Photo collage with portraits of 11 persons

Presenting our Juries 2023

Three juries comprised of distinguished filmmakers and arts professionals, as well as a jury of audience members, will decide on the winners in the competitions at our 66th festival edition. Seven Golden Doves and two Silver Doves will go to films in four competitions.

International and German Competitions

The 2023 jury of the International Competition Documentary Film is comprised of Jennifer Fox, Radu Jude, Marie-Pierre Macia, Steven Markovitz and Rima Mismar. These five jury members will award a Golden Dove to one short film and one feature-length film from among 10 feature-length documentary films and 13 short films that have been nominated. One Silver Dove each will be awarded to one short and one feature-length film by an up-and-coming director.
This year, the jury of the International Animated Film Competition is comprised of Pavel Horáček, Anne Isensee and Irina Rubina. During the week-long festival, they will view 23 works that have been nominated and will choose recipient of the new Golden Dove for an animated feature film as well as of the Golden Dove for an animated short film.
The jury of the German Competition Documentary Film will award a Golden Dove for a feature-length documentary film and a Golden Dove for a short documentary film. Birgit Kohler, Claus Löser and Serpil Turhan are the jury members who will view and award these nine feature-length and eight short film productions from Germany.

Read more about the jury members

Audience Competition

Film buffs and long-time festivalgoers once again have the opportunity to be on the jury for the Audience Competition. Billie Bauermeister, Fritz Czaplinski, Anna Eulitz, Charlotte Hennrich and Annegret Weiß will be representing the DOK Leipzig audience as jury members this year. They will award a Golden Dove to one of eight feature-length documentaries that have been nominated.

These awards will be presented at DOK Leipzig 2023