DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer
Impressum

Festival-struktur

Profile DOK Leipzig

Profile DOK Leipzig

DOK LEIPZIG is one of the world's leading festivals for documentary and animation films, unique in combining these two disciplines in its festival history of more than 60 years. Every year at the end of October, the festival attracts more than 45,000 viewers and presents more than 300 films from all over the globe. DOK Leipzig has become an important platform for directors to present their films to a public audience for the first time (2017: 113 world and international premieres) and the international film industry meets DOK Industry Programme to develop, promote and distribute new films and interactive projects. The 61st edition of DOK Leipzig will take place from 29th October to 4th November 2018.

 

DOK Leipzig's programme is composed of films with a strong artistic and personal signature. The festival has a long tradition of presenting works that are distinctive in their techniques and aesthetic. The programme also highlights films that challenge their genre, explore boundaries and are fluid in their definition. DOK Leipzig has been inspiring film fans for more than 60 years with works that raise central questions about society and political developments and offer new perspectives. In addition to documentary and animated films, the program shows the latest developments in interactive storytelling. 

 

DOK Leipzig is a festival for both feature-length and short films, with international, national, animated documentary film and Next Masters competitions. Films of the Official Selection can be nominated for further prizes. Each year additionally the festival shares curated special programmes, such as a retrospective, homages, a country focus as well as children and youth programming. Every festival edition each year has an overarching motto (2017: Post-Angst, 2016: Disobedience), mainly drawn from themes or ideas in the special programmes. 

 

DOK INDUSTRY Programme brings together international professionals to push for the development, co-financing and distribution of creative documentaries, inviting innovation and out of the box thinking as well as traditional media players. It also promotes creative exchange between documentary, animated film and interactive storytelling professionals. DOK Industry Programme includes around 70 specialist events during the festival week, including the DOK Co-Pro Market, discussion formats and networking events. With its international standing, DOK Leipzig and DOK Industry Programme offer exclusive access to film professionals in a cosy and relaxed atmosphere. DOK Industry is one of the largest industry gatherings for documentary filmmakers in Europe.

 

As the festival was founded in 1955 during the Cold War, it was always an important place of artistic exchange between filmmakers from the East and West and since its initiation has included both documentary and animation film in its programmes. Today, DOK Leipzig is a film festival that dynamically seeks new or unexpected practices in creative documentary and animated filmmaking. It is our missions to contribute and empower promising talents to seize opportunities, regardless of gender or origin.

 

Above all, DOK Leipzig is also a major public festival. Outside the cinemas, the festival shows films in the central train station for the citizens of Leipzig, and offers opportunities to discover new kinds of storytelling in the interactive exhibition DOK Neuland - both with free admission. Our filmmakers, experts, professional and international visitors are thrilled every year by the inquisitive Leipzig audience, who participate eagerly in the Q&As after each screening or during the DOK Talks programming. DOK Leipzig is a debate-provoking celebration of cinema.

Facts and figures (2017)

 

  • about 47,500 festival visitors
  • about 1,800 accredited guests
  • more than 150 accredited journalists
  • 340 films from 57 countries
  • about 70 events
  • prize money in the amount of 73,500 Euro
  • 21 prizes
  • 113 world and international premieres
Leipzig in the autumn

Essay on Festival History

 

On the occasion of DOK Leipzig's 60th edition in 2017, Andreas Kötzing takes a look back on the festival history in his essay Leipzig in the autumn. 

Read the essay

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere barrierefreien Angebote (Audiodeskriptionen, erweiterte Untertitel, Zugänglichkeit)
Impressum

Festival-struktur

Profil DOK Leipzig

Profil DOK Leipzig

DOK LEIPZIG ist international eines der führenden Festivals für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm, einzigartig in der Verbindung dieser beiden Sparten, und baut auf einer mehr als 60-jährigen Geschichte auf, die das Festival stetig fortschreibt. Jährlich zieht das Festival Ende Oktober mehr als 45.000 Zuschauer/innen an und zeigt über 300 Filme aus der ganzen Welt. DOK Leipzig hat sich zu einer wichtigen Plattform für Regisseur/innen entwickelt, ihre Filme auf dem Festival erstmals der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren (2017: 113 Welt- und internationale Premieren). Die Filmbranche trifft sich während des Festivals bei DOK Industry, um neue Filmprojekte und interaktive Arbeiten zu entwickeln, zu fördern und zu vertreiben. Die 61. Ausgabe von DOK Leipzig findet vom 29. Oktober bis 4. November 2018 statt.

 

Das Programm von DOK Leipzig bilden Filme mit einer starken künstlerischen und persönlichen Handschrift. Das Festival hat eine lange Tradition in der Präsentation von Arbeiten unterschiedlicher Filmtechniken und Filmästhetiken. Teil des Programms sind dabei auch Filme, die ihr Genre herausfordern, dessen Grenzen erforschen und die Definitionen fließen lassen. DOK Leipzig inspiriert Filmfans seit mehr als 60 Jahren mit Werken, die zentrale Fragen über Gesellschaft und politische Entwicklungen aufwerfen und neue Perspektiven geben. Neben Dokumentar- und Animationsfilmen zeigt das Programm die neusten Entwicklungen im interaktiven Storytelling.

 

DOK Leipzig ist ein Festival für Lang- und Kurzfilme, mit internationalen und deutschen Wettbewerben, einem Wettbewerb für animierte Dokumentarfilme und einem Next Masters Wettbewerb. Darüber hinaus können Filme der Offiziellen Auswahl für weitere Preise nominiert werden. Neben der Offiziellen Auswahl besteht das Festival aus kuratierten Sonderreihen, wie etwa einer Retrospektive, einer Hommage, einem Länderfokus sowie Kinder- und Jugendprogrammen. Seit einigen Jahren steht jeder Festivaljahrgang unter einem Motto (2017: Nach der Angst; 2016: Ungehorsam), das sich vor allem durch die Sonderreihen zieht. Die Offizielle Auswahl bleibt davon unberührt.

 

DOK INDUSTRY bringt internationale Fachleute zusammen, die künstlerische Dokumentarfilme voranbringen und lädt dazu ein, über den Tellerrand zu schauen: Einige Angebote fördern den kreativen Austausch zwischen Dokumentar-, Animationsfilm und interaktivem Storytelling. Bei DOK Industry finden während der Festivalwoche rund 70 Fachveranstaltungen statt, darunter der DOK Co-Pro Market sowie Diskussionsformate und Netzwerk Events. Als Festival mit internationaler Strahlkraft bewahrt es sich dabei seinen persönlichen Zugang zu den Filmschaffenden. DOK Industry ist einer der größten Branchentreffs für Dokumentarfilmschaffende in Europa. 

 

Während des Kalten Krieges war das 1955 gegründete Festival ein wichtiger Ort des künstlerischen Austauschs zwischen Filmemachern aus Ost und West. Sowohl Dokumentar- als auch Animationsfilm waren von Beginn an Bestandteil des Programms. DOK Leipzig ist heute ein Filmfest, das dynamisch neue Trends und Tendenzen im künstlerischen Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm aufspürt und dazu beitragen will, dass vielversprechende Talente ihre Chancen wahrnehmen können, unabhängig von Geschlecht oder Herkunft.

 

Vor allem ist DOK Leipzig auch ein großes Publikumsfestival, das sich bis auf öffentliche Plätze erstreckt. Das Festival zeigt kostenfrei Filme im Hauptbahnhof und bietet die Möglichkeit, in der interaktiven Ausstellung DOK Neuland neue Formate des Storytelling zu entdecken – ebenfalls bei freiem Eintritt. Filmfachleute sind jedes Jahr aufs Neue begeistert von dem wissbegierigen Leipziger Publikum, das in Filmgesprächen die Möglichkeit hat, mehr über die gesehenen Filme zu erfahren. DOK Leipzig ist ein Festival, das die Filme feiert und Debatten fördert.

Zahlen im Überblick (2017)

 

  • Rund 47.500 Festivalbesucher/innen
  • Rund 1.800 Fachbesucher/innen
  • über 150 akkreditierte Journalist/innen
  • 340 Filme aus 57 Ländern
  • Rund 70 Fachveranstaltungen
  • Preisgeld in Höhe von 73.500 Euro
  • 21 Preise
  • 113 Welt- und internationale Premieren

Leipzig im Herbst

Essay zur Festivalgeschichte

 

Anlässlich der 60. Ausgabe von DOK Leipzig hat Andreas Kötzing 2017 mit seinem Essay "Leipzig im Herbst" einen Rückblick in die Festivalgeschichte gegeben. Essay lesen