Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 75d4602d-0c56-4d8f-8a7c-ed577305dbdc.jpg

Areum Married

Parkkangareum gyeolhonhada
Areum Parkkang
Competition for the Audience Award 2020
Documentary Film
South Korea
2019
86 minutes
English,
French,
Korean
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Areum Parkkang
Moonkyung Kim
Areum Parkkang
Seong Heo
Areum Parkkang
Moonkyung Kim
Areum Parkkang
Areum Parkkang
Nayoon Lim
Lang Lee
De_bong
Areum Parkkang
Areum Parkkang

Trailer DOK Leipzig Logo

A few years after her marriage to Seongman, Areum decides to go to France to study and finally make the kind of films that are not possible in Korea. Seongman, however, has nothing to do in France and, as he doesn’t understand French, is sliding into depression. A joint project is to help against homesickness. They open the one-table restaurant “Oegil” to provide South Korean expats with culinary memories of home.

Of course, this means that Areum has no time left for filmmaking. When she gets pregnant, massive chaos is looming. After the birth she finally focuses on her studies and Seongman takes over as house husband – a role that overwhelms him so much that he goes on strike. In this challenging everyday life, she must assert herself as a woman, artist, mother and spouse. The feminist narrative determines the point of view from which Areum Parkkang, in this second part of her autobiographical film project, examines her own life, its comedy, tragedy and planning uncertainty. The tone is charming throughout, and the energy of her reflective self-observation is infectious. Areum lets us participate head-on in her back and forth as an independent filmmaker between festival pitchings, homesickness and the baby change unit.
Lina Dinkla
#
Redistribution and Having a Say
Witty
Family Ties
Love/Without Love
Small Worlds, Big People
Download Film Details PDF
Media Name: d54c709f-3b1d-4e51-b466-e865c23c8951.jpg

Tiger and Ox

Tiger and Ox
Seunghee Kim
International Competition Short Film 2020
Animated Film
South Korea
2019
8 minutes
Korean
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Yeonsuk Kim
Seunghee Kim

Trailer DOK Leipzig Logo

This hand-drawn animated documentary provides subtle insights into the patriarchal structures of South Korean society and discusses the roles assigned to women there. Challenged as a restaurant owner and single parent, the director’s mother was helped by the characteristics of her animal zodiac sign: fierce as a tiger, she earned respect. But to her daughter she insisted that she tell nobody about her father’s absence. That is only whispered about.

Annina Wettstein
Nominated for mephisto 97.6 Audience Award
#
Redistribution and Having a Say
Small Worlds, Big People
Family Ties
Download Film Details PDF

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 75d4602d-0c56-4d8f-8a7c-ed577305dbdc.jpg

Areum Married

Parkkangareum gyeolhonhada
Areum Parkkang
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Südkorea
2019
86 Minuten
Englisch,
Französisch,
Koreanisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Areum Parkkang
Moonkyung Kim
Areum Parkkang
Seong Heo
Areum Parkkang
Moonkyung Kim
Areum Parkkang
Areum Parkkang
Nayoon Lim
Lang Lee
De_bong

Trailer DOK Leipzig Logo

Ein paar Jahre nach ihrer Heirat mit Seongman beschließt Areum, zum Studieren nach Frankreich zu gehen, um endlich die Art von Filmen machen zu können, die in Korea so nicht möglich sind. Seongman hat in Frankreich jedoch nichts zu tun, und da er auch kein Französisch versteht, wird er langsam depressiv. Ein gemeinsames Projekt soll gegen das Heimweh helfen. Sie eröffnen das Ein-Tisch-Restaurant „Oegil“, um Expats aus Südkorea mit kulinarischen Erinnerungen an die Heimat zu versorgen.

Zum Filmemachen kommt Areum so natürlich nicht. Als sie schwanger wird, droht endgültig das große Chaos auszubrechen. Nach der Geburt konzentriert sie sich endlich auf ihr Studium und Seongman übernimmt die Rolle des Hausmanns – die ihn so überfordert, dass er in Streik tritt. In diesem herausfordernden Alltag gilt es, sich als Frau, Künstlerin, Mutter und Ehepartnerin zu behaupten. Das feministische Narrativ bestimmt den Blick, mit dem Areum Parkkang in diesem zweiten Teil ihres autobiografischen Filmprojekts ihr eigenes Leben, dessen Komik, Tragik und Planungsunsicherheit unter die Lupe nimmt. Der Tonfall bleibt durchgehend charmant, und die Energie der reflektierten Selbstbeschau ist mitreißend. Offensiv lässt Areum teilhaben am Hin und Her einer selbstständigen Filmemacherin zwischen Festival-Pitchings, Heimweh und Wickeltisch.
Lina Dinkla
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Gewitzt
Familienbande
Liebe/ohne Liebe
Kleine Welten, große Menschen
Download Film Details PDF
Media Name: d54c709f-3b1d-4e51-b466-e865c23c8951.jpg

Tiger and Ox

Tiger and Ox
Seunghee Kim
Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurzfilm 2020
Animationsfilm
Südkorea
2019
8 Minuten
Koreanisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Seunghee Kim
Yeonsuk Kim
Seunghee Kim

Trailer DOK Leipzig Logo

Subtil vermittelt der handgezeichnete animierte Dokumentarfilm Einblicke in patriarchale Strukturen der südkoreanischen Gesellschaft und diskutiert, welche Rollen sie der Frau zuweist. Als Restaurantbesitzerin und Alleinerziehende gefordert, halfen der Mutter der Regisseurin die Eigenschaften ihres Tierkreiszeichens: Kämpferisch wie der Tiger verschaffte sie sich Respekt. Ihrer Tochter aber schärfte sie ein, niemandem von der Abwesenheit des Vaters zu erzählen. Darüber wird nur geflüstert.

Annina Wettstein
Nominiert für: mephisto 97.6-Publikumspreis
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Kleine Welten, große Menschen
Familienbande
Download Film Details PDF