Film Archive

Countries (Film Archive)

Absence

Animated Film
Belgium
2006
10 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frank Van den Eeckhout
Isabelle Bouttens
Annelies Van Parys
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Louis Demeyere
A room with a balcony. The sun is shining. A woman misses a man. In her dreams the long shadows on the floor and walls are transformed into arms that hug her. A hand touches her hip and gently caresses her body. Fingers interlace with hers and subtly and quietly a body lures her into a dance. A poetic and sensual film about absence.

Duscha Kistler
International Programme 2019
Absolute Beginners Fabrizio Terranova

A delicate and very touching film about the art of consciously feeling and enjoying life despite a fatal disease that changes everything. Carpe diem.

Absolute Beginners

Documentary Film
Belgium
2018
42 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fabien Siouffi
Fabrizio Terranova
Lawrence Le Doux
Tristand Galand
Bruno Tracq
Fabrizio Terranova
Nicolas Lebecque
If you’re not affected you have probably never heard of Huntington’s disease. But the hereditary genetic defect changes absolutely everything: the ability to control one’s body, contact with one’s soul, moods and emotions, the level of available energy … and last but not least the relationships with loved ones. There is no cure to date, but a test to find out before the outbreak of the disease whether you carry this genetic mutation.

The six people who very emotionally and honestly talk about their lives here have all tested positive, though they are at different stages of the disease. For fear of social ostracism, some of them only speak anonymously in front of the camera. Not all of them are ready yet to “show face” and admit to having the disease, which to outsiders often looks like severe dementia or a mental handicap, although every one of the persons who offer insights here impressively disproves such popular misunderstandings. What emerges clearly is that, when faced with incurable disease, we are always also faced with the question of how we can integrate the risk of mortality into our concept of life. Upon closer examination, though, this philosophical problem concerns each of us. A cinematic carpe diem and an ode to life.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
International Programme 2019
After the Silence Sonam Larcin

How do coming out and applying for asylum fit together? Better than feared in this film by Sonam Larcin. The story of a slow arrival, in warm tones and tender gestures.

After the Silence

Documentary Film
Belgium
2018
23 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Véronique Duys (Médiadiffusion)
Sonam Larcin
Axel Meernout
Louis Rousseau
Sonam Larcin
Igor Van De Putte, Ferri Van Overstraeten
“Tell me your story” – a request that should please anyone. A difficult one, though, when it’s directed at a young man in a Brussels office who is looking for asylum and has never admitted his homosexuality to anyone in his entire life. But it may also be an opportunity. And a good premise for telling the story in front of a film camera. A film about a slow arrival, in warm tones and tender gestures.

Silvia Hallensleben
International Programme 2018
And Arnaud Thomas Damas

What’s wrong with Arnaud, Thomas Damas wonders, as he is making a film with and about his alcoholic brother. The camera is meant to help him point out things. But what if it suddenly points back?

And Arnaud

Documentary Film
Belgium
2018
25 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sébastien Andres
Thomas Damas
Caroline Marin
Léo Nguyen
Jérôme Swales
Thomas Damas
Louis Martin
A film as an occasion to get closer to someone. In this case, that someone is the director’s brother, Arnaud, who seems to have gotten on the wrong track quite a while ago and has developed an alcohol problem. It affects everything from gay parties with friends to getting pissed on his own in public, on the riverbank, through to lonely sessions in the flat. “We do a thing about me, but what about you?” Arnaud once asks in a drunken stupor.

Carolin Weidner

Appunti del passaggio

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Italy,
Switzerland
2016
44 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Maria Iorio, Le Souvenir du Présent
Maria Iorio, Raphaël Cuomo
Alessandra Eramo
Gilles Aubry
“I have no visual memory. I remember emotions.” In their remarkably artistically dense documentary Maria Iorio and Raphaël Cuomo combine various statements of contemporary witnesses into the personal report of an Italian who entered Switzerland in 1965 as a migrant labourer. At the core of this representative of many economic refugees from Southern Europe of the time lies the feeling that she is an “outlaw working body”. She feels humiliated and controlled by procedures at the “border health check”, by massive underpay, dangerous working conditions, psychological pressure in the factory and openly expressed, wounding resentment against the foreigners.

The film is a collage of memories given a voice by a female narrator and kept deliberately vague on the visual level. Vague, but extremely effective and openly sceptical about the reality promised by visual evidence. Besides distorted details and negatives of a few surviving photos it’s the restful contemporary video recordings, for example of an abandoned building with all the traces of use, which offer a suitable poetic space to the narrator’s audio report and a voice performance.

André Eckardt
Kids DOK 2016
Arakabus collective

Carola likes Killian, Akhénatin admires Louna. But it’s not easy to approach the other when you don’t have cool clothes and the latest smartphone.

Arakabus

Animated Film
Belgium
2015
6 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Luc Slock
collective
Simon Médard
Carola likes Killian, Akhénatin admires Louna. But it’s not easy to approach the other when you don’t have cool clothes and the latest smartphone. The directors know what they’re talking about: this film was made by 14 teenagers from Belgium.

Ayan and the White Balloon

Documentary Film
Belgium,
Iran
2015
26 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

KASK Academy of art, Gent University, Belgium
Vida Dena
Emad, Meisam, Ali, Pooyan
Vida Dena
Dieter Diependaele, Vida Dena
Vida Dena
Milad, Michel Coquette
Hiding: behind masks, the white balloon, a fiction. The fears run deep. After five years in exile in Europe the director returns to Iran to make a film. She asks her friends to act in it. What starts as a game during the shoot gradually turns into a brutal clash between those who stayed and the one who left. Who has the prerogative of interpretation? What is a stereotype, what does the West want to see, what do the Iranians want to reveal about themselves?

Cornelia Klauß
International Programme 2016
Belle de nuit – Grisélidis Réal, Self Portraits Marie-Eve de Grave

Multifaceted reflections of Grisélidis Réal, prostitute, artist, writer and feminist pioneer, in personal writings and encounters. A revolutionary whore and a great work.

Belle de nuit – Grisélidis Réal, Self Portraits

Documentary Film
Belgium
2016
74 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Françoise Hoste
Marie-Eve de Grave
Pierre Avia
Jorge Piquer Rodríguez, Sébastien Koeppel
Simon Arazi
Ludovic Van Paschterbeke
Revolution, mind, body, dream. These are the dimensions between which the prostitute and artist Grisélidis Réal moved all her life. Radical in her desires and debased by the wounds of the night she started to write about herself and her experiences in the 1960s, creating a body of work that speaks from the perspective and understanding of a woman who knows no fear and is ready to take any risk.

Grisélidis Réal transformed prostitution into art; director Marie-Eve de Grave transformed her life into a documentary of narrative grandeur. Diary entries, literary sketches, drawings, an address book, archive material, photos, interviews with important companions like the French writer Jean-Luc Hennig form the structure of a dramaturgy in which the different facets of her life are observed as if through a prism and summed up in one word: indomitable. At the same time the film is a journey into a past in which the social debate of sexuality had only just started and anything seemed possible. In 2009, four years after she died, Grisélidis was granted an honorary grave in Geneva, approved by the municipality – right next to the god-fearing reformer Johannes Calvin. Belated satisfaction for a revolutionary whore.

Matthias Heeder
Kids DOK 2019
Big Wolf & Little Wolf Rémi Durin

The big wolf leads a contented life. Until one fine morning the little wolf turns up and moves in with him.

Big Wolf & Little Wolf

Animated Film
Belgium,
France
2018
14 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arnaud Demuynck
Rémi Durin
Alexandre Brouillard, Gaspard Vanardois, Collectif L’Âme Strong
Rémi Durin
Amélie Coquelet, Rémi Durin, Paul Jadoul, Pierre Mousquet, Célia Tisserant, Célia Tocco
Rémi Durin
Philippe Fontaine
The big wolf leads a contented life: He reads books under his tree, grumbles over bills and listens to music, quite undisturbed. Until one fine morning the little wolf turns up and moves in with him. The little wolf listens to his records, turns the newspaper into paper planes and, to top it all, snores. The big wolf doesn’t need this kind of companionship. Or does he?

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Retrospective 2018
Blow Up My Town Chantal Akerman

The work of a director who wasn’t even sure whether she had what it takes to be a director before this work.

Blow Up My Town

Documentary Film
Belgium
1968
13 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chantal Akerman
René Fruchter
Geneviève Luciani
Chantal Akerman
A fine specimen of a bold film. The work of a director who wasn’t even sure whether she had what it takes to be a director before this work.

Ralph Eue
Homage Wendy Morris 2013
Bully Beef Wendy Morris

An attempt to reunite two stories that are still neatly separated in the public discourse: the German occupation of Belgium in the First World War and the Belgian colonisation of the Congo in the 19th century. ...

Bully Beef

Animated Film
Belgium
2007
7 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean Delbeke, Vertigo Productions
Wendy Morris
Bernard Dewulf
Jean Delbeke
Wendy Morris
Wendy Morris
An attempt to reunite two stories that are still neatly separated in the public discourse: the German occupation of Belgium in the First World War and the Belgian colonisation of the Congo in the 19th century. While one is taught at schools and universities as a matter of course, the other rarely makes it into the curriculum – even historiography has its hierarchies. The bracket for both is “Bully Beef”, the canned beef that became the proverbial soldiers’ rations.
Animated Africa 2015
Butoyi Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha

Butoyi is a brilliant student. But while her brothers go to school she has to stay at home and help her mom. She dreams of education and independence, but how can a dream like that come true if society does not change?

Butoyi

Animated Film
Belgium,
Burundi
2013
10 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Luc Slock
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
YOYA
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Simon Medard, Louise-Marie Colon
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Butoyi is a brilliant student. But while her brothers go to school she has to stay at home and help her mom. She dreams of education and independence, but how can a dream like that come true if society does not change? Made by twelve girls from Burundi in a workshop organised by the Belgium based association Camera-etc.

Charleroi, the Land of 60 Mountains

Documentary Film
Belgium
2018
126 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cyril Bibas
Guy-Marc Hianant
Vincent Pinckaers
Simon Arazi
Dominique Goblet
Laszlo Umbreit
Charleroi, former centre of the Western European coal and steel industry. Once also a stronghold of plate glass production. For a long time this was a city on the sidelines, but now it has arrived in the middle of structural change, which, however, as the term suggests, is only provisional again. How is the spirit of community expressed today? Is it articulated on a temporal or spatial level? Horizontal or vertical? Is it athletic or rather artistic? Does it live in the built environment or in the faces and bodies of its inhabitants? Perhaps it’s just a complicated mixture? Or a complicated simplicity?

The Belgian writer, publisher, music producer and filmmaker Guy-Marc Hinant is a professed native “Carolorégien.” And he has set out to compose a complex portrait of his city. Poetic local knowledge with an enormous wingspan. Great events and tiny blind spots, and sometimes one in the other. All in all, an itinerary in the form of an essay along the director’s personal mythology.

Ralph Eue
International Programme 2018
Chez Jolie Coiffure Rosine Mbakam

The “Jolie” hairdresser’s shop in the Brussels Matonge quarter is a meeting place for African women. They come here to have their hair cut, but also to organise and discuss things and to flirt.

Chez Jolie Coiffure

Documentary Film
Belgium
2018
70 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Geoffroy Cernaix, Rosine Mbakam
Rosine Mbakam
Rosine Mbakam
Geoffroy Cernaix
Rosine Mbakam, Loïc Villiot
Have Rosine come in and don’t let her leave her stuff outside – people really behave like junkies. Rosine follows the invitation, enters and is now an official guest of the tiny “Jolie” hairdressing salon in the Matonge district of Brussels. The women who work and are served here come from Africa. They tell stories of fake passports and escape routes via Libya, Syria or Greece, of families left behind, Belgian men and complicated relationships. The place is like an aquarium. Coloured and dark strands of hair that resemble octopuses are brushed and braided. The shop has glass walls, the sounds of the shopping mall frequently drift in, the door opens and there’s a brief flirtation with a man. In between, the eyelash lengthening glue burns on the lid and a Tontine named “The Glowworms” is founded, a widespread financial tool of solidarity-based economy. The Salon serves as a real and metaphorical link between Africa and Europe. At the same time it is a protective space and a home. Rosine Mbakam, a native of Cameroon herself, came to Belgium in 2007 to study film. This is her second feature-length film as a director.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for the Healthy Workplaces Film Award

Filmarchiv

Countries (Film Archive)

Absence

Animationsfilm
Belgien
2006
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Frank Van den Eeckhout
Isabelle Bouttens
Annelies Van Parys
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Isabel Bouttens
Louis Demeyere
Ein Raum mit Balkon. Die Sonne scheint. Eine Frau vermisst einen Mann. In ihren Träumen verwandeln sich die langen Schatten auf Boden und Wänden in Arme, die sie umschlingen. Eine Hand berührt ihre Hüfte und streift sanft ihren Körper entlang. Finger verschränken sich mit den ihren und ein Körper verführt sie fein und leise zu einem Tanz. Ein poetischer und sinnlicher Film über das Fehlen.

Duscha Kistler
Internationales Programm 2019
Absolute Beginners Fabrizio Terranova

Ein feiner und sehr berührender Film über die Kunst, sein Leben trotz einer tödlichen und alles verändernden Krankheit bewusst zu (er-)spüren und zu genießen. Carpe diem.

Absolute Beginners

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2018
42 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Fabien Siouffi
Fabrizio Terranova
Lawrence Le Doux
Tristand Galand
Bruno Tracq
Fabrizio Terranova
Nicolas Lebecque
Wer nicht betroffen ist, hat von der Huntington-Krankheit meist noch nie gehört. Dabei verändert der erbliche Gendefekt einfach alles: die Fähigkeit, den eigenen Körper zu kontrollieren, den Kontakt mit der eigenen Seele, die Stimmungen und Emotionen, das Level der verfügbaren Energie … und letztlich die Beziehungen zu geliebten Menschen. Eine Heilung gibt es bisher nicht, wohl aber einen Test, der schon vor Ausbruch der Krankheit feststellt, ob man die genetische Mutation in sich trägt.

Die sechs Menschen, die hier sehr emotional und ehrlich von ihrem Leben erzählen, sind alle Gen-positiv, befinden sich jedoch in unterschiedlichen Stadien der Krankheit. Aus Angst vor sozialer Ausgrenzung sprechen einige von ihnen vor der Kamera nur anonymisiert. Noch sind nicht alle bereit, ihr „Gesicht zu zeigen“ und sich zu einer Krankheit zu bekennen, die Außenstehende leicht als schwere Form der Demenz oder als geistige Behinderung wahrnehmen. Dabei wiederlegt jeder, der hier Einblick gibt, auf eindrucksvolle Weise solche gängigen Missverständnisse. Deutlich wird, dass wir angesichts unheilbarer Krankheiten immer auch mit der Frage konfrontiert sind, wie wir das Risiko der Vergänglichkeit ins eigene Lebenskonzept integrieren können. Bei näherer Betrachtung betrifft dieses philosophische Problem allerdings jeden Einzelnen von uns. Ein filmisches carpe diem und eine Ode an das Leben.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann
Internationales Programm 2019
After the Silence Sonam Larcin

Wie gehen Coming-out und Asylbewerbung zusammen? In diesem Film von Sonam Larcin besser als befürchtet. Eine Geschichte vom langsamen Ankommen, in warmen Farbtönen und zärtlichen Gesten.

After the Silence

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2018
23 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Véronique Duys (Médiadiffusion)
Sonam Larcin
Axel Meernout
Louis Rousseau
Sonam Larcin
Igor Van De Putte, Ferri Van Overstraeten
„Erzähl mir deine Geschichte“ – eigentlich eine Aufforderung, über die man sich freuen sollte. Schwierig nur, wenn sie sich in einer Brüsseler Amtsstube an einen jungen Mann richtet, der dort Asyl sucht und in seinem ganzen bisherigen Leben noch vor niemandem seine Homosexualität eingestanden hat. Vielleicht aber auch eine Chance. Und eine gute Voraussetzung, die Geschichte dann auch vor einer Filmkamera zu erzählen. Ein Film vom langsamen Ankommen, in warmen Farbtönen und zärtlichen Gesten.

Silvia Hallensleben
Internationales Programm 2018
And Arnaud Thomas Damas

Was ist mit Arnaud los, fragt sich Thomas Damas, der einen Film mit und über seinen alkoholsüchtigen Bruder dreht. Die Kamera soll zeigen helfen. Doch was, wenn sie plötzlich zurück zeigt?

And Arnaud

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2018
25 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sébastien Andres
Thomas Damas
Caroline Marin
Léo Nguyen
Jérôme Swales
Thomas Damas
Louis Martin
Ein Film als Anlass, um jemandem näher zu kommen. In diesem Fall ist der Jemand der Bruder des Regisseurs, Arnaud, der sich schon seit einer ganzen Weile verrannt zu haben scheint, ein Problem mit dem Konsum von Alkohol entwickelt hat. Der reicht von ausgelassener Feierei mit Freunden über den alleinigen Abschuss in der Öffentlichkeit, am Flussufer, bis hin zur einsamen Session in der Wohnung. „Wir machen hier was über mich, aber was ist mit dir?“, fragt Arnaud einmal im Vollrausch.

Carolin Weidner

Appunti del passaggio

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Italien,
Schweiz
2016
44 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Maria Iorio, Le Souvenir du Présent
Maria Iorio, Raphaël Cuomo
Alessandra Eramo
Gilles Aubry
„Ich habe keine bildliche Erinnerung. Ich erinnere mich an die Empfindungen.“ In ihrem künstlerisch bemerkenswert verdichteten Dokumentarfilm bündeln Maria Iorio und Raphaël Cuomo verschiedene Zeitzeugenaussagen zum persönlichen Bericht einer Italienerin, die 1965 als Arbeitsmigrantin in die Schweiz einreiste. Zentral ist für die Stellvertreterin vieler damaliger Wirtschaftsflüchtlinge aus Südeuropa das Gefühl, ein „vogelfreier Arbeits-Körper“ gewesen zu sein. Sie fühlt sich gedemütigt und kontrolliert durch die Prozeduren in der „Grenzsanität“, durch massive Unterbezahlung, gefährliche Arbeitsbedingungen, psychischen Druck in der Fabrik sowie durch offen geäußerte, verletzende Ressentiments gegenüber dem Fremden.

Der Film ist eine Collage aus Erinnerungsstücken, der eine weibliche Sprecherin ihre Stimme leiht und die bildlich bewusst im Ungefähren bleibt. Im Ungefähren, aber äußerst wirkungsvoll und offensichtlich skeptisch gegenüber realitätsversprechenden visuellen Zeugnissen. Neben verdrehten Detailausschnitten und Negativen von wenigen überlieferten Fotos bieten vor allem ruhige Videoaufnahmen aus der Jetztzeit, etwa die eines verlassenen Gebäudes mit all seinen Gebrauchsspuren, dem Audiobericht der Sprecherin und einer Stimmenperformance den passenden poetischen Raum.

André Eckardt
Kids DOK 2016
Arakabus collective

Carola mag Killian, Akhénatin findet Louna gut. Doch es ist nicht leicht, sich dem anderen zu nähern, wenn man keine coolen Klamotten und nicht das neuste Handy hat.

Arakabus

Animationsfilm
Belgien
2015
6 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Luc Slock
collective
Simon Médard
Carola mag Killian, Akhénatin findet Louna gut. Doch es ist nicht leicht, sich dem anderen zu nähern, wenn man keine coolen Klamotten und nicht das neuste Handy hat. Die Regisseure wissen, wovon sie reden: 14 Teenager aus Belgien gestalteten den Film.
Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurzfilm (ab 2015) 2015
Ayan and the White Balloon Vida Dena

Nach fünf Jahren des Exils in Europa kehrt die Regisseurin in den Iran zurück, um einen Film zu drehen. Sie bittet ihre Freunde, darin mitzuspielen. Was als Spiel beginnt, erweist sich im Prozess des Drehens als knallharter Clash zwischen jenen, die geblieben sind, und der, die fortging

Ayan and the White Balloon

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien,
Iran
2015
26 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

KASK Academy of art, Gent University, Belgium
Vida Dena
Emad, Meisam, Ali, Pooyan
Vida Dena
Dieter Diependaele, Vida Dena
Vida Dena
Milad, Michel Coquette
Sich verstecken: hinter Masken, dem weißen Ballon, der Fiktion. Die Ängste sitzen tief. Nach fünf Jahren des Exils in Europa kehrt die Regisseurin in den Iran zurück, um einen Film zu drehen. Sie bittet ihre Freunde, darin mitzuspielen. Was als Spiel beginnt, erweist sich im Prozess des Drehens als knallharter Clash zwischen jenen, die geblieben sind, und der, die fortging. Wer hat die Deutungshoheit? Was ist Klischee, was will der Westen sehen, was wollen die Iraner von sich zeigen?

Cornelia Klauß
Internationales Programm 2016
Belle de nuit – Grisélidis Réal, Self Portraits Marie-Eve de Grave

Grisélidis Réal, Prostituierte, Künstlerin, Autorin und feministische Pionierin, facettenreich gespiegelt in Selbstzeugnissen und Begegnungen. Eine revolutionäre Hure, ein großes Werk.

Belle de nuit – Grisélidis Réal, Self Portraits

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2016
74 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Françoise Hoste
Marie-Eve de Grave
Pierre Avia
Jorge Piquer Rodríguez, Sébastien Koeppel
Simon Arazi
Ludovic Van Paschterbeke
Revolution, Geist, Körper, Traum. Das sind die Dimensionen, zwischen denen sich die Prostituierte und Künstlerin Grisélidis Réal Zeit ihres Lebens bewegte. Radikal in ihren Begierden und entwürdigt von den Wunden der Nacht, beginnt sie ab den 1960er Jahren, über sich und ihre Erlebnisse zu schreiben. Ein Werk entsteht, das aus der Perspektive und mit dem Selbstverständnis einer Frau spricht, die keine Angst kennt und kein Risiko scheut.

Grisélidis Réal hat Prostitution in Kunst verwandelt, die Regisseurin Marie-Eve de Grave deren Leben in einen Dokumentarfilm von erzählerischer Größe. Tagebucheinträge, literarische Skizzen, Zeichnungen, ein Adressbuch, Archivmaterial, Fotografien, Gespräche mit wichtigen Wegbegleitern wie dem französischen Schriftsteller Jean-Luc Hennig bilden das Gerüst einer Dramaturgie, die die verschiedenen Facetten ihres Lebens wie durch ein Prisma betrachtet und in einem Begriff bündelt: unbeugsam. Gleichzeitig ist dieser Film eine Reise in eine Vergangenheit, in der die gesellschaftliche Debatte über Sexualität gerade erst begann und alles möglich schien. 2009, vier Jahre nach ihrem Tod, erhält Grisélidis Réal mit Zustimmung der Stadtverwaltung einen Platz auf dem Ehrenfriedhof von Genf – in direkter Nachbarschaft des gottesfürchtigen Reformators Johannes Calvin. Die späte Genugtuung einer revolutionären Hure.

Matthias Heeder
Kids DOK 2019
Big Wolf & Little Wolf Rémi Durin

Der große Wolf führt ein zufriedenes Leben. Bis eines schönen Morgens ein kleiner Wolf auftaucht, der sich bei ihm einnistet.

Big Wolf & Little Wolf

Animationsfilm
Belgien,
Frankreich
2018
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Arnaud Demuynck
Rémi Durin
Alexandre Brouillard, Gaspard Vanardois, Collectif L’Âme Strong
Rémi Durin
Amélie Coquelet, Rémi Durin, Paul Jadoul, Pierre Mousquet, Célia Tisserant, Célia Tocco
Rémi Durin
Philippe Fontaine
Der große Wolf führt ein zufriedenes Leben: Er liest Bücher unter seinem Baum, ärgert sich über Rechnungen und hört Musik, ganz ungestört. Bis eines schönen Morgens ein kleiner Wolf auftaucht, der sich bei ihm einnistet. Der Kleine hört seine Schallplatten, bastelt Papierflieger aus der Zeitung und schnarcht dann auch noch. So eine Gesellschaft braucht der große Wolf nicht. Oder vielleicht doch?

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Retrospektive 2018
Blow Up My Town Chantal Akerman

Die Arbeit einer Regisseurin, die bis zu dieser Arbeit nicht wusste, ob sie überhaupt das Zeug zur Regisseurin habe.

Blow Up My Town

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
1968
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Chantal Akerman
René Fruchter
Geneviève Luciani
Chantal Akerman
Ein Prachtexemplar von verwegenem Film. Die Arbeit einer Regisseurin, die bis zu dieser Arbeit nicht wusste, ob sie überhaupt das Zeug zur Regisseurin habe.

Ralph Eue
Hommage Wendy Morris 2013
Bully Beef Wendy Morris

Ein Versuch, zwei Geschichten wieder zusammenzufügen, die im öffentlichen Diskurs nach wie vor säuberlich voneinander getrennt verhandelt werden: die Besetzung Belgiens durch die Deutschen im Ersten Weltkrieg und die belgische Kolonialisierung des Kongo im letzten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts. ...

Bully Beef

Animationsfilm
Belgien
2007
7 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean Delbeke, Vertigo Productions
Wendy Morris
Bernard Dewulf
Jean Delbeke
Wendy Morris
Wendy Morris
Ein Versuch, zwei Geschichten wieder zusammenzufügen, die im öffentlichen Diskurs nach wie vor säuberlich voneinander getrennt verhandelt werden: die Besetzung Belgiens durch die Deutschen im Ersten Weltkrieg und die belgische Kolonialisierung des Kongo im letzten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts. Während die eine selbstverständlich an Schulen und Universitäten unterrichtet wird, schafft es die andere kaum einmal ins Curriculum – auch die Historiografie kennt Hierarchien. Als Klammer dient hier „Bully Beef“, jenes Rindfleisch in der Dose, das als Soldatenproviant sprichwörtlich wurde.
Afrika animiert 2015
Butoyi Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha

Butoyi ist eine Einser-Schülerin. Aber während ihre Brüder zur Schule gehen, muss sie zu Hause bleiben und ihrer Mutter helfen. Sie träumt von Bildung und Unabhängigkeit, aber wie kann so ein Traum wahr werden, solange die Gesellschaft sich nicht verändert?

Butoyi

Animationsfilm
Belgien,
Burundi
2013
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jean-Luc Slock
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
YOYA
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Simon Medard, Louise-Marie Colon
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Ruth Nduwimana, Adelphine Hatangimana, Jeannette Irakoze, Rose Tangishaka, Gracienne Ndericimpaye, Sophia Ndayishimiye, Délice Hacimana, Ange Izerimana, Claudine Mpwenimana, Médiatrice Niyirema, Elizabeth Mpawenimana, Nesta Nimfasha
Butoyi ist eine Einser-Schülerin. Aber während ihre Brüder zur Schule gehen, muss sie zu Hause bleiben und ihrer Mutter helfen. Sie träumt von Bildung und Unabhängigkeit, aber wie kann so ein Traum wahr werden, solange die Gesellschaft sich nicht verändert? Ein Film von zwölf Mädchen aus Burundi, der in einem vom belgischen Verein Camera-etc. organisierten Workshop entstand.
Internationales Programm 2014
Cash Register 9 Anna Heuninck

Olga ist Kassiererin in einem Supermarkt. Ihr Leben ist eintönig und sie ist gelangweilt. Ein überraschendes Ereignis bringt sie kurz aus ihrer Routine.

Cash Register 9

Animationsfilm
Belgien
2013
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Anna Heuninck
Anna Heuninck
Tessa De Block
Anna Heuninck
Anna Heuninck
Anna Heuninck
Anna Heuninck
Elias Heuninck, Tessa De Block
Olga ist Kassiererin in einem Supermarkt. Ihr Leben ist eintönig und sie ist gelangweilt. Ein überraschendes Ereignis bringt sie kurz aus ihrer Routine.
Internationaler Wettbewerb (ab 2015) 2018
Charleroi, the Land of 60 Mountains Guy-Marc Hianant

Stadtporträt vor dem Hintergrund einer Vergangenheit, die nicht mehr existiert, und einer Zukunft, die noch keine Gestalt angenommen hat. Essayistisch-poetischer Großversuch.

Charleroi, the Land of 60 Mountains

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2018
126 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Cyril Bibas
Guy-Marc Hianant
Vincent Pinckaers
Simon Arazi
Dominique Goblet
Laszlo Umbreit
Charleroi, ehemaliges Zentrum der westeuropäischen Kohle- und Stahlindustrie. Einst auch eine Hochburg der Flachglasproduktion. Lange Zeit war dies eine Stadt auf dem Abstellgleis. Inzwischen ist sie aber mitten im Strukturwandel angekommen, was jedoch, wie das Wort schon sagt, auch wieder nur ein Provisorium bedeutet. Wie gibt sich der Geist dieses Gemeinwesens heute zu erkennen? Artikuliert er sich zeitlich oder räumlich? Horizontal oder vertikal? Ist er eher sportlich oder doch künstlerisch? Wohnt er in der gebauten Umgebung oder in den Gesichtern und Körpern der Bewohner? Vielleicht ist es einfach ein kompliziertes Mischverhältnis? Oder ein kompliziert Einfaches?

Der belgische Schriftsteller, Verleger, Musikproduzent und Filmemacher Guy-Marc Hinant ist gebürtiger wie bekennender „Carolorégien“. Und er hat sich daran gemacht, ein komplexes Porträt seiner Stadt zu komponieren. Poetische Heimatkunde mit gewaltiger Flügelspannweite. Große Ereignisse und kleine blinde Flecken und manchmal das eine im anderen. Alles in allem ein essayistisches Itinerarium entlang der persönlichen Mythologie des Regisseurs.

Ralph Eue
Internationales Programm 2018
Chez Jolie Coiffure Rosine Mbakam

Der Friseursalon „Jolie“ im Brüsseler Viertel Matonge ist Kontenpunkt für viele afrikanische Frauen. Hier wird nicht nur frisiert, sondern auch organisiert, diskutiert und geflirtet.

Chez Jolie Coiffure

Dokumentarfilm
Belgien
2018
70 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Geoffroy Cernaix, Rosine Mbakam
Rosine Mbakam
Rosine Mbakam
Geoffroy Cernaix
Rosine Mbakam, Loïc Villiot
Rosine soll reinkommen und bloß nicht ihre Sachen draußen stehen lassen – die Leute würden sich benehmen wie Junkies. Rosine folgt der Einladung, tritt ein und ist nun offizieller Gast im winzigen Friseursalon „Jolie“ im Viertel Matonge in Brüssel. Die Frauen, die hier arbeiten und bedient werden, kommen aus Afrika. Ihre Geschichten handeln von gefälschten Pässen und Fluchtwegen über Libyen, Syrien oder Griechenland, von zurückgelassenen Familien, belgischen Männern und komplizierten Liebesbeziehungen. Es ist ein Ort wie ein Aquarium. Bunte und dunkle Haarsträhnen, die an Tintenfische erinnern, werden gebürstet und geflochten. Das Geschäft ist umglast, immer wieder dringen die Geräusche der Einkaufspassage hinein, die Tür öffnet sich und ein kurzer Flirt mit einem Mann passiert. Zwischendrin brennt der Klebstoff für die Wimpernverlängerung am Augenlid, wird eine Tontine namens „Die Glühwürmchen“ gegründet, ein in afrikanischen Ländern verbreitetes Finanzwerkzeug der solidarischen Ökonomie. Der Salon fungiert als ganz reales, aber auch metaphorisches Bindeglied zwischen Afrika und Europa. Zugleich bedeutet er Schutzraum und Zuhause. Rosine Mbakam, selbst aus Kamerun, kam 2007 nach Belgien, um Film zu studieren. Dies ist ihre zweite lange Regiearbeit.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für den Healthy Workplaces Film Award