DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Essay von Andreas Kötzing

Leipzig in the autumn

Andreas Kötzing

Unannounced screenings after midnight? Films smuggled over the border in a suitcase? Hotel rooms bugged by the Stasi? Legends about the Leipzig film festival abound. Many of them date back to the GDR days when the festival was still called Internationale Leipziger Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmwoche für Kino und Fernsehen. And as always with stories that have been retold again and again over the years, it’s hard to tell where the truth lies. Impressions of the early days are entering oblivion. Take this famous photo from 1964 for example.

 

About two dozens film directors at the press conference in 1964. Photo: Bundesarchiv, DR 140/ Bild (1964) / Alfred PaszkowiakGroup photo 1964. From left, sitting: Jean Lods, Santiago Álvarez, Basil Wright, Paul Rotha, Frances Flaherty, Richard Leacock, Alberto Cavalcanti, Interpreter, Bert Haanstra; from left, standing: Andrew Thorndike, Henri Storck, Gian Vittorio Baldi, Goverdhandas Aggarwal, John Grierson, Ivor Montagu, Karl Gass, Bruno Sefranka, Joris Ivens, Walter Heynowski, Annelie Thorndike, Václav Taborski, Chris Marker, Saad Nadim, Gerhard Scheumann, Dušan Vukotič.
Photo: Bundesarchiv, DR 140/ Bild (1964) / Alfred Paszkowiak.

It features about two dozen directors. It looks like a class photo. But it’s not a photo of alumni reunited again after many years to chat about the good old days. This photo features some of the most famous documentary filmmakers in the world. It was a true event at this moment of the festival history and it proved that the festival had managed to build up an incredible reputation within just a few years. After two rather unsuccessful attempts to set up a German “Kulturfilmwoche” (cultural film week) in 1955 and 1956 and a forced pause of three years, the festival had been revived with a new profile in 1960. It would henceforth be an international festival for politically engaged documentary and short films. At a time when the Cold War hampered cultural exchange between the East and the West, this concept was a political issue from the start, as of course the perceptions about the “right” way to act politically differed significantly on either side of the Iron Curtain.

 

It was not accidental that Leipzig was able to become one of the most important platforms for documentary in such a short time. After some initial reluctance, the GDR’s cultural authorities had decided to back the festival, and even tolerated its relatively liberal stance. After the erection of the Berlin Wall, the SED thought that the festival could send a positive image across the border – just like the annual Leipzig Trade Fair served to convince international guests of the young socialist state’s openness to the world. Directors and their films were invited from all over the world to Leipzig, at great expense. Even new international film movements, such as France’s Cinéma Vérité, were represented in Leipzig. Joris Ivens’ The Seine Meets Paris (1960) and Chris Marker’s The Lovely Month of May (1963) were greeted with great enthusiasm, especially among young DEFA directors. As recent graduates from the film school in Babelsberg they were able to get in touch with international filmmakers in Leipzig. In 1962, none other than Pablo Picasso ennobled the festival by giving permission for his dove to be the festival’s emblem. This is how the festival’s slogan “Films of the world – For world peace!” was coined.

 

Festival advertisement in 1974. Photo: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-N1122-0016 / Friedrich GahlbeckEntrance of the festival cinema Capitol in 1974. Photo: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-H1116-0002-001 / Friedrich Gahlbeck.

The picture of the “alumni meeting” of 1964 is evidence of the festival’s success. And yet it gives a deceptive impression of harmony. Behind the scenes, there was a huge debate about what political stance the festival should take, as is now clear from the files and documents. Some of the festival staff lost their jobs, even though they did not explicitly criticise socialism, but just spoke in favour of free speech. Dogmatic SED politicians applied pressure to the festival to ensure that it did not become even more liberal. Though many of the films depicted class struggles, certain party representatives criticised that the festival did not promote the socialist worldview emphatically enough. It was also accused of “aspects of ideological co-existence” and chastised for neglecting the “necessary political and aesthetic debates”. The festival was accused of pandering to Western guests instead of celebrating the achievements of the Soviet Union and other socialist states.

 

The consequences soon manifested themselves. The selection committee was assigned to select films depicting sufficiently enough “the superiority of the socialist order” and explicitly revealing the “inhumanity of the imperialist aggressors”. There were to be no more free debates about how documentary films could influence artistic and political debate. The festival was forced to adopt a straighter and reliable ideological stance and at the same time the Stasi’s influence grew. GDR’s secret police fundamentally disliked the fact that the festival maintained numerous contacts with the West. In the early days, there were just a few “unofficial collaborators” (IM) but by the end of the 1960s the tactic became one of skimming directly the festival management: the director had to file regular reports on how the preparations for the festival were going. A carbon copy of every visa application went to the Stasi. Secret police employees also attended the festival. Yet, considering the efforts to ensure the “festival’s safety” the investigational return was rather poor. The Stasi failed in its attempts to win over Western guests as informers. However, its presence was a constant one. This is clearly demonstrated by what happened in 1983. A group of 20 youths bearing lit candles demonstrated peacefully in front of the Capitol cinema on that year’s festival’s opening night. The demonstration was dispersed within minutes and many of the participants were detained for long periods of time. This is a sad low in the festival’s history.

 

Filmmaker Roman Karmen arrives at the festival cinema Capitol at the opening of his retrospective. Photo: Bundesarchiv. Bild 183-K1121-0006 /Friedrich GahlbeckIn 1971 the retrospektive has been dedicated to film director Roman Karmen, here arriving with Konrad Wolf (2.f.l.) at the festival cinema. Photo: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-K1121-0006 / Friedrich Gahlbeck.

For a long time, the festival could not broach subjects that did not match the “anti-imperialist” outlook. Thus, films about Poland’s Solidarność movement could not be shown in 1980 and 1981. But despite certain ideological shackles there was plenty of scope to show important films about subjects considered as controversial in the West, such as the Vietnam War or military dictatorship in Latin America. The festival also highlighted films from what was known at the time as the Third World. The retrospectives organised by the State Film Archive (of the GDR) around one particular director or country were excellent and unrivalled at other documentary festivals in the world. The festival also managed to create spaces of freedom: for example, small screening booths could be rented at the Petershof for so-called trade shows that were of course more difficult to censor. The festival was also creative at camouflaging certain more controversial films in its programme, even if this meant screening them on Sundays at 8am.

 

For many film fans from Leipzig as well as for the East German specialist audience, the festival week was the most important time for gleaning impressions of the global film scene. These international films were rarely shown in regular cinemas or on television. Therefore, there was a tight competition for accreditations. And people were even willing to listen to long ideological speeches so as to watch certain films. On screen the supposed promises of socialism were often ridiculed anyway. The occasional discordant notes present in certain DEFA documentaries and other East European productions, increased in 1987 and proved themselves as heralds of a political turn. The festival showed a couple of Soviet films in which social problems were explored, for instance the impact of Chernobyl, disillusioned youths, impoverished pensioners, or alcohol as a last resort from a miserable existence. And there was an omnipresent hope that something would finally change. Glasnost and perestroika had found their way onto the German screen. The SED bureaucrats were so displeased that they did their best to prevent a repetition of the situation the following year but there was no way to stop the momentum. In 1988, Helke Misselwitz’s impressive documentary After Winter Comes Spring, an empathetic portrait of East German women and their individual desires, set the tone for change. And a year later, the festival already tried to renew itself in the midst of the turbulent upheavals of autumn 1989.

 

Audience in the festival cinema Audience in the festival cinema "Capitol" in 1984. Photo: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-1984-1128-026 / Friedrich Gahlbeck.

In retrospect, it might seem like a miracle that the festival was able to survive the difficult post-1990 era. Funding decreased, audience sizes shrunk and there was more competition from other festivals, too – all these could have spelled failure. One of the many reasons that the festival overcame them was the team’s commitment and conviction that the festival had a particular political and social relevance. Wasn’t this event as a cultural space for political and aesthetic activism and debate dealing with the vast changes in the world an absolute crucial thing – especially at this time? In 1995, it was a stroke of luck that the festival introduced a competition for animated film and created a second pillar alongside documentary. Till today, the two genres provide the festival’s unique selling point. Many of the contacts that the festival established before 1989 remained. East European films continue to play a fundamental role in the festival. Another major change came about in 2004 when events for film professionals were introduced, ensuring the festival’s international significance.

 

Even if little remains of the original pre-1989 incarnation in today’s festival, an ongoing challenge is how to deal with the conflicting past. Attempts to look back at the GDR’s positive aspects without ignoring the festival’s dark sides have triggered much controversy. Emotions ran high in 2004 over the suggestion that Picasso’s dove should be replaced by a modernised version of it because the GDR had instrumentalised his work for political purposes. The festival director at the time, Claas Danielsen, was accused of gambling with the festival’s roots and traditions. Similarly, the 2012 discovery that Fred Gehler, who had an extremely distinguished record as the festival’s director from 1994 to 2004, was actually himself a Stasi IM during GDR-times, exposed how ambiguous the festival’s history has been. Although Gehler’s file spoke heavily against him, he refused to take part in any debate and stated that he had been falsely accused. Many questions remained unanswered.

 

Festival crowd in the CineStar foyerLeipzig's CineStar foyer at the festival opening 2016. Photo: Susann Jehnichen

In spite of all the changes that the festival has undergone over the years, it has never lost its unique character. The Q&As after screenings reflect the close relationship with audiences. The fact that box office figures have reached record highs in recent years is a sign that the festival remains a necessary platform for debate. Challenges in society remain. Politically-engaged filmmakers who explore the world’s conflicts are as crucial today as they were 60 years ago. The festival in Leipzig with its critical audience ensures that the films do not lose their social relevance. Films alone are not able to solve problems but people who see them can. It’s not always easy to remain convinced of this, but what better task for a film festival than to reiterate this message?

 

Andreas Kötzing is a lecturer and researcher at the University of Leipzig and the Hannah Arendt Institute in Dresden. He has written many books about the festival including Kultur- und Filmpolitik im Kalten Krieg. Die Festivals von Leipzig und Oberhausen in gesamtdeutscher Perspektive (2013) and Die Sicherheit des Festivals ist zu gewährleisten! Kritische Jugend, die Leipziger Dokfilmwoche und das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (2014).

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61th International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Essay von Andreas Kötzing

Leipzig im Herbst

von Andreas Kötzing

Unangekündigte Vorführungen nach Mitternacht? Heimlich in Koffern über die Grenze geschmuggelte Filme? Von der Stasi verwanzte Hotelzimmer? Die Geschichte des Leipziger Festivals steckt voller Legenden. Viele stammen aus der DDR-Zeit, als das Festival noch Internationale Leipziger Dokumentar- und Kurzfilmwoche für Kino und Fernsehen hieß. Und wie immer bei Geschichten, die über die Jahre weitererzählt werden, lässt sich im Nachhinein kaum noch sagen, was wahr und was erfunden ist. Viele Hintergründe geraten nach und nach in Vergessenheit. Wie zum Beispiel bei jenem berühmten Foto aus dem Jahr 1964.

 

Rund zwei Dutzend Filmemacher und Filmemacherinnen bei einer Pressekonferenz 1964. Foto: Alfred Paszowiak, Bundesarchiv (BArch, DR 140/ Bild (1964))"Klassentreffen" im Jahr 1964. Von links, sitzend: Jean Lods, Santiago Álvarez, Basil Wright, Paul Rotha, Frances Flaherty, Richard Leacock, Alberto Cavalcanti, Dolmetscherin, Bert Haanstra; dahinter stehend, von links: Andrew Thorndike, Henri Storck, Gian Vittorio Baldi, Goverdhandas Aggarwal, John Grierson, Ivor Montagu, Karl Gass, Bruno Sefranka, Joris Ivens, Walter Heynowski, Annelie Thorndike, Václav Taborski, Chris Marker, Saad Nadim, Gerhard Scheumann, Dušan Vukotič.
Foto: Bundesarchiv, DR 140/ Bild (1964) / Alfred Paszkowiak .

Auf dem Bild sind etwa zwei Dutzend Regisseure zu sehen, aufgereiht zu einem Gruppenfoto. Die Atmosphäre erinnert an ein Klassentreffen. Nur, dass sich hier keine „Ehemaligen“ versammelt haben, um gemeinsam über alte Zeiten zu reden, sondern einige der damals berühmtesten Dokumentarfilmer der Welt. Das Treffen war ein Schlüsselmoment in der noch jungen Geschichte des Festivals. Binnen weniger Jahre hatte sich Leipzig einen erstaunlichen Ruf erarbeitet. Nach zwei wenig erfolgreichen Versuchen, eine gesamtdeutsche „Kulturfilmwoche“ zu etablieren (1955 und 1956) und einer anschließenden dreijährigen Zwangspause, war das Festival 1960 mit einem neuen Profil wieder ins Leben gerufen worden. Fortan sollte in Leipzig ein internationales Festival für politisch engagierte Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme veranstaltet werden. Zu einer Zeit, in der der Kalte Krieg den künstlerischen Austausch zwischen Ost und West behinderte, war das Konzept zwangsläufig ein Politikum, da die Vorstellungen über das „richtige“ politische Engagement dies- und jenseits des Eisernen Vorhanges weit auseinandergingen.

 

Dass Leipzig schnell zu einem der wichtigsten Treffpunkte für die internationale Dokumentarfilmszene werden konnte, war kein Zufall. Nach anfänglicher Skepsis unterstützten die DDR-Kulturbehörden das Festival und tolerierten zunächst eine vergleichsweise liberale Ausrichtung. Gerade vor dem Hintergrund des Mauerbaus kam der SED die Strahlkraft des Festivals gelegen. Ähnlich wie bei der jährlichen Frühjahrs- und Herbstmesse konnte man so den internationalen Gästen die angebliche Weltoffenheit des neuen sozialistischen Staates demonstrieren. Das Festival profitierte von dieser Konstellation. Mit großem finanziellen Aufwand wurden Regisseure und ihre Filme aus aller Welt nach Leipzig eingeladen. Sogar neue internationale Dokumentarfilmbewegungen, etwa das Cinéma Vérité aus Frankreich, fanden ihren Weg nach Leipzig. Joris Ivens’ La Seine a rencontré Paris (1960) und Chris Markers Le joli mai (1963) sorgten für Begeisterung, vor allem unter den jungen DEFA-Regisseuren, die als Absolventen von der Filmhochschule in Babelsberg kamen und in Leipzig mit der internationalen Filmbewegung in Kontakt treten konnten. Schon 1962 hatte kein Geringerer als Pablo Picasso die Dokumentarfilmwoche geadelt, indem er dem Festival seine Friedenstaube als Emblem zur Verfügung stellte. Sinnstiftend war damit auch das Festivalmotto verknüpft: „Filme der Welt – Für den Frieden der Welt!“

 

Festivalbanner im Jahr 1974. Foto: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-N1122-0016 / Friedrich GahlbeckEingang des Festivalkinos Capitol 1974. Photo: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-N1122-0016 / Friedrich Galhbeck.

Die Bilder vom „Klassentreffen“ aus dem Jahr 1964 belegen daher durchaus die schnelle Erfolgsgeschichte des Leipziger Festivals. Doch ein Blick in die Festivalakten zeigt, dass der harmonische Eindruck täuscht. Hinter den Kulissen tobte eine Auseinandersetzung um die politische Ausrichtung des Festivals. Mitarbeiter, die zwar keine prinzipielle Kritik am Sozialismus geübt hatten, aber trotzdem für einen vorurteilsfreien Meinungsaustausch eintraten, waren entlassen worden. Die Dogmatiker innerhalb der SED drängten darauf, eine weitere Liberalisierung des Festivals zu unterbinden. Trotz zahlreicher klassenkämpferischer Filme im Programm ging ihnen die Propagierung des sozialistischen Weltbildes nicht weit genug. Die Vorwürfe gegen das Festival waren massiv: Es sei zu „Erscheinungen ideologischer Koexistenz“ gekommen und die notwendigen „politisch-ästhetischen Auseinandersetzungen“ würden vernachlässigt. Anstatt die Errungenschaften der Sowjetunion und der anderen sozialistischen Staaten zu feiern, würde man sich bei den westlichen Gästen anbiedern.

 

Die Folgen ließen nicht lange auf sich warten. Die Auswahlkommission erhielt den Auftrag, vor allem Filme auszuwählen, die die „Überlegenheit der sozialistischen Gesellschaftsordnung überzeugend dokumentieren“ und die „Unmenschlichkeit der imperialistischen Aggressoren“ entlarven. Freie Diskussionsrunden über die künstlerischen und politischen Einflussmöglichkeiten von Dokumentarfilmen wurden gestrichen. Die ideologische Verhärtung, die das Festival in den folgenden Jahren durchlebte, spiegelt sich auch im wachsenden Einfluss der Staatssicherheit wider. Vor allem die vielen Westkontakte waren der Stasi ein Dorn im Auge. Anfangs beschränkte sich die Kontrolle des Festivals auf wenige Inoffizielle Mitarbeiter, Ende der 1960er Jahre ging das MfS jedoch dazu über, die Festivalleitung direkt „abzuschöpfen“. Regelmäßige Berichte über die Vorbereitung und den Verlauf des Festivals gehörten zu den Aufgaben des Festivaldirektors, jeder Visumsantrag landete als Durchschlag bei der Stasi. Auch auf dem Festivalgelände und in den Kinos war der Geheimdienst präsent. Gemessen am Aufwand, den das MfS betrieb, um die „Sicherheit des Festivals zu gewährleisten“, war der geheimdienstliche Ertrag jedoch eher gering. So blieben zum Beispiel die vielen Versuche, westliche Festivalgäste als Informanten anzuwerben, ohne Erfolg. Dass das MfS jedoch in permanenter Alarmbereitschaft war, zeigen die Ereignisse von 1983, als sich am Eröffnungsabend des Festivals rund 20 Jugendliche mit Kerzen in den Händen vor dem Kino Capitol zu einer stillen Friedenskundgebung zusammenfanden. Binnen weniger Minuten wurde die Demonstration aufgelöst, einige der Teilnehmer erhielten lange Haftstrafen. Ein trauriger Tiefpunkt der Festivalgeschichte.

 

Dokumentarfilmer Roman Karmen zusammen mit Konrad Wolf im Foyer des Kinos Capitol bei der Eröffnung seiner Retrospektive. Foto: Friedrich Gahlbeck. Bundesarchiv (Bild 183-K1121-0006)1971 war die Retrospektive dem sowjetischen Dokumentarfilmer Roman Karmen gewidmet. Hier trifft er zusammen mit Konrad Wolf (2.v.l.) im Festivalkino ein. Foto: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-K1121-0006 / Friedrich Gahlbeck.

Lange Zeit mussten in Leipzig viele Themen ausgespart bleiben, wenn diese nicht in das „antiimperialistische“ Konzept des Festivals passten, wie 1980/81 beispielsweise die polnischen Filme über die Solidarność-Bewegung. Die ideologischen Vorgaben hingen dem Festival wie Fußfesseln an, eröffneten aber auch Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten, indem zum Beispiel wichtige Filme über den Vietnam-Krieg, die Militärdiktaturen in Lateinamerika oder die Staaten der „Dritten Welt“ einen Schwerpunkt im Programm bildeten. Herausragend waren auch die filmhistorischen Retrospektiven, die vom Staatlichen Filmarchiv veranstaltet wurden – ähnlich umfangreiche Werkschauen einzelner Regisseure oder Einblicke in das Filmschaffen ausgewählter Länder gab es auf keinem anderen Dokumentarfilmfestival der Welt. Darüber hinaus erkämpfte sich das Festival Freiräume, die seinen besonderen Reiz ausmachten. Für die sogenannten Trade Shows konnten im Petershof zum Beispiel kleine Vorführkabinen gemietet werden – die Zensur ließ sich auf diesem Weg leichter umgehen. Auch eine kreative Form der Programmgestaltung war in Leipzig gang und gäbe, um umstrittene Filme irgendwie im Programm zu verstecken, notfalls auch am Sonntagmorgen um 8 Uhr.

 

Für viele filmbegeisterte Zuschauer aus Leipzig und für das ostdeutsche Fachpublikum war das Festival der wichtigste Ort, um filmische Eindrücke aus aller Welt gewinnen zu können. Denn die internationalen Filme wurden danach nur selten in den DDR-Kinos oder im Fernsehen gezeigt. Die Akkreditierungen waren daher immens begehrt. Um die Filme sehen zu können, nahm man auch die ideologisch aufgeladenen Festtagsreden in Kauf, die immer zum Festival dazugehörten. Auf der Leinwand wurden die angeblichen Verheißungen des Sozialismus ohnehin zunehmend ad absurdum geführt. Die gelegentlichen Misstöne, die schon immer in einigen DEFA-Dokumentarfilmen und den Produktionen aus Osteuropa anklangen, verdichteten sich 1987 zu einem Vorboten des politischen Umbruchs, als einige sowjetische Filme in Leipzig zu sehen waren, die offen über gesellschaftliche Probleme erzählten: Tschernobyl, desillusionierte Jugendliche, verarmte Rentner, Alkohol als letzter Ausweg aus einem tristen Alltag. Und überall die Hoffnung, dass sich endlich etwas ändert. Glasnost und Perestroika hatten ihren Weg auf die Leinwand gefunden, sehr zum Ärger der SED-Bürokraten, die dafür Sorge trugen, dass sich Ähnliches im kommenden Jahr nicht wiederholte. Doch der Wandel ließ sich nicht aufhalten. Helke Misselwitz’ beeindruckende Dokumentation Winter adé, ein empathisches Porträt ostdeutscher Frauen und ihrer individuellen Sehnsüchte, wurde 1988 zum programmatischen Film des Festivals. Schon im Jahr darauf suchte die Dokumentarfilmwoche in den turbulenten Unruhen des „Wende“-Herbstes nach einer neuen Form.

 

Festivalpublikum im vollbesetzten Capitol 1984. Foto: Friedrich Gahlbeck. Bundesarchiv (Bild 183-1984-1128-026)Festivalpublikum im vollbesetzten Capitol in den 1980er Jahren. Foto: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-1984-1128-026 / Friedrich Gahlbeck.

Im Nachhinein erscheint es fast wie ein Wunder, dass das Festival die schwierige Zeit nach 1990 überlebt hat. Reduzierte Finanzen, schwindende Zuschauerzahlen und die Konkurrenz mit anderen Festivals – an den neuen Aufgaben hätte das Festival leicht scheitern können. Für den Erhalt gab es viele Gründe, ausschlaggebend dürfte vor allem das Engagement der Mitarbeiter gewesen sein, die dem Festival noch aus DDR-Zeiten verbunden waren und auf seine gesellschaftspolitische Relevanz pochten. Brauchte man ein politisch engagiertes Festival nicht jetzt erst recht? Als Ort der künstlerischen Diskussion über die schnellen Veränderung in der Welt? Als Glücksgriff erwies sich dabei, dass das Festival 1995 mit einem eigenständigen Wettbewerb für Animationsfilme ein zweites Standbein erhielt. Die Kombination aus beiden Stilrichtungen macht bis heute ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal aus. Auch die vielen Kontakte des Festivals aus der Zeit vor 1989 blieben erhalten, osteuropäische Filme bilden bis heute einen Schwerpunkt im Programm. Eine wichtige Zäsur markieren die Markt- und Branchenangebote, die seit 2004 eingeführt wurden. Die internationale Relevanz des Festivals, die zwischenzeitlich zu schwinden drohte, konnte dadurch gesichert werden.

 

Wenngleich beim Festival heute nur noch wenig an die Zeit vor 1989/90 erinnert, stellt der Umgang mit der widersprüchlichen Vergangenheit immer wieder eine Herausforderung dar. Die Versuche, an die positiven Aspekte der DDR-Vergangenheit anzuknüpfen, ohne die Schattenseiten der Festivalgeschichte auszublenden, riefen häufig Konflikte hervor. Als 2004 zum Beispiel Picassos Friedenstaube durch eine modernere Taube ersetzt wurde, weil Picassos Motiv in der DDR für politische Zwecke instrumentalisiert worden war, kochten die Emotionen hoch. Der damalige Festivaldirektor Claas Danielsen sah sich mit dem Vorwurf konfrontiert, leichtfertig die Tradition des Festivals zu verspielen. Und auch als 2012 bekannt wurde, dass ausgerechnet Fred Gehler, der sich als langjähriger Direktor (1994–2004) große Verdienste um das Festival erworben hatte, zu DDR-Zeiten als IM für die Staatssicherheit tätig gewesen war, wurde die Ambivalenz der Festivalgeschichte spürbar. Das Aktenmaterial belastete Gehler schwer, er entzog sich jedoch einer Debatte und wischte den Vorgang als angebliche Fälschung vom Tisch. Viele Fragen blieben offen.

 

Viele Menschen im Foyer des CineStarDas Foyer im CineStar bei der Festivaleröffnung 2016. Foto: Susann Jehnichen

Trotz der Veränderungen, die das Leipziger Festival in den vergangenen Jahren durchlaufen hat, ist ihm sein besonderer Charakter nie abhandengekommen. Dies betrifft zum Beispiel die Publikumsnähe, die sich in den Gesprächen im Anschluss an die Filme widerspiegelt. Dass die Zuschauerzahlen in den vergangenen Jahren Rekordwerte erreichten, ist ein Ausdruck dafür, dass das Festival als Ort der Diskussion gebraucht wird. Die gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen bleiben. Engagierte Regisseure, die sich künstlerisch mit den Konflikten in der Welt auseinandersetzen, braucht es heute nicht weniger als vor 60 Jahren. Sie haben in Leipzig ein Festival mit einem kritischen Publikum, ohne das die Filme ihre gesellschaftliche Relevanz verlieren würden. Filme alleine lösen keine Probleme, das können nur die Menschen, die sie sehen. Den Glauben daran zu erhalten, mag nicht immer leicht sein, aber gibt es eine schönere Aufgabe für ein Filmfestival?