Film Archive

Chris the Swiss

Documentary Film
Croatia,
Finland,
Germany,
Switzerland
2018
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Samir (Dschoint Ventschr), Siniša Juričić (Nukleus Film), Heino Deckert (Ma.ja.de.), Iikka Vehkalahti (IV Films Ltd / p.s.72 productions)
Anja Kofmel
Marcel Vaid
Simon Guy Fässler
Stefan Kälin
Simon Eltz
Anja Kofmel
Daniel Hobi, Marco Teufen, Hrvoje Petek
Christian Würtenberg died in Croatia in 1992. Even though the young Swiss had come as a journalist, he was wearing the uniform of an international militia that fought on the Croatian side in the civil war. Why he took up arms has long remained a mystery. His cousin, the filmmaker Anja Kofmel, has confronted the question.

She interviews companions, complementing the documentary footage with dark, pared-down animated sequences which form the film’s narrative structure. Diving deeply into the political turmoil, the film portrays Chris’s path towards joining a group of nationalist mercenaries supported by Opus Dei. A politically explosive film even today, a visually impressive thriller that shows how quickly a person’s attitude can be devastated by war.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize and the MDR Film Prize; Swiss Film Award 2019: Best Documentary, Best Score, Best Editing

International Programme 2018
Days of Madness Damian Nenadić

Maja and Mladen have lived and suffered through a long-term addiction to psychotropic drugs. In video diary format “Days of Madness” depicts their attempt to win back control of their lives.

Days of Madness

Documentary Film
Croatia,
Slovenia
2018
74 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Oliver Sertić
Damian Nenadić
Miro Manojlović, Filip Sertić
Maja Šćukanec, Mladen Bađun, Damian Nenadić, Srđan Kovačević
Sandra Bastašić
Martin Semenčić
Kventiax, Seroquel, Rivotril, Prazine, Normabel … When Mladen and Maja, in a mix of detachment and anger, list the psychoactive substances that determine their lives and ruin their bodies with toxic side effects, it’s as if they were talking about terribly annoying family members. On top of their long medical history full of spells in hospitals there’s the fact that the real family members, whether long buried at the local cemetery or in the shape of parents scolding them from the next room, won’t surcease them either. In close cooperation with Mladen and Maja, who portray themselves in diary-like video recordings, Damian Nenadić shows two people who were left alone by society in their distress – or whose distress was caused by the latter in the first place. Maja’s borderline personality disorder was diagnosed as a consequence of her transgender identity. Mladen, who returned from the Yugoslavian war with depression, was first sent to a priest by his parents. “Days of Madness” depicts their gradual attempts to win back a little control of a life stolen by psychiatry, family and church. “Why is BPD a disorder and nationalism is not?”

Esther Buss


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

International Programme 2018
IKEA for YU Marija Ratković Vidaković, Dinka Radonić

The identity history of Yugoslavia and ex-Yugoslavia is rife with conflicts and contradictions. Marija travels through this history by researching the inner workings of her own family.

IKEA for YU

Documentary Film
Croatia,
Sweden
2018
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Vera Robić Škarica, Marija Ratković Vidaković
Marija Ratković Vidaković, Dinka Radonić
Siniša Krneta
Dinka Radonić
Damir Čučić
Marija Ratković Vidaković, Dinka Radonić
Johan Bodin, Siniša Krneta
A family selfie in front of the “Three Fists”, a monument to the victims of the Second World War in Niš, the third largest city in Serbia today. Three concrete fists from the era of Titoism, are raised to the sky: the father’s fist, the mother’s, a child’s. Marija takes position, her mother and father next to her, her brother presses the button. This photo records nothing less than the whole identity history of Yugoslavia and Ex-Yugoslavia, rich in conflicts and contradictions – a history that still resonates and that Marija Ratković Vidaković, supported by her co-writer Dinka Radonić, investigates in this intimate family film.

Marked by parents and grandparents who have internalised the real-socialist ideas and values of the Tito era on the Balkan, the thirty three-year-old filmmaker must cope with a paradoxical inherited identity that has very little to do with her private world and life in Croatia. Marija knows that she doesn’t want to pass this heritage on to her son and she knows that in order to achieve this, it must wither in herself. Filmed over years, “IKEA for YU” is the testimony of a trip into her own family history, deep into its most intimate nooks and crannies where a long history full of twists and turns is deeply entrenched. And a trip far away from Croatia.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

On the Water

Documentary Film
Croatia
2018
79 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Hrvoje Osvadić
Goran Dević
Damian Nenadić
Jan Klemsche, Vanja Siruček
Goran Dević
Martin Semenčić
Rivers may be simple geographical entities. But beyond that they are eloquent micro-milieus where history and stories have accumulated. The rivers Save, Kupa and Odra flow through the centre of the Croatian industrial town of Sisak. They were and are the lifelines of the city and the region. The rivers may appear like pastoral havens today, but the countless narratives of the past emerge more openly there than anywhere else.

Most of the river dwellers’ and users’ lives around which Goran Dević structures his film are linked to the events of the Yugoslavian civil war and its ethnic and social conflicts. Even though it was more than two and a half decades ago, this historic period seems like a parallel reality which throws its shadows over the protagonists like a permanent trauma. “On the Water” is a poetic and political study about the changeability and constancy of people and spaces in which the dividing line between the two is permanently blurred.

Ralph Eue


Honorable Mention in the International Competition Long Film

Srbenka

Documentary Film
Croatia
2018
72 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Vanja Jambrović
Nebojša Slijepčević
Nebojša Slijepčević, Bojan Mrđenović, Iva Kraljević
Tomislav Stojanović
The Croatian War of Independence in the early 1990s casts long dark shadows even today. The population is still moved by anger, prejudice and trauma so that the conflict seems as new and smouldering as ever. “Srbenka” opens with a protagonist who talks about what it was like to grow up as a Serb in Croatia. She was excluded, insulted and threatened even at school. Her deep-seated pain underpins the whole film and is shared by other protagonists, both Serbian and Croatian.

Slijepčević follows the rehearsals for a play, directed by Oliver Frljić, about the murder of a twelve-year-old Serbian girl and her family in Zagreb in 1991. Opinions on this horrible act are still divided and the stage play puts its finger in the wound: why were the murderers never condemned? How can the murder of a child become a political tool? And what about the many nameless Croatian children nobody is writing plays about? The rehearsals, the cast and the adolescent amateur actors produce a raw and emotionally stirring reflection of the events, revealing the social division and helplessness in the face of a seemingly irresolvable conflict manifested in the soulless labelling of people.

Kim Busch


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Strictly Animated 2018
The Cake Daniel Šuljić

Cutting a cake into pieces of exactly the same size is a skill … In this finest animated massacre ever, Daniel Šuljić creates a scathing picture of our society.

The Cake

Animated Film
Croatia
1997
8 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Dragan Švaco (Zagreb Film)
Daniel Šuljić
Božidar Kramarić
Zlata Reić
Stjepan Bartolić, Daniel Šuljić
Daniel Šuljić
Tomislav Babić
Željko Königsknecht
Having a party is fun. So is eating cake. But attention when it’s distributed among the guests: cutting a cake into pieces of exactly the same size is a skill … Daniel Šuljić created what’s presumably the finest animated massacre ever in oil on glass, drawing a scathing picture of our society which, alas, will last.

Duscha Kistler

The Cure

Documentary Film
Croatia
2018
44 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Noah Pintarić
Ana Opalić
Ana Opalić, Martina Zvonić
Ana Opalić
Noah Pintarić, Ana Opalić
Ana Opalić, Jasna Žmak
Nikola Uršić
Tamara holding a cigarette, close-up: “I get depressed without nicotine.” Opening credits. Tamara holding a cigarette, close-up: her voice hoarse, post-surgery and pre-postoperative therapy. With every visit drawing on her cigarette becomes visibly more painful for Tamara. Her body becomes a cocoon and dully rumbling sound box for her oropharyngeal cancer. But the taciturn woman fights back with large, colourful embroideries, gets lost in music and absent looks. Her stubborn addiction doesn’t cave in either, time and again placating her with cigarettes until the scratchiness of this filmed portrait congeals into mild wonder.

Ana films her mother, asks questions when things aren’t self-explanatory. “Coffee and Cigarettes” in unpretentious images, in the simplicity of family life, in a modest kitchen that clearly says “home.” The observer becomes the seismograph of an addiction, which includes warm-hearted gestures towards her addicted mother. The observed woman has the time of her life, because her daughter is capable of recognising beauty as an artist and has both feet firmly on the ground. She herself no longer needs anything. And the cigarettes? For Tamara they are the melancholy reminder of a significant person whom she calls back into her life with the smoke: “I get depressed without nicotine.”

André Eckardt


Nominated for the MDR Film Prize

Filmarchiv

Chris the Swiss

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien,
Finnland,
Deutschland,
Schweiz
2018
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Samir (Dschoint Ventschr), Siniša Juričić (Nukleus Film), Heino Deckert (Ma.ja.de.), Iikka Vehkalahti (IV Films Ltd / p.s.72 productions)
Anja Kofmel
Marcel Vaid
Simon Guy Fässler
Stefan Kälin
Simon Eltz
Anja Kofmel
Daniel Hobi, Marco Teufen, Hrvoje Petek
Christian Würtenberg starb 1992 in Kroatien. Obwohl der junge Schweizer als Journalist gekommen war, trug er die Uniform einer internationalen Miliz, die auf kroatischer Seite im Bürgerkrieg kämpfte. Lange blieb rätselhaft, warum er selbst zur Waffe griff. Seine Cousine, die Filmemacherin Anja Kofmel, hat sich dieser Frage gestellt.

Sie befragt Weggefährten und ergänzt die dokumentarischen Aufnahmen mit düsteren, aufs Wesentliche reduzierten Animationssequenzen, die das narrative Gerüst des Films bilden. Tief eintauchend in die politischen Wirrungen zeichnet der Film nach, wie Chris Teil der nationalistischen, von Opus Dei unterstützten Söldner wurde. Ein politisch bis heute brisanter, visuell beeindruckender Krimi, der zeigt, wie schnell die persönliche Haltung im Krieg versehrt werden kann.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts und den MDR-Filmpreis; Schweizer Filmpreis 2019: Bester Dokumentarfilm, Beste Musik, Beste Montage

Days of Madness

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien,
Slowenien
2018
74 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Oliver Sertić
Damian Nenadić
Miro Manojlović, Filip Sertić
Maja Šćukanec, Mladen Bađun, Damian Nenadić, Srđan Kovačević
Sandra Bastašić
Martin Semenčić
Kventiax, Seroquel, Rivotril, Prazine, Normabel … Wenn Mladen und Maja mit einer Mischung aus Abgeklärtheit und Wut all die psychoaktiven Substanzen aufzählen, die ihr Leben bestimmen und die ihre Körper mit ihren toxischen Nebenwirkungen kaputt machen, glaubt man sich in einem Gespräch über schrecklich penetrante Familienmitglieder. Zu ihrer langen und von zahllosen Klinikaufenthalten bestimmten Krankheitsgeschichte kommt hinzu, dass die echten Familienmitglieder, egal ob längst auf dem örtlichen Friedhof begraben oder als Elternpaar verächtlich aus dem Nebenzimmer herausschimpfend, ebenfalls nicht von ihnen ablassen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Mladen und Maja, die sich in Form videotagebuchartiger Nahaufzeichnungen selbst porträtieren, zeigt Damian Nenadić zwei Menschen, die von der Gesellschaft mit ihrem Leid allein gelassen wurden – oder deren Leid überhaupt erst durch diese hervorgebracht wurde. Majas Borderline-Störung diagnostizierten die Ärzte als Folge ihrer Transgender-Identität. Mladen, der mit Depressionen aus dem Jugoslawienkrieg heimkehrte, wurde von den Eltern erst einmal zum Priester geschickt. „Days of Madness“ schildert den schrittweisen Versuch, die Kontrolle über das von Psychiatrie, Familie und Kirche entwendete Leben ein Stück weit zurückzugewinnen. „Warum ist eine Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörung eine Störung und Nationalismus nicht?“

Esther Buss


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

IKEA for YU

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien,
Schweden
2018
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vera Robić Škarica, Marija Ratković Vidaković
Marija Ratković Vidaković, Dinka Radonić
Siniša Krneta
Dinka Radonić
Damir Čučić
Marija Ratković Vidaković, Dinka Radonić
Johan Bodin, Siniša Krneta
Ein Familien-Selfie vor den „Drei Fäusten“, einem Denkmal für die im Zweiten Weltkrieg getöteten Bürger von Niš, der drittgrößten Stadt im heutigen Serbien. Drei Betonfäuste aus der Zeit des Titoismus ragen in den Himmel: die Faust eines Vaters, die einer Mutter, die eines Kindes. Marija bringt sich in Position, Mutter und Vater stellen sich daneben, der Bruder drückt den Auslöser. Nichts anderes wird auf diesem Bild gespeichert als die gesamte konflikt- und widerspruchsreiche Identitätsgeschichte Jugoslawiens und Ex-Jugoslawiens – eine Geschichte, die noch immer nachzittert und der Marija Ratković Vidaković, unterstützt von Co-Autorin Dinka Radonić, mit diesem persönlichen Familienfilm auf den Grund geht.

Geprägt durch Eltern und Großeltern, die die realsozialistischen Ideen und Werte der Tito-Ära auf dem Balkan noch in sich tragen, muss sich die Dreiunddreißigjährige mit einem paradoxen Identitätserbe auseinandersetzen, das mit ihrer privaten Welt und ihrem Leben in Kroatien kaum etwas zu tun hat. Marija weiß, dass sie dieses Erbe nicht an ihren Sohn weitergeben möchte, und sie weiß, dass es dafür in ihr verblühen muss. „IKEA for YU“ ist das über Jahre entstandene Zeugnis einer Reise in die eigene Familiengeschichte, tief hinein in die intimsten Geflechte, in denen sich eine lange, wendungsreiche Geschichte festgebissen hat. Und eine Reise weit hinaus aus Kroatien.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

On the Water

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien
2018
79 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Hrvoje Osvadić
Goran Dević
Damian Nenadić
Jan Klemsche, Vanja Siruček
Goran Dević
Martin Semenčić
Flüsse mögen einfache geografische Gegebenheiten sein. Darüber hinaus sind sie eloquente Mikromilieus, in denen sich Geschichte und Geschichten abgelagert haben. Durch das Zentrum der kroatischen Industriestadt Sisak fließen die Save, die Kupa und die Odra. Sie waren und sind die Lebensadern der Stadt und der Region. Heute muten diese Flüsse zwar wie pastorale Rückzugsorte an, jedoch liegen dort auch die zahlreichen aus der Vergangenheit kommenden Erzählungen offener zutage als anderswo.

Die Existenzen der Flussanwohner und -nutzer, um die herum Goran Dević seinen Film strukturiert hat, sind überwiegend mit Ereignissen des jugoslawischen Bürgerkriegs und dessen ethnischen und sozialen Konflikten verknüpft. Obwohl inzwischen über zweieinhalb Jahrzehnte zurückliegend, erscheint diese historische Zeit wie eine Parallelwirklichkeit, die ihre Schatten wie ein fortwährendes Trauma über die Protagonisten stülpt. „On the Water“ ist eine poetisch-politische Studie über Wandelbarkeit und Beständigkeit von Menschen und Räumen, wobei die Trennlinie zwischen beiden unscharf bleibt.

Ralph Eue


Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb Langfilm

Srbenka

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien
2018
72 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vanja Jambrović
Nebojša Slijepčević
Nebojša Slijepčević, Bojan Mrđenović, Iva Kraljević
Tomislav Stojanović
Der Kroatienkrieg Anfang der 1990er Jahre wirft nach wie vor lange dunkle Schatten in die Gegenwart. Ressentiments, Vorurteile und Traumata beeinflussen die Bevölkerung, sodass der Konflikt ungebrochen aktuell und schwelend scheint. „Srbenka“ beginnt mit einer Protagonistin, die berichtet, wie es war, als Serbin in Kroatien aufzuwachsen. Bereits in der Schule ist sie deswegen ausgeschlossen, beleidigt und bedroht worden. Ihr tiefer Schmerz trägt sich durch den Film und wird von den anderen Protagonisten geteilt – Serben und Kroaten gleichermaßen.

Slijepčević begleitet die Vorbereitungen einer Theateraufführung unter der Regie von Oliver Frljić. Es geht um die Ermordung eines zwölfjährigen serbischen Mädchens und ihrer Familie 1991 in Zagreb. Immer noch sind die Lager zu dieser Gräueltat gespalten und das Bühnendrama legt den Finger in die Wunde: Wieso sind die Mörder nie verurteilt worden? Wie kann es sein, dass die Ermordung eines Kindes politisch instrumentalisiert wird? Und was ist mit den vielen namenlosen kroatischen Kindern, für die niemand ein Stück schreibt? Die Proben, das Ensemble und die jugendlichen Laiendarstellerinnen ermöglichen eine rohe und emotional aufrüttelnde Spiegelung der Geschehnisse. Sichtbar wird die gesellschaftliche Spaltung und Ratlosigkeit über einen scheinbar unlösbaren Konflikt, der sich in einem seelenlosen Etikettieren von Menschen manifestiert.

Kim Busch


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis

Strictly Animated
The Cake Daniel Šuljić

Das Schneiden von exakt gleich großen Kuchenstücken will gelernt sein ... In diesem wohl schönsten animierten Gemetzel überhaupt entwirft Daniel Šuljić ein bitterböses Bild unserer Gesellschaft.

The Cake

Animationsfilm
Kroatien
1997
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Dragan Švaco (Zagreb Film)
Daniel Šuljić
Božidar Kramarić
Zlata Reić
Stjepan Bartolić, Daniel Šuljić
Daniel Šuljić
Tomislav Babić
Željko Königsknecht
Feste feiern macht Spaß. Kuchen essen ebenfalls. Aber Achtung beim Verteilen unter den Gästen: Das Schneiden von exakt gleich großen Kuchenstücken will gelernt sein ... In Öl auf Glas hat Daniel Šuljić das wohl schönste animierte Gemetzel überhaupt geschaffen und zeichnet damit ein bitterböses Bild unserer Gesellschaft, das leider Bestand hat.

Duscha Kistler

The Cure

Dokumentarfilm
Kroatien
2018
44 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Noah Pintarić
Ana Opalić
Ana Opalić, Martina Zvonić
Ana Opalić
Noah Pintarić, Ana Opalić
Ana Opalić, Jasna Žmak
Nikola Uršić
Tamara mit Zigarette, Großaufnahme: „I get depressed without nicotine.” Titelvorspann. Tamara mit Zigarette, Großaufnahme: Stimme heiser, postoperativ und vor der therapeutischen Weiterbehandlung. Bei jedem Besuch bereitet Tamara der Zug an der Zigarette sichtlich mehr Schmerzen. Ihr Leib verpuppt sich zum dumpf grollenden Resonanzkörper ihres Mundrachenkrebses. Aber die Wortkarge stickt großflächig in bunten Farben dagegen an, verliert sich in Musik und abwesenden Blicken. Ihre eigensinnige Sucht gibt ebenso wenig klein bei, versöhnt immer wieder mit einer Zigarette, sodass das Kratzige des filmischen Porträts zum sanften Staunen gerinnt.

Ana filmt ihre Mutter, fragt nach, wenn Dinge sich nicht selbst erklären. „Coffee and Cigarettes“ in unprätentiösen Aufnahmen, in der Schlichtheit des familiären Alltags, in einer bescheidenen Küche, die unverkennbar „Zuhause“ ausstrahlt. Die Beobachtende wird zum Seismografen einer Sucht, mit liebevollen Gesten gegenüber ihrer süchtigen Mutter. Die Beobachtete hat die beste Zeit ihres Lebens, weil ihre Tochter als Künstlerin fähig ist, Schönheit zu erkennen, und mitten im Leben steht. Sie selbst braucht nun nichts mehr. Und die Zigarette? Sie ist für Tamara die schwermütige Erinnerung an jemanden von Bedeutung. Den holt sie sich mit dem Rauch in ihr Leben zurück: „I get depressed without nicotine.”

André Eckardt


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis