62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
Inhalt Navigation "Barrierefreie Angebote" switch to english language Umschalten auf deutsche Sprache get more informations about our accessibility offer

Festival News


Juries 2018

Collage with portraits of the 2018 DOK Leipzig jury membersJury members 2018. Top (f.l.t.r.): Ruth Beckermann, Dora Bouchoucha, Mika Kaurismäki, Laimonas Briedis. Centre (f.l.t.r.): Thierry Garrel, Adina Pintilie, Ralf Schenk. Brigitte Mayr. Bottom (f.l.t.r.): Greg Sanderson, Helene Hegemann, Barbara Truyen, Jürgen Hagler

We are delighted to present the juries who will award the Golden Dove winners at DOK Leipzig 2018.


This year, in addition to the Next Masters Competition Long Documentary and Animated Film there will be a separate dedicated competition for short films. For this reason, the Next Masters Jury, which will preside over both competitions for up-and-coming young filmmakers, has been expanded to include two additional members. Austrian director Ruth Beckermann, who is being honoured at DOK Leipzig 2018 in the Homage section, will be teaming up here with Romanian colleague Adina Pintilie. Both filmmakers were awarded for their most recent works at Berlinale 2018: Beckermann for The Waldheim Waltz and Pintilie for Touch Me Not. The two directors will be joining third jury member Thierry Garrel, producer and former director of the documentary film department at ARTE France. 


Internationally renowned Finnish filmmaker Mika Kaurismäki is also slated to serve as a jury member at DOK Leipzig. Joining respected Tunisian producer Dora Bouchoucha and Lithuanian author Laimonas Briedis, Kaurismäki will be rounding off the jury for the International Competition Long Documentary and Animated Film.


The winners in the International Competition Short Documentary and Animated Film will be determined by a jury composed of British producer Greg Sanderson, Barbara Truyen, director of the documentary film department at the Dutch television broadcaster VPRO, as well as Austria’s Jürgen Hagler, professor for computer animation and animation studies and director of the Ars Electronica Animation Festival in Linz.


In addition to these big names drawn from the international film scene, there are also several important national artists represented in the juries as well of course. For instance, director and author Helene Hegemann, whose debut novel Axolotl Roadkill caused a sensation in 2010. Together with Hegemann, Ralf Schenk, chairman of the DEFA Foundation and former member of the DOK Leipzig selection committee, and Austrian film scholar Brigitte Mayr will be settling on their favourites among the short and long documentary and animated films in the German Competitions.


The prize winners of DOK Leipzig 2018 will be honoured at the festive awards ceremony on 3 November. The festival runs from 29 October to 4 November 2018 and features around 300 individual films; the full film programme will be announced on 10 October.


Overview of the DOK Leipzig juries 2018



1 / 7 >