Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

None of Your Business

Documentary Film
Czech Republic,
Iran
2019
64 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kaveh Farnam
Kamran Heidari
Kamran Heidari, Mansour Vahdani
Kamran Heidari
Saeideh Keshavarzi, Kamran Heidari
Ali Farmani
How he lived and died is nobody’s business, the singer Ebrahim Monsefi sings in a song documented in a video flickering with decay. It comes at the end of a film whose very existence asserts the opposite, because it narrates precisely that life, which was shaped by his love of music and a crash caused by the loss of loved ones. It started in the traditionally cosmopolitan southern Iranian seaport of Bandar Abbas at the Strait of Hormuz. There is even a (deserted) Hindu temple there, where the orphan grew up with his grandfather, surrounded by music from all over the world that was absorbed and interpreted by the locals. Thus Ebram learned to play the guitar at an early age and became a local star as a singer-songwriter, before he became addicted to heroin and died in 1997.

Today his songs are popular standards in the region. And catchy melancholy tunes which, in archive footage of Ebram himself and street sets of contemporary performers, become the vibrant framework of Kamran Heidari’s film. Added to this are restagings of individual stations of his life. And the artist as a spirit whose emerging, almost pathological obsession with femininity can also be read as a comment on the worldview of the never explicitly mentioned Islamic Revolution. Thus the film is more a parable than a biography, but also the portrait of a fascinating, vibrant city.

Silvia Hallensleben

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Kids DOK
On the Same Wavelength Radoslava Lacková

While working on his wooden house, the little boy is visited by an alien creature. The little monster is looking for kindred spirits and an adventurous journey begins.

On the Same Wavelength

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2018
6 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor
Radoslava Lacková
Noemi Valentíny
Radoslava Lacková
Josef Erla
Radoslava Lacková
Radoslava Lacková
Zuzana Švancarová
While working on his wooden house, the little boy is visited by an alien creature. The little monster is looking for kindred spirits and an adventurous journey begins. But all the animals they meet turn out to be the wrong companions for the little monster. After many adventures together the two realise that the search was unnecessary because they are a perfect match.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Call of the Wild

Documentary Film
Czech Republic
2019
40 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ondřej Šejnoha
Karolína Peroutková
Matěj Chrudina
Karolína Peroutková
Ilona Malá
Karolína Peroutková
Vojtěch Zavadil
“The best thing in the world is to break the law.” A hobby fervently pursued by twelve-year-old Michal and his younger brother, Karel. They steal chocolate, spray, trespass on properties, drink alcohol, smoke, play with fire. Director Karolína Peroutková is admitted, becomes a witness and occasionally (well-behaved) accomplice of experiences that play out somewhere between absolute freedom and neglect. Where Peroutková can’t go, the boys themselves take over the direction of the film.

Carolin Weidner

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

The Kite

Animated Film
Czech Republic,
Poland,
Slovakia
2019
13 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Peter Badač
Martin Smatana
Aliaksander Yasinski
Ondřej Nedvěd
Lucie Navrátilová
Martin Smatana, Martyna Koleniec, Łukasz Grynda, Matouš Valchař, Stanisław Szostak, Piotr Chmielewski
Martin Smatana
Viera Marinová
How nice to be able to drop by at grandfather’s on your way home and discover the world with him. A homemade kite makes the grandkid’s heart beat faster and remains an important tie to grandfather – even after he dies. A puppet animation about how to deal with grief which shows that two people can be close even beyond death.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Kids DOK
The Witch Anna Němečková

There’s a long queue of feathered villagers and two-legged vegetables waiting in front of the little witch’s cabin. They hope to be turned back into their human shape.

The Witch

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2018
4 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Faculty of Multimedia Communications, Tomáš Baťa University Zlín
Anna Němečková
Jáchym Nádvorník
Natália Bučková
Anna Němečková
Anna Němečková
Jáchym Nádvorník
There’s a long queue of feathered villagers and two-legged vegetables waiting in front of the little witch’s cabin. They all hope to be turned back into their human shape by a magic potion. The witch is brewing potions non-stop – no transformation is impossible! But watch out: One shouldn’t be too choosy with such a powerful sorceress.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Kids DOK
Wolf Paths Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal

Having to stay sick at home – it’s enough to quickly make even monster films on television become boring. Could there be any adventures waiting on your doorstep?

Wolf Paths

Animated Film
Czech Republic
2018
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Zuzana Dědochavá
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Julie Rokseth, Andreas Rokseth
Michal Orsava
Noemi Valentíny, Filip Diviak
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Pavel Vrtěl
Vojtěch Dočkal
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Having to stay sick at home – it’s enough to quickly make even monster films on television become boring. Could there be any adventures waiting on your doorstep? Dressed up warm, the little boy sets out into the forest and meets an unexpected companion. Suddenly the long days in bed aren’t so bad any more. Or was it all just a dream?

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

None of Your Business

Dokumentarfilm
2019
64 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kaveh Farnam
Kamran Heidari
Kamran Heidari, Mansour Vahdani
Kamran Heidari
Saeideh Keshavarzi, Kamran Heidari
Ali Farmani
Es gehe niemanden etwas an, wie er gelebt habe und gestorben sei. So der Sänger Ebrahim Monsefi in einem Lied, das in einem vor Altersschwäche flackernden Video dokumentiert ist. Dieses steht am Ende eines Films, der durch sein Dasein das Gegenteil behauptet. Denn er erzählt genau von diesem Leben, das von der Liebe zur Musik und dem Absturz durch den Verlust geliebter Menschen geprägt war. Es begann in der traditionell weltoffenen südiranischen Hafenstadt Bandar Abbas an der Straße von Hormus. Sogar einen (verlassenen) Hindutempel gibt es, in dem die Waise beim Großvater aufwuchs. Um sich herum Musik aus aller Welt, die von den Einheimischen aufgesogen und adaptiert wurde. So kam auch Ebram früh zur Gitarre und wurde als Singer-Songwriter zu einem lokalen Star, bevor er dem Heroin verfiel und 1997 starb.

Heute sind seine Songs in der Region populäre Standards. Und melancholische Ohrwürmer, die in Kamran Heidaris Film in Archivaufnahmen mit Ebram selbst und Straßensets aktueller Interpreten zum vibrierenden Grundgerüst werden. Dazu die Reinszenierung einzelner Lebensstationen. Und der Künstler als Geist, dessen aufkommende, fast krankhafte Besessenheit vom Weiblichen sich auch als Kommentar zum Weltbild der explizit nicht erwähnten Islamischen Revolution lesen lässt. So ist der Film mehr Parabel als Biografie, aber auch Porträt einer faszinierenden, vitalen Stadt.

Silvia Hallensleben

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Kids DOK
On the Same Wavelength Radoslava Lacková

Der kleine Junge bekommt Besuch von einem fremden Wesen, als er an seinem Holzhaus bastelt. Das kleine Monster sucht Gleichgesinnte und eine abenteuerliche Reise beginnt.

On the Same Wavelength

Animationsfilm
2018
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lukáš Gregor
Radoslava Lacková
Noemi Valentíny
Radoslava Lacková
Josef Erla
Radoslava Lacková
Radoslava Lacková
Zuzana Švancarová
Der kleine Junge bekommt Besuch von einem fremden Wesen, als er an seinem Holzhaus bastelt. Das kleine Monster sucht Gleichgesinnte und eine abenteuerliche Reise beginnt. Aber alle Tiere, die sie treffen, sind doch nicht die richtigen Gefährten für das kleine Monster. Nach den gemeinsamen Abenteuern stellen die beiden fest, dass die Suche unnötig war, denn sie passen ganz wunderbar zueinander.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Call of the Wild

Dokumentarfilm
2019
40 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ondřej Šejnoha
Karolína Peroutková
Matěj Chrudina
Karolína Peroutková
Ilona Malá
Karolína Peroutková
Vojtěch Zavadil
„Das Beste auf der Welt ist, das Gesetz zu brechen.“ Ein Hobby, das der zwölfjährige Michal und sein jüngerer Bruder Karel inbrünstig betreiben. Sie stehlen Schokolade, sprayen, betreten unbefugt Grundstücke, trinken Alkohol, rauchen, zündeln. Regisseurin Karolína Peroutková erhält Einlass, wird Zeugin und teils auch (artige) Komplizin eines Erlebens, das sich irgendwo zwischen großer Freiheit und Verwahrlosung abspielt. Wo Peroutková nicht hinkommt, übernehmen die Jungen selbst die Regie.

Carolin Weidner

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

The Kite

Animationsfilm
2019
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Peter Badač
Martin Smatana
Aliaksander Yasinski
Ondřej Nedvěd
Lucie Navrátilová
Martin Smatana, Martyna Koleniec, Łukasz Grynda, Matouš Valchař, Stanisław Szostak, Piotr Chmielewski
Martin Smatana
Viera Marinová
Wie schön, wenn man auf dem Nachhauseweg einfach bei Opa vorbeischauen und mit ihm die Welt entdecken darf. Ein selbstgebastelter Drache lässt das Enkelkind-Herz höherschlagen und bleibt eine wichtige Verbindung zum Großvater – auch nachdem er gestorben ist. Eine Puppenanimation über den Umgang mit Trauer, die zeigt, dass sich zwei Menschen auch über den Tod hinaus nahe sein können.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Kids DOK
The Witch Anna Němečková

Vor dem Haus der kleinen Hexe wartet eine lange Schlange von gefiederten Dorfbewohnern und Gemüse auf zwei Beinen. Sie hoffen darauf, zurück in ihre menschliche Gestalt verwandelt zu werden.

The Witch

Animationsfilm
2018
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Faculty of Multimedia Communications, Tomáš Baťa University Zlín
Anna Němečková
Jáchym Nádvorník
Natália Bučková
Anna Němečková
Anna Němečková
Jáchym Nádvorník
Vor dem Haus der kleinen Hexe wartet eine lange Schlange von gefiederten Dorfbewohnern und Gemüse auf zwei Beinen. Sie alle hoffen darauf, mit einem Zaubertrank zurück in ihre menschliche Gestalt verwandelt zu werden. Am laufenden Band mischt die Hexe Zaubertränke – keine Verwandlung, die nicht hinzukriegen wäre! Aber Achtung: Allzu wählerisch sollte man bei einer so mächtigen Zauberin nicht sein.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Kids DOK
Wolf Paths Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal

Krank zu Hause bleiben müssen – da werden sogar die Monsterfilme im Fernseher schnell langweilig. Gibt es vielleicht Abenteuer, die gleich vor der eigenen Haustür warten?

Wolf Paths

Animationsfilm
2018
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Zuzana Dědochavá
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Julie Rokseth, Andreas Rokseth
Michal Orsava
Noemi Valentíny, Filip Diviak
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Pavel Vrtěl
Vojtěch Dočkal
Noemi Valentíny, Vojtěch Dočkal
Krank zu Hause bleiben müssen – da werden sogar die Monsterfilme im Fernseher schnell langweilig. Gibt es vielleicht Abenteuer, die gleich vor der eigenen Haustür warten? Warm angezogen macht sich der kleine Junge auf den Weg in den Wald und begegnet einem unerwarteten Gefährten. Auf einmal sind die langen Tage im Krankenbett gar nicht mehr so schlimm. Oder war alles nur ein Traum?

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.