Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Retrospective 2019
… sie bewegt uns alle Kurt Stordel

An animation in praise of the Deutsche Mark as the solid currency to be trusted.

… sie bewegt uns alle

Animated Film
FRG
1950
10 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kurt Stordel Filmproduktion
Kurt Stordel
Gerhard Trede
Kurt Stordel
Bertram Otto
An animation in praise of the Deutsche Mark as the solid currency to be trusted.

Olaf Möller
Media Name: f23d9d63-8aaa-416c-8784-a1e8dffa2fb7.jpg

“Hello,” We Lied

“Hello,” We Lied
Laura Gamse
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2020
Documentary Film
USA
2020
12 minutes
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Laura Gamse
Daydream Reels
Mike Diva
Bernard Myburgh
Mike Diva
Steven O’Brien
Lostboyevsky
Sony Cleveland
Greg Sinibaldi
Jesse Canterbury
Laura Gamse
Laura Gamse

Journalism in the U.S. is in crisis. Jestin Coler, also known as the “fake news king”, most likely contributed to this when headlines from his satirical web page were picked up and believed by the mainstream. Coler describes fake news as a gateway drug and, ironically, as an antidote at the same time. In her film, director Laura Gamse scrolls through news and memes and thereby impressively comments on the state of Western societies.

Kim Busch
#
Redistribution and Having a Say
State of the World
Download Film Details PDF

(Be)Longing

Documentary Film
France,
Portugal,
Switzerland
2014
77 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luís Urbano
João Pedro Plácido
João Pedro Plácido
Pedro Marques
João Pedro Plácido, Laurence Ferreira Barbosa
Hugo Leitão
Uz, a hamlet in the north of Portugal, is home to about 50 people. Four generations, including the filmmaker João Pedro Plácido’s grandparents, so there’s reason to assume that he was emotionally involved with this project long before the first take was even a remote possibility. In Uz time passes as if clocks didn’t exist. Few things happen, lots of things are going on. The elements provide the rhythm. The story of village life over the course of a year develops organically between cattle drives, an overturned dung cart, harvest and the feast on the day the animals are slaughtered, between vespers and fireworks, confession and longing. The characters, too, develop quite naturally. There’s even a boy-meets-girl story which gradually emerges from the flow of events between Daniel, the youngest lad in this village community, and a young woman from nearby. It’s a touching moment when Daniel thinks about what kind of relationship a guy like him can probably expect from the future – that is “ordering” a Thai or Brazilian bride on the Internet. Even more touching is the fact that he (and the Brazilian or Thai) are spared this fate, at least for the time being. The film portrays people and events with sober tenderness, beautifully balanced between precise observation and sparing poetry.

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2018
(M)Other Antonia Hungerland

How does the image of motherhood change when egg donation, surrogate motherhood or adoption add various alternatives to the male-female-intercourse-biology model?

(M)Other

Documentary Film
Germany
2018
88 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Antonia Hungerland
Markus Zierhofer
Antonia Hungerland
Antonella Sarubbi
Antonia Hungerland
Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
It’s quite realistic today for a child to have three mothers: an egg donor gives her genes to a baby who is born by a surrogate mother and raised by another woman or a person who may be male and gay. The classic concept of “natural” motherhood reaches its limits here (and elsewhere).

The definition of motherhood is being contested. The general controversy about changing social norms is reflected in the debate about (good) mothers. This discussion, as “(M)Other” very clearly demonstrates, concerns everybody. Both those who have to contend with stereotypes and prejudice as “classic” mothers and those who claim the term even though they do not correspond to the established “model” that stubbornly resists all obvious changes. Antonia Hungerland shows that the seemingly personal is still (or: today more than ever) highly political.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

[Demonstration in Dresden am 22. Januar 1990; Besichtigung in Dresdener Stasi-Objekt] [Ausschnitt]

Documentary Film
GDR
1990
15 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

anonymous
An amateur film document in the midst of the political and social changes that were demanded, desired or feared since the opening of the inner-German border in November 1989. The uncertainty of that time seems to operate the filmmaker’s camera: shot from an awkward angle, trying to get a clear view but inexperienced and as yet unable to create a comprehensive picture, the speakers are to be captured on stage between banners and flags. There, prominent speakers explain their interpretation of the past and, to the enthusiastic applause of their listeners, make demands for the political design of the immediate future.

Konstantin Wiesinger
Everyday Life in the GDR 2016
[Eigenwerbung für das Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig]

This commercial was to be screened before the amateur film programmes presented by Leipzig’s “Casino” arthouse cinema on special occasions.

[Eigenwerbung für das Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig]

Documentary Film
GDR
1980
4 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig
This commercial was to be screened before the amateur film programmes presented by Leipzig’s “Casino” arthouse cinema on special occasions.

Stefan Gööck

[Kolloquium Ausstellung „Zeitzeichen. Stationen Bildender Kunst in NRW“ am 11. November 1989 in Leipzig] [Ausschnitt]

Documentary Film
GDR
1989
28 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
On the occasion of an exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts in Leipzig shortly after the fall of the Berlin Wall, a panel of renowned artists and art mediators in the GDR talk about the mutual pervasion of art and society in the GDR and the FRG. Among the panellists are the painters and professors Arno Rink and Wolfgang Mattheuer, both spokesmen for the Leipzig School renowned beyond the borders of the GDR, and Erhard Frommhold, publicist and former chief reader of Verlag der Kunst in Dresden. The interviewees reflect on their own biographies and attempt to give an outlook on the freedom of art under the auspices of the free market.

Konstantin Wiesinger
Genius Loci 2020
Media Name: b44edd76-61a2-4c3b-b0dc-cc3695aba18f.png
[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz] Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
The hectic atmosphere on the station forecourt hasn’t changed in all those years. Even in 1988, this inhospitable place was crossed at the quickest possible pace.
Media Name: b44edd76-61a2-4c3b-b0dc-cc3695aba18f.png

[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz]

[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz]
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Genius Loci 2020
Documentary Film
GDR
1988
3 minutes
without dialogue
subtitles: 
None

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Konstantin Wiesinger
Sächsisches Staatsarchiv

Romantic train rides? Rapid cuts and pans show the profane, hectic everyday life of a big city that has no time for romance. The “last mile” to the place of actual departure is covered at a quick pace – by taxi, streetcar or bus. Serious, tired or withdrawn faces hurry to leave the inhospitable station forecourt behind.

Konstantin Wiesinger
#
Regional
Retrospective 2018
[Universitätskirche in Leipzig, Sprengung 1968]

Footage that was officially not supposed to exist. A find from the Saxon State Archive.

[Universitätskirche in Leipzig, Sprengung 1968]

Documentary Film
GDR
1968
2 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Manfred Köhler, Rudolf Etzold
Footage that was officially not supposed to exist. A find from the Saxon State Archive.

Ralph Eue
Matinee Sächsisches Staatsarchiv 2018
[Universitätskirche Leipzig, Sprengung 1968; Interview mit Manfred Köhler 1999]

The cinematographer Manfred Köhler talks about filming the controlled demolition of the Leipzig university church in 1968.

[Universitätskirche Leipzig, Sprengung 1968; Interview mit Manfred Köhler 1999]

Documentary Film
GDR
1968
11 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Manfred Köhler, Rudolf Etzold, Paul Pfingst
The cinematographer and television producer Manfred Köhler, who died in 2013 and was head of the “Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig” in the 1960s, talks with Stefan Gööck about the circumstances of filming the controlled demolition of the Leipzig university church in 1968. The master baker Rudolf Etzold from Schmölln is mentioned as a member of the team, the vocational school teacher Klaus Büttner developed the 16mm material, bypassing the DEFA lab – both of them members of the “Bezirksarbeitsgemeinschaft Amateurfilm Leipzig” (district amateur film association). Köhler cites the production of this material as proof that it was possible to not be taken in completely.

Stefan Gööck
Disobedient Images 2016
#47 José Miguel Biscaya

Landscape painting with creative pixel glitches. José Miguel Biscaya explores a nature scene with the camera and rediscovers it through manipulated MPEG algorithms and deliberate encoding errors.

#47

Animated Film
Netherlands
2014
11 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
Landscape painting with creative pixel glitches. José Miguel Biscaya explores a nature scene with the camera and rediscovers it through manipulated MPEG algorithms and deliberate encoding errors. Familiar natural phenomena liquefy into surprising shapes and colours straight from the hidden recesses of perception.

Ines Seifert
Late Harvest 2018
#Female Pleasure Barbara Miller

Misogyny is structurally inscribed in the cultural cores of all social systems in the world. “#Female Pleasure” exposes these cores, lucidly and from a global perspective.

#Female Pleasure

Documentary Film
Germany,
Switzerland
2018
97 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Barbara Miller
Peter Scherer
Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Isabel Meier
Barbara Miller
Tom Weber
Women are subordinate to men. They are born sinful and have no legal claim to their own body. Misogyny is more than a phenomenon observed across continental divides all over the world and in some cases the cause of abuse and crime. It is structurally inscribed – literally – into the core of all social systems founded on religious beliefs. In the bible, for example, we read: “I find woman more bitter than Death […] The man who is pleasing to God eludes her.”

In this lucid film, which takes a global perspective, five female protagonists talk about misogynistic behaviour they experienced, hostilities they were exposed to, crimes committed against them. Rokudenashiko, a Japanese artist, is on trial for the obscenity of her art. Deborah Feldman escaped with her son from a Hassidic community in Brooklyn, leaving her husband to whom she was forcibly married. Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner and Vithika Yadav talk about rape and mutilation, lack of legal protection, homophobia, shame and the strange feeling that one’s sexuality and body are associated with sin from birth.

Lukas Stern



Awarded with the Special Prize of the Interreligious Jury

#resistayol

Documentary Film
Germany,
Turkey
2016
56 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rüzgâr Buşki
Rüzgâr Buşki
Gizem Oruç
Zara Zandieh
Rüzgâr Buşki
Fehmican Gözüm
Senem Donatan, Rüzgâr Buşki
Ulaş P. Dutlu, Gizem Oruç
In the summer of 2013, Rüzgâr Buşki was on his way to Istanbul to make a documentary about his close friend Şevval, a trans-LGBTI activist. What he didn’t realise was that his visit coincided with the Gezi Park protests, one of the biggest demonstrations in Turkish history. Inevitably, the focus of the documentary shifted in light of these events and we, just like Şevval, participate in this turning point. High spirited and whimsical, “#resistayol” shows us a magical moment in the lives of thousands of people and gives us a better sense of the contribution of the LGBTI community to the human rights movement in Turkey.

Özge Calafato
Post-Angst 2017
#theircatsaswell Lisbeth Kovačič

Stations of an animal refugee story in which, thanks to Social Media, the cat gets a German passport sooner than its owners.

#theircatsaswell

Animated Film
Austria
2016
4 minutes
subtitles: 
No

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lisbeth Kovačič
Lisbeth Kovačič
Matija Schellander
Lisbeth Kovačič
Lisbeth Kovačič
Matija Schellander
Stations of an animal refugee story in which, thanks to Social Media, the cat gets a German passport sooner than its owners.

Franziska Bruckner
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2016
#uploading_holocaust Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir

Young Israelis performing a rite of initiation, the “Journey to Poland”: seven days, three mass graves, four concentration camps, and cameras running all the time. An exercise in identity made up of YouTube videos – horror 2.0.

#uploading_holocaust

Documentary Film
Austria,
Germany,
Israel
2016
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gebrüder Beetz Filmproduktion, udiVsagi production
Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir
Uri Agnon
Sagi Bornstein, Gal Goffer
Aviv Aldema
It’s like an initiation ritual. Every year 25,000 Israeli pupils and students go on a trip to Poland, visiting four concentration camps, three mass graves and two ghettos in seven days. It’s a journey to the dead, their roots, and themselves: as Jews and citizens of Israel. They document everything on their smartphones: hotel rooms, barracks, shooting ranges, themselves, their friends. The material shared on YouTube is the basis of this film – and it’s revealing. The two Israeli directors Sagi Bornstein and Udi Nir set contemporary recordings against videotapes from the 1980s. How will the memory change when there are no more contemporary witnesses? What can the crumbling sites still reveal? When will the rituals become hollow?

The Holocaust is the narrative of Israel, the constituent element of the state, even more than Zionism. That’s what the young people are taught to believe. The concept is historical imagination and immersion. They are supposed to feel the squeeze of the cattle wagons, the hardness of the narrow pallets and the oppression of the gas chambers. Horror 2.0. The video material also shows, however, how much smarter the young people are. There are no stupid questions, documentary filmmaker Marcel Ophüls once said, only stupid answers.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award
Kids DOK 2017
1 Minute of Nature – Birds of Prey Stefanie Visjager, Katinka Baehr

Lizzy has some very special pets. Alba the striped owl is her favourite among the four birds of prey and occasionally gets to ride on the handlebars of Lizzy’s bicycle.

2016

1 Minute of Nature – Birds of Prey

Animadoc
Netherlands
2016
1 minute
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stefanie Visjager
Stefanie Visjager, Katinka Baehr
Lotte van Dijck
Kris Kobes
Tjitske Mussche
Tjitske Mussche, Arno Peeters
Lizzy has some very special pets. Alba the striped owl is her favourite among the four birds of prey and occasionally gets to ride on the handlebars of Lizzy’s bicycle.

Lina Dinkla

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

… sie bewegt uns alle

Animationsfilm
BRD
1950
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Kurt Stordel Filmproduktion
Kurt Stordel
Gerhard Trede
Kurt Stordel
Bertram Otto
Eine Animation zum Lobe der Deutschen Mark als solide Währung des Vertrauens.

Olaf Möller
Media Name: f23d9d63-8aaa-416c-8784-a1e8dffa2fb7.jpg

“Hello,” We Lied

“Hello,” We Lied
Laura Gamse
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2020
Dokumentarfilm
USA
2020
12 Minuten
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Laura Gamse
Daydream Reels
Mike Diva
Bernard Myburgh
Mike Diva
Steven O’Brien
Lostboyevsky
Sony Cleveland
Greg Sinibaldi
Jesse Canterbury
Laura Gamse
Laura Gamse

Der Journalismus in den USA ist in der Krise. Jestin Coler, auch bekannt als „Fake-News-König“, hat höchstwahrscheinlich dazu beigetragen. Schlagzeilen seiner Satireseite wurden vom Mainstream aufgegriffen und geglaubt. Coler bezeichnet Fake News als Einstiegsdroge – und ironischerweise als Gegenmittel zugleich. Regisseurin Laura Gamse scrollt sich in ihrem Film durch Nachrichten und Memes und gibt damit einen eindrucksvollen Kommentar zum Zustand westlicher Gesellschaften ab.

Kim Busch
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Zustand der Welt
Download Film Details PDF

(Be)Longing

Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Portugal,
Schweiz
2014
77 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Luís Urbano
João Pedro Plácido
João Pedro Plácido
Pedro Marques
João Pedro Plácido, Laurence Ferreira Barbosa
Hugo Leitão
In Uz, einem Weiler im Norden Portugals, leben etwa 50 Menschen. Vier Generationen. Auch die Großeltern des Filmemachers João Pedro Plácido kommen von hier. So kann man vermuten, dass er mit diesem Projekt emotional bereits lange begonnen hatte, bevor an die erste Klappe für den Film überhaupt zu denken war. In Uz verstreicht die Zeit, als gäbe es keine Uhr. Wenig passiert, vieles geschieht. Den Takt schlagen die Elemente. Organisch entwickelt sich die Geschichte eines dörflichen Jahres zwischen Viehtrieb und umgestürztem Mistwagen, Ernte und Schlachtfest, Vesper und Feuerwerk, Beichte und Sehnsucht. Auch Charaktere nehmen wie selbstverständlich Kontur an. Gar eine Boy-meets-Girl-Story zwischen Daniel, dem jüngsten Burschen dieser Dorf-Community, und einer jungen Frau aus der näheren Umgebung schält sich aus den Ereignissen heraus. Bewegend, wenn Daniel darüber nachsinnt, was einem wie ihm vermutlich als die normale Zukunft seines Beziehungslebens bevorsteht, nämlich eine Thailänderin oder Brasilianerin im Internet zu „bestellen“. Noch bewegender, dass ihm (und der Brasilianerin oder Thailänderin) das zumindest vorerst erspart bleibt. Die Zeichnung von Menschen und Ereignissen in diesem Film ist geprägt von einer empfindsamen Nüchternheit, in schöne Balance gebracht zwischen genauer Beobachtung und sparsamer Poesie.

---Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2018
(M)Other Antonia Hungerland

Wie verändert sich das Bild des Mutterseins, wenn sich durch Eizellenspende, Leihmutterschaft oder Adoption diverse Alternativen zum Modell Mann-Frau-Beischlaf-Biologie gesellen?

(M)Other

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2018
88 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Antonia Hungerland
Markus Zierhofer
Antonia Hungerland
Antonella Sarubbi
Antonia Hungerland
Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
Heute ist es durchaus realistisch, dass ein Kind drei Mütter hat: eine Eizellenspenderin gibt einem Baby ihre Gene, das von einer Leihmutter austragen und später von einer weiteren Frau oder einer Person, die eventuell männlich und schwul ist, aufgezogen wird. Das klassische Konzept der „natürlichen“ Mutterschaft kommt hier (und anderswo) an seine Grenzen.

Die Definition von Mutterschaft ist umkämpft. In der Debatte über (gute) Mütter spiegelt sich das generelle Ringen um gesellschaftliche Normen im Wandel. Diese Diskussion, das macht „(M)Other“ sehr deutlich, betrifft alle. Sowohl jene, die als „klassische“ Mütter mit Klischees und Vorurteilen zu kämpfen haben, als auch solche, die den Begriff für sich in Anspruch nehmen, obwohl sie dem etablierten, sich stur gegen alle offensichtlichen Veränderungen behauptenden „Modell“ nicht entsprechen. Antonia Hungerland zeigt, dass das vermeintlich Private noch immer (oder: erst recht heute) hochgradig politisch ist.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

[Demonstration in Dresden am 22. Januar 1990; Besichtigung in Dresdener Stasi-Objekt] [Ausschnitt]

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1990
15 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

anonymous
Ein Amateurfilmdokument inmitten der politisch-gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen, die seit der Öffnung der innerdeutschen Grenze im November 1989 gefordert, gewünscht oder gefürchtet wurden. Die Unsicherheit dieser Zeit scheint der oder dem Filmenden die Kamera zu führen: Aus ungünstiger Perspektive heraus, um gute Sicht bemüht, aber ungeübt und noch nicht in der Lage, Übersicht herzustellen, sollen zwischen Transparenten und Fahnen die Redner auf der Bühne eingefangen werden. Dort erläutern prominente Sprecher ihre Deutung der Vergangenheit und stellen unter leidenschaftlichem Applaus der Zuhörer Forderungen für die politische Gestaltung der unmittelbaren Zukunft auf.

Konstantin Wiesinger
Alltag in der DDR 2016
[Eigenwerbung für das Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig]

Dieser Werbeclip sollte Amateurfilmprogrammen vorangestellt werden, die zu besonderen Anlässen im Leipziger Filmkunsttheater „Casino“ aufgeführt wurden.

[Eigenwerbung für das Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig]

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1980
4 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig
Dieser Werbeclip sollte Amateurfilmprogrammen vorangestellt werden, die zu besonderen Anlässen im Leipziger Filmkunsttheater „Casino“ aufgeführt wurden.

Stefan Gööck

[Kolloquium Ausstellung „Zeitzeichen. Stationen Bildender Kunst in NRW“ am 11. November 1989 in Leipzig] [Ausschnitt]

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1989
28 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Anlässlich einer Ausstellung im Museum der bildenden Künste zu Leipzig kurz nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer äußern sich namhafte Künstler und Kunstvermittler der DDR in einem Podiumsgespräch zur gegenseitigen Durchdringung von Kunst und Gesellschaft in der DDR und in der BRD. Unter den Bühnengästen sind die Maler und Professoren Arno Rink und Wolfgang Mattheuer, beide über die Grenzen der DDR hinaus anerkannte Stimmen der Leipziger Schule, sowie Erhard Frommhold, Publizist und ehemaliger Cheflektor im Verlag der Kunst in Dresden. Die Befragten reflektieren ihre eigene Biografie und versuchen einen Ausblick auf die Freiheit der Kunst unter den Vorzeichen der freien Marktwirtschaft.

Konstantin Wiesinger
Genius Loci 2020
Media Name: b44edd76-61a2-4c3b-b0dc-cc3695aba18f.png
[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz] Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Die hektische Stimmung auf dem Bahnhofsvorplatz hat sich in all den Jahren nicht verändert. Der unwirtliche Ort wurde schon 1988 mit allerschnellsten Schritten durchquert.
Media Name: b44edd76-61a2-4c3b-b0dc-cc3695aba18f.png

[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz]

[Leipzig, Bahnhofsvorplatz]
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Genius Loci 2020
Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1988
3 Minuten
ohne Dialog
Untertitel: 
Keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Stadtkabinett für Kulturarbeit Leipzig
Konstantin Wiesinger
Sächsisches Staatsarchiv

Romantische Eisenbahnfahrten? In schnellen Schnitten und Kameraschwenks zeigt sich der profane, hektische Alltag einer Großstadt, die für Romantik keine Zeit hat. Die „letzte Meile“ zum Ort des eigentlichen Aufbruchs wird im Laufschritt absolviert – per Taxi, Straßenbahn oder Bus. Ernste, müde und in sich gekehrte Gesichter wollen den unwirtlichen Bahnhofsvorplatz eilig hinter sich lassen.

Konstantin Wiesinger
#
Regional (Heeme)
Retrospektive 2018
[Universitätskirche in Leipzig, Sprengung 1968]

Aufnahmen, die es offiziell gar nicht hätte geben sollen. Ein Archivfundstück aus dem Sächsischen Staatsarchiv.

[Universitätskirche in Leipzig, Sprengung 1968]

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1968
2 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Manfred Köhler, Rudolf Etzold
Aufnahmen, die es offiziell gar nicht hätte geben sollen. Ein Archivfundstück aus dem Sächsischen Staatsarchiv.

Ralph Eue
Matinee Sächsisches Staatsarchiv 2018
[Universitätskirche Leipzig, Sprengung 1968; Interview mit Manfred Köhler 1999]

Der 2013 verstorbene Kameramann und Fernsehproduzent Manfred Köhler erläutert die Umstände der Filmaufnahmen von der Sprengung der Leipziger Universitätskirche 1968.

DDR

GDR
1968

[Universitätskirche Leipzig, Sprengung 1968; Interview mit Manfred Köhler 1999]

Dokumentarfilm
DDR
1968
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Manfred Köhler, Rudolf Etzold, Paul Pfingst
Der 2013 verstorbene Kameramann und Fernsehproduzent Manfred Köhler, in den 1960er Jahren Leiter des „Bezirksfilmstudio Leipzig“, erläutert im Gespräch mit Stefan Gööck die Umstände der Filmaufnahmen von der Sprengung der Leipziger Universitätskirche 1968. Als Mitarbeiter wird der Bäckermeister Rudolf Etzold aus Schmölln erwähnt, die Entwicklung des 16-mm-Materials unter Umgehung des DEFA-Kopierwerks übernahm der Berufsschullehrer Klaus Büttner, beide Mitglieder der „Bezirksarbeitsgemeinschaft Amateurfilm Leipzig“. Die Herstellung dieser Aufnahmen führt Köhler als Beleg dafür an, dass es möglich war, sich nicht vereinnahmen zu lassen.

Stefan Gööck
Disobedient Images 2016
#47 José Miguel Biscaya

Landschaftsmalerei mit kreativen Pixelstörungen. José Miguel Biscaya erkundet mit der Kamera eine Naturszenerie und entdeckt sie mit manipulierten MPEG-Algorithmen und mutwilligen Encoding-Fehlern neu.

#47

Animationsfilm
Niederlande
2014
11 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
José Miguel Biscaya
Landschaftsmalerei mit kreativen Pixelstörungen. José Miguel Biscaya erkundet mit der Kamera eine Naturszenerie und entdeckt sie mit manipulierten MPEG-Algorithmen und mutwilligen Encoding-Fehlern neu. Gewohnte Naturerscheinungen verflüssigen sich zu überraschenden Formen und Farben aus dem Verborgenen der Wahrnehmung.

Ines Seifert
Spätlese 2018
#Female Pleasure Barbara Miller

Misogynie ist strukturell in die kulturellen Kerne sämtlicher Gesellschaftssysteme der Welt eingeschrieben. Klarsichtig und global perspektiviert, legt „#Female Pleasure“ diese Kerne frei.

#Female Pleasure

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Schweiz
2018
97 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Barbara Miller
Peter Scherer
Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Isabel Meier
Barbara Miller
Tom Weber
Frauen sind dem Mann untergeordnet. Sie sind von Geburt an sündig und haben keinen Rechtsanspruch auf den eigenen Körper. Misogynie ist nicht nur ein Phänomen, das über kontinentale Grenzen hinweg überall auf der Welt auftritt und in Einzelfällen zu Missbrauch und Verbrechen führt. Sie ist strukturell in die kulturellen Kerne sämtlicher religiös fundierter Gesellschaftssysteme eingeschrieben – und zwar wortwörtlich. In der Bibel heißt es etwa: „Bitterer als der Tod ist die Frau […]. Wer Gott gefällt, der wird ihr entrinnen.“

Fünf Protagonistinnen erzählen in diesem klarsichtigen und global perspektivierten Film von den frauenfeindlichen Erfahrungen, die sie gemacht haben, von den Anfeindungen, denen sie ausgesetzt waren, von den Verbrechen, die an ihnen begangen wurden. Rokudenashiko, eine japanische Künstlerin, steht wegen der Obszönität ihrer Kunst vor Gericht. Deborah Feldman brach gemeinsam mit ihrem Sohn aus ihrer chassidischen Gemeinde in Brooklyn aus und trennte sich so auch von ihrem Mann, mit dem sie zwangsverheiratet wurde. Außerdem berichten Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner und Vithika Yadav von Vergewaltigung und Verstümmelung, von fehlendem Rechtsschutz, von Homophobie, von Scham und von dem fremdartigen Gefühl, dass die eigene Sexualität und der eigene Körper von Geburt an mit Schuld verknüpft sind.

Lukas Stern



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Spezialpreis der Interreligiösen Jury

#resistayol

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Türkei
2016
56 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rüzgâr Buşki
Rüzgâr Buşki
Gizem Oruç
Zara Zandieh
Rüzgâr Buşki
Fehmican Gözüm
Senem Donatan, Rüzgâr Buşki
Ulaş P. Dutlu, Gizem Oruç
Im Sommer 2013 war Rüzgâr Buşki auf dem Weg nach Istanbul, um einen Dokumentarfilm über seine enge Freundin Şevval zu drehen, eine trans-LGBTI-Aktivistin. Was er nicht wusste war, dass sein Besuch mit den Protesten im Gezi-Park zusammenfallen sollte, einer der größten Demonstrationen in der Geschichte der Türkei. Zwangsläufig verschob sich angesichts der Ereignisse auch der Fokus des Films und wir werden ebenso wie Şevval Teil dieser Wendung. Übermütig und verschmitzt zeigt uns „#resistayol“ einen magischen Moment im Leben Tausender Menschen und gibt uns ein besseres Gespür für den Beitrag der LGBTI-Community zur Menschenrechtsbewegung in der Türkei.

Özge Calafato
Nach der Angst 2017
#theircatsaswell Lisbeth Kovačič

Stationen einer tierischen Fluchtgeschichte, in der die Katze dank sozialer Medien früher einen deutschen Pass erhält als Frauchen und Herrchen.

#theircatsaswell

Animationsfilm
Österreich
2016
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lisbeth Kovačič
Lisbeth Kovačič
Matija Schellander
Lisbeth Kovačič
Lisbeth Kovačič
Matija Schellander
Stationen einer tierischen Fluchtgeschichte, in der die Katze dank sozialer Medien früher einen deutschen Pass erhält als Frauchen und Herrchen.

Franziska Bruckner

#uploading_holocaust

Dokumentarfilm
Österreich,
Deutschland,
Israel
2016
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gebrüder Beetz Filmproduktion, udiVsagi production
Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir
Uri Agnon
Sagi Bornstein, Gal Goffer
Aviv Aldema
Es ist wie ein Initiationsritual. Jedes Jahr brechen 25.000 israelische Schüler und Studenten auf zu einer Fahrt nach Polen. An sieben Tagen besuchen sie vier Konzentrationslager, drei Massengräber und zwei Gettos. Es ist eine Reise zu den Toten, ihren Wurzeln und zu sich selbst: als Juden und als Staatsbürger Israels. Mit ihren Handys dokumentieren sie alles: Hotelzimmer, Baracken, Schießstände, sich selbst, ihre Freunde. Das auf Youtube geteilte Material ist Grundlage des Films – und es erzählt viel. Die beiden israelischen Regisseure Sagi Bornstein und Udi Nir konfrontieren gegenwärtige Aufnahmen mit Videos aus den Achtzigern. Wie wird sich das Gedenken verändern, wenn keine Zeitzeugen mehr da sind? Was können die Orte, die zunehmend zerfallen, dann noch erzählen? Wann werden Rituale hohl?

Der Holocaust ist das Narrativ Israels, das staatskonstituierende Element, mehr noch als der Zionismus. Darauf werden die Jugendlichen eingeschworen. Das Konzept lautet: historische Imagination und Immersion. Sie sollen die Enge der Viehwaggons, die Härte der schmalen Pritschen und die Beklemmung in den Gaskammern fühlen. Horror 2.0. Das Videomaterial zeigt aber auch, um wie viel klüger die jungen Leute sind. Es gibt keine dummen Fragen, hat der Dokumentarfilmer Marcel Ophüls einmal gesagt, nur dumme Antworten.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award
Kids DOK 2017
1 Minute of Nature – Birds of Prey Stefanie Visjager, Katinka Baehr

Lizzy hat ganz besondere Haustiere. Von ihren vier Raubvögeln ist Schreieule Alba ihr Liebling und darf schon mal auf Lizzys Fahrradlenker mitfahren.

2016

1 Minute of Nature – Birds of Prey

Animadok
Niederlande
2016
1 Minute
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stefanie Visjager
Stefanie Visjager, Katinka Baehr
Lotte van Dijck
Kris Kobes
Tjitske Mussche
Tjitske Mussche, Arno Peeters
Lizzy hat ganz besondere Haustiere. Von ihren vier Raubvögeln ist Schreieule Alba ihr Liebling und darf schon mal auf Lizzys Fahrradlenker mitfahren.

Lina Dinkla