Film Archive

A Day at the Grave of Karl Marx

Documentary Film
Finland
1984
30 minutes
subtitles: 
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Peter von Bagh
Peter von Bagh
Tapani Tamminen
Tony Chapman
Elina Katainen
Chris Barton
A century after his death, people from 20 different countries visit the grave of the philosopher Karl Marx (1818–1883) in Highgate Cemetery. Thoughts and discussions about him as well as dialogues with him.

Ralph Eue

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Beginning Filmmaking

Documentary Film
Finland,
USA
2008
23 minutes
subtitles: 
English
English Captions
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jay Rosenblatt (Locomotion Films), YLE Teema
Jay Rosenblatt
Thomas Logoreci, Ella Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Ella Rosenblatt, Jay Rosenblatt
Another film starring Ella, now four years old. The message: careful when you choose professions for your own kids!

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Escaping Realities
Hobbyhorse Revolution Selma Vilhunen

Mariam aka Aisku is a prize winning athlete. She sacrifices a lot for her sport and she takes the risk of being laughed at. She specialises in hobbyhorsing.

Hobbyhorse Revolution

Documentary Film
Finland
2017
90 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elli Toivoniemi, Venla Hellstedt
Selma Vilhunen
Henrik Oja
Sari Aaltonen, Selma Vilhunen
Okku Nuutilainen
Selma Vilhunen, Okku Nuutilainen
Christoffer Demby
Mariam aka Aisku is a prize winning athlete. She sacrifices a lot for her sport, where she performs at championship level, and she takes the risk of being laughed at. She specialises in hobbyhorsing. Aisku also works as a coach. One of her charges, Elsa, reveals quite openly how this unusual hobby helps her cope with difficult times. Many other young women and girls like her demonstrate in this film that hobbyhorsing is not a children’s game but a means to recharge one’s batteries, gain recognition and experience the feeling of belonging. “Respect to the hobbyhorses!”

Kim Busch

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Machines

Documentary Film
Finland,
Germany,
India
2016
71 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Rahul Jain, Thanassis Karathanos, Iikka Vehkalahti
Rahul Jain
Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
Rahul Jain, Yaël Bitton
Susmit Nath, Adrian Baumeister
The camera movements are ghostlike because it is a disembodied presence floating through the factory. But what it captures is surreal: infernal fires and reams of fabric falling like water. It’s noisy, it’s dark, but on the back of this image-hungry creature we move quickly through the rooms. It’s not clear what it is looking for. Sometimes it will hide, crouching in a corner, lurking for the workers who don’t seem to notice. There’s humidity everywhere, liquids, tinctures and sweat. And the sound of turning rollers. A textile factory in the Indian state of Gujarat, which nobody visits unless absolutely forced to. Still, there are jobs here, albeit badly paid, and no trace of union structures. “The state of Gujarat has fed the stomachs of the poor,” somebody says in the film.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for Healthy Workplaces Film Award

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Soviet Hippies

Documentary Film
Estonia,
Finland,
Germany
2017
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Liis Lepik, Sarita Sharma, Sami Jahnukainen
Terje Toomistu
Taavi Arus
Martin Männik
Priit Tender
Terje Toomistu
Indrek Soe, Seppo Vanhatalo
A life between Lenin and Lennon. The clash between utopias of freedom and utopias of community. Life as a hippie in the Soviet Union was dangerous – no wonder, considering that the flower children were especially hardened criminals. Just imagine: up to ten phone booths per day were looted in Tallinn alone to tune their electric guitars with the valuable electronic parts. Guitar raid! Drugs, rock’n’roll, long hair, naked bodies, sex, peace, psychedelic art, meditation, Batik shirts, shaggy beards.

The Estonian director Terje Toomistu uses a wide and abundant variety of archive material to trace a lifestyle that marked not only the American 1970s but also proliferated in the metropolises of the Soviet Union, even if nobody there understood exactly what the Beatles were actually singing. And today, 40 years later? Some of the Soviet hippies are now old Soviet hippies. The Vietnam War is over – today it’s the Ukraine War. The KGB has ceased to exist – today Putin is in power. And some things are exactly like they used to be: peace, joy, Batik, beards.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for MDR Film Prize

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Retrospektive
A Day at the Grave of Karl Marx Peter von Bagh

Ein Jahrhundert nach dem Tod des Philosophen Karl Marx besuchen Menschen aus zwanzig verschiedenen Nationen dessen Grab.

A Day at the Grave of Karl Marx

Dokumentarfilm
1984
30 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Peter von Bagh
Peter von Bagh
Tapani Tamminen
Tony Chapman
Elina Katainen
Chris Barton
Ein Jahrhundert nach dem Tod des Philosophen Karl Marx (1818–1883) besuchen Menschen aus zwanzig verschiedenen Nationen dessen Grab auf dem Londoner Highgate Cemetery. Gedanken und Gespräche über den Toten sowie Dialoge mit ihm.

Ralph Eue

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Beginning Filmmaking

Dokumentarfilm
2008
23 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Englische Zwischentitel
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Jay Rosenblatt (Locomotion Films), YLE Teema
Jay Rosenblatt
Thomas Logoreci, Ella Rosenblatt
Jay Rosenblatt
Ella Rosenblatt, Jay Rosenblatt
Ein weiterer Film mit Ella, hier vier Jahre alt. Die Botschaft: Vorsicht bei der Berufswahl für die eigenen Kinder!

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Escaping Realities
Hobbyhorse Revolution Selma Vilhunen

Mariam alias Aisku ist eine preisgekrönte Sportlerin. Für ihre Disziplin geht sie auch das Risiko ein, von anderen belächelt zu werden. Sie ist spezialisiert auf Hobbyhorsing – das Reiten mit Steckenpferden.

Hobbyhorse Revolution

Dokumentarfilm
2017
90 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Elli Toivoniemi, Venla Hellstedt
Selma Vilhunen
Henrik Oja
Sari Aaltonen, Selma Vilhunen
Okku Nuutilainen
Selma Vilhunen, Okku Nuutilainen
Christoffer Demby
Mariam alias Aisku ist eine preisgekrönte Sportlerin. Für ihre Disziplin, in der sie bei Meisterschaften antritt, opfert sie vieles und geht auch das Risiko ein, von anderen belächelt zu werden. Sie ist spezialisiert auf Hobbyhorsing – das Reiten mit Steckenpferden. Aisku arbeitet auch als Trainerin. Eine ihrer Schützlinge, Elsa, zeigt ganz offen, wie ihr das außergewöhnliche Hobby dabei hilft, schwere Zeiten zu überwinden. Wie sie treten viele weitere junge Frauen und Mädchen in diesem Film den Beweis an, dass es sich bei Hobbyhorsing keinesfalls um ein Kinderspiel handelt, sondern um ein Mittel, Kraft zu tanken, Bestätigung zu finden und Zugehörigkeit zu erfahren. „Respect to the hobbyhorses!“

Kim Busch

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Machines

Dokumentarfilm
2016
71 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Rahul Jain, Thanassis Karathanos, Iikka Vehkalahti
Rahul Jain
Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
Rahul Jain, Yaël Bitton
Susmit Nath, Adrian Baumeister
Geisterhaft sind die Bewegungen der Kamera, denn sie schwebt körperlos durch die Fabrik. Auch was sie sieht, ist surreal: infernale Feuer und Stoffbahnen, die fallen wie Wasser. Es lärmt, es ist dunkel, doch auf dem Rücken des bildgierigen Wesens bewegt man sich zügig durch die Räume. Was es sucht, ist unklar. Manchmal versteckt es sich auch, hockt in einer Ecke, lauert auf die Arbeiter, die es nicht zu bemerken scheinen. Feuchte überall, Flüssigkeiten und Tinkturen und Schweiß. Und Geräusche von rollenden Walzen. Eine Textilfabrik im indischen Bundesstaat Gujarat, wohin niemand kommt, der nicht unbedingt muss. Immerhin gibt es hier noch Arbeit, aber sie ist schlecht bezahlt, und von Gewerkschaftsstrukturen keine Spur. „Gujarat füttert die Bäuche der Armen“, heißt es im Film.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Soviet Hippies

Dokumentarfilm
2017
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Liis Lepik, Sarita Sharma, Sami Jahnukainen
Terje Toomistu
Taavi Arus
Martin Männik
Priit Tender
Terje Toomistu
Indrek Soe, Seppo Vanhatalo
Ein Leben zwischen Lenin und Lennon. Die Kollision der Freiheitsutopien, der Gemeinschaftsutopien. In der Sowjetunion lebte man gefährlich als Hippie – kein Wunder, schließlich waren die Blumenkinder ganz besonders kriminell. Man stelle sich vor: Bis zu zehn Telefonzellen am Tag wurden allein in Tallinn geplündert, um mit der wertvollen Elektronik die E-Gitarren aufzumotzen. Gitarrenrazzia! Drugs, Rock ’n’ Roll, lange Mähnen, nackte Leiber, Sex, Friede, psychedelische Kunst, Meditation, Batikhemden, Zauselbärte.

Mit einem üppigen Aufgebot an verschiedensten Archivmaterialien spürt die estnische Regisseurin Terje Toomistu einem Lebensgefühl nach, das nicht nur die amerikanischen 1970er Jahre prägte, sondern auch in den Metropolen der Sowjetunion wucherte – selbst wenn man dort gar nicht so genau wusste, wovon die Beatles eigentlich sangen. Und heute, 40 Jahre später? Einige der Sowjet-Hippies sind mittlerweile Sowjet-Althippies. Der Vietnamkrieg ist vorbei – heute herrscht der Ukrainekrieg. Der KGB existiert nicht mehr – heute sitzt Putin an der Macht. Und einiges blieb genau so, wie es war: Friede, Freude, Batik, Bärte.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für MDR-Filmpreis

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.