Film Archive

Photographer of War

Documentary Film
Denmark
2019
78 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Katrine A. Sahlstrøm
Boris Benjamin Bertram
Tobias Wilner Bertram
Tony Lauge Madsen, Adam Philp, Henrik Bohn Ipsen, Marcel Zyskind, Boris Bertram, Thøger Kappel
Charlotte Munch Bengtsen
Jan Grarup is a photographer with heart and soul. His pictures of war zones have made him famous. But even at home, in his house in Copenhagen, everything is dominated by the medium: “The lens has been in the American Civil War,” Grarup proudly announces when he welcomes the French star philosopher Bernard-Henri Lévy for a portrait session. The film by Boris Benjamin Bertram meets Grarup at a moment when everything changes: The woman with whom he has four children has been diagnosed with a brain tumour. Grarup, presumably an adventurer rather than a responsible father and partner before, must take care of things now. And when he goes to the frontline against the Islamic State in Iraq, he knows that he must come home safely because he owes it to his children.

Bertram’s film is both intimate and discreet. Jan Grarup opens up; he shows his tattooed body at the doctor or the hotel, he lets the filmmaker share, as much as possible, the daily life of a war photographer. Older, originally private recordings of past family life make the present-day scenes more urgent: Photography (and film) are truly revealed as a medium against death here.

Bert Rebhandl

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Doel

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Denmark
2018
67 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mathilde Hvid Lippmann, Frederik Sølberg
Frederik Sølberg
Anders Rhedin, Anders Bertram Mannov, Lavvi Ebbel
Jonathan Wannyn
Mads Hedegaard
Frederik Sølberg
Andreas Sandborg, Neal Willaert
24 Cafés and three bakeries, a ferry, a butcher’s shop and a supermarket. That was Doel in its heyday. Today the city has a reputation as an adventure park for adults. Illegal car racing and techno raves fill the streets by night, during the day tourists in mini-buses debate whether graffiti are a form of art or just a sign of the decline (of manners). In his portrait of Doel, however, Frederik Sølberg doesn’t film the abandoned houses on the background of Antwerp’s expanding harbour but focuses on the people who have remained in their hometown. Some in defiance of the constraints of the situation, others because they see a chance to open up new spaces for themselves here.

Sølberg’s warm-hearted observations of the residents raise the question of the right to a home. Where is the people’s place when globalisation gobbles up their traditional spaces? The community of old and young people fight the dilapidation of the houses with gallows humour and an awareness of their curious situation. They aren’t ready yet to give up their home. Sølberg manages to capture the points of intersection between the residents, adventure tourists and the tuning scene, who share this place without really meeting.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Mr Sand

Animadoc
Belgium,
Denmark
2016
8 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
The Animation Workshop
Soetkin Verstegen
Andrea Martignoni
The audience panicked when they saw the first moving images of a train arriving at a station. Pure immersive cinema. In her ingenious kaleidoscope, Belgian artist Soetkin Verstegen employs analogue animation film techniques to arrange reminiscences to early cinema as a world that enthralled audiences through fear, thrills and delight. Her tribute goes back to the horror stories, to the circus and the showmen who played their part in the invention of a cinema that may soon be gone.

Cornelia Klauß

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

What He Did

Documentary Film
Denmark
2016
62 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jesper Jack
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Nadim Carlsen
Anders Skov
Lasse Smith
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Martin Dirkov
Crime story or love story? In 1988 Jens Michael Schau killed his life partner and fellow writer Christian Kampmann in the heat of passion. The media picked up the story because Christian was a famous writer in Denmark. Though Jens has long since served his sentence he still hides in his flat like a shy animal for fear of disturbing people by his mere presence. But the time has come for him, too: his story – the one behind the tragedy – must out. Protected by his own four walls Jens starts to engage with the camera, circling it hesitantly, always wary of himself. The director’s cautious questions from off-screen open a gateway to the past: an unconditional love which was also the psychology major’s coming out and the break with his conservative family.

The trip back through time to the liberal homosexual Copenhagen of the 70s and 80s ends in an emotional maelstrom of separation anxiety, jealousy and writer’s envy. Jens’s long overdue return to society plays out on two levels: the words he forces himself to say are reflected in the rehearsals for an autobiographical play. Jonas Poher Rasmussen in turn uses the actors to formulate his own questions about the subject: how can this story be told at all – and how do you live with it?

Lars Meyer

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Pervert Park

Documentary Film
Denmark,
Sweden
2014
75 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Frida Barkfors, Anne Köhncke
Frida Barkfors, Lasse Barkfors
Julian Winding
Lasse Barkfors
Signe Rebekka Kaufann, Lasse Barkfors
Frida Barkfors, Lasse Barkfors
Frida Barkfors, Frank Mølgaard Knudsen
Sexual offenses are surely among the most horrible things people can do to each other. There seems to be a broad social consensus on how to deal with the offenders. In the U.S. their photos are posted publicly. When they have served their prison sentence they are not allowed to live near places regularly frequented by children. Only social projects like the one in Florida portrayed by Frida and Lasse Barkfors help them deal with their crimes and find their way back to life. In tranquil images the directors record the daily life of this “gated community”, getting very close to some of the roughly 120 men and women who live there. Harrowing and very different stories unfold in concentrated intimacy, some of them about violence and abuse and a lifelong struggle for dignity and human warmth, some of them the stories of lives thrown off track. They are all about how to deal with one’s crime and how to live with it.

But we also meet people who have been caught in a system that, in a mixture of social hysteria and a profit-oriented legal system, has turned the punishment of alleged sexual offenders into a perfidious business model. This film makes one re-consider the term “pervert”.

Grit Lemke

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Balcony Tales

Documentary Film
Cuba,
Denmark
2013
36 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ellen Riis
Helle Windeløv-Lidzélius
Christian Schrøder, Max Bering, Peter Johansson, Christer Windeløv-Lidzélius
Adam Morris Philp, Denis Guerra Ribas, Rocío Aballí Hernández
Mette Esmark, Nanna Frank Møller
Helle Windeløv-Lidzélius, Janis Reyes Hernández
Niels Arild
Everybody in the city of Havana knows that it’s better to walk in the middle of the street and not on the sidewalk, where you may be hit by a crumbling balcony. Still: the balcony is a loyal friend, connecting people with their neighbours, the hawkers, the noise and smell of the street. Ceci has spent his whole life here. Now he is old and blind, but not alone. He has his balcony, from which he shops, hears important news and calls for Edilia, a young woman from the opposite side of the street who takes care of him like a daughter. This warm-hearted, unspectacular relationship forms the framework for a filmic declaration of love to the balconies of Havana. Each of them has their own story, their own soul and magic. It’s a bitter thing for anyone not to have one, for then you are cut off from life, which displays the full panorama of human diversity only to the viewer from above.
Matthias Heeder

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
The Agreement Karen Stokkendal Poulsen

The negotiations for the independence of Kosovo. Two parties, an EU facilitator. A political thriller as a chamber play where even the colour of a tie becomes a tactical detail.

The Agreement

Documentary Film
Denmark
2014
52 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vibeke Vogel
Karen Stokkendal Poulsen
Steffen Breum
Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, Lars Skree, Marie Billegrav
Anders Villadsen
Esa Nissi
How does it look and feel when the status quo of history is challenged? Like a sinister poker game or more like a brightly lit meeting? Will there be casual affability or will the sparks fly? And what about tactics? Had you better sit with your back to the wall or to the window? And how careful must one be about the choice of one’s tie? Danish filmmaker Karen Stokkendal Poulsen wants to know: with immense curiosity and equal reserve she keeps watching the several week long final round of the long negotiations between Serbia and Kosovo in 2012. The goal is to delicately settle a smouldering conflict, or rather: to pave a long-term path towards peaceful coexistence that both sides can take. The complicated dialogue is moderated and hosted by EU facilitator Robert Cooper. The opponents are Edita Tahiri, deputy Minister President of Kosovo, and Borko Stefanović, chief negotiator for Serbia. Each of the three main protagonists acts as the representative of a cause and an individual personality – two sides that do not always merge seamlessly. Precisely speaking, these agents are the key characters of a drama that may rarely leave its main stage, the conference room – but is still more exciting than many a global thriller. Instructive and moving. Direct Cinema at its best!
Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

International Programme
Dance For Me Katerine Philp

The teenagers Yegor and Mie are on their way to the international elite of Latin-American dancing. Glamour – and homesickness, sweat, pain, deprivations. What’s your dream worth to you?

Dance For Me

Documentary Film
Denmark
2012
80 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Lise Saxtrup
Katerine Philp
Uno Helmersson
Sophia Olsson, Niels Thastum, Sturla Brandth Grøvlen
Signe Rebekka Kaufmann
Katrine Philp
Rumba, Jive, and Paso doble. Everything in Mie’s and Yegor’s life revolves around dancing. The two teenagers are professional Latin American ballroom dancers and one hundred percent dedicated to being among the best one day and becoming unforgettable legends of the dance floor. Their circumstances of life, however, are anything but ordinary. Denmark, a country with a great dance tradition and ambitious dance schools, has an obvious problem with lack of young talents in this field. Russian Yegor, who came to Denmark as a teenager, lives with his dance partner’s family. His welfare and continued residence in the country depend entirely on his athletic success.
At first the two seem like the perfect couple on the dance floor. But Yegor is struggling with homesickness and has great difficulties finding his way around the new environment, language and culture. Mie in turn is suffering from Yegor’s taciturnity and the distance between the two begins to emerge in training sessions and performances. After a while they find a way to open up to each other and understand what it really means to dance as a couple. Katrine Philp paints a highly sensitive portrait of an unusual family and work relationship, capturing the highly artificial and styled world of ballroom dancing in aesthetic images.

Lina Dinkla

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Jazz That Nobody Asked For

Animated Film
Denmark
2013
4 minutes
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Esben Fisker
Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Pawel Binczycki, Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Pawel Binczycki
A young man is clearing out his departed fathers’ estate. Among his belongings he finds a box with a most peculiar content: a jazz band! They start to follow him wherever he goes. What a nightmare!

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Miniyamba – Walking Blues

Animated Film
Denmark,
France
2012
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vibeke Windeløv
Luc Perez
Moussa Diallo, Yann Coppier
Luc Perez
Luc Perez
Luc Perez
Michel Fessler, Luc Perez
Yann Coppier
Every day thousands of people across the globe leave their homes. One day, Abdu from Mali joins them – Europe glitters in the distance. On his odyssey from the River Niger to the barbed wire of the Spanish refugee camp of Ceuta the young man encounters some harsh realities. How many of his dreams could possibly survive?

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Internationales Programm
Photographer of War Boris Benjamin Bertram

Ein Porträt von Jan Grarup, Kriegsfotograf mit Leib und Seele, Familienvater mit vier Kindern – ein Mann zwischen großem Abenteuer und großer Verantwortung.

Photographer of War

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2019
78 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Katrine A. Sahlstrøm
Boris Benjamin Bertram
Tobias Wilner Bertram
Tony Lauge Madsen, Adam Philp, Henrik Bohn Ipsen, Marcel Zyskind, Boris Bertram, Thøger Kappel
Charlotte Munch Bengtsen
Jan Grarup ist Fotograf mit Leib und Seele. Seine Bilder aus Kriegsgebieten haben ihn berühmt gemacht. Aber auch daheim, in seinem Haus in Kopenhagen, steht alles im Zeichen des Mediums: „Die Linse war im Amerikanischen Bürgerkrieg“, sagt Grarup stolz, als er den französischen Starphilosophen Bernard-Henri Lévy zu einer Porträtsitzung empfängt. Der Film von Boris Benjamin Bertram trifft auf Grarup in einem Moment, in dem sich alles ändert: Die Frau, mit der er vier Kinder hat, ist an einem Gehirntumor erkrankt. Grarup, davor wohl eher ein Abenteurer als ein verantwortungsvoller Vater und Partner, muss sich nun kümmern. Und er weiß, wenn er im Irak an die Front gegen den Islamischen Staat geht, dass er heil wieder nach Hause kommen muss, weil er das seinen Kindern schuldet.

Bertrams Film ist zugleich intim und diskret. Jan Grarup öffnet sich, er zeigt seinen über und über tätowierten Körper beim Arzt oder im Hotel, er nimmt den Filmemacher so weit wie möglich in den Alltag eines Kriegsfotografen mit. Ältere, ursprünglich private Aufnahmen aus einem vergangenen Familienleben machen die Gegenwartsszenen noch dringlicher: Fotografie (und Film) wird hier tatsächlich als ein Medium gegen den Tod erkennbar.

Bert Rebhandl

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Doel

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Dänemark
2018
67 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Mathilde Hvid Lippmann, Frederik Sølberg
Frederik Sølberg
Anders Rhedin, Anders Bertram Mannov, Lavvi Ebbel
Jonathan Wannyn
Mads Hedegaard
Frederik Sølberg
Andreas Sandborg, Neal Willaert
24 Cafés und drei Bäckereien, eine Fähre, eine Metzgerei und ein Supermarkt. Das war Doel in seinen glorreichen Zeiten. Heute eilt der Stadt ein Ruf als Abenteuerpark für Erwachsene voraus. Illegale Autorennen und Techno-Raves füllen die Straßen bei Nacht, und bei Tag diskutieren Touristen in Kleinbussen, ob Graffitis schon Kunst sind oder nur Zeichen des (Sitten-)Verfalls. Anstatt jedoch die verlassenen Häuser vor der Kulisse des expandierenden Hafens von Antwerpen zu filmen, widmet sich Frederik Sølberg in seinem Porträt von Doel den Menschen, die in ihrer Heimatstadt zum Leben geblieben sind. Manche aus Trotz gegen den Zwang der Verhältnisse, andere, weil sie hier die Chance sehen, sich neue Freiräume zu erschließen.

Mit liebevollen Beobachtungen der Bewohner stellt Sølberg die Frage nach dem Recht auf Heimat. Wo ist der Platz der Menschen, wenn die Globalisierung hungrig deren angestammte Räume frisst? Die Gemeinschaft aus Jung und Alt wehrt sich gegen den Verfall der Häuser mit Galgenhumor und einem Bewusstsein für ihre kuriose Lage. Sie sind noch nicht bereit, ihre Heimat aufzugeben. Dabei gelingt es Sølberg, die Berührungspunkte von Bewohnern, Abenteuertouristen und Tuning-Szene einzufangen, die sich diesen Ort teilen, ohne sich wirklich zu begegnen.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Mr Sand

Animadok
Belgien,
Dänemark
2016
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
The Animation Workshop
Soetkin Verstegen
Andrea Martignoni
Das Publikum geriet angesichts der ersten Filmbilder von einem einfahrenden Zug in Panik. Immersives Kino pur. In ihrem kunstvollen Kaleidoskop arrangiert die belgische Künstlerin Soetkin Verstegen mit den analogen Techniken des Trickfilms Reminiszenzen an das frühe Kino als eine Welt, die mit Angst, Schauer und Lust ihre Zuschauer in Bann schlug. Ihre Hommage geht zurück zu den Gruselgeschichten, zum Zirkus und zu den Schaustellern, die das Kino, das es so vielleicht bald nicht mehr geben wird, miterfanden.

Cornelia Klauß

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
What He Did Jonas Poher Rasmussen

Ein spektakulärer Mordfall: 1988 tötete Jens seinen Partner, einen prominenten Schriftsteller. Rekonstruktion einer verhängnisvollen Amour fou und Fragen nach Schuld und Sühne.

What He Did

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2016
62 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jesper Jack
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Nadim Carlsen
Anders Skov
Lasse Smith
Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Martin Dirkov
Kriminal- oder Liebesgeschichte? 1988 tötete Jens Michael Schau im Affekt seinen Lebenspartner und Schriftstellerkollegen Christian Kampmann. Der Fall ging durch die Medien, denn Christian war als Autor eine Berühmtheit in Dänemark. Obwohl Jens seine Strafe längst abgebüßt hat, versteckt er sich bis heute wie ein scheues Tier in seiner Wohnung, aus Angst, die Menschen durch seine bloße Anwesenheit zu verletzen. Doch auch für ihn kommt die Zeit: Seine Geschichte – die hinter der Tragödie – muss heraus. Im Schutz seiner vier Wände lässt sich Jens auf die Kamera ein, die er zögerlich umkreist, stets auf der Hut vor sich selbst. Aus dem Off eröffnen ihm die behutsamen Nachfragen des Regisseurs den Weg in die Vergangenheit: eine bedingungslose Liebe, die für den Psychologiestudenten damals zugleich das Coming-out und den Bruch mit seiner konservativen Familie bedeutete.

Die Zeitreise durch das liberale homosexuelle Kopenhagen der 1970er und 80er Jahre mündet in einen Gefühlswirbel aus Verlustängsten, Eifersucht und Literatenneid. Jens’ überfällige Rückkehr in die Gesellschaft vollzieht sich im Film doppelt: Die Worte, die er sich abringt, spiegeln sich situativ in den Bühnenproben zu einem autobiografischen Theaterstück. Mittels der Darsteller formuliert wiederum Jonas Poher Rasmussen seine eigenen Fragen an den Stoff: Wie lässt sich diese Geschichte erzählen – und wie mit ihr leben?

Lars Meyer

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Pervert Park

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark,
Schweden
2014
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Frida Barkfors, Anne Köhncke
Frida Barkfors, Lasse Barkfors
Julian Winding
Lasse Barkfors
Signe Rebekka Kaufann, Lasse Barkfors
Frida Barkfors, Lasse Barkfors
Frida Barkfors, Frank Mølgaard Knudsen
Sexualstraftaten zählen sicher zum Abscheulichsten, das Menschen anderen antun können. Über den Umgang mit den Tätern herrscht scheinbar ein breiter gesellschaftlicher Konsens. In den USA werden ihre Fotos öffentlich gepostet, und nach Verbüßung ihrer Haftstrafe dürfen sie nicht in der Nähe von Orten wohnen, an denen sich regulär Kinder aufhalten. Lediglich Sozialprojekte, wie das von Frida und Lasse Barkfors porträtierte in Florida, helfen ihnen, sich mit ihren Taten auseinanderzusetzen und ins Leben zurückzufinden. In ruhigen Bildern filmen die Regisseure den Alltag in der „gated community“, einigen der etwa 120 dort lebenden Männern und Frauen kommt der Film sehr nahe. In konzentrierter Intimität entfalten sich erschütternde und sehr unterschiedliche Geschichten, teils von Gewalt- und Missbrauchserfahrungen und einem lebenslangen Kampf um Würde und menschliche Nähe, teils aber auch von aus der Bahn geworfenen Existenzen. Immer geht es um den Umgang mit der eigenen Schuld und die Frage, wie mit ihr weitergelebt werden kann.

Darüber hinaus lernen wir aber auch Menschen kennen, die in ein System geraten sind, das in einer Mischung aus gesellschaftlicher Hysterie und einem auf Profit ausgerichteten Justizapparat die Verurteilung von vermeintlichen Sexualstraftätern zu einem perfiden Geschäftsmodell gemacht hat. Den Begriff des „Perversen“ muss man nach dem Film anders denken.

Grit Lemke

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Balcony Tales

Dokumentarfilm
Kuba,
Dänemark
2013
36 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Ellen Riis
Helle Windeløv-Lidzélius
Christian Schrøder, Max Bering, Peter Johansson, Christer Windeløv-Lidzélius
Adam Morris Philp, Denis Guerra Ribas, Rocío Aballí Hernández
Mette Esmark, Nanna Frank Møller
Helle Windeløv-Lidzélius, Janis Reyes Hernández
Niels Arild
Es gehört zum Alltagswissen der Menschen im Zentrum Havannas, dass man besser in der Mitte der Straße geht und nicht auf dem Bürgersteig, wo einem schon mal ein schadhafter Balkon auf den Kopf fallen kann. Trotzdem: Der Balkon ist ein treuer Freund. Durch ihn sind die Menschen mit den Nachbarn verbunden, den fliegenden Händlern, dem Trubel und dem Geruch der Straße. Ceci hat sein ganzes Leben hier verbracht. Jetzt ist er alt und blind, aber nicht allein. Er hat seinen Balkon, von wo er einkauft, wichtige Neuigkeiten erfährt und nach Edilia rufen kann, einer jungen Frau von gegenüber, die sich wie eine Tochter um ihn kümmert. Diese warme, unspektakuläre Beziehung bildet den Rahmen einer filmischen Liebeserklärung an die Balkone Havannas. Jeder hat seine eigene Geschichte, seine eigene Seele und Magie. Bitter ist dran, wer keinen hat. Denn er ist getrennt vom Leben, das sich nur dem Blick von oben als Panorama menschlicher Vielfalt darbietet.
Matthias Heeder

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
The Agreement Karen Stokkendal Poulsen

Die Verhandlungen um die Unabhängigkeit des Kosovo. Zwei Parteien, ein EU-Vermittler. Kammerspielartiger Politthriller, in dem selbst die Krawattenfarbe zum taktischen Detail wird.

The Agreement

Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark
2014
52 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vibeke Vogel
Karen Stokkendal Poulsen
Steffen Breum
Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, Lars Skree, Marie Billegrav
Anders Villadsen
Esa Nissi
Wie sieht es aus und wie fühlt es sich an, wenn am Status Quo von Geschichte gerüttelt wird? Wie eine finstere Pokerrunde oder doch wie ein helles Meeting? Wird da informell freundlich getan oder fliegen die Fetzen? Und was ist mit Taktik? Sitzt man mit dem Rücken zur Wand oder besser zum Fenster? Und wie vorsichtig muss man bei der Wahl der Krawatte sein? Die dänische Filmemacherin Karen Stokkendal Poulsen wollte es genau wissen: Mit immenser Neugier und ebensolcher Zurückhaltung beobachtete sie den mehrwöchigen Endspurt der langen Verhandlungen zwischen Serbien und Kosovo im Jahr 2012.
Es geht um die sensible Befriedung eines schwelenden Konflikts oder besser: die langfristige Ebnung eines für beide Seiten gangbaren Wegs der friedlichen Nachbarschaft. Der komplizierte Dialog wird moderiert und geleitet von EU-Vermittler Robert Cooper. Die Kontrahenten sind Edita Tahiri, stellvertretende Ministerpräsidentin des Kosovo, und Borko Stefanović, Chefunterhändler Serbiens. Jeder der drei Hauptdarsteller agiert zugleich als Vertreter einer Sache wie auch als individueller Charakter. Nicht immer fügt sich beides restlos ineinander. Genaugenommen sind diese Akteure Schlüsselfiguren eines Dramas, das zwar nur sehr selten die Hauptbühne, also den Konferenzraum, verlässt – und doch aufregender anzuschauen ist als manch weltumspannender Thriller. Instruktiv und bewegend. Direct Cinema at its best!
Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Internationales Programm
Jazz That Nobody Asked For Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker

Ein junger Mann räumt die Hinterlassenschaften seines verstorbenen Vaters auf. Darunter findet er eine Schachtel mit einem höchst sonderbaren Inhalt ...

Jazz That Nobody Asked For

Animationsfilm
Dänemark
2013
4 Minuten
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Esben Fisker
Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Pawel Binczycki, Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Rune Fisker, Esben Fisker
Pawel Binczycki
Ein junger Mann räumt die Hinterlassenschaften seines verstorbenen Vaters auf. Darunter findet er eine Schachtel mit einem höchst sonderbaren Inhalt: eine Jazzband! Diese folgt ihm nun auf Schritt und Tritt. Was für ein Albtraum!

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Miniyamba – Walking Blues

Animationsfilm
Dänemark,
Frankreich
2012
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Vibeke Windeløv
Luc Perez
Moussa Diallo, Yann Coppier
Luc Perez
Luc Perez
Luc Perez
Michel Fessler, Luc Perez
Yann Coppier
Täglich verlassen Tausende Menschen weltweit ihre Heimat. Aus Mali macht sich eines Tages auch Abdu auf den Weg – Europa funkelt aus der Ferne. In der Odyssee vom Nigerstrom zum Stacheldraht des spanischen Auffanglagers Ceuta begegnen dem jungen Mann harsche Realitäten. Was kann da noch von seinen Träumen übrigbleiben?

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.