Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck
Bite Size Corbin Billings

Davion, Emily and Moy from America are overweight and want to lose weight. A vicious circle of mobbing and self-hatred – fighting and occasionally winning.

Bite Size

Documentary Film
USA
2014
80 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Andrew Galdi, Greta McAnany, Eric Gallegos, Joshua Lipton
Corbin Billings
Michael Kramer
Joshua Lipton
Tchavdar Georgiev, Corbin Billings
Corbin Billings
Xander Lott
Like an increasing number of children and adolescents (not just) in the U.S., Davion, Emily and Moy are overweight. Despite coming from different backgrounds, their lives are similar: a vicious circle of mobbing, self-hatred, recriminations, health problems and the wish to be thinner. The film brings home the fact that this disease is only the symptom of a troubled nutritional culture and unstable family structures, and the young people’s fight against their own body.

---Kim Busch

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Bodycheck
T-Rex Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari

Claressa is 17 and a professional boxer. In 2012 she represented the U.S. at the Olympics. But the real fights are waiting for her outside the ring – a young woman in a men’s world.

T-Rex

Documentary Film
USA
2015
89 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sue Jaye Johnson, Bianca Darville, Gary Kout, Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Matthew Joynt, Nathan Sandberg
Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Jean Kawahara, Drea Cooper
Claressa’s nickname is T-Rex. She is 17 years old and a professional boxer, and that’s not the only thing that makes her an exotic bird in this male dominated sport. In 2012, women’s boxing finally became an Olympic sport and so she, the underdog, got to represent the U.S. as one of three athletes. Between the challenges of growing up and her tough physical training she develops a ready wit and more self-confidence – but the real fights are waiting for her outside the ring.

Kim Busch

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Bodycheck
Bite Size Corbin Billings

Davion, Emily und Moy aus Amerika sind übergewichtig und wollen abnehmen. Im Teufelskreis von Mobbing und Selbsthass – kämpfen und manchmal gewinnen.

Bite Size

Dokumentarfilm
2014
80 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Andrew Galdi, Greta McAnany, Eric Gallegos, Joshua Lipton
Corbin Billings
Michael Kramer
Joshua Lipton
Tchavdar Georgiev, Corbin Billings
Corbin Billings
Xander Lott
Davion, Emily und Moy leiden wie immer mehr Kinder und Jugendliche (nicht nur) in den USA an Übergewicht. Trotz unterschiedlicher Familienhintergründe gleicht sich ihr Alltag: ein Teufelskreis von Mobbing, Selbsthass, Schuldzuweisungen, gesundheitlichen Problemen und dem Wunsch, schlanker zu sein. Eindringlich zeigt der Film, dass die Erkrankung nur Symptom einer Ernährungskultur in Schieflage und von Familienstrukturen ohne Halt ist, aber auch den Kampf der Jugendlichen mit dem eigenen Körper.

---Kim Busch

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Bodycheck
T-Rex Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari

Claressa ist 17 und Profiboxerin. 2012 vertritt sie die USA bei Olympia. Die wahren Kämpfe aber warten außerhalb des Rings – als junge Frau in eine Männerdomäne.

T-Rex

Dokumentarfilm
2015
89 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Sue Jaye Johnson, Bianca Darville, Gary Kout, Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Matthew Joynt, Nathan Sandberg
Drea Cooper, Zackary Canepari
Jean Kawahara, Drea Cooper
Claressas Spitzname ist T-Rex. Sie ist 17 Jahre alt und Profiboxerin. Nicht nur dadurch hat sie einen Exotenstatus in dieser männerdominierten Sportart. 2012 wird Frauenboxen endlich olympische Disziplin, und so darf sie, der Underdog, als eine von drei Athletinnen die USA vertreten. Zwischen den Herausforderungen des Erwachsenwerdens und dem harten körperlichen Training findet sie zu immer mehr Schlagfertigkeit und Selbstbewusstsein – denn die wahren Kämpfe warten auf sie außerhalb des Rings.

Kim Busch

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.