Film Archive

Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Cinema Morocco Ricardo Calil

Homeless persons occupy the formerly glamorous cinema palace in São Paulo. A theatre workshop recalls the building’s past – and creates projection surfaces for broken biographies.

Cinema Morocco

Documentary Film
Brazil
2018
76 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eliane Ferreira, Pablo Iraola
Ricardo Calil
André Namur
Loiro Cunha, Carol Quintanilha
Jordana Berg
Ricardo Calil
Flávio Guedes, Ricardo Pinta
A strange newsreel report is all that recalls the glamorous past of the Cine Marrocos in São Paulo today. We see Irene Dunne, Erich von Stroheim and Abel Gance at the International Film Festival of Brazil 1954, walking up the red carpet to the opulent cinema palace, and Fubuki Koshiji stumbling and “revealing her delicate eastern foot” (original voiceover). Forty years later the twelve-floor building was suddenly empty, for two decades. When the announced renovation didn’t happen, a community of homeless people squatted there in 2013. At times more than 2,000 people from 17 countries lived in the gutted and graffiti covered ruin.

At the initiative of the eponymous film project, films from the first festival year were screened in the re-opened cinema and a theatre workshop was founded where the actor-squatters worked on iconic film scenes, for example from “Sunset Boulevard”, “La Grande Illusion”, “Julius Caesar” and “Sawdust and Tinsel.” On the backdrop of imminent eviction, the film documents the theatre work, “co-written” by broken biographies and resulting in cinematographic re-enactments. Norma Desmond, Marc Anthony, the circus rider Anne and the fighter pilot Maréchal literally become projection surfaces – for experiences as varied as war trauma, depression, disgust of affluence and post-colonial alienation.

Esther Buss



Golden Dove in the Next Masters Competition Long Film

International Programme 2018
Elections Alice Riff

So much for political apathy! The student council elections at a school in São Paulo demonstrate the strains of politics and the temptations of populism – and how to resist them.

Elections

Documentary Film
Brazil
2018
101 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alice Riff, Heverton Lima
Alice Riff
Vinicius Berger
Yuri Amaral
Alice Riff, Vanessa Fort
Marina Bruno, Daniel Turini, Fernando Henna
It’s best to learn about the workings (and snags) of democracy by practicing it. At a public high school in São Paulo, the elections for the student council are coming up. Various teams compete for the best ideas, the coolest campaign poster and the most votes. It’s vital not to be carried away by populist actions and to put personal interest aside. Just like in “big” politics, the candidates walk the line between honest commitment and superficial show effects in election debates. But the sudden appearance of the police at the school gates instantly makes it clear how important it is that the students are able to speak with one voice.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Young Eyes Film Award

Stone Engravings and the Three-Colored Chickenpox Tale

Documentary Film
Brazil
2018
21 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Leandro Engelke
Luciana Mazeto, Vinícius Lopes
Lívia Pasqual
Luciana Mazeto
Luciana Mazeto, Vinícius Lopes
Kevin Agnes
A cinematic game with the oldest stories of the world in Brazil. The visible and the invisible exist side by side and can be recorded. Scratched drawings in caves, vanished animals, Guaraní creation myths, children’s games and thinking rocks. Add as visible evidence: the contemporary and ancient film and sound recording technologies that were used.

Saskia Walker

Filmarchiv

Next Masters Wettbewerb 2018
Cinema Morocco Ricardo Calil

Obdachlose besetzen den ehemals glamourösen Kinopalast in São Paulo. Ein Theaterworkshop ruft die Vergangenheit des Gebäudes wach – und kreiert Projektionsflächen für zerrüttete Biografien.

Cinema Morocco

Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien
2018
76 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Eliane Ferreira, Pablo Iraola
Ricardo Calil
André Namur
Loiro Cunha, Carol Quintanilha
Jordana Berg
Ricardo Calil
Flávio Guedes, Ricardo Pinta
An die glanzvolle Vergangenheit des Cine Marrocos’ in São Paulo erinnert heute nur noch ein kurioser Nachrichtenfilm. Er zeigt, wie Irene Dunne, Erich von Stroheim und Abel Gance 1954 zum ersten Internationalen Filmfestival von Brasilien in den luxuriösen Kinopalast schaulaufen, und dass Fubuki Koshiji beim Stolpern ihren „zarten östlichen Fuß enthüllt“ (Originalton). Vierzig Jahre später stand das zwölfstöckige Gebäude plötzlich leer – zwei Dekaden lang. Als die angekündigte Renovierung auf sich warten ließ, wurde es 2013 von einer Gemeinschaft von Obdachlosen besetzt. Zeitweilig lebten 2.000 Menschen aus 17 Ländern in der ausgeweideten und mit Graffitis gesäumten Bauruine.

Auf Initiative des gleichnamigen Filmprojekts wurden im wiedereröffneten Kino Filme aus dem ersten Festivaljahr vorgeführt und ein Theaterworkshop ins Leben gerufen. Dabei erarbeiteten die schauspielenden Besetzer ikonische Filmszenen, etwa aus „Boulevard der Dämmerung“, „Die große Illusion“, „Julius Caesar“ und „Abend der Gaukler“. Vor dem Hintergrund der drohenden Zwangsräumung dokumentiert der Film die von den zerrütteten Biografien „mitgeschriebene“ Theaterarbeit, an deren Ende kinematografische Reenactments stehen. Norma Desmond, Marcus Antonius, die Kunstreiterin Anne und der Jagdflieger Maréchal werden buchstäblich zu Projektionsflächen – für so unterschiedliche Erfahrungen wie Kriegstraumata, Depression, Wohlstandsekel und postkoloniale Entfremdung.

Esther Buss



Goldene Taube im Next Masters Wettbewerb Langfilm


Internationales Programm 2018
Elections Alice Riff

Von wegen Politikmüdigkeit! Die Wahlen zur Schülervertretung in einer Schule in São Paulo zeigen die Mühen der Demokratie und die Verlockungen des Populismus – und wie man ihnen widersteht.

Elections

Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien
2018
101 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Alice Riff, Heverton Lima
Alice Riff
Vinicius Berger
Yuri Amaral
Alice Riff, Vanessa Fort
Marina Bruno, Daniel Turini, Fernando Henna
Wie die Demokratie funktioniert (und wo sie hakt), lernt man am besten, indem man sie praktiziert. In einer öffentlichen Highschool in São Paulo stehen die Wahlen zur Schülervertretung an. Verschiedene Teams konkurrieren um die besten Ideen, das coolste Wahlplakat und die meisten Stimmen. Es gilt, sich nicht zu populistischen Aktionen hinreißen zu lassen und persönliche Interessen hintanzustellen. Genau wie in der „großen“ Politik balancieren die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten in ihren Rededuellen zwischen ehrlichem Engagement und oberflächlichen Showeffekten. Doch als plötzlich die Polizei vor den Schultoren steht, wird augenblicklich deutlich, wie wichtig es ist, dass die Schülerschaft mit einer Stimme sprechen kann.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Young Eyes Film Award

Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurzfilm (ab 2015) 2018
Stone Engravings and the Three-Colored Chickenpox Tale Luciana Mazeto, Vinícius Lopes

Ein Spiel mit den ältesten Geschichten der Welt in Brasilien: Höhlenzeichen, Gründungsmythen der Guaraní, verschwundene Tiere, denkende Steine, Film-Altertum und Kino auf dem Stand der Zeit.

Stone Engravings and the Three-Colored Chickenpox Tale

Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien
2018
21 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Leandro Engelke
Luciana Mazeto, Vinícius Lopes
Lívia Pasqual
Luciana Mazeto
Luciana Mazeto, Vinícius Lopes
Kevin Agnes
Ein filmisches Spiel mit den ältesten Geschichten der Welt in Brasilien. Das Sichtbare und das Unsichtbare existieren nebeneinander und lassen sich aufnehmen. Geritzte Zeichen in Höhlen, verschwundene Tiere, Gründungsmythen der Guaraní, Kinderspiele und denkende Steine. Dazu als Beweis ganz sichtbar: die verwendeten heutigen und uralten Film- und Tonaufnahmetechniken.

Saskia Walker