Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 3b6270db-f1f3-4614-9a69-383a8532e8ac.jpg

0.2 Milligrams of Gold

0,2 miligramas de ouro
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2021
Documentary Film
Belgium,
Brazil,
Portugal,
Hungary
2021
24 minutes
Portuguese (Brazil),
French,
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Frederik Nicolai
André Mielnik
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Leo Foulet
Sébastien Lheureux
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Sébastien Lheureux

8,500 kilometres lie between the Amazon and the Ardennes. In his home country of Brazil, Diego Quinderé de Carvalho only looks at the inaccessible and menacing forest from the outside. Its Belgian counter piece, however, is easy to explore. Here, everything is laid out by people, neatly ordered and reduced to the essentials. A geologist, a gold miner and an astronomer provide insights for a philosophical exploration of the origin of existence and the future of our planet.

Kim Busch
#
Intervening Nature
Redistribution and Having a Say
Media Name: 5dd4dbee-70c6-41dc-b05b-e6cf21bdee35.png

A Bay

Uma baía
Murilo Salles
International Competition 2021
Documentary Film
Brazil
2021
109 minutes
Portuguese (Brazil)
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Murilo Salles
Murilo Salles
Eva Randolph
Léo Bittencourt
Fabrício Mota
João Jabace
Sarah Lelièvre
Felipe Luz
Murilo Salles
Eva Randolph
Itauana Coquet

The Baía de Guanabara is not just any bay: the metropolitan area of Rio de Janeiro has sprawled around it. Its waste water threatens the rich ecosystem, planes roar along the approach corridors above. These filmic explorations on the margins of the megacity portray various environments that are all connected to the bay in a specific way. The people here are micro-wage earners making a modest living.

At night the lights of the city and the promises of capitalism shine in the distance. To the people living at the periphery, they seem out of reach. In eight chapters this documentary essay meditates on their habitats along the bay, following the repetitive and physically exhausting activities of humans and farm animals. Unusual perspectives, careful camera work and a poignant sound design elevate these observations to a commentary on the crisis in Brazil. Murilo Salles, who won a Silver Dove in Leipzig in 1978 for his debut “These Are the Weapons”, sheds light on the close link between geographical space and social inequality.
Annina Wettstein
Nominated for FIPRESCI Prize, Prize of the Interreligious Jury
#
Intervening Nature
Rural vs. Urban
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2020
Media Name: b001fd5b-29e3-409b-a42c-2686f0d9f555.jpg
Gravity VR Fabito Rychter, Amir Admoni
Osario and Benedito live in a space where gravity doesn’t seem to exist. Their cosmos knows neither up nor down. But is all this lightness just an illusion after all?
2020
Media Name: b001fd5b-29e3-409b-a42c-2686f0d9f555.jpg

Gravity VR

Gravity VR
Fabito Rychter, Amir Admoni
Extended Reality 2020
-
Brazil,
Peru
2020
16 minutes
English,
Portuguese (Brazil)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fabito Rychter
Amir Admoni
Fabito Rychter
Amir Admoni
Peter Baker
Mauro Rychter
Amir Admoni
Owen Svelmoe
Owen Svelmoe
Fabito Rychter
Delirium XR

Osario and Benedito, two brothers, lead a quiet and isolated life. Gravity doesn’t seem to exist in their cosmos. Objects float around – no up, no down, no points of orientation. The two have never known anything else than this floating in space. We float along and are irritated: is all this lightness just an illusion?

Lars Rummel
Media Name: 0d0e63ca-0988-4783-80c3-afdfc4587bca.jpg

Handwritten

Escrito à mão
Lui Avallos
Extended Reality 2021
-
Brazil,
Portugal,
Italy,
France
2021
9 minutes
Portuguese (Brazil),
Italian,
French,
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lui Avallos
Rodrigo Moreira
Mundivagante Studio
Lui Avallos
Lui Avallos
Lui Avallos
Agnese Riaudo
Filippo Stagnini
Jessica Menezes

The global COVID-19 pandemic has changed human relationships. Archive material, 360° footage and artificially generated images are used to create a synaesthetic essay film about loneliness, insecurity and the increasing shift of our everyday life into the digital realm. Dystopic and anonymous stories merge in a collage of the disturbing social and political phenomena of our time.

Lars Rummel
#
Intervening Nature
State of the World
Love/Without Love
Media Name: 5058e99c-ea45-478e-9a23-1b8b8178be76.png

Lo que queda en el camino

Lo que queda en el camino
Jakob Krese, Danilo do Carmo
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Documentary Film
Brazil,
Germany,
Mexico
2021
93 minutes
Spanish
subtitles: 
German Subtitles for deaf and hard-of-hearing, English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakob Krese
Danilo do Carmo
Annika Mayer
Bruna Epiphanio
Arne Büttner
Danilo do Carmo
Sofia A. Machado

In 2018, thousands of people from Latin America set out together, fleeing from a lack of perspective, poverty and violence to the U.S. Among them Lilian, a single mother from Guatemala, who found the courage to leave her violent husband. The caravan was her only chance to achieve this act of strength. Nevertheless: 4,000 kilometres with four small children, walking, hitchhiking and travelling north on “La Bestia”, the freight train, are still extremely perilous.

The film contrasts the media coverage with a sensitive view that deliberately focuses on one family. It registers inconceivable hardships, but also great helpfulness, Lilian’s power of endurance and her ability to make the exertions seem like an adventure trip for her children – at least occasionally. Despite this lightness, though, the struggle remains as present as the fact that the US is simultaneously building a wall to prevent anyone from crossing the border. When Lilian and her children reach the border after weeks of fear, she breaks down. Suddenly the question arises whether her goal is really this rich country. Isn’t it rather about finally standing up to male dominance and traditional gender roles? It’s very obvious that one thing remained on Lilian’s arduous way: Fear has yielded to a new self-confidence.
Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Nominated for DEFA Sponsoring Prize, Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize, Leipziger Ring
#
Family Ties
Migration

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 3b6270db-f1f3-4614-9a69-383a8532e8ac.jpg

0.2 Milligrams of Gold

0,2 miligramas de ouro
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Brasilien,
Portugal,
Ungarn
2021
24 Minuten
Portugiesisch (Brasilien),
Französisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Frederik Nicolai
André Mielnik
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Leo Foulet
Sébastien Lheureux
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Diego Quinderé de Carvalho
Sébastien Lheureux

8.500 Kilometer liegen zwischen dem Amazonas und den Ardennen. In seiner Heimat Brasilien betrachtet Diego Quinderé de Carvalho den unzugänglichen und bedrohlichen Wald nur von außen. Das belgische Pendant lässt sich hingegen leicht erkunden. Hier ist alles von Menschen angelegt, übersichtlich und aufs Wesentliche reduziert. Ein Geologe, ein Goldgräber und ein Astronom liefern ihm Einsichten für die philosophische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ursprung des Seins und der Zukunft unseres Planeten.

Kim Busch
#
Natur in Bearbeitung
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2021
Media Name: 5dd4dbee-70c6-41dc-b05b-e6cf21bdee35.png
A Bay Murilo Salles
Filmische und akustische Erkundungen rund um die Bucht von Rio de Janeiro und über den Alltag verschiedener Existenzen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise über Wasser halten.
Media Name: 5dd4dbee-70c6-41dc-b05b-e6cf21bdee35.png

A Bay

Uma baía
Murilo Salles
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien
2021
109 Minuten
Portugiesisch (Brasilien)
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Murilo Salles
Murilo Salles
Eva Randolph
Léo Bittencourt
Fabrício Mota
João Jabace
Sarah Lelièvre
Felipe Luz
Murilo Salles
Eva Randolph
Itauana Coquet

Die Baía de Guanabara ist nicht irgendeine Bucht: Um sie herum hat sich die Metropolregion Rio de Janeiro ausgebreitet. Ihre Abwässer bedrohen das reiche Ökosystem, Flugzeuge dröhnen über den Anflugschneisen. Die filmischen Erkundungen an den Rändern der Megacity porträtieren verschiedene Lebenswelten, die alle auf jeweils besondere Weise mit der Meeresbucht in Verbindung stehen. Es sind Kleinstverdienende, die sich hier ihre bescheidenen Existenzen sichern.

In der Ferne leuchten nachts die Lichter der Stadt und die Versprechen des Kapitalismus. Für die in der Peripherie lebenden Menschen sind sie scheinbar unerreichbar. In acht Kapiteln meditiert der essayistische Dokumentarfilm über ihren Lebensraum an der Bucht. Er begleitet die repetitiven und physisch anstrengenden Tätigkeiten von Menschen und Nutztieren. Ungewohnte Perspektiven, eine sorgfältige Kameraarbeit und ein pointiertes Sounddesign erheben die Beobachtungen zu einem Kommentar zur Krisenlage in Brasilien. Murilo Salles, der 1978 mit seinem Debüt „These Are the Weapons“ in Leipzig eine Silberne Taube gewann, verdeutlicht die enge Verflechtung von geografischem Raum und sozialer Ungleichheit.
Annina Wettstein
Nominiert für: FIPRESCI Preis, Preis der Interreligiösen Jury
#
Natur in Bearbeitung
Ländlich vs. urban
Extended Reality: DOK Neuland 2020
Media Name: b001fd5b-29e3-409b-a42c-2686f0d9f555.jpg
Gravity VR Fabito Rychter, Amir Admoni
Osario und Benedito leben in einem Raum, in dem es scheinbar keine Schwerkraft gibt. Ihr Kosmos kennt kein Oben oder Unten. Aber ist die ganze Leichtigkeit doch nur eine Illusion?
Media Name: b001fd5b-29e3-409b-a42c-2686f0d9f555.jpg

Gravity VR

Gravity VR
Fabito Rychter, Amir Admoni
Extended Reality 2020
-
Brasilien,
Peru
2020
16 Minuten
Englisch,
Portugiesisch (Brasilien)

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fabito Rychter
Amir Admoni
Fabito Rychter
Amir Admoni
Peter Baker
Mauro Rychter
Amir Admoni
Owen Svelmoe
Owen Svelmoe
Fabito Rychter
Delirium XR

Osario und Benedito, zwei Brüder, führen ein ruhiges und isoliertes Leben. In ihrem Kosmos scheint es keine Schwerkraft zu geben. Gegenstände fliegen umher – kein Oben, kein Unten, keine Anhaltspunkte für die Orientierung. Die beiden kennen nichts anderes als dieses Schweben im Raum. Wir schweben mit und sind irritiert: Ist die ganze Leichtigkeit nur eine Illusion?

Lars Rummel
Media Name: 0d0e63ca-0988-4783-80c3-afdfc4587bca.jpg

Handwritten

Escrito à mão
Lui Avallos
Extended Reality 2021
-
Brasilien,
Portugal,
Italien,
Frankreich
2021
9 Minuten
Portugiesisch (Brasilien),
Italienisch,
Französisch,
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lui Avallos
Rodrigo Moreira
Mundivagante Studio
Lui Avallos
Lui Avallos
Lui Avallos
Agnese Riaudo
Filippo Stagnini
Jessica Menezes

Die globale Covid-19-Pandemie hat menschliche Beziehungen verändert. Aus Archivmaterial, 360°-Aufnahmen und künstlich generierten Bildern entsteht ein synästhetischer Essayfilm über Einsamkeit, Verunsicherung und die zunehmende Verlagerung des Alltags ins Digitale. Dystopische und anonyme Geschichten verbinden sich zu einer Collage der verstörenden sozialen und politischen Phänomene unserer Zeit.

Lars Rummel
#
Natur in Bearbeitung
Zustand der Welt
Liebe/ohne Liebe
Media Name: 5058e99c-ea45-478e-9a23-1b8b8178be76.png

Lo que queda en el camino

Lo que queda en el camino
Jakob Krese, Danilo do Carmo
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Brasilien,
Deutschland,
Mexiko
2021
93 Minuten
Spanisch
Untertitel: 
deutsche Untertitel für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Hörfähigkeit, Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jakob Krese
Danilo do Carmo
Annika Mayer
Bruna Epiphanio
Arne Büttner
Danilo do Carmo
Sofia A. Machado

2018 machten sich Tausende Menschen aus Lateinamerika auf den Weg. Gemeinsam flohen sie vor Perspektivlosigkeit, Armut und Gewalt Richtung USA. Auch die alleinerziehende Mutter Lilian aus Guatemala wagte es, ihren gewalttätigen Ehemann zu verlassen. Die Karawane war ihre einzige Chance, den Kraftakt zu schaffen. Dennoch: 4.000 Kilometer mit vier kleinen Kindern zu Fuß, per Anhalter und auf „La Bestia“, dem Güterzug gen Norden, bleiben lebensgefährlich.

Der Film setzt der medialen Berichterstattung einen sensiblen Blick entgegen, der sich ganz bewusst auf eine Familie konzentriert. Er registriert unfassbare Härten, aber auch große Hilfsbereitschaft, Lilians Durchhaltevermögen und ihre Fähigkeit, die Strapazen für ihre Kinder – zumindest manchmal – wie eine Abenteuerreise wirken zu lassen. Doch trotz aller Leichtigkeit bleibt die Anstrengung genauso präsent wie die Tatsache, dass die USA zeitgleich eine Mauer errichten, die jeden Grenzübertritt verhindern soll. Als Lilian und ihre Kinder nach Wochen der Angst an der Grenze ankommen, bricht sie zusammen. Plötzlich stellt sich die Frage, ob ihr Ziel wirklich dieses reiche Land ist. Geht es nicht vielmehr darum, sich endlich gegen männliche Dominanz und traditionelle Geschlechterrollen zu behaupten? Ganz offensichtlich kam Lilian auf dem beschwerlichen Weg etwas abhanden: Die Angst ist einem neuen Selbstbewusstsein gewichen.
Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Nominiert für: DEFA Förderpreis, Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts, Leipziger Ring
#
Familienbande
Flucht