Film Archive

Late Harvest
Campo Tiago Hespanha

Surrounded by the Arcadian-looking landscape of Europe’s biggest military base on the outskirts of Lisbon, sheep and bees meet ornithologists and soldiers training for combat.

Campo

Documentary Film
Portugal
2019
101 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
João Matos
Tiago Hespanha
Tiago Hespanha, Rui Xavier, Luísa Homem, Cláudia Varejão, Paulo Menezes
Francisco Moreira, Tiago Hespanha
Eva Boliño, Adriana Bolito, Giorgio Gristina, Tiago Melo Bento
Europe’s biggest military base is situated on the outskirts of Lisbon. Soldiers following fictitious scenarios train for a future war, the neighbours hear the impact of the guns at night, a boy plays the piano. Soldiers and amateur astronomers watch through the night on their missions, ornithologists lie in wait for the mating calls of rare birds, snipers for enemies and targets. Beekeepers look after their bees, a shepherd helps a ewe giving birth: Arcadian-looking landscapes with deer and grazing sheep in the morning mist meet a modern field of Mars (“campo de marte”), as military training grounds were called in ancient Rome.

This film doesn’t hurry its observations, listening to the tales of the people as well as to the sound of the piano composition “Battle in the Stars”, inspired by the war games. It listens to the sheep, the birds, and the bees. This generates a simultaneousness – and equality – of violence, nature, people, the historic and future layers, the material and the transcendental.

Frederik Lang

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Insectopedia

Documentary Film
Belgium,
France,
Portugal
2018
23 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Victor Candeias (DocNomads), Lucie Rego (Hutong Productions)
Antoine Fontaine
Erwan Evin
Antoine Fontaine
Antoine Fontaine
Antoine Fontaine
Arnout Colaert
Over 36 years, an unmarried surgeon filmed and dissected insects in his Brussels apartment. 600 reels of wonderful, obsessively precise recordings and increasingly confused commentary paint a strange psychological profile. During his research on Dr. Veroft, Antoine Fontaine comes across a species of man whose social behaviour is conspicuously focused on six-legged creatures and who share their habitat with audibly scurrying chitin carapaces and Darth Vader figurines.

André Eckardt

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Outside the Oranges Are Blooming

Documentary Film
Portugal,
Serbia
2019
20 minutes
subtitles: 
English
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nevena Desivojević, Ivan Milosavjević
Nevena Desivojević
Nevena Desivojević, Cristina Haneș
Nevena Desivojević, Francisco Matos Morreira, Pedro Peralta
Dane Vlaisavljević
A lonely, sometimes misty, sometimes sunny mountain region, chants from the church of a dying village, a single man. He restlessly walks through his house, the village, the forest – but doesn’t reveal his secret. Observations from a seemingly insular, rural area in the south of Europe with no less insular people, shaped by their environment. And are the orange trees really blooming outside?

Frederik Lang

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Spätlese
Campo Tiago Hespanha

Inmitten der arkadisch anmutenden Landschaft von Europas größter Militärbasis am Stadtrand von Lissabon treffen Schafe und Bienen auf Ornithologen und für den Einsatz trainierende Soldaten.

Campo

Dokumentarfilm
2019
101 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
João Matos
Tiago Hespanha
Tiago Hespanha, Rui Xavier, Luísa Homem, Cláudia Varejão, Paulo Menezes
Francisco Moreira, Tiago Hespanha
Eva Boliño, Adriana Bolito, Giorgio Gristina, Tiago Melo Bento
Am Stadtrand von Lissabon liegt Europas größte Militärbasis. Soldaten trainieren anhand von fiktiven Szenarien für einen zukünftigen Krieg, die Anwohner hören nachts die Einschläge der Geschütze, ein Junge spielt Klavier. Soldaten wie Hobbyastronomen durchwachen auf ihren Missionen die Nacht, Ornithologen lauern auf den Balzgesang seltener Vögel, Scharfschützen auf Feinde und Zielscheiben. Imker schauen nach ihren Bienen, ein Schäfer hilft einem gebärenden Muttertier: Arkadisch anmutende Landschaften mit Rehen und grasenden Schafen im Morgennebel treffen auf ein modernes Marsfeld („campo de marte“), wie die Kriegsübungsplätze im antiken römischen Reich hießen.

Der Film lässt sich Zeit für seine Beobachtungen. Er hört den Erzählungen der Menschen ebenso zu wie der vom Klang des Kriegsspiels inspirierten Klavierkomposition „Battle in the Stars“. Er lauscht den Schafen, den Vögeln, den Bienen. Darin liegt eine Gleichzeitig- wie Gleichwertigkeit – der Gewalt, der Natur, der Menschen, der historischen wie zukünftigen Schichten, des Materiellen und des Transzendentalen.

Frederik Lang

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Insectopedia

Dokumentarfilm
2018
23 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Victor Candeias (DocNomads), Lucie Rego (Hutong Productions)
Antoine Fontaine
Erwan Evin
Antoine Fontaine
Antoine Fontaine
Antoine Fontaine
Arnout Colaert
36 Jahre lang filmte und sezierte ein alleinstehender Chirurg in seiner Brüsseler Wohnung Insekten. 600 Filmrollen mit wundervollen, obsessiv präzisen Aufnahmen und zunehmend wirren Begleittexten zeichnen ein seltsames Psychogramm. Antoine Fontaine stößt bei seinen Recherchen zu Dr. Veroft auf eine Spezies Mann, deren Sozialverhalten auffällig auf Sechsbeiner ausgerichtet ist und die ihr Habitat mit hörbar wuselnden Chitinpanzern und Darth-Vader-Figurinen teilt.

André Eckardt

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Outside the Oranges Are Blooming

Dokumentarfilm
2019
20 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Nevena Desivojević, Ivan Milosavjević
Nevena Desivojević
Nevena Desivojević, Cristina Haneș
Nevena Desivojević, Francisco Matos Morreira, Pedro Peralta
Dane Vlaisavljević
Eine einsame, mal nebelverhangene, mal sonnige Bergregion, die Gesänge aus der Kirche eines sterbenden Dorfes, ein einzelner Mann. Unruhig geht er in seinem Haus umher, im Dorf, im Wald – sein Geheimnis gibt er nicht preis. Beobachtungen aus einer abgeschottet wirkenden, ländlichen Gegend Südeuropas mit nicht minder verschlossenen Menschen, geprägt von ihrer Umgebung. Und blühen draußen wirklich die Orangenbäume?

Frederik Lang

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.