Volunteering

Volunteering

default
A female volunteer with a triangle walks through the rows of the Co-Pro Market
© Susann Jehnichen
Registration for 2020 volunteering begins in late summer.

We will keep you informed via our social media channels Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and the Festival Newsletter.

Without our volunteers there would be no DOK Leipzig. Thanks to the support of these dozens of people who give us their time year after year, thousands of guests are able to come together in a professional and relaxed atmosphere to celebrate and discuss artistic films.

Our volunteers are on location everywhere, working on all parts of the festival. They not only welcome and advise guests and audience members, they also help in the cinema, with talks or at the interactive exhibition DOK Neuland. Inspiring guests with their enthusiasm at every turn, our volunteers are the face of the festival.

What do I do as a volunteer?

 

 

From ticketing, to ushering, to providing support at special events, volunteers are needed in all areas. You will be an important member of our team, working to execute a smooth and successful festival for everyone involved.

What are the benefits of volunteering?

You’ll be trading your time for experiences. Volunteering at DOK Leipzig provides first-hand knowledge of an important, long-running film festival from behind the scenes. You’ll also meet filmmakers, producers and other film-industry personalities. With your team accreditation you’ll receive free tickets to film screenings and be the first to see world premieres, in addition to receiving our wonderful volunteer sweatshirt and a fully packed DOK Leipzig bag.

What makes a good volunteer?

If you’re open, friendly and like to communicate, then you’re in the right place. We also love enthusiasm and a positive attitude. After all, our volunteers are often the first personal contact points between the audience and the festival. Excellent German and English skills are especially important when dealing with guests. We also appreciate flexibility and a clear head — two qualities that will help you fully immerse yourself in the festival and get the most out of it.

 

Are there any restrictions for applying?

We’re looking for volunteers in every age group, but applicants must be at least 18 by the time the festival begins. Some volunteer areas are not barrier-free. We are happy to answer your questions about volunteering and accessibility at info [at] dok-leipzig [dot] de

How big is the time commitment?

Volunteers work on a flexible schedule throughout the week. A shift usually lasts about 6 hours per day, but the actual working time depends on the festival programme and your field of activity. We recommend that you take the whole week off from study or work to fully enjoy the festival. This way you’ll have enough time to watch films and participate in other festival activities as well.

Leute in der Schlange im Gästebüro warten darauf akkreditiert zu werden. Links an einer Wand hängt ein großes rotes Plakat mit dem Festivalmotiv.
Susann Jehnichen

Guest Office

A female volunteer shows the programme to two visitors in the interactive exhibition
Susann Jehnichen

Info and Events Team

A female volunteer offers the microphone to a visitor at a Q&A in the cinema hall
Susann Jehnichen

Cinema Assistants

A female volunteer in a white t-shirt and with a triangle walks through the table rows of the Co-Pro Market
Susann Jehnichen

DOK Industry

A female DOK Neuland exhibition volunteer is helping a visitor putting on the VR Glasses and handling the controller.
Susann Jehnichen

DOK Neuland (Exhibition or Assembly and Dismantling)

A pile of film spools
Susann Jehnichen

Technical Department

The escalators in the CineStar
Susann Jehnichen

Runner

63rd Edition of DOK Leipzig
In cinemas and online!
Add to calender

Volunteering

Volunteering

default
A female volunteer with a triangle walks through the rows of the Co-Pro Market
© Susann Jehnichen
Die Anmeldung für das Volunteering 2020 startet im Spätsommer.

Über unsere Social Media Kanäle Facebook, Instagram und Twitter halten wir Euch auf dem Laufenden. Für alle, die nichts verpassen wollen, gibt es außerdem den regelmäßigen Festival Newsletter.

Ohne unsere Volunteers gäbe es kein DOK Leipzig. Dank der Unterstützung von Dutzenden Freiwilligen, die uns Jahr um Jahr ihre Zeit schenken, entsteht in Leipzig ein Festival, in dem tausende Gäste in professioneller und gelassener Atmosphäre zusammenkommen, um künstlerische Filme zu feiern und zu diskutieren. 

Unsere Volunteers arbeiten in verschiedenen Bereichen und sind überall vor Ort. Sie begrüßen und beraten die Gäste und das Publikum, helfen im Kino, bei Talks oder in der interaktiven Ausstellung DOK Neuland. Volunteers sind das Gesicht des Festivals und stecken Besucher*innen mit ihrem Enthusiasmus an.

Was mache ich als Volunteer?

 

 

Als Volunteer kannst Du in allen Bereichen des Festivals aushelfen – vom Ticketing über die Kinobetreuung bis hin zur Unterstützung bei Special Events. Du bist ein wichtiger Teil des Teams und trägst zu einer erfolgreichen und reibungslosen Durchführung des Festivals bei.

Was habe ich vom Volunteering?

Du tauschst Zeit gegen Erlebnisse. Ein Volunteering bei DOK Leipzig bietet Dir die Gelegenheit, eines der wichtigsten und langlebigsten Filmfestivals hautnah mitzuerleben und hinter die Kulissen zu blicken. Du hast die Möglichkeit, Filmemacher*innen, Produzent*innen und andere Persönlichkeiten aus der Filmbranche kennenzulernen und ins Gespräch zu kommen. Mit Deiner Team-Akkreditierung erhältst Du kostenlose Tickets zu den Filmvorstellungen und kannst mit als erstes Weltpremieren schauen. Außerdem gibt's den wundervollen Volunteer-Pulli und einen vollgepackten DOK Leipzig Beutel.

Was sollte ich als Volunteer mitbringen?

Du bist offen, freundlich und kommunizierst gern? Wunderbar. Wir sind auf der Suche nach genau diesen Qualitäten, kombiniert mit einer positiven Einstellung und Begeisterungsfähigkeit. Schließlich sind unsere Volunteers oft die ersten persönlichen Kontaktpunkte zwischen Publikum und Festival. Sehr gute deutsche und englische Sprachkenntnisse sind besonders bei den Tätigkeiten im Umgang mit Gästen und Zuschauer*innen wichtig. Wir wünschen uns von Dir Flexibilität und empfehlen wärmstens, einen freien Kopf mitzubringen – damit Du Dich voll und ganz in den Festivaltrubel werfen und das Ganze auch so richtig genießen kannst.

 

Gibt es Einschränkungen für meine Bewerbung?

Wir suchen nach Volunteers aller Altersgruppen, Du solltest jedoch zu Beginn des Festivals mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein. Außerdem sind manche Arbeitsbereiche nicht barrierefrei zugänglich. Wir beantworten gerne Fragen zum Thema Volunteering und Barrierefreiheit unter info [at] dok-leipzig [dot] de

Wie sieht die zeitliche Einteilung aus?

Volunteers arbeiten die ganze Woche über flexibel. Eine Schicht dauert normalerweise etwa 6 Stunden pro Tag, die tatsächliche Arbeitszeit hängt aber vom Festivalprogramm und Deinem Einsatzbereich ab. Um das Festival voll und ganz auskosten zu können, empfehlen wir, die ganze Woche vom Studium/der Arbeit frei zu nehmen. So hast Du genug Zeit, Filme zu schauen und an anderen Festivalangeboten teilzunehmen.

Leute in der Schlange im Gästebüro warten darauf akkreditiert zu werden. Links an einer Wand hängt ein großes rotes Plakat mit dem Festivalmotiv.
Susann Jehnichen

Gästebüro

Ein weiblicher Volunteer zeigt zwei Besucherinnen in der interaktiven Ausstellung das Programm.
Susann Jehnichen

Info- und Events-Team

Ein weiblicher Volunteer reicht während des Q&A im Kinosaal das Mikrofon an einen Besucher.
Susann Jehnichen

Kinohelfer*in

Ein weiblicher Volunteer läuft mit einem weißen T-Shirt und einer Triangel durch die Reihen des Co-Pro Markets
Susann Jehnichen

DOK Industry

Ein weiblicher DOK Neuland Ausstellungsvolunteer hilft einer Besucherin beim Schlüpfen in die VR-Brille und Bedienen der Controller.
Susann Jehnichen

DOK Neuland (Ausstellung oder Auf- und Abbau)

Ein Stapel von Filmrollen.
Susann Jehnichen

Technik

Treppenhaus im CineStar mit Rolltreppen
Susann Jehnichen

Runner

63. Ausgabe von DOK Leipzig
Im Kino und online!
Add to calender