Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Jalanan

Documentary Film
Indonesia
2013
107 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Ziv
Daniel Ziv
Dadang SH Pranoto
Daniel Ziv
Ernest Hariyanto
Meita Eriska, Pahlevi Indra Santoso
Boni is standing in the super posh restroom of a super posh shopping mall. After arguing about rich and poor, he utters this unbeatable sentence: “Our shit mixes well. Only the people refuse to mix.” This spirit pervades the film of Canadian-born director Daniel Ziv, who has been documenting the subculture milieus of the restless metropolis of Jakarta for the past 15 years.
They are musicians in the busses of the city: Boni lives under a bridge near a sewer. It’s pure magic to hear him talk about how he, an illiterate, composes his pieces. Ho with his dreadlocks is a happy anarchist moving through the city, always on the run from the police. And then there is Titi, a mother of three who came to Jakarta in search of a better life and ended up married to a ne’er-do-well. She is now studying for her high school graduation which is to open the door to better jobs. Perhaps.
Shot in Cinema vérité style, without frills or false sentimentality, we get to meet more than three charismatic characters leading precarious lives. Ziv succeeds in painting the portrait of a metropolis whose residents are groaning under the impact of economic reforms. In this respect, there is nothing to add to the production notes: “Jalanan” is about Indonesia, street music, love, prison, sex, corruption, rice paddies and globalisation.
Matthias Heeder

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Jalanan

Dokumentarfilm
Indonesien
2013
107 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Daniel Ziv
Daniel Ziv
Dadang SH Pranoto
Daniel Ziv
Ernest Hariyanto
Meita Eriska, Pahlevi Indra Santoso
Steht Boni in der superschicken Toilette eines superschicken Einkaufszentrums. Und sagt, nachdem er über reich und arm räsoniert hat, den unschlagbaren Satz: „Unsere Scheiße vermischt sich gut. Nur die Menschen wollen sich nicht mischen.“ Dieser Geist prägt den Film des kanadisch-stämmigen Regisseurs Daniel Ziv, der seit 15 Jahren die subkulturellen Milieus der ruhelosen Metropole Jakarta dokumentiert.
Sie sind Musiker in den Bussen der Stadt: Boni lebt an einem Abwasserkanal unter einer Brücke. Reine Magie, wenn er erzählt, wie er als Analphabet seine Stücke komponiert. Ho mit den Dreadlocks zieht als fröhlicher Anarchist durch die Stadt, immer auf der Flucht vor der Polizei. Und dann ist da Titi, Mutter dreier Kinder, die auf der Suche nach einem besseren Leben nach Jakarta kam. Gelandet ist sie in der Ehe mit einem Nichtsnutz. Sie holt ihren Schulabschluss nach, der ihr die Tür zu besseren Jobs öffnen soll. Vielleicht.
Gedreht im Cinéma-verité-Stil, schnörkellos und ohne falsche Sentimentalität, lernen wir nicht nur drei charismatische Charaktere in prekärer Lebenslage kennen. Ziv gelingt das Porträt einer Metropole, deren Bewohner schwer unter den Folgen der Wirtschaftsreformen ächzen. Insofern ist den Worten der Produktionsfirma nichts hinzuzufügen: „Jalanan“ handelt von Indonesien, Straßenmusik, Liebe, Gefängnis, Sex, Korruption, Reisfeldern und Globalisierung.
Matthias Heeder