Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

International Programme 2013
Syrinx Penyu Kiratsov

Pan falls in love with the beautiful nymph Syrinx. She tries to escape Pan’s firm grip by magically transforming herself into various animals. Finally she manages to elude him only by turning herself into ...

Syrinx

Animated Film
Bulgaria
2012
8 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

National Academy for Theatre and Film Arts “Krastyo Serafov”
Penyu Kiratsov
Kliment Dichev
Penyu Kiratsov
Penyu Kiratsov
Kliment Dichev
Pan falls in love with the beautiful nymph Syrinx. She tries to escape Pan’s firm grip by magically transforming herself into various animals. Finally she manages to elude him only by turning herself into a vast field of canes. Lost and sad, Pan invents a simple musical instrument made from the same canes, and starts to play his song.

The Last Black Sea Pirates

Documentary Film
Bulgaria
2013
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Martichka Bozhilova, Agitprop
Svetoslav Stoyanov
Orlin Ruevski, Ivan Nikolov
Petar Marinov
Vanya Raynova
Momchil Bozhkov, BFSA
Once upon a time there was a fearless pirate who robbed Turkish galleys, captured a lot of gold, and buried his treasure near the mouth of a river on the coast of the Black Sea. Two centuries later, Captain Jack has settled on this beach with a handful of criminals and alcoholics, far removed from civilisation, and built his own little realm there. Two construction trailers, a rowing boat, fresh fish, schnapps, and dynamite – that’s all the modern pirates need on their quest for the legendary treasure.
But this outlaw’s paradise is threatened – the Bulgarian Prime Minister’s brother wants to build five tourist resorts and a yacht harbour in the middle of the nature reserve. This makes the group of outlaws so restless they challenge their captain’s authoritarian regime. Mutiny looms...
Svetoslav Stoyanov tells a quirky documentarian fairy tale in which the boundaries between reality and fiction are blurred. His hero is trying to defy the modern age, where corruption and global capitalism have replaced the old order. Captain Jack takes rough but hearty care of his men as long as they don’t question the search for the legendary treasure. Can their dreams and their friendship survive the new era?

Claas Danielsen

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Internationales Programm 2013
Syrinx Penyu Kiratsov

Pan verliebt sich in die schöne Nymphe Syrinx. Sie versucht, seinem festen Griff zu entkommen, indem sie sich in verschiedene Tiere verwandelt. Schließlich schafft sie es nur, ihm zu entwischen, indem sie ...

Syrinx

Animationsfilm
Bulgarien
2012
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

National Academy for Theatre and Film Arts “Krastyo Serafov”
Penyu Kiratsov
Kliment Dichev
Penyu Kiratsov
Penyu Kiratsov
Kliment Dichev
Pan verliebt sich in die schöne Nymphe Syrinx. Sie versucht, seinem festen Griff zu entkommen, indem sie sich in verschiedene Tiere verwandelt. Schließlich schafft sie es nur, ihm zu entwischen, indem sie sich in ein riesiges Schilfrohrfeld verwandelt. Einsam und traurig erfindet Pan ein Instrument aus eben diesen Schilfrohren und beginnt sein Lied zu spielen.

The Last Black Sea Pirates

Dokumentarfilm
Bulgarien
2013
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Martichka Bozhilova, Agitprop
Svetoslav Stoyanov
Orlin Ruevski, Ivan Nikolov
Petar Marinov
Vanya Raynova
Momchil Bozhkov, BFSA
Es war einmal ein furchtloser Pirat, der türkische Galeeren überfiel, viel Gold eroberte und den Schatz an einer Flussmündung am Schwarzen Meer vergrub. Zwei Jahrhunderte später hat sich Captain Jack mit einem Haufen Krimineller und Alkoholiker fernab der Zivilisation an diesem Strand niedergelassen und sein kleines Reich errichtet. Zwei Bauwagen, ein Ruderboot, frischer Fisch, Schnaps und Dynamit – mehr brauchen die modernen Piraten nicht, um sich auf die Suche nach dem legendären Goldschatz zu machen.
Doch das Paradies der Outlaws ist bedroht – mitten hinein in das Naturschutzgebiet will der Bruder des bulgarischen Premierministers fünf Touristendörfer und einen Yachthafen bauen lassen. Das bringt Unruhe in die Gruppe der Gesetzlosen, die den autoritär herrschenden Kapitän herausfordern. Meuterei droht …
Svetoslav Stoyanov erzählt ein skurriles dokumentarisches Märchen, in dem die Grenzen zwischen Realität und Fiktion verschwimmen. Sein Held versucht, der neuen Zeit zu trotzen, in der Korruption und globaler Kapitalismus die Sicherheit der alten Ordnung abgelöst haben. Captain Jack sorgt hart, aber herzlich für seine Männer, solange sie die Suche nach dem legendären Schatz nicht infrage stellen. Können ihre Träume und ihre Freundschaft in der neuen Zeit weiter bestehen?

Claas Danielsen