Film Archive

A Sister’s Song

Documentary Film
Canada,
Israel
2018
91 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina and Tatiana moved from Russia to Israel with their family as children. Being immigrants, their arrival in the new country wasn’t easy. This back story resonates in their search for models and identity. The narrative focuses on Marina. As an adolescent her younger sister Tatiana followed her spiritual father to a strict Orthodox convent in Greece. That was twenty years ago. They last saw each other four years ago. Since then, Marina has more and more gained the impression that her sister is unhappy there, and she wants to get her back. But is she responsible for Tatiana’s happiness? How can you understand a close person’s decision that’s in conflict with your own position?

The Canada-based award-winning Israeli director and cinematographer Danae Elon returns once more to her home country for this film. Discretely and yet very much present, she watches the two sisters’ encounter, included only occasionally – but almost like an accomplice – in the protagonists’ conversation. Her tale of the sisters Marina and Tatiana is dramaturgically outstanding and innovative. “A Sister’s Song” – a film about love and loss and the art of following one’s inner voice.

Annina Wettstein
International Programme 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Three people are waiting for an organ donation. In delicate but nonetheless explicit images, “A Transplant” documents the miracle of the renewal of a waning life.

A Transplant

Documentary Film
Canada
2018
69 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In life’s holding pattern: Shannon, a young woman, three-year-old Nolan and five-times grandmother Suzanne all need an organ donation. A race against the clock and against death, which approaches rapidly and relentlessly while they slowly move up the waiting list step by step. For patients and relatives, this time of waiting is an ever-changing mixture of the fear of loss and the hope for a future. From this existential state of insecurity, worry and hope, “A Transplant” takes us in delicate but explicit images into the operating room and into the body that is being renewed by a team of doctors and helpers – practiced and level-headed, but also aware of the risks and the responsibility weighing down every movement. A film about the, if you will, uniqueness of life. And about the miracle that occasionally and in dire need it can even escape this uniqueness.

Lukas Stern
Strictly Animated 2018
Afterlife Ishu Patel

After life has ended, humans enter the sphere of eternity – memories mingle with the unpredictable. Other people, animals and mythical creatures appear.

Afterlife

Animated Film
Canada
1979
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Derek Lamb
Ishu Patel
Herbie Mann
Ishu Patel
After life has ended, humans enter the sphere of eternity – memories mingle with the unpredictable. Other people, animals and mythical creatures appear and merge into a unified whole. Ishu Patel depicts the metamorphoses of this transcendental space in brilliantly shimmering clay images, endowing the afterlife with a beauty of its own.

Duscha Kistler
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

We plunge into an impressive world of sound and colour. The shamans of the Yuruparí tribe live in the Amazonas rainforest in south-west Colombia.

Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde

360°-Film
Canada,
Germany
2018
14 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irene Vandertop
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Nicolas Jolliet
Ed Kelly
Marita Hübinger
Franz Hildgen
Thomas Wallner
Thomas Wallner
We plunge into an impressive world of sound and colour. The shamans of the Yuruparí tribe live in the Amazonas rainforest in south-west Colombia. Their sacred sites are distributed over a network that precisely follows the line of the equator. The Yuruparí believe that they live at the centre of the world and that it’s their duty to keep the earth in spiritual balance.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Blind Vaysha – VR

360°-Film
Canada
2017
8 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand (NFB), Julie Roy (NFB)
Theodore Ushev
Vaysha is not like other girls: she sees the past with her left eye, the future with her right eye. Caught in a blurred world between the two, the present is a blind spot for her. This 360° film combines traditional linocut with innovative animation techniques. The use of stereoscopic images enables us to see the world through Vaysha’s eyes.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Homestay Paisley Smith

We are in the midst of Paisley Smith’s reflections about Taro, a Japanese exchange student who committed suicide in his guest family’s home in Canada.

2018

Homestay

(none)
Canada
2018
20 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert McLaughlin (NFB), Loc Dao (NFB)
Paisley Smith
Boombox Sound
Robert Ouimet
Sonia Bashash
Alison Broddle, Paisley Smith
Boombox Sound
Paisley Smith
Pedro Barroso
Michael Phan, Rueben Pereira
Sonia Bashash
Pablo Vio, Dirk van Ginkel, Aaron Morris
We are in the midst of Paisley Smith’s reflections about Taro, a Japanese exchange student who committed suicide in his guest family’s home in Canada. The Nitobe Memorial Garden in Vancouver was the model for the paper world Paisley Smith designed for her personal memory course. This sensitively designed adaptation was created in cooperation with the NFB and Jam3.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Retrospective 2018
Hybrid Jack Chambers

A protest film in bold analogies and contrasts: pastoral images of rose growing are set against aggressive footage of the horrors of the Vietnam War.

Hybrid

Documentary Film
Canada
1966
15 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
A protest film in bold analogies and contrasts: pastoral images of rose growing are set against aggressive footage of the horrors of the Vietnam War.

Ralph Eue

I’m OK

Animated Film
Canada,
UK
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Galloping at breakneck speed through the tempestuous delirium of Oskar Kokoschka. After his failed amour fou with Alma Mahler he plunges into war as a dragoon in 1915, is wounded and comes to terms with things by creating the expressionist drama “Orpheus and Eurydice.” Elizabeth Hobbs takes up the dynamic quality of Kokoschka’s drawings and the turmoil of his emotional ecstasy. Restless ink strokes are entwined in a powerful and brightly coloured mesh of short-lived scenes of passion and suffering.

André Eckardt

Manic VR

(none)
Canada
2018
11 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Rodriguez, EyeSteelFilm_Creative Reality, Dpt.
Kalina Bertin
David Drury
David Drury, Cory Rizos
Josquin Zabka (Dpt.), Alexandre Bordereau (Dpt.), Paul Georges (Dpt.)
Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, Nicolas S. Roy (Dpt.)
Fred Casia
Hugo Forget
Guided by Felicia’s and François’s voices we set out on a journey through the phases of bipolar disorder: an intimate insight into the constantly changing realities and states that are part of the typical symptoms of manic depression. “Manic VR” tells a non-fictional story by means of 3D animation, psychedelic pigmentation effects and room-scale interaction.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann



Awarded with the DOK Neuland Award

Strictly Animated 2018
memento mori Dan Browne

In “memento mori” more than 100,000 photos become a compressed source of memories, a look back and thus a meditation on life and death.

memento mori

Animated Film
Canada
2012
28 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dan Browne
Dan Browne
What first feels like a single massive rush of images quickly turns into a complex, unique and personal journey. In “memento mori” more than 100,000 photos shot and collected during a lifetime become a compressed source of memories, a look back and thus a meditation on life and death.

Duscha Kistler
Re-Visionen 2018
Oscar Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre

“I play what I feel.” An animated Canadian documentary about Oscar Peterson (1925–2007), one of the giants of jazz.

Oscar

Animated Film
Canada
2016
12 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand, Jocelyne Perrier, Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre
Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre
Oana Suteu Khintirian
Ehsan Gharib, Brigitte Archambault
Olivier Calvert
“I play what I feel.” An animated Canadian documentary about Oscar Peterson (1925–2007), one of the giants of jazz. Combined with historical interviews, atmospheric drawings show the highs and lows of his biography. His little “Hymn to Freedom” contains the essence of a whole life in a nutshell.

Ralph Eue
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Place – Part 1 Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins

The main synagogue of Aleppo in Syria was heavily damaged in the civil war. This is the visualisation, detached from space and time, of the history of a place that no longer exists.

Place – Part 1

(none)
Canada,
Germany,
Israel
2018
10 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

High Road Productions, Micha’s Films, Helios Design Labs
Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins
Stephan Schüritz (Honig Studios)
Mike Robbins
The main synagogue of Aleppo in Syria was heavily damaged in the civil war. This is the visualisation, detached from space and time, of the history of a place that no longer exists. It’s like stepping into an old black and white film where several strands of time converge. Encounters are suddenly possible: with characters who are still alive or who died decades, centuries ago.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

The Apollo of Gaza

Documentary Film
Canada,
Switzerland
2018
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philippe Coeytaux, Colette Loumède
Nicolas Wadimoff
Claude Fradette
Franck Rabel
Christine Hoffet
Nicolas Wadimoff, Béatrice Guelpa
Carlos Ibañez Diaz
In August 2013, a more than 2,000 year old bronze statue of Apollo turned up in Gaza. A Palestinian fisherman is said to have discovered the 750 kg statue on the ocean floor and, with a lot of effort, recovered it. Photos showing the well-preserved, greenishly shimmering god of light, the arts, medicine and oracles lying on a cloth with a Smurf pattern began to circulate. Though only a few saw the “Apollo of Gaza” with their own eyes, it instantly became an object of mercantile and geopolitical interests and speculations. There were offers and bids, negotiations with museums, suspicions and wild rumours. Then the statue suddenly disappeared, seized by the Hamas government – that’s what people say before they add that they’re not at liberty to discuss the matter.

“The Apollo of Gaza” traces the story of a spectacular find of, if nothing else, some symbolic political weight in a mixture of mystery and investigative research. What’s left at the end are the hopes of a region marked by war and blockades that expects the beautiful bronze god to enable them to reconnect with a buried cultural past.

Esther Buss

The Breadwinner

Animated Film
Canada,
Ireland,
Luxembourg
2017
93 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anthony Leo, Andrew Rosen, Paul Young, Tomm Moore, Stephan Roelants
Nora Twomey
Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna
Sheldon Lisoy
Darragh Byrne
Fabian Erlinghäuser
Anita Doron, Deborah Ellis
The heroine of the latest Cartoon Saloon production is called Parvana. She’s eleven years old and lives with her family in a tiny flat in the Afghan city of Kabul. The Taliban dictate the law. And they dictate that Parvana’s father, a man and therefore the only member of the family allowed to be active, must be arrested. So how and where to organise the money to survive when the breadwinner is in prison? Parvana decides to masquerade as a boy … “The Breadwinner” exemplifies Cartoon Saloon’s distinctive style: unusual places and protagonists serve as a source of inspiration for a specific attitude towards the world – through narrative and design, focused on today.

Annegret Richter

The Sisters’ Bedroom

Animated Film
Canada
2018
7 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claire Brognez
Claire Brognez
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Claire Brognez
Catherine Legault
Claire Brognez
Claire Brognez
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Abandoning yourself to your dreams, closing the curtains and being alone at last. The sibling hidden under the bed is mainly interested in the secretly hoarded chocolate, while the older sister has her first sexual fantasies. And what is this mysterious red ribbon? An animation with delicate figures that seem to be made of porcelain which creates a sensual mood whose innocence live action film can never achieve.

Saskia Walker

Filmarchiv

A Sister’s Song

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Israel
2018
91 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Danae Elon, Paul Cadieux
Danae Elon
Peter Venne
Danae Elon, Itamar Mendes Flohr
Vincent Guignard, Alexandre Leblanc
Danae Elon
Benoît Dame
Marina und Tatiana sind als Kinder mit ihrer Familie aus Russland nach Israel gezogen. Als Einwanderinnen war die Ankunft im neuen Heimatland nicht einfach. Diese Backstory schwingt bei ihrer Suche nach Vorbildern und Identität mit. Im Zentrum der Erzählung steht Marina. Ihre jüngere Schwester Tatiana ist als Jugendliche ihrem spirituellen Vater in ein streng orthodoxes Kloster in Griechenland gefolgt. Das ist zwanzig Jahre her. Vor vier Jahren haben sie sich zum letzten Mal gesehen. Seither verstärkt sich bei Marina der Eindruck, ihre Schwester sei dort unglücklich, und sie möchte sie zurückholen. Doch ist sie verantwortlich für Tatianas Glück? Wie kann man Verständnis aufbringen für die Entscheidung eines nahestehenden Menschen, der im Widerspruch zur eigenen Haltung steht?

Die in Kanada lebende preisgekrönte israelische Regisseurin und Kamerafrau Danae Elon kehrt auch für diesen Film in ihr Heimatland zurück. Diskret und doch sehr präsent schaut sie der Wiederbegegnung der beiden Schwestern zu. Nur punktuell, aber fast komplizenhaft wird sie von den Protagonistinnen ins Gespräch einbezogen. Die Geschichte von Marina und Tatiana erzählt sie dramaturgisch herausragend und innovativ. „A Sister’s Song“ – ein Lied über Liebe und Verlust und über die Kunst, seiner inneren Stimme zu folgen.

Annina Wettstein
Internationales Programm 2018
A Transplant François Méthé

Drei Menschen warten auf eine Organspende. Mit behutsamen, aber auch expliziten Bildern dokumentiert „A Transplant“ das Wunder der Erneuerung eines ausgehenden Lebens.

A Transplant

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
2018
69 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marie-Claude Morazain
François Méthé
Joseph Marchand
Philippe St-Gelais
Sébastien Goyette
François Méthé
Cyril Bourseault
In der Warteschleife des Lebens: Die junge Shannon, der erst dreijährige Nolan und die fünffache Großmutter Suzanne benötigen eine Organspende. Ein Wettlauf gegen die Uhr und gegen den Tod, der rasend und unaufhaltsam näher kommt, während man langsamen Schrittes auf der Bedürftigenliste nach oben rückt. Für Patienten und Angehörige ist diese Zeit des Wartens eine sich stetig neu zusammensetzende Mixtur aus der Angst vor dem Verlust und der Hoffnung auf eine Zukunft. Aus diesem existenziellen Zustand der Unsicherheit, der Sorge und der Zuversicht führt „A Transplant“ mit behutsamen, gleichwohl expliziten Bildern hinein in den OP-Saal und hinein in den Körper, der von einem Team aus Ärzten und Helfern erneuert wird – routiniert und besonnen, aber auch im Bewusstsein des Risikos und der Verantwortung, die auf jedem einzelnen Handgriff lasten. Ein Film über die, wenn man so will, Einzigartigkeit des Lebens. Und über das Wunder, dass es zuweilen und in größter Not seiner Einzigartigkeit sogar entgehen kann.

Lukas Stern
Strictly Animated 2018
Afterlife Ishu Patel

Nach dem Ende des Lebens tritt der Mensch in die Sphäre der Ewigkeit über – Erinnerungen vermischen sich mit Unvorhersehbarem.

Afterlife

Animationsfilm
Kanada
1979
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Derek Lamb
Ishu Patel
Herbie Mann
Ishu Patel
Nach dem Ende des Lebens tritt der Mensch in die Sphäre der Ewigkeit über – Erinnerungen vermischen sich mit Unvorhersehbarem. Andere Menschen, Tiere und Fabelwesen tauchen auf und verschmelzen zu einer Einheit. Ishu Patel schildert die Metamorphosen dieses transzendentalen Raumes in intensiv schimmernden Plastilinbildern und verleiht dem Jenseits eine eigene Schönheit.

Duscha Kistler
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet

Wir tauchen ein in eine beeindruckende Klang- und Farbenwelt. Die Schamanen des Volkes der Yuruparí leben im Regenwald des Amazonas im Südwesten Kolumbiens.

Äquator 360° – Mittelpunkt der Erde

360°-Film
Kanada,
Deutschland
2018
14 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Irene Vandertop
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet
Ian Dunbar
Nicolas Jolliet, Richard Decaillet
Nicolas Jolliet
Ed Kelly
Marita Hübinger
Franz Hildgen
Thomas Wallner
Thomas Wallner
Wir tauchen ein in eine beeindruckende Klang- und Farbenwelt. Die Schamanen des Volkes der Yuruparí leben im Regenwald des Amazonas im Südwesten Kolumbiens. Ihre heiligen Stätten befinden sich verteilt in einem Netzwerk, das exakt der Äquatorlinie folgt. Die Yuruparí glauben, im Zentrum der Welt zu leben und dass es ihre Aufgabe sei, die Erde spirituell im Gleichgewicht zu halten.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann

Blind Vaysha – VR

360°-Film
Kanada
2017
8 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand (NFB), Julie Roy (NFB)
Theodore Ushev
Vaysha ist nicht wie andere Mädchen: Auf ihrem linken Auge sieht sie die Vergangenheit, auf dem rechten die Zukunft. Gefangen in einer verschwommenen Zwischenwelt, ist die Gegenwart für sie ein blinder Fleck. Der 360°-Film vereint den traditionellen Linolschnitt mit innovativen Animationstechnologien. Der Einsatz von stereoskopischen Bildern ermöglicht es, die Welt mit Vayshas Augen zu sehen.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Homestay Paisley Smith

Wir sind mitten in Paisley Smiths Reflexion über Taro, einen japanischen Austauschschüler, der sich im Haus seiner Gastfamilie in Kanada das Leben nahm.

2018

Homestay

(none)
Kanada
2018
20 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Robert McLaughlin (NFB), Loc Dao (NFB)
Paisley Smith
Boombox Sound
Robert Ouimet
Sonia Bashash
Alison Broddle, Paisley Smith
Boombox Sound
Paisley Smith
Pedro Barroso
Michael Phan, Rueben Pereira
Sonia Bashash
Pablo Vio, Dirk van Ginkel, Aaron Morris
Wir sind mitten in Paisley Smiths Reflexion über Taro, einen japanischen Austauschschüler, der sich im Haus seiner Gastfamilie in Kanada das Leben nahm. Der Nitobe Memorial Garden in Vancouver diente als Vorbild für die Papierwelt, die Paisley Smith für ihren persönlichen Erinnerungsparcours entworfen hat. Diese sensibel gestaltete Aufarbeitung entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem NFB und Jam3.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Retrospektive 2018
Hybrid Jack Chambers

Ein Protestfilm in gewagten Analogien und Kontrasten: pastorale Bilder aus der Rosenzucht gegen aggressive Aufnahmen von Kriegsgräueln in Vietnam.

Hybrid

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada
1966
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
Jack Chambers
Ein Protestfilm in gewagten Analogien und Kontrasten: pastorale Bilder aus der Rosenzucht gegen aggressive Aufnahmen von Kriegsgräueln in Vietnam.

Ralph Eue

I’m OK

Animationsfilm
Kanada,
UK
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Abigail Addison (Animate Projects), Elizabeth Hobbs, Jelena Popović (National Film Board of Canada)
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Elizabeth Hobbs
Sacha Ratcliffe
Im rasanten Galopp durch das stürmische Delirium von Oskar Kokoschka. Nach gescheiterter Amour fou mit Alma Mahler stürzt er sich 1915 als Dragoner in den Krieg, wird verletzt und arbeitet auf: das expressionistische Drama „Orpheus und Eurydike“ entsteht. Elizabeth Hobbs nimmt die Dynamik von Kokoschkas Zeichnungen und das Bewegte seines emotionalen Rausches auf. Kraftvoll und in leuchtenden Farben verschlingen sich unruhige Tuschestriche zu kurzlebigen Szenen über Leidenschaft und Leiden.

André Eckardt

Manic VR

(none)
Kanada
2018
11 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Rodriguez, EyeSteelFilm_Creative Reality, Dpt.
Kalina Bertin
David Drury
David Drury, Cory Rizos
Josquin Zabka (Dpt.), Alexandre Bordereau (Dpt.), Paul Georges (Dpt.)
Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, Nicolas S. Roy (Dpt.)
Fred Casia
Hugo Forget
Begleitet von den Stimmen von Felicia und François, begibt man sich hier auf eine Reise durch die Phasen einer bipolaren Störung: ein intimer Einblick in die sich ständig verändernden Realitäten und Zustände, die zum typischen Krankheitsbild einer manischen Depression gehören. „Manic VR“ erzählt eine non-fiktionale Geschichte – mithilfe von 3-D-Animation, psychedelischen Pigmenteffekten und Room-Scale-Interaktion.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann



Ausgezeichnet mit dem DOK Neuland Award

Strictly Animated 2018
memento mori Dan Browne

Über 100.000 Fotos werden in „memento mori“ zu einer dichten Erinnerungsquelle und zu einer Meditation über Leben und Tod.

memento mori

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2012
28 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dan Browne
Dan Browne
Was sich im ersten Moment wie ein einziger großer Bildrausch anfühlt, wird rasch zu einer komplexen, einzigartigen und persönlichen Reise. Über 100.000 Fotos, aufgenommen und gesammelt während einer Lebenszeit, werden in „memento mori“ zu einer dichten Erinnerungsquelle, zu einem Rückblick und damit auch zu einer Meditation über Leben und Tod.
Duscha Kistler
Re-Visionen 2018
Oscar Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre

„Ich mache Musik mit dem, was ich fühle.“ Ein animierter Dokumentarfilm aus Kanada über Oscar Peterson (1925–2007), einen Giganten des Jazz.

Oscar

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2016
12 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marc Bertrand, Jocelyne Perrier, Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre
Marie-Josée Saint-Pierre
Oana Suteu Khintirian
Ehsan Gharib, Brigitte Archambault
Olivier Calvert
„Ich mache Musik mit dem, was ich fühle.“ Ein animierter Dokumentarfilm aus Kanada über Oscar Peterson (1925–2007), einen Giganten des Jazz. Im Zusammenhang mit historischen Interviews offenbaren atmosphärische Zeichnungen Höhen und Tiefen seiner Biografie. Seine kleine „Hymn to Freedom“ enthält wie in einer Nussschale die Essenz eines ganzen Lebens.

Ralph Eue
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2018
Place – Part 1 Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins

Die Hauptsynagoge von Aleppo in Syrien wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer beschädigt. Losgelöst von Raum und Zeit wird hier die Geschichte eines Ortes visualisiert, der nicht mehr existiert.

Place – Part 1

(none)
Kanada,
Deutschland,
Israel
2018
10 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

High Road Productions, Micha’s Films, Helios Design Labs
Avi Dabach, Harmke Heezen, Judith Manassen Ramon, Mike Robbins
Stephan Schüritz (Honig Studios)
Mike Robbins
Die Hauptsynagoge von Aleppo in Syrien wurde im Bürgerkrieg schwer beschädigt. Losgelöst von Raum und Zeit wird hier die Geschichte eines Ortes visualisiert, der nicht mehr existiert. Es ist, als trete man in einen alten Schwarz-Weiß-Film, in dem mehrere Zeitstränge zusammenlaufen. Begegnungen werden möglich: mit Charakteren, die noch leben oder vor Jahrzehnten, Jahrhunderten gestorben sind.

Lars Rummel, Marie Hinkelmann
Internationales Programm 2018
The Apollo of Gaza Nicolas Wadimoff

An der Küste zum Gazastreifen taucht 2013 eine Statue von Apollo auf. Nachdem sie zum Objekt von Spekulationen und merkantilen Interessen wurde, ist sie plötzlich verschwunden.

The Apollo of Gaza

Dokumentarfilm
Kanada,
Schweiz
2018
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philippe Coeytaux, Colette Loumède
Nicolas Wadimoff
Claude Fradette
Franck Rabel
Christine Hoffet
Nicolas Wadimoff, Béatrice Guelpa
Carlos Ibañez Diaz
Im August 2013 taucht in Gaza eine mehr als 2.000 Jahre alte Bronzestatue von Apollo auf. Ein palästinensischer Fischer soll die 750 Kilogramm schwere Plastik auf dem Meeresboden entdeckt und mit viel Arbeit und Mühe geborgen haben. Fotos geraten in Umlauf, die den gut erhaltenen, grünlich schimmernden Gott des Lichts, der Künste, der Heilkunst und der Orakel liegend auf einem Tuch mit Schlumpfmotiven zeigen. Auch wenn nur wenige den „Apollo von Gaza“ mit eigenen Augen zu Gesicht bekamen, wird er unmittelbar zum Objekt von merkantilen wie geopolitischen Interessen und Spekulationen. Es gibt Angebote und Gebote, Verhandlungen mit Museen, Verdachtsmomente und wilde Gerüchte. Dann ist die Statue plötzlich verschwunden, von der Hamas-Regierung beschlagnahmt – so heißt es, bevor man hinzufügt, nicht über die Sache sprechen zu dürfen.

Mit einer Mischung aus Mystery und investigativer Recherche zeichnet „The Apollo of Gaza“ die Geschichte um den spektakulären Fund nach, der nicht zuletzt symbolpolitisches Gewicht hat. Am Ende bleiben die Hoffnungen einer von Krieg und Blockade gezeichneten Region, die sich von dem schönen Gott in Bronze eine Wiederanknüpfung an die verschüttete kulturelle Vergangenheit verspricht.

Esther Buss

The Breadwinner

Animationsfilm
Kanada,
Irland,
Luxemburg
2017
93 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anthony Leo, Andrew Rosen, Paul Young, Tomm Moore, Stephan Roelants
Nora Twomey
Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna
Sheldon Lisoy
Darragh Byrne
Fabian Erlinghäuser
Anita Doron, Deborah Ellis
Die Heldin der aktuellsten Produktion aus dem Hause Cartoon Saloon heißt Parvana, ist elf Jahre alt und lebt mit ihrer Familie in einer winzigen Wohnung im afghanischen Kabul. Die Taliban bestimmen, was Recht und Gesetz ist. Und sie bestimmen, dass Parvanas Vater, als Mann einzig handlungsfähiges Familienmitglied, in Haft gehört. Wie und wo also das nötige Geld zum Überleben auftreiben, wenn der Ernährer im Gefängnis sitzt? Parvana beschließt, sich als Junge auszugeben … „The Breadwinner“ steht beispielhaft für die Markenzeichen von Cartoon Saloon: ungewöhnliche Orte und Protagonisten als Impulsgeber für Haltung zur Welt – erzählerisch, gestalterisch, der Gegenwart zugewandt.

Annegret Richter

The Sisters’ Bedroom

Animationsfilm
Kanada
2018
7 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Claire Brognez
Claire Brognez
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Claire Brognez
Catherine Legault
Claire Brognez
Claire Brognez
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Sich ungestört seinen Träumen hingeben, die Vorhänge zumachen und endlich mal allein sein können. Das Geschwisterkind ist unterm Bett versteckt und interessiert sich vor allem für die heimlich gebunkerte Schokolade, während die ältere Schwester ihre ersten sexuellen Fantasien erlebt. Und was ist das für ein rätselhaftes rotes Band? Ein Animationsfilm, der mit zarten, wie aus Porzellan geformten Figuren eine Sinnlichkeit erzeugt, die dem Realfilm so unschuldig nicht eigen ist.

Saskia Walker