Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Mr Sand

Animadoc
Belgium,
Denmark
2016
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

The Animation Workshop
Soetkin Verstegen
Andrea Martignoni
The audience panicked when they saw the first moving images of a train arriving at a station. Pure immersive cinema. In her ingenious kaleidoscope, Belgian artist Soetkin Verstegen employs analogue animation film techniques to arrange reminiscences to early cinema as a world that enthralled audiences through fear, thrills and delight. Her tribute goes back to the horror stories, to the circus and the showmen who played their part in the invention of a cinema that may soon be gone.

Cornelia Klauß
International Competition (from 2015) 2016
The War Show Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon

In 2011 Obaidah started to film herself and her friends, a cheerful group of artists in Syria. The film turns into a document of the war, from the revolution via Islamism to doom – and into a requiem.

The War Show

Documentary Film
Denmark
2016
104 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Miriam Nørgaard, Alaa Hassan
Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon
Colin Stetson
Obaidah Zytoon, Amr Kheito, Hisham Issa, Wasim Zahra, Dana Bakdounes
Adam Nielsen
Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon
In her live radio show Obaidah Zytoon plays the sound of the Syrian revolution. That’s how, in March 2011, her personal journey into the unknown started, full of hope and boundless energy. She is the narrator who introduces us to her friends, young people with an academic or artistic background who like to have parties on the beach or smoke hash in someone’s apartment. Elective affinities, united by the dream of a free life and ready to pay a high price. Together they also go out into the streets to film the protests. They produce what they believe the regime fears most: images. But then the events in the streets escalate and the images with them.

More and more frequently, Obaidah reflects, actions are performed for the camera. And yet the “War Show” is real in a brutal way. Travelling all over Syria, always in the line of fire and on the threshold of the next level of escalation, she documents the dynamics of war in seven chapters, from “Revolution” to “Extremism”. But it’s the personal narrative that puts everything in perspective. Obaidah Zytoon and Andreas Dalsgaard have viewed more than 400 hours of materials to shape this story which lets us experience how a departure is followed by a bottomless fall and how images help shape reality. What started as a video diary and digital grass roots movement becomes a requiem.

Lars Meyer



Honorary Mention in the International Competition 2016

International Programme 2016
What He Did Jonas Poher Rasmussen

A spectacular murder case: in 1988, Jens killed his boyfriend, a well-known writer. The reconstruction of a fatal amour fou, and questions of guilt and punishment.

What He Did

Documentary Film
Denmark
2016
62 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jesper Jack
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Nadim Carlsen
Anders Skov
Lasse Smith
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Martin Dirkov
Crime story or love story? In 1988 Jens Michael Schau killed his life partner and fellow writer Christian Kampmann in the heat of passion. The media picked up the story because Christian was a famous writer in Denmark. Though Jens has long since served his sentence he still hides in his flat like a shy animal for fear of disturbing people by his mere presence. But the time has come for him, too: his story – the one behind the tragedy – must out. Protected by his own four walls Jens starts to engage with the camera, circling it hesitantly, always wary of himself. The director’s cautious questions from off-screen open a gateway to the past: an unconditional love which was also the psychology major’s coming out and the break with his conservative family.

The trip back through time to the liberal homosexual Copenhagen of the 70s and 80s ends in an emotional maelstrom of separation anxiety, jealousy and writer’s envy. Jens’s long overdue return to society plays out on two levels: the words he forces himself to say are reflected in the rehearsals for an autobiographical play. Jonas Poher Rasmussen in turn uses the actors to formulate his own questions about the subject: how can this story be told at all – and how do you live with it?

Lars Meyer

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Mr Sand

Animadok
Belgien,
Dänemark
2016
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

The Animation Workshop
Soetkin Verstegen
Andrea Martignoni
Das Publikum geriet angesichts der ersten Filmbilder von einem einfahrenden Zug in Panik. Immersives Kino pur. In ihrem kunstvollen Kaleidoskop arrangiert die belgische Künstlerin Soetkin Verstegen mit den analogen Techniken des Trickfilms Reminiszenzen an das frühe Kino als eine Welt, die mit Angst, Schauer und Lust ihre Zuschauer in Bann schlug. Ihre Hommage geht zurück zu den Gruselgeschichten, zum Zirkus und zu den Schaustellern, die das Kino, das es so vielleicht bald nicht mehr geben wird, miterfanden.

Cornelia Klauß
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2016
The War Show Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon

Ab 2011 filmt Obaidah sich und ihre Freunde, eine fröhliche Künstlerclique in Syrien. Daraus wird ein Dokument des Krieges, von der Revolution über den Islamismus ins Verderben – und ein Requiem.

The War Show

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2016
104 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Miriam Nørgaard, Alaa Hassan
Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon
Colin Stetson
Obaidah Zytoon, Amr Kheito, Hisham Issa, Wasim Zahra, Dana Bakdounes
Adam Nielsen
Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon
Obaidah Zytoon legt in ihrer Live-Radio-Sendung den Sound zur syrischen Revolution auf. So beginnt im März 2011 ihre persönliche Reise ins Ungewisse, voller Hoffnung und mit ungebremster Energie. Als Erzählerin macht sie uns mit ihren Freunden bekannt: junge Leute aus Akademiker- und Künstlerkreisen, die gern am Strand feiern oder in der Wohnung gemeinsam kiffen. Wahlverwandte, geeint durch den Traum von einem freien Leben und bereit, einen hohen Preis dafür zu zahlen. Zusammen gehen sie auch auf die Straße und filmen die Proteste. Sie produzieren, wovon sie glauben, dass es das Regime am meisten fürchtet: Bilder. Doch dann entfesseln sich die Ereignisse auf der Straße und mit ihnen die Bilder.

Immer öfter, so reflektiert Obaidah, finden die Handlungen für die Kamera statt. Und doch ist die „War Show“ auf brutale Weise real. Unterwegs in ganz Syrien, immer im Fadenkreuz und an der Schwelle zur nächsten Eskalationsstufe, dokumentiert sie in sieben Kapiteln die Dynamik des Krieges: von „Revolution“ bis „Extremismus“. Doch es ist die persönliche Erzählung, die alles in eine Perspektive rückt. Aus über 400 Stunden Material haben Obaidah Zytoon und Andreas Dalsgaard die Geschichte geformt, die erfahrbar macht, wie aus einem Aufbruch ein Fall ins Bodenlose folgt und wie die Bilder die Realität mitprägen. Was als Videotagebuch und digitale Graswurzelbewegung beginnt, wird zum Requiem.

Lars Meyer



Lobende Erwähnung im Internationalen Wettbewerb 2016

Internationales Programm 2016
What He Did Jonas Poher Rasmussen

Ein spektakulärer Mordfall: 1988 tötete Jens seinen Partner, einen prominenten Schriftsteller. Rekonstruktion einer verhängnisvollen Amour fou und Fragen nach Schuld und Sühne.

What He Did

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2016
62 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jesper Jack
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Nadim Carlsen
Anders Skov
Lasse Smith
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Martin Dirkov
Kriminal- oder Liebesgeschichte? 1988 tötete Jens Michael Schau im Affekt seinen Lebenspartner und Schriftstellerkollegen Christian Kampmann. Der Fall ging durch die Medien, denn Christian war als Autor eine Berühmtheit in Dänemark. Obwohl Jens seine Strafe längst abgebüßt hat, versteckt er sich bis heute wie ein scheues Tier in seiner Wohnung, aus Angst, die Menschen durch seine bloße Anwesenheit zu verletzen. Doch auch für ihn kommt die Zeit: Seine Geschichte – die hinter der Tragödie – muss heraus. Im Schutz seiner vier Wände lässt sich Jens auf die Kamera ein, die er zögerlich umkreist, stets auf der Hut vor sich selbst. Aus dem Off eröffnen ihm die behutsamen Nachfragen des Regisseurs den Weg in die Vergangenheit: eine bedingungslose Liebe, die für den Psychologiestudenten damals zugleich das Coming-out und den Bruch mit seiner konservativen Familie bedeutete.

Die Zeitreise durch das liberale homosexuelle Kopenhagen der 1970er und 80er Jahre mündet in einen Gefühlswirbel aus Verlustängsten, Eifersucht und Literatenneid. Jens’ überfällige Rückkehr in die Gesellschaft vollzieht sich im Film doppelt: Die Worte, die er sich abringt, spiegeln sich situativ in den Bühnenproben zu einem autobiografischen Theaterstück. Mittels der Darsteller formuliert wiederum Jonas Poher Rasmussen seine eigenen Fragen an den Stoff: Wie lässt sich diese Geschichte erzählen – und wie mit ihr leben?

Lars Meyer