt und sich und ihren Altersgenossen eine psychische Störung diagnostiziert: das große Glück, dabei gewesen zu sein, zusammen mit der tiefen Reue, die Bewegung losgetreten zu haben.

Aber lebt er noch, jener Aufbruchsgeist der ägyptischen Revolution von Anfang 2011? Oder hat er sich schon eingerichtet: in den neuen Verhältnissen, mit den schnell nachgewachsenen Begrenzungen, mit den wie Unkraut aus dem Boden schießenden Autoritäten? Beugnies spricht mit jungen Leuten, die man auch „Altrevolutionäre“ nennen könnte, selbst wenn kaum einer von ihnen die 30 überschritten haben dürfte. Sie konfrontiert sie mit Aufnahmen der Menschen, die sie damals waren – seltsame Wiederbegegnungen mit dem alten Ich, an das man sich erinnert wie an einen verlorenen Freund. Sie lässt sie von den letzten Jahren erzählen, von den Kindern, die geboren wurden, den Enttäuschungen und Abnutzungen. Aber immerhin: Sie sprechen, manchmal so angriffslustig und übersprudelnd wie 2011.

Sylvia Görke

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Minister of Garbage

Dokumentarfilm
2017
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Maximilien Charlier, Laetitia Rodari
Quentin Noirfalisse
Pierre Monongi Mopia, Daniel Dibwidi
Adrien Kaempf, Quentin Devillers
Marie Estelle Dieterle
Quentin Noirfalisse
Nicolas Kerjan
Der kongolesische Künstler Emmanuel Botalatala steckt mitten in der Arbeit an einer neuen Assemblage. Auf eine dünne Sperrholzplatte appliziert er bemalte und aus Abfällen gefertigte Gräber, Kreuze und Panzer, sein Mitarbeiter pinselt eine blutrote Straße um den „Friedhof Afrikas“. Am Ende dominieren die Farben der deutschen Flagge das Werk – eine Anspielung auf die durch europäische Waffenlieferungen unterstützen Kriege auf dem Kontinent.

Botalatala arbeitet seit etwa 1979 als Künstler, zuvor war er Lehrer und Bankangestellter. Der 68-jährige Autodidakt legt großen Wert darauf, dass er nie eine Kunstschule besucht hat. Fast täglich unternimmt der „Abfallminister“ Streifzüge durch die Müllhalden von Kinshasa, um Material für seine Objektbilder zu sammeln. Die Themen findet er in den Radionachrichten. Im Vorfeld der geplanten Präsidentschaftswahlen werden Rücktritte, gewaltsame Auflösungen von Demonstrationen und ein Massaker mit hunderten Toten vermeldet. Für sein künstlerisch-erzieherisches Projekt, das ohne die Mitarbeit seiner Frau und der selbsterklärten „Vize-Präsidenten“ kaum denkbar wäre, bringt Botalatala viele Opfer. Dabei blitzt hinter seiner gesellschaftlich engagierten Kunst immer wieder sein männliches Künstlerego hervor. Auch ein „Abfallminister“ möchte Spuren hinterlassen.

Esther Buss

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

When the Bull Cried

Dokumentarfilm
2017
66 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Tomas Leyers
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama, Bart Goossens
Bram Bosteels
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama
Tom Denoyette
Karen Vázquez Guadarrama, Bart Goossens
Bart Goossens
In den bolivianischen Anden erheben sich gigantische Viertausender majestätisch in den Himmel. Grau-blau fließen schroffe Steilwände und weiße Wolkengebirge ineinander. Die Menschen hier leben vom Bergbau. Sie steigen hinab in die steinigen Eingeweide und bauen unter Lebensgefahr Silber und andere Mineralien ab. Regelmäßig brechen die eiskalten, dunklen Minenschächte ein und begraben die Arbeiter, viele davon noch Kinder, bei lebendigem Leibe. Es heißt, wer im Schacht stirbt, dessen Seele muss für drei Tage umherwandern, immer auf der Flucht vor „el tío“, dem bösen Gott des Berges. Der Angst begegnet man mit Alkohol und Koka, der Aberglaube treibt immer neue Blüten. Vor allem die Männer leben in einer Schleife von Arbeit, Alkohol und Aggression, hoffen Tag für Tag auf den großen Fund und versuchen, die Geister durch Opfergaben gnädig zu stimmen. Mit archaischen Ritualen soll Mutter Erde beruhigt werden, doch der Blick in die erschöpften Gesichter der Menschen lässt erahnen, dass ihr Glaube mit jeder Todesnachricht mehr erschüttert wird.

Ein bildgewaltiger Film, dem es gelingt, einen in die atemberaubende Umgebung der Anden mitzunehmen, ohne daraus eine Geografiestunde werden zu lassen. Eindringlich, beängstigend und bewegend – großes Kino über den Wolken.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.