Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Homage Werner Herzog
Grizzly Man Werner Herzog

Self-styled animal rights activist Timothy Treadwell spent thirteen summers alone among wild grizzly bears. Herzog bases his film on Treadwell’s video recordings.

Grizzly Man

Documentary Film
USA
2005
104 minutes
subtitles: 
German
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kevin Beggs, Billy Campbell, Phil Fairclough, Andrea Meditch, Erik Nelson, Tom Ortenberg, Jewel Palovak
Werner Herzog
Richard Thompson
Peter Zeitlinger
Joe Bini
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog
Timothy Treadwell, Werner Herzog
Self-styled animal rights activist Timothy Treadwell spent thirteen summers alone among wild grizzly bears. Herzog bases his film on Treadwell’s video recordings. He talks of a “story of astonishing beauty and depth, of ecstasy and deep inner perturbation” which fascinated him. The film opens in the idyllic Katmai National Park in Alaska, the ideal habitat for brown bears. But Herzog’s voice-over introduces the dramatic end of Treadwell’s life from the start. The film says more about “inner human nature” than about an untouched landscape, the director says.

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Into the Abyss

Documentary Film
Germany,
UK,
USA
2011
107 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Erik Nelson
Werner Herzog
Mark Degli Antoni
Peter Zeitlinger
Joe Bini
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog, Michael Perry, Jason Burkett
How can the curse of violence be banned? Werner Herzog has repeatedly addressed the issue of capital punishment in the US. In “Into the Abyss” he uses archive material and interviews to reconstruct a triple murder. Herzog interviews the people involved, talking to the condemned murderers Michael Perry and Jason Burkett, to family members, a priest and a former executioner. What did these people see when they looked into the abyss? Can death be pictured at all? Each of these persons tells a different story, while the film’s subtitle suggests yet another interpretation.

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Werner Herzog
Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World Werner Herzog

“Is the Internet dreaming of itself?” Curious and contemplative, but free of cultural pessimism of any kind, Herzog addresses the different aspects of the World Wide Web.

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World

Documentary Film
USA
2016
98 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Werner Herzog, Rupert Maconick (Saville Productions)
Werner Herzog
Mark Degli Antoni, Sebastian Steinberg
Peter Zeitlinger
Marco Capalbo
Werner Herzog
“Is the Internet dreaming of itself?” Curious and contemplative, but free of cultural pessimism of any kind, Herzog addresses the different aspects of the World Wide Web. What possibilities are opened by digital networking and artificial intelligence? What dangers lurk in anonymous networks? Herzog’s film is less a critical analysis than a multi-voiced essay where you can watch originals think. The spectrum of interview partners ranges from Tesla CEO Elon Musk to a group of people with electromagnetic hypersensitivity.

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Homage Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe Les Blank

Werner Herzog has a number of cameos in his own films under his belt. In “Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe” by Les Blank we see him pay for a bet he lost against Errol Morris.

Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe

Documentary Film
USA
1980
20 minutes
subtitles: 
No
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Tom Luddy
Les Blank
Les Blank
Maureen Gosling
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog, Alice Waters, Tom Luddy
Werner Herzog has appeared as an actor in several films in the past few years and has a number of cameos in his own films under his belt. In “Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe” by Les Blank we see him pay for a bet he lost against Errol Morris: if the latter succeeded in getting a theatrical release for his film “Gates of Heaven”, Herzog would be ready to do what the title describes. The director gives his all to live up to his credo that film must be physical, evoking not only Charlie Chaplin in the process. Two years later, Les Blank was to make the documentary “Burden of Dreams” about the shooting of “Fitzcarraldo.”

Kristina Jaspers

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. Some original titles and names have been transcribed resp. transliterated. We apologise that we cannot cite individual image sources and rights in our festival publications or festival coverage. Please note that the visual material is published exclusively for the purposes of promoting specific films or festival programmes. No transmission to third parties is provided and would only take place with the explicit agreement of the owners of the rights. The rights to the images lie with the respective copyright owners.

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Hommage Werner Herzog
Grizzly Man Werner Herzog

Der selbsternannte Tierschützer Timothy Treadwell lebte dreizehn Sommer lang unter wilden Grizzlybären. Herzog nimmt dessen Videoaufnahmen zur Grundlage seines Filmes.

2005

Grizzly Man

Dokumentarfilm
2005
104 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Kevin Beggs, Billy Campbell, Phil Fairclough, Andrea Meditch, Erik Nelson, Tom Ortenberg, Jewel Palovak
Werner Herzog
Richard Thompson
Peter Zeitlinger
Joe Bini
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog
Timothy Treadwell, Werner Herzog
Der selbsternannte Tierschützer Timothy Treadwell lebte dreizehn Sommer lang unter wilden Grizzlybären. Herzog nimmt dessen Videoaufnahmen zur Grundlage seines Filmes. Er spricht von einer „Geschichte von erstaunlicher Schönheit und Tiefe, von Ekstase und tiefer innerer Verstörung“, die ihn fasziniert habe. Am Anfang steht die Idylle im Katmai-Nationalpark in Alaska, dem idealen Habitat von Braunbären. Doch das dramatische Ende von Treadwells Leben ist von Beginn an durch Herzogs Off-Kommentar präsent. Der Film sage mehr über die „innere menschliche Natur“ aus als über eine unberührte Landschaft, so der Regisseur.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Into the Abyss

Dokumentarfilm
2011
107 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Erik Nelson
Werner Herzog
Mark Degli Antoni
Peter Zeitlinger
Joe Bini
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog, Michael Perry, Jason Burkett
Der Fluch der Gewalt, wie lässt er sich bannen? Werner Herzog hat sich wiederholt mit der Todesstrafe in den USA auseinandergesetzt. „Into the Abyss“ rekonstruiert einen dreifachen Mord anhand von Archivmaterial und Gesprächen. Herzog befragt die Beteiligten: Er spricht mit den verurteilten Mördern Michael Perry und Jason Burkett, mit Familienmitgliedern, einem Geistlichen sowie einem ehemaligen Henker. Was haben diese Menschen gesehen, als sie in den Abgrund blickten? Lässt sich der Tod überhaupt in Bilder fassen? Jeder der Betroffenen erzählt eine andere Geschichte und der Untertitel des Films eröffnet eine weitere Lesart.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Werner Herzog
Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World Werner Herzog

„Träumt das Internet von sich selbst?“ Neugierig und nachdenklich, jedoch frei von jedem Kulturpessimismus, wendet sich Herzog den verschiedenen Aspekten des World Wide Web zu.

Lo and Behold, Reveries of the Connected World

Dokumentarfilm
2016
98 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Werner Herzog, Rupert Maconick (Saville Productions)
Werner Herzog
Mark Degli Antoni, Sebastian Steinberg
Peter Zeitlinger
Marco Capalbo
Werner Herzog
„Träumt das Internet von sich selbst?“ Neugierig und nachdenklich, jedoch frei von jedem Kulturpessimismus, wendet sich Herzog den verschiedenen Aspekten des World Wide Web zu. Welche Möglichkeiten eröffnen uns digitale Vernetzung und künstliche Intelligenz? Welche Gefahren verbergen sich in anonymen Netzwerken? Herzogs Film ist weniger eine kritische Analyse als vielmehr ein vielstimmiger Essay, in dem man originellen Menschen beim Nachdenken zusehen kann. Das Spektrum der Interviewpartner reicht von Tesla-Chef Elon Musk bis zu einer Gruppe von Menschen mit elektromagnetischen Empfindlichkeitsstörungen.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.

Hommage Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe Les Blank

Werner Herzog kann eine ganze Reihe von Cameo-Auftritten in seinen Filmen vorweisen. In „Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe“ ist er beim Einlösen einer Wettschuld gegen Errol Morris zu sehen.

Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe

Dokumentarfilm
1980
20 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine
Credits DOK Leipzig Logo
Tom Luddy
Les Blank
Les Blank
Maureen Gosling
Werner Herzog
Werner Herzog, Alice Waters, Tom Luddy
Werner Herzog ist in den letzten Jahren mehrfach als Schauspieler in Erscheinung getreten und kann eine ganze Reihe von Cameo-Auftritten in seinen Filmen vorweisen. In „Werner Herzog Eats His Shoe“ von Les Blank ist er beim Einlösen einer Wettschuld gegen Errol Morris zu sehen. Wenn dieser seinen Film „Gates of Heaven“ in die Kinos brächte, wäre Herzog zur titelgebenden Aktion bereit. Seinem Credo, Film müsse physisch sein, wird der Regisseur mit vollem Körpereinsatz gerecht und erinnert dabei nicht nur an Charlie Chaplin. Les Blank sollte zwei Jahre später die Dokumentation „Burden of Dreams“ über die Dreharbeiten zu „Fitzcarraldo“ drehen.

Kristina Jaspers

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautor*innen geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Originaltitel und Namen sind teilweise transkribiert bzw. transliteriert. Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass wir Bildrechte in den Festivalpublikationen sowie bei der Berichterstattung im Einzelnen nicht nachweisen können, und verweisen darauf, dass das Bildmaterial ausschließlich zum Zwecke der Werbung für den Einzelfilm bzw. die Festivalprogramme veröffentlicht wird. Eine Weitergabe an Dritte ist nicht vorgesehen und würde nur mit ausdrücklicher Genehmigung der Rechteinhaber*innen stattfinden. Die Bildrechte liegen bei der/beim jeweiligen Rechteinhaber*in.