Film Archive

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

International Programme 2018
(M)Other Antonia Hungerland

How does the image of motherhood change when egg donation, surrogate motherhood or adoption add various alternatives to the male-female-intercourse-biology model?

(M)Other

Documentary Film
Germany
2018
88 minutes
subtitles: 
English
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Antonia Hungerland
Markus Zierhofer
Antonia Hungerland
Antonella Sarubbi
Antonia Hungerland
Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
It’s quite realistic today for a child to have three mothers: an egg donor gives her genes to a baby who is born by a surrogate mother and raised by another woman or a person who may be male and gay. The classic concept of “natural” motherhood reaches its limits here (and elsewhere).

The definition of motherhood is being contested. The general controversy about changing social norms is reflected in the debate about (good) mothers. This discussion, as “(M)Other” very clearly demonstrates, concerns everybody. Both those who have to contend with stereotypes and prejudice as “classic” mothers and those who claim the term even though they do not correspond to the established “model” that stubbornly resists all obvious changes. Antonia Hungerland shows that the seemingly personal is still (or: today more than ever) highly political.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize

Late Harvest 2018
#Female Pleasure Barbara Miller

Misogyny is structurally inscribed in the cultural cores of all social systems in the world. “#Female Pleasure” exposes these cores, lucidly and from a global perspective.

#Female Pleasure

Documentary Film
Germany,
Switzerland
2018
97 minutes
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Barbara Miller
Peter Scherer
Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Isabel Meier
Barbara Miller
Tom Weber
Women are subordinate to men. They are born sinful and have no legal claim to their own body. Misogyny is more than a phenomenon observed across continental divides all over the world and in some cases the cause of abuse and crime. It is structurally inscribed – literally – into the core of all social systems founded on religious beliefs. In the bible, for example, we read: “I find woman more bitter than Death […] The man who is pleasing to God eludes her.”

In this lucid film, which takes a global perspective, five female protagonists talk about misogynistic behaviour they experienced, hostilities they were exposed to, crimes committed against them. Rokudenashiko, a Japanese artist, is on trial for the obscenity of her art. Deborah Feldman escaped with her son from a Hassidic community in Brooklyn, leaving her husband to whom she was forcibly married. Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner and Vithika Yadav talk about rape and mutilation, lack of legal protection, homophobia, shame and the strange feeling that one’s sexuality and body are associated with sin from birth.

Lukas Stern



Awarded with the Special Prize of the Interreligious Jury

#resistayol

Documentary Film
Germany,
Turkey
2016
56 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rüzgâr Buşki
Rüzgâr Buşki
Gizem Oruç
Zara Zandieh
Rüzgâr Buşki
Fehmican Gözüm
Senem Donatan, Rüzgâr Buşki
Ulaş P. Dutlu, Gizem Oruç
In the summer of 2013, Rüzgâr Buşki was on his way to Istanbul to make a documentary about his close friend Şevval, a trans-LGBTI activist. What he didn’t realise was that his visit coincided with the Gezi Park protests, one of the biggest demonstrations in Turkish history. Inevitably, the focus of the documentary shifted in light of these events and we, just like Şevval, participate in this turning point. High spirited and whimsical, “#resistayol” shows us a magical moment in the lives of thousands of people and gives us a better sense of the contribution of the LGBTI community to the human rights movement in Turkey.

Özge Calafato
Next Masters Wettbewerb 2016
#uploading_holocaust Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir

Young Israelis performing a rite of initiation, the “Journey to Poland”: seven days, three mass graves, four concentration camps, and cameras running all the time. An exercise in identity made up of YouTube videos – horror 2.0.

#uploading_holocaust

Documentary Film
Austria,
Germany,
Israel
2016
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gebrüder Beetz Filmproduktion, udiVsagi production
Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir
Uri Agnon
Sagi Bornstein, Gal Goffer
Aviv Aldema
It’s like an initiation ritual. Every year 25,000 Israeli pupils and students go on a trip to Poland, visiting four concentration camps, three mass graves and two ghettos in seven days. It’s a journey to the dead, their roots, and themselves: as Jews and citizens of Israel. They document everything on their smartphones: hotel rooms, barracks, shooting ranges, themselves, their friends. The material shared on YouTube is the basis of this film – and it’s revealing. The two Israeli directors Sagi Bornstein and Udi Nir set contemporary recordings against videotapes from the 1980s. How will the memory change when there are no more contemporary witnesses? What can the crumbling sites still reveal? When will the rituals become hollow?

The Holocaust is the narrative of Israel, the constituent element of the state, even more than Zionism. That’s what the young people are taught to believe. The concept is historical imagination and immersion. They are supposed to feel the squeeze of the cattle wagons, the hardness of the narrow pallets and the oppression of the gas chambers. Horror 2.0. The video material also shows, however, how much smarter the young people are. There are no stupid questions, documentary filmmaker Marcel Ophüls once said, only stupid answers.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

1/2

Animated Film
Germany
2012
14 minutes
subtitles: 
_without dialogue / subtitles

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jürgen Schopper, Georg-Simon-Ohm Hochschule Nürnberg
Kate Haase
Verena Marisa Schmidt
Sebastian Hühnel
Kate Haase
Kate Haase, Sebastian Hühnel
Kate Haase, Sebastian Hühnel
Verena Marisa Schmidt
"1/2" is an animated short film about one question: How do you get up if you have lost everything that is worth living for?

10 Years Smart

Animated Film
Germany
2008
0

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Stephan Reinsch, Sehsucht
NHB, Gerret Frerichs, Wenke Kleine-Benne
Hannes Geiger, Timo Schädel, Niko Tziopanos
BBDO Duesseldorf / Smart

15 Corners of the World

Documentary Film
Germany,
Poland
2014
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marta Golba, Erik Winker
Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Eugeniusz Rudnik
Zvika Gregory Portnoy
Mateusz Romaszkan
Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Marcin Lenarczyk
“Digital is better” – nowadays this title of a 90s track by the German band Tocotronic is a popular phrase we use without thinking. It’s a good thing then that our memories of the unique opportunities offered by analogue technology are now impressively revived by this film, which imaginatively demonstrates what spaces are disappearing in the wake of its loss. Its audiovisual journey starts at Polish Radio’s legendary experimental studio, which in the 1960s saw science fiction sounds created in a sound lab that looked like a spaceship’s control room. The head-strong composer Eugeniusz Rudnik, a former pioneer of electroacoustic music, is still working obsessively at his analogue editing station, trying to create unknown sound spheres in order to learn more about human nature. A discarded piece of tape, a voice, a stone, anything can become the basic material of a composition. Even a house – pending proof.

This tongue-in-cheek portrait of the artist as a sound tinkerer invites us on a visual expedition into his sound worlds. The camera, too, takes experimental choices, translates the acoustic dimensions into architecture, dance or landscapes, offers multiple interpretations and creates a synaesthetic experience for the big screen. No need to add that the film is also an ode to the analogue age.

Lars Meyer

1813 – Gott mit uns

Animated Film
Germany
2013
3 minutes

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß
Schwarwel
Ludwig van Beethoven
Thomas Reichl
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
In October 1813, the decisive battle in the wars of liberation against Napoleon’s foreign rule – the Battle of the Nations – took place near Leipzig. More than 92,000 of the roughly 600,000 soldiers from over a dozen nations lead into this battle were killed or wounded. A typhus epidemic following the battle claimed many more victims among Leipzig’s civilian population. This fully animated film by Leipzig-born comic strip artist Schwarwel shows these victims, the war, destruction and suffering. “1813 – God With Us” is a film to promote community.
Retrospective 2017
1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Himmlischer Frieden Schwarwel

Episode from a series of animated films about the fall of the Berlin Wall and the peaceful revolution.

1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Himmlischer Frieden

Animated Film
Germany
2017
4 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig, Sara Bock, Laura Wempen
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Episode from a series of animated films about the fall of the Berlin Wall and the peaceful revolution. Here and elsewhere. Questions of personal courage and resistance. Elsewhere and here.

Ralph Eue
Retrospective 2017
1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Ich liebe – ich liebe doch alle. Schwarwel

Episode from a series of animated films about the fall of the Berlin Wall and the peaceful revolution: Erich Mielke.

1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Ich liebe – ich liebe doch alle.

Animated Film
Germany
2017
3 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig, Sara Bock
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Episode from a series of animated films about the fall of the Berlin Wall and the peaceful revolution. Erich Mielke (1907–2000) is completely lost as he wanders through the new era and declares his love for the people. He is surrounded by the rubble of the fallen GDR and his former Ministry for State Security.

Ralph Eue
Neue Deutsche Animation 2014
1989 – Unsere Heimat, das sind nicht nur die Städte und Dörfer Tommy Schwarwel

The story of the “Peaceful Revolution”, which saw its turning point at the Monday demonstration in Leipzig on October 9, 1989, is told by two protagonists who are archetypes of the late GDR.

1989 – Unsere Heimat, das sind nicht nur die Städte und Dörfer

Animated Film
Germany
2014
13 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Tommy Schwarwel
Tommy Schwarwel
Hans Naumilkat, Hanns Eisler
Thomas Reichl
Tommy Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Tommy Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
The story of the “Peaceful Revolution”, which saw its turning point at the Monday demonstration in Leipzig on October 9, 1989, is told by two protagonists who are archetypes of the late GDR.
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Jésùs aus Mexiko Lina Luzyte, Sigrid Klausmann

Eleven-year-old Jésùs lives in Mexico City and has a very special way to school: Every morning he and his little sister row a boat through a network of canals.

199 kleine Helden: Jésùs aus Mexiko

Documentary Film
Germany
2018
10 minutes
subtitles: 
VO_German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gerhard Schmidt, Walter Sittler
Lina Luzyte, Sigrid Klausmann
Roland Klausmann
Justyna Feicht
Lina Luzyte
Lina Luzyte
Eleven-year-old Jésùs lives in Mexico City and has a very special way to school: Every morning he and his little sister row a boat through a network of canals. Every day he sees how much the pollution of the water affects nature and people. Jésùs fears that his beautiful home will not exist for much longer.

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Koolee aus Australien Kaye Harrison

Koolee’s path to school takes her over the dust-dry roads of Australia. Koolee is an Aborigine, but their language is not on the timetable at school.

199 kleine Helden: Koolee aus Australien

Documentary Film
Germany
2018
8 minutes
subtitles: 
VO_German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Greer Simkin
Kaye Harrison
Archer Darcy
Kaye Harrison
Kaye Harrison
On the other side of the world, Koolee’s path to school takes her over the dust-dry roads of Australia. Koolee is an Aborigine, but their language is not on the timetable at school. That’s why she tries especially hard to learn more about her identity so that her culture won’t get lost. Luckily, there’s still plenty of time to play football!

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Rania aus Jordanien Gessie George

In this documentary we are introduced to Rania. She looks forward to school every day, because not all the children in her home are allowed to study.

199 kleine Helden: Rania aus Jordanien

Documentary Film
Germany
2018
8 minutes
subtitles: 
VO_German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gerhard Schmidt, Walter Sittler
Gessie George
Tobias Müller
Cem Springer
Gessie George
Rami Alquaisi
In this documentary we are introduced to Rania. She looks forward to school every day, because not all the children in her home are allowed to study. She has lived in a huge tent city in Jordan ever since she and her family had to flee Syria before the war. The difficult conditions only reinforce her wish to become an engineer to turn the world into a better place one day.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

2+2=22 [The Alphabet]

Documentary Film
Germany
2017
82 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heinz Emigholz, Andreas Reihse
Heinz Emigholz
Kreidler
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Heinz Emigholz
Jochen Jezussek
Of course, Heinz Emigholz is not a Georgian filmmaker. But there are good reasons for showing the first “chapter” of his four-part cycle of films “Streetscapes” here. It’s valuable: as a view from outside and a case study of the orientation and desires of such a foreign look. In 2013, Emigholz accompanied the Düsseldorf-based band Kreidler to Tbilisi, where the musicians recorded parts of their “ABC” album. They used an old film studio lot, one of the last places with a “Soviet look and feel” that had managed to escape the craze for modernisation. Urban architecture unfolds around the studio, in skewed perspectives that maybe only travellers from the West can think of.

Zaza Rusadze

A Free Man

Documentary Film
Germany,
Japan
2017
75 minutes
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Florian Marquardt
A young man deliberately chooses to live on the streets. After Kei tried and dropped out of university and military service he finds his happiness in turning his back on his performance-oriented society. He sleeps under bridges, meets new people in the streets and devotes all his time to his passions – classical music and military games. It’s doubtful whether he can keep up this lifestyle, because reality always catches up with him. The film follows this freedom-loving dreamer who is completely carried away by his outsider’s role with an almost meditative calm and breathtaking music.

Kim Busch

Filmarchiv

Sections (Film Archive)

Countries (Film Archive)

Internationales Programm 2018
(M)Other Antonia Hungerland

Wie verändert sich das Bild des Mutterseins, wenn sich durch Eizellenspende, Leihmutterschaft oder Adoption diverse Alternativen zum Modell Mann-Frau-Beischlaf-Biologie gesellen?

(M)Other

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2018
88 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Antonia Hungerland
Markus Zierhofer
Antonia Hungerland
Antonella Sarubbi
Antonia Hungerland
Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
Heute ist es durchaus realistisch, dass ein Kind drei Mütter hat: eine Eizellenspenderin gibt einem Baby ihre Gene, das von einer Leihmutter austragen und später von einer weiteren Frau oder einer Person, die eventuell männlich und schwul ist, aufgezogen wird. Das klassische Konzept der „natürlichen“ Mutterschaft kommt hier (und anderswo) an seine Grenzen.

Die Definition von Mutterschaft ist umkämpft. In der Debatte über (gute) Mütter spiegelt sich das generelle Ringen um gesellschaftliche Normen im Wandel. Diese Diskussion, das macht „(M)Other“ sehr deutlich, betrifft alle. Sowohl jene, die als „klassische“ Mütter mit Klischees und Vorurteilen zu kämpfen haben, als auch solche, die den Begriff für sich in Anspruch nehmen, obwohl sie dem etablierten, sich stur gegen alle offensichtlichen Veränderungen behauptenden „Modell“ nicht entsprechen. Antonia Hungerland zeigt, dass das vermeintlich Private noch immer (oder: erst recht heute) hochgradig politisch ist.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Spätlese 2018
#Female Pleasure Barbara Miller

Misogynie ist strukturell in die kulturellen Kerne sämtlicher Gesellschaftssysteme der Welt eingeschrieben. Klarsichtig und global perspektiviert, legt „#Female Pleasure“ diese Kerne frei.

#Female Pleasure

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Schweiz
2018
97 Minuten
Untertitel: 
deutsche

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Barbara Miller
Peter Scherer
Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Isabel Meier
Barbara Miller
Tom Weber
Frauen sind dem Mann untergeordnet. Sie sind von Geburt an sündig und haben keinen Rechtsanspruch auf den eigenen Körper. Misogynie ist nicht nur ein Phänomen, das über kontinentale Grenzen hinweg überall auf der Welt auftritt und in Einzelfällen zu Missbrauch und Verbrechen führt. Sie ist strukturell in die kulturellen Kerne sämtlicher religiös fundierter Gesellschaftssysteme eingeschrieben – und zwar wortwörtlich. In der Bibel heißt es etwa: „Bitterer als der Tod ist die Frau […]. Wer Gott gefällt, der wird ihr entrinnen.“

Fünf Protagonistinnen erzählen in diesem klarsichtigen und global perspektivierten Film von den frauenfeindlichen Erfahrungen, die sie gemacht haben, von den Anfeindungen, denen sie ausgesetzt waren, von den Verbrechen, die an ihnen begangen wurden. Rokudenashiko, eine japanische Künstlerin, steht wegen der Obszönität ihrer Kunst vor Gericht. Deborah Feldman brach gemeinsam mit ihrem Sohn aus ihrer chassidischen Gemeinde in Brooklyn aus und trennte sich so auch von ihrem Mann, mit dem sie zwangsverheiratet wurde. Außerdem berichten Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner und Vithika Yadav von Vergewaltigung und Verstümmelung, von fehlendem Rechtsschutz, von Homophobie, von Scham und von dem fremdartigen Gefühl, dass die eigene Sexualität und der eigene Körper von Geburt an mit Schuld verknüpft sind.

Lukas Stern



Ausgezeichnet mit dem Spezialpreis der Interreligiösen Jury

#resistayol

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Türkei
2016
56 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Rüzgâr Buşki
Rüzgâr Buşki
Gizem Oruç
Zara Zandieh
Rüzgâr Buşki
Fehmican Gözüm
Senem Donatan, Rüzgâr Buşki
Ulaş P. Dutlu, Gizem Oruç
Im Sommer 2013 war Rüzgâr Buşki auf dem Weg nach Istanbul, um einen Dokumentarfilm über seine enge Freundin Şevval zu drehen, eine trans-LGBTI-Aktivistin. Was er nicht wusste war, dass sein Besuch mit den Protesten im Gezi-Park zusammenfallen sollte, einer der größten Demonstrationen in der Geschichte der Türkei. Zwangsläufig verschob sich angesichts der Ereignisse auch der Fokus des Films und wir werden ebenso wie Şevval Teil dieser Wendung. Übermütig und verschmitzt zeigt uns „#resistayol“ einen magischen Moment im Leben Tausender Menschen und gibt uns ein besseres Gespür für den Beitrag der LGBTI-Community zur Menschenrechtsbewegung in der Türkei.

Özge Calafato

#uploading_holocaust

Dokumentarfilm
Österreich,
Deutschland,
Israel
2016
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gebrüder Beetz Filmproduktion, udiVsagi production
Sagi Bornstein, Udi Nir
Uri Agnon
Sagi Bornstein, Gal Goffer
Aviv Aldema
Es ist wie ein Initiationsritual. Jedes Jahr brechen 25.000 israelische Schüler und Studenten auf zu einer Fahrt nach Polen. An sieben Tagen besuchen sie vier Konzentrationslager, drei Massengräber und zwei Gettos. Es ist eine Reise zu den Toten, ihren Wurzeln und zu sich selbst: als Juden und als Staatsbürger Israels. Mit ihren Handys dokumentieren sie alles: Hotelzimmer, Baracken, Schießstände, sich selbst, ihre Freunde. Das auf Youtube geteilte Material ist Grundlage des Films – und es erzählt viel. Die beiden israelischen Regisseure Sagi Bornstein und Udi Nir konfrontieren gegenwärtige Aufnahmen mit Videos aus den Achtzigern. Wie wird sich das Gedenken verändern, wenn keine Zeitzeugen mehr da sind? Was können die Orte, die zunehmend zerfallen, dann noch erzählen? Wann werden Rituale hohl?

Der Holocaust ist das Narrativ Israels, das staatskonstituierende Element, mehr noch als der Zionismus. Darauf werden die Jugendlichen eingeschworen. Das Konzept lautet: historische Imagination und Immersion. Sie sollen die Enge der Viehwaggons, die Härte der schmalen Pritschen und die Beklemmung in den Gaskammern fühlen. Horror 2.0. Das Videomaterial zeigt aber auch, um wie viel klüger die jungen Leute sind. Es gibt keine dummen Fragen, hat der Dokumentarfilmer Marcel Ophüls einmal gesagt, nur dumme Antworten.

Cornelia Klauß


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

1/2

Animationsfilm
Deutschland
2012
14 Minuten
Untertitel: 
_ohne Dialog / Untertitel

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jürgen Schopper, Georg-Simon-Ohm Hochschule Nürnberg
Kate Haase
Verena Marisa Schmidt
Sebastian Hühnel
Kate Haase
Kate Haase, Sebastian Hühnel
Kate Haase, Sebastian Hühnel
Verena Marisa Schmidt
"½" ist eine kurze Animation über die Frage: Wie steht man auf, wenn man alles verloren hat, wofür es sich zu leben lohnt?

15 Corners of the World

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Polen
2014
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marta Golba, Erik Winker
Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Eugeniusz Rudnik
Zvika Gregory Portnoy
Mateusz Romaszkan
Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Marcin Lenarczyk
„Digital ist besser“ – dieser 90er-Jahre-Titel der deutschen Band Tocotronic ist hierzulande zum geflügelten Wort geworden, das kaum noch hinterfragt wird. Wie gut, dass wir nun eindrücklich an die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten der analogen Technik erinnert werden. Fantasievoll führt der Film vor, welche Räume uns mit ihr verloren gehen. Ausgangspunkt der audiovisuellen Reise ist das legendäre Experimentalstudio des Polnischen Radios, wo in den 60ern Science-Fiction-Klänge erzeugt wurden, in einem Tonlabor, das selbst wie die Schaltzentrale eines Raumschiffes wirkte. Einst einer der Pioniere der Elektroakustischen Musik, arbeitet der eigensinnige Komponist Eugeniusz Rudnik aber noch immer wie besessen an seinem analogen Schnittplatz daran, unbekannte Klangsphären zu erzeugen, um damit der menschlichen Natur auf den Grund zu gehen. Ein weggeworfener Tonbandstreifen, eine Stimme, ein Stein, alles kann zum Basismaterial für eine Komposition werden. Auch ein Haus – was zu beweisen wäre.

Das augenzwinkernde Porträt des Künstlers als Klangtüftler lädt zu visuellen Erkundungen seiner Tonwelten ein. Die Kamera geht selbst experimentelle Wege, übersetzt die akustischen Dimensionen in Architektur, Tanz oder auch Landschaft, bietet vielschichtige Deutungen an und schafft somit ein synästhetisches Erlebnis für die große Leinwand. Man muss wohl kaum hinzufügen, dass der Film auch eine Ode an das analoge Zeitalter darstellt.

Lars Meyer

1813 – Gott mit uns

Animationsfilm
Deutschland
2013
3 Minuten

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß
Schwarwel
Ludwig van Beethoven
Thomas Reichl
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
Im Oktober 1813 fand bei Leipzig die Entscheidungsschlacht der Befreiungskriege gegen die napoleonische Fremdherrschaft – die Völkerschlacht – statt. Von den rund 600.000 in die Schlacht geführten Soldaten aus über einem Dutzend Völkern wurden mehr als 92.000 getötet oder verwundet. Viele weitere Opfer unter der Leipziger Zivilbevölkerung forderte eine der Schlacht folgende Typhus-Epidemie. Der vollanimierte Film des gebürtigen Leipziger Comiczeichners Schwarwel handelt von diesen Opfern, vom Krieg, von Zerstörung und Leid. „1813 – Gott mit uns“ ist ein Film für das Miteinander.
Retrospektive 2017
1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Himmlischer Frieden Schwarwel

Episode aus einer Serie von persönlichen Animationsfilmen über den Fall der Mauer und die friedliche Revolution. Hier und anderswo.

1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Himmlischer Frieden

Animationsfilm
Deutschland
2017
4 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig, Sara Bock, Laura Wempen
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Episode aus einer Serie von persönlichen Animationsfilmen über den Fall der Mauer und die friedliche Revolution. Hier und anderswo. In dieser Folge geht es um Fragen von persönlichem Mut und Widerstand. Anderswo und hier.

Ralph Eue
Retrospektive 2017
1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Ich liebe – ich liebe doch alle. Schwarwel

Episode aus einer Serie von Animationsfilmen über den Fall der Mauer und die friedliche Revolution. In dieser Folge geht es um Erich Mielke.

1989 – Lieder unserer Heimat. Ich liebe – ich liebe doch alle.

Animationsfilm
Deutschland
2017
3 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig, Sara Bock
Schwarwel
Schwarwel
Episode aus einer Serie von Animationsfilmen über den Fall der Mauer und die friedliche Revolution. In dieser Folge geht es um Erich Mielke (1907–2000), der gänzlich verloren durch neue Zeiten irrt und den Menschen seine Liebe verkündet. Um ihn herum die Trümmer der untergegangenen DDR und seines ehemaligen Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit.

Ralph Eue
Neue Deutsche Animation 2014
1989 – Unsere Heimat, das sind nicht nur die Städte und Dörfer Tommy Schwarwel

Die Geschichte der „Friedlichen Revolution“, die mit der Montagsdemonstration am 9. Oktober 1989 in Leipzig ihren Wendepunkt nahm, wird anhand von zwei für die späte DDR archetypischen Protagonisten erzählt.

1989 – Unsere Heimat, das sind nicht nur die Städte und Dörfer

Animationsfilm
Deutschland
2014
13 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Sandra Strauß, Tommy Schwarwel
Tommy Schwarwel
Hans Naumilkat, Hanns Eisler
Thomas Reichl
Tommy Schwarwel, Dirk Reddig
Tommy Schwarwel
Maik Hartung
Die Geschichte der „Friedlichen Revolution“, die mit der Montagsdemonstration am 9. Oktober 1989 in Leipzig ihren Wendepunkt nahm, wird anhand von zwei für die späte DDR archetypischen Protagonisten erzählt.
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Jésùs aus Mexiko Lina Luzyte, Sigrid Klausmann

Der elfjährige Jésùs lebt in Mexiko-Stadt und er hat einen ganz besonderen Schulweg: Jeden Morgen rudert er mit seiner kleinen Schwester auf einem Boot durch verzweigte Kanäle.

199 kleine Helden: Jésùs aus Mexiko

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2018
10 Minuten
Untertitel: 
VO_Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gerhard Schmidt, Walter Sittler
Lina Luzyte, Sigrid Klausmann
Roland Klausmann
Justyna Feicht
Lina Luzyte
Lina Luzyte
Der elfjährige Jésùs lebt in Mexiko-Stadt und er hat einen ganz besonderen Schulweg: Jeden Morgen rudert er mit seiner kleinen Schwester auf einem Boot durch verzweigte Kanäle. Dabei sieht er jeden Tag, wie sehr die Verschmutzung des Wassers der Natur und den Menschen zusetzt. Jésùs befürchtet, dass sein schönes Zuhause nicht mehr lange existieren wird.

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Koolee aus Australien Kaye Harrison

Koolees Schulweg führt über die staubtrockenen Straßen Australiens. Koolee gehört zu den Aborigines, aber in der Schule steht ihre Sprache nicht auf dem Stundenplan.

199 kleine Helden: Koolee aus Australien

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2018
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
VO_Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Greer Simkin
Kaye Harrison
Archer Darcy
Kaye Harrison
Kaye Harrison
Auf der anderen Seite der Welt führt Koolees Schulweg über die staubtrockenen Straßen Australiens. Koolee gehört zu den Aborigines, aber in der Schule steht ihre Sprache nicht auf dem Stundenplan. Daher gibt sie sich besonders viel Mühe, mehr über ihre Identität zu lernen, damit ihre Kultur nicht verloren geht. Zum Glück bleibt trotzdem noch viel Zeit, um Fußball zu spielen!

Marie-Thérèse Antony
Kids DOK 2019
199 kleine Helden: Rania aus Jordanien Gessie George

In diesem Dokumentarfilm lernen wir Rania kennen. Sie freut sich jeden Tag auf die Schule, denn nicht alle Kinder in ihrem Zuhause dürfen zum Lernen gehen.

199 kleine Helden: Rania aus Jordanien

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2018
8 Minuten
Untertitel: 
VO_Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Gerhard Schmidt, Walter Sittler
Gessie George
Tobias Müller
Cem Springer
Gessie George
Rami Alquaisi
In diesem Dokumentarfilm lernen wir Rania kennen. Sie freut sich jeden Tag auf die Schule, denn nicht alle Kinder in ihrem Zuhause dürfen zum Lernen gehen. Sie wohnt in einer riesigen Zeltstadt in Jordanien, seit sie vor dem Krieg mit ihrer Familie aus Syrien fliehen musste. Die schwierigen Umstände bestärken sie in ihrem Wunsch, als Ingenieurin einmal die Welt in einen besseren Ort zu verwandeln.

Marie-Thérèse Antony

2+2=22 [The Alphabet]

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland
2017
82 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Heinz Emigholz, Andreas Reihse
Heinz Emigholz
Kreidler
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Heinz Emigholz, Till Beckmann
Heinz Emigholz
Jochen Jezussek
Natürlich ist Heinz Emigholz kein georgischer Filmemacher. Aber es gibt wichtige Gründe, dieses erste „Kapitel“ seines vierteiligen Filmzyklus „Streetscapes“ hier zu zeigen. Es ist wertvoll: als Blick von außen und als Fallstudie über Richtung und Begehrlichkeiten eines solch fremden Schauens. Emigholz begleitete die Düsseldorfer Band Kreidler 2013 nach Tiflis, wo die Musiker Aufnahmen für ihr Album „ABC“ einspielten. Genutzt wurde ein altes Filmstudio, das sich als einer der letzten Räume mit „Sowjet-Charakter“ der Modernisierungswut entziehen konnte. Um das Studio herum entfaltet sich Stadtarchitektur – in schrägen Ansichten, die sich vielleicht nur dem von Westen Zugereisten aufdrängen.

Zaza Rusadze
Escaping Realities 2017
A Free Man Andreas Hartmann

Nachdem Kei sich an der Universität und beim Militärdienst versucht und beides abgebrochen hat, findet er sein Glück darin, der leistungsorientierten Gesellschaft den Rücken zu kehren.

A Free Man

Dokumentarfilm
Deutschland,
Japan
2017
75 Minuten
Untertitel: 
englische

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Andreas Hartmann
Florian Marquardt
Ein junger Mann entscheidet sich aus freien Stücken dafür, auf der Straße zu leben. Nachdem Kei sich an der Universität und beim Militärdienst versucht und beides abgebrochen hat, findet er sein Glück darin, der leistungsorientierten Gesellschaft den Rücken zu kehren. Er schläft unter Brücken, macht auf der Straße neue Bekanntschaften und gibt sich ganz seinen Leidenschaften hin – der klassischen Musik und Militärspielen. Ob er diesen Lebenswandel aufrechterhalten kann, bleibt fraglich, denn die Realität holt ihn immer wieder ein. Mit fast meditativer Ruhe und atemberaubender Musik begleitet der Film diesen freiheitsliebenden Träumer, der ganz in seiner Außenseiterrolle aufgeht.

Kim Busch