Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Media Name: 23541811-9c07-4fb5-a022-33b0fd4e542c.jpg

Children

Yeladim
Ada Ushpiz
International Competition 2020
Documentary Film
Israel
2020
128 minutes
Arabic
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ada Ushpiz
Ada Ushpiz
Philippa Kowarsky
Philippa Kowarsky
Channel 8
NFCT
Danor Glazer
Bilal Saed
Neta Braun
Aviv Aldema
Avi Balleli

There are children, too, among the Palestinian insurgents. For some time now, the Israeli side has observed minors who take an active part in an Intifada, especially with knives. They are harshly dealt with: prison, hardly any judiciary support. Ada Ushpiz, filmmaker and journalist, comes surprisingly close to some of the Palestinian families concerned. She has accompanied the dubious insurgents over several years and witnessed terrible pressure.

Freshly released from prison, 12-year-old Dima encounters a crowd of television people. A few months ago, she was caught with a knife. The attack was said to be aimed at Jewish Israelis. Now, in a frenzy of camera flashes, her mother stands close by her side. But instead of offering protection she assumes the role of an agitator, demanding that her daughter report how she was treated by the Israelis. But Dima remains silent. Her family describes the pubescent girl as mentally handicapped. Dareen is younger than Dima and lives with her brothers, father and a few snakes in the immediate vicinity of their Israeli neighbours. Soldiers stalk the house, sometimes stones fly, Shin Bet, Israel’s domestic intelligence service, is allegedly involved. In her astonishing film, Ushpiz shows a life in constant tension. Her approach is unapologetic and familiar.
Carolin Weidner
Nominated for Prize of the Interreligious Jury, FIPRESCI Prize
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Zustand der Welt
Family Ties
Download Film Details PDF
Opening Film 2021
Media Name: 4a70e8a9-11b6-45e3-89d3-d78c28d64f92.jpg
Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer Offer Avnon
After ten years in Germany, the filmmaker returns to Israel and takes stock of that time, but also looks at his homeland from a changed perspective.
Media Name: 4a70e8a9-11b6-45e3-89d3-d78c28d64f92.jpg

Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer

Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer
Offer Avnon
Opening Film 2021
Documentary Film
Israel
2021
95 minutes
German,
Hebrew,
English,
Polish
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Offer Avnon
Offer Avnon
Offer Avnon

After ten years in Germany, where he acquired “the beautiful language of the former arch enemy”, the filmmaker returns to Haifa and takes stock of the time spent between the rivers Rhine and Neisse, but also looks at his home from a changed perspective. The result is a complex montage of images from those years: conversations, landscapes and objects, sought and found in Germany, Poland and Israel.

“The Rhine Flows to the Mediterranean Sea” attempts the Sisyphean task of a localization between philo- and anti-Semites, the anxious and the indifferent, those who remember and those who suppress. Not an image or sentence that doesn’t trigger a multitude of associations. The devil is in the detail: This film opens our eyes to this. What are the traumas that perpetuate the Holocaust, which the filmmaker, son of a Polish survivor, was unable to forget, “never, not for a single day” in all those years in Germany? What mechanisms of suppression are at work among the relatives of the perpetrators, of the victims? How is the perception, the mind, the memory of the individual shaped by belonging to a nation, a religion or political group? Offer Avnon gives fragmentary answers and each raises new questions. The search for the “uncanny” he began with his film is far from over.
Christoph Terhechte
#
Migration
Redistribution and Having a Say
Media Name: 4b427c9e-7936-4444-b670-a341827ab861.jpg

Once I Entered a Garden

Pa’am nikhnasti legan
Avi Mograbi
Homage Avi Mograbi 2021
Documentary Film
Israel,
Switzerland,
France
2012
99 minutes
Arabic,
Hebrew
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Samir
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Phillipe Bellaïche
Rainer M. Trinkler
Noam Enbar
Florian Eidenbenz

Avi Mograbi met his grandfather in a dream. The setting: Damascus, 1920. Would the two have spoken Arabic or Hebrew at this impossible encounter? It’s amazing that they were able to communicate at all! For Mograbi barely speaks Arabic, and his grandfather only learned Ivrit later. Another impossible conversation begins in his friend Ali Al-Azhari’s flat: between Avi, the Jew, and Ali, the Palestinian. Their lively, affectionate exchange about ancestors, vocabularies and dreams is supposed to prepare for a film that ends up not being made. But since the footage has already been shot, why not use it to tackle a new Israeli-Palestine reality?

Sylvia Görke
#
State of the World
Homage Avi Mograbi 2021
Media Name: 0dfc297f-7581-4a38-a0b5-23eb1b3372c7.jpg
The First 54 Years – An Abbreviated Manual for Military Occupation Avi Mograbi
Why and for what purpose does politics resort to the model of “military occupation”? Avi Mograbi uses the example of “Israel-Palestine” to explain its standard mechanisms and aporias.
Media Name: 0dfc297f-7581-4a38-a0b5-23eb1b3372c7.jpg

The First 54 Years – An Abbreviated Manual for Military Occupation

54 hashanim harishonot – madrikh mekutzar lekibush tzva’i
Avi Mograbi
Homage Avi Mograbi 2021
Documentary Film
France,
Finland,
Israel,
Germany
2021
110 minutes
Hebrew,
English
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Camille Laemlé
Serge Lalou
Annie Ohayon-Dekel
Fabrice Puchault
Heino Deckert
Leila Lyytikäinen
Elina Pohjola
Farid Rezkallah
Anne Grolleron
Avi Mograbi
The Party Film Sales
Avi Mograbi
Tulik Gallon
Philippe Bellaiche
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi

The archived testimonies of “Breaking the Silence”, an association of military veterans, are to be turned into a compilation of “service incidents” in the Israeli-occupied territories. But Avi Mograbi confesses: “My films tend to get complicated, even when my intention is to make a very simple film.” His reaction to a complex doom is artistically and intellectually commensurate: complex. Once again he uses a built-in commentary function in which he himself, white-bearded, explains the tricky situation to his audience: not as a special “Israel-Palestine” case, but as the bitter standard application of the globally familiar aporetic model of “military occupation”.

Sylvia Görke
#
State of the World
Media Name: 4a763a31-8e8b-4c56-8feb-e1a972af21df.jpg

The Good Soldier

Le bon soldat
Silvina Landsmann
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Documentary Film
Israel,
France,
Germany
2021
88 minutes
Hebrew,
English
subtitles: 
English, German Subtitles for deaf and hard-of-hearing

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Silvina Landsmann
Silvina Landsmann
Pierre-Olivier Bardet
Christoph Menardi
Silvina Landsmann
Tal Shefi
Ami Arad
Guy Barkay
Nadir Fleishman
Zohar Cheppa
Tully Chen

The NGO “Breaking the Silence” – BtS for short – consists of veteran Israeli soldiers who, by collecting personal accounts of their memories, want to raise awareness of everyday military life and the treatment of the population in the Occupied Territories. Director Silvina Landsmann’s film allows us a look behind the scenes of a contested group with a controversial approach in the midst of a conflict that’s been smouldering for more than 70 years.

What makes a good soldier? The ability to execute orders without scruples, or the consideration of higher moral goals when dealing with the enemy? For many members of BtS, the latter was only possible after active military service. In their work, they engage with operations and acts that in retrospect seem wrong to them. They address the Israeli population and foreign media with videos, lectures and city tours. The streets of Hebron are the site of frequent clashes between BtS, Israeli settlers and the army. On the political level, too, the organisation is harshly criticized. They are accused of fabricating stories, damaging Israel’s reputation and playing into the hands of anti-Semites. Landsmann observes with a cinematic, sober eye how the group struggles internally and externally to find its voice.
Kim Busch
Nominated for Leipziger Ring
#
State of the World
Media Name: fb455c69-fa2f-4a5a-9e07-67528cc90d01.jpg

Z32

Z32
Avi Mograbi
Homage Avi Mograbi 2021
Documentary Film
Israel,
France
2008
81 minutes
Hebrew
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Noam Enbar
Philippe Bellaiche
Dominique Vieillard

Under file entry Z32, the testimony of a former elite soldier of the Israeli army is preserved. He confesses to having participated in the killing of Palestinians. Was it a breach of duty resulting from high spirits, collateral damage of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict or the self-fulfilling prophecy of every military training? Avi Mograbi uses the testimony and his own disturbance as an occasion to re-interrogate the confessor who is made anonymous by image manipulation. He calls his cross examination a “documentary musical tragedy”, because he sings his comments right into the experimental interrogation room: “Oy, I’m harbouring a murderer, oy, inside my film.”

Sylvia Görke
#
State of the World

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Internationaler Wettbewerb 2020
Media Name: 23541811-9c07-4fb5-a022-33b0fd4e542c.jpg
Children Ada Ushpiz
Warum beteiligen sich palästinensische Minderjährige an der Intifada gegen Israel? Ada Ushpiz begleitet Kinder und ihre Familien und wird Zeugin eines ungeheuerlichen Drucks.
Media Name: 23541811-9c07-4fb5-a022-33b0fd4e542c.jpg

Children

Yeladim
Ada Ushpiz
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2020
128 Minuten
Arabisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Ada Ushpiz
Ada Ushpiz
Philippa Kowarsky
Philippa Kowarsky
Channel 8
Danor Glazer
Bilal Saed
Neta Braun
Aviv Aldema
Avi Balleli

Zu Palästinas Aufständischen zählen auch Kinder. Auf israelischer Seite beobachtet man seit einiger Zeit Minderjährige, die sich aktiv an einer Intifada beteiligen, insbesondere mit Messern. Der Umgang mit ihnen ist hart: Gefängnis, kaum Beistand von Seiten der Justiz. Ada Ushpiz, Filmemacherin und Journalistin, kommt einigen betroffenen palästinensischen Familien erstaunlich nah. Über mehrere Jahre begleitet sie die zweifelhaften Widerständigen und wird Zeugin eines ungeheuerlichen Drucks.

Gerade aus dem Gefängnis entlassen, gerät die 12-jährige Dima an eine Schar von Fernsehleuten. Vor einigen Monaten wurde sie mit einem Messer aufgegriffen. Die Attacke habe jüdischen Israelis gegolten, heißt es. Nun, im Blitzlichtgewitter, steht ihre Mutter dicht an ihrer Seite. Doch anstatt Schutz zu bieten, übernimmt sie die Rolle der Anstachlerin: Ihre Tochter soll berichten, wie es ihr bei den Israelis ergangen sei. Doch Dima schweigt. Von ihrer Familie wird die Pubertierende als mental geschädigt beschrieben. Dareen ist jünger als Dima und lebt mit Brüdern, Vater und einigen Schlangen in unmittelbarer Nähe zur israelischen Nachbarschaft. Soldaten belauern das Haus, manchmal fliegen Steine, der Schin Bet, Israels Inlandsgeheimdienst, ist angeblich involviert. Ushpiz zeigt in ihrem erstaunlichen Film ein Leben in ständiger Anspannung. Ihr Zugang ist unumwunden und vertraut.
Carolin Weidner
Nominiert für: Preis der Interreligiösen Jury, FIPRESCI Preis
#
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Zustand der Welt
Family Ties
Download Film Details PDF
Eröffnungsfilm 2021
Media Name: 4a70e8a9-11b6-45e3-89d3-d78c28d64f92.jpg
Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer Offer Avnon
Nach zehn Jahren in Deutschland kehrt der Filmemacher zurück nach Israel und lässt diese Zeit Revue passieren, schaut aber auch mit verändertem Blick auf die eigene Heimat.
Media Name: 4a70e8a9-11b6-45e3-89d3-d78c28d64f92.jpg

Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer

Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer
Offer Avnon
Eröffnungsfilm 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Israel
2021
95 Minuten
Deutsch,
Hebräisch,
Englisch,
Polnisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Offer Avnon
Offer Avnon
Offer Avnon

Nach zehn Jahren in Deutschland, wo er „die schöne Sprache des ehemaligen Erzfeindes“ erwarb, kehrt der Filmemacher zurück nach Haifa und lässt seine Zeit zwischen Rhein und Neiße Revue passieren, schaut aber auch mit verändertem Blick auf seine Heimat. Das Resultat ist eine komplexe Montage von Bildern dieser Jahre: Gespräche, Landschaften und Gegenstände, gesucht und gefunden in Deutschland, Polen und Israel.

„Der Rhein fließt ins Mittelmeer“ betreibt die Sisyphusarbeit einer Verortung zwischen Philo- und Antisemiten, Bemühten und Gleichgültigen, Erinnerern und Ausblendern. Kein Bild, kein Satz, der nicht mannigfaltige Assoziationen auslöste. Der Teufel steckt im Detail – dafür öffnet dieser Film die Augen. Durch welche Traumata lebt der Holocaust fort, den der Filmemacher, Sohn eines polnischen Überlebenden, in all den Jahren in Deutschland „nie, auch nicht für einen einzigen Tag“ vergessen konnte? Welche Mechanismen der Verdrängung wirken bei den Angehörigen der Täter, bei denen der Opfer? Wie ist die Wahrnehmung, das Bewusstsein, die Erinnerung des Einzelnen geprägt durch seine Zugehörigkeit zu einer Nation, einer Religion oder politischen Gruppierung? Offer Avnon gibt Antworten in fragmentarischer Form, und jede wirft weitere Fragen auf. Die Suche nach jenem „Unheimlichen“, auf die er sich mit seinem Film begeben hat, ist längst nicht abgeschlossen.
Christoph Terhechte
#
Flucht
Umverteilen und Mitreden
Media Name: 4b427c9e-7936-4444-b670-a341827ab861.jpg

Once I Entered a Garden

Pa’am nikhnasti legan
Avi Mograbi
Hommage Avi Mograbi 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Israel,
Schweiz,
Frankreich
2012
99 Minuten
Arabisch,
Hebräisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Samir
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Phillipe Bellaïche
Rainer M. Trinkler
Noam Enbar
Florian Eidenbenz

Avi Mograbi begegnete im Traum seinem Großvater. Schauplatz: Damaskus, 1920. Ob die beiden bei diesem unmöglichen Zusammentreffen arabisch oder hebräisch sprachen? Dass sie sich überhaupt verständigen konnten! Denn Mograbi ist des Arabischen kaum mächtig, und der Großvater lernte Iwrit erst später. In der Wohnung des Freundes Ali Al-Azhari beginnt ein anderes unmögliches Gespräch: zwischen Avi, dem Juden, und Ali, dem Palästinenser. Ihr quirliger, zugewandter Austausch über Vorfahren, Vokabeln und Träume soll einen Film vorbereiten, der dann nicht entsteht. Aber da das Material nun schon einmal gedreht ist: Warum damit nicht eine neue israelisch-palästinensische Wirklichkeit in Angriff nehmen?!

Sylvia Görke
#
Zustand der Welt
Media Name: 0dfc297f-7581-4a38-a0b5-23eb1b3372c7.jpg

The First 54 Years – An Abbreviated Manual for Military Occupation

54 hashanim harishonot – madrikh mekutzar lekibush tzva’i
Avi Mograbi
Hommage Avi Mograbi 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Frankreich,
Finnland,
Israel,
Deutschland
2021
110 Minuten
Hebräisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Camille Laemlé
Serge Lalou
Annie Ohayon-Dekel
Fabrice Puchault
Heino Deckert
Leila Lyytikäinen
Elina Pohjola
Farid Rezkallah
Anne Grolleron
Avi Mograbi
The Party Film Sales
Avi Mograbi
Tulik Gallon
Philippe Bellaiche
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi

Aus den archivierten Zeugnissen von „Breaking the Silence“, einer Vereinigung von Militärveteranen, sollte eine Kompilation von „Dienstvorfällen“ in den israelisch besetzten Gebieten werden. Aber Avi Mograbi gesteht: „Meine Filme neigen dazu, kompliziert zu werden, selbst wenn ich mir vornehme, sie sehr einfach zu machen.“ Er reagiert auf ein komplexes Verhängnis künstlerisch und intellektuell angemessen: komplex. Erneut tut er dies mit einer eingebauten Kommentarfunktion, in der er selbst, weißbärtig, seinem Publikum die vertrackte Lage erklärt: nicht als Sonderfall „Israel-Palästina“, sondern als bittere Standardanwendung des weltweit eingeführten aporetischen Modells „militärische Okkupation“.

Sylvia Görke
#
Zustand der Welt
Media Name: 4a763a31-8e8b-4c56-8feb-e1a972af21df.jpg

The Good Soldier

Le bon soldat
Silvina Landsmann
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Israel,
Frankreich,
Deutschland
2021
88 Minuten
Hebräisch,
Englisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch, deutsche Untertitel für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Hörfähigkeit

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Silvina Landsmann
Silvina Landsmann
Pierre-Olivier Bardet
Christoph Menardi
Silvina Landsmann
Tal Shefi
Ami Arad
Guy Barkay
Nadir Fleishman
Zohar Cheppa
Tully Chen

Die NGO „Breaking the Silence” – kurz BtS – besteht aus ehemaligen israelischen Soldaten und Soldatinnen, die durch das Sammeln persönlicher Erinnerungsberichte auf den militärischen Alltag und den Umgang mit der Bevölkerung in den besetzten Gebieten aufmerksam machen wollen. Die Regisseurin Silvina Landsmann ermöglicht mit ihrem Film einen Blick hinter die Kulissen einer umstrittenen Gruppierung mit einem kontrovers diskutierten Ansatz inmitten eines über 70 Jahre schwelenden Konflikts.

Was macht einen guten Soldaten aus? Die Fähigkeit, ohne Skrupel Befehle auszuführen, oder die Berücksichtigung von höheren moralischen Zielen im Umgang mit dem Feind? Letzteres war vielen Mitgliedern von BtS erst nach ihrer aktiven Militärzeit möglich. In ihrer Arbeit setzen sie sich mit Einsätzen und Handlungen auseinander, die ihnen heute falsch vorkommen. Mit Videos, Vorträgen und Stadtführungen wenden sie sich an die israelische Bevölkerung und an ausländische Medien. Auf den Straßen Hebrons kommt es immer wieder zum Zusammenstoß zwischen BtS, israelischen Siedlern und dem Militär. Auch auf politischer Ebene wird die Organisation scharf kritisiert. Ihr wird vorgeworfen, Geschichten zu erfinden, dem Ruf Israels zu schaden und dem Antisemitismus in die Hände zu spielen. Mit filmisch nüchternen Bildern beobachtet Landsmann, wie die Gruppe äußerlich und innerlich um ihre Stimme kämpft.
Kim Busch
Nominiert für: Leipziger Ring
#
Zustand der Welt
Hommage Avi Mograbi 2021
Media Name: fb455c69-fa2f-4a5a-9e07-67528cc90d01.jpg
Z32 Avi Mograbi
Ein Ex-Soldat der israelischen Armee erklärt sich der Tötung von Palästinensern für mitschuldig. Er stellt sich einem filmischen Kreuzverhör, das Avi Mograbi singend kommentiert.
Media Name: fb455c69-fa2f-4a5a-9e07-67528cc90d01.jpg

Z32

Z32
Avi Mograbi
Hommage Avi Mograbi 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Israel,
Frankreich
2008
81 Minuten
Hebräisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Noam Enbar
Philippe Bellaiche
Dominique Vieillard

Unter dem Akteneintrag Z32 ist die Aussage eines ehemaligen Elite-Soldaten der israelischen Armee bewahrt. Er bekennt, an der Tötung von Palästinensern beteiligt gewesen zu sein. War das ein Dienstvergehen aus Übermut, ein Kollateralschaden des israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikts oder die selbsterfüllende Prophezeiung jeder militärischen Zurichtung? Avi Mograbi nimmt das Zeugnis und die eigene Verstörung zum Anlass, den durch Bildmanipulationen anonymisierten Geständigen erneut zu befragen. Sein Kreuzverhör nennt er „dokumentarische Musical-Tragödie“. Denn er singt seinen Kommentar mitten hinein in den experimentellen Vernehmungsraum: „Oy, ich beherberge einen Mörder, oy, in meinem Film.“

Sylvia Görke
#
Zustand der Welt