Film Archive

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Kids DOK 2020
Media Name: 8c3c9530-475c-40f3-8898-f989cc36c6b9.jpg
Der kleine Vogel und die Bienen Lena von Döhren
What’s this? The little bird wonders about its buzzing neighbour and stumbles after the bee across the meadows. But watch out, the fox is already lurking behind a tree!
Media Name: 8c3c9530-475c-40f3-8898-f989cc36c6b9.jpg

The Little Bird and the Bees

Der kleine Vogel und die Bienen
Lena von Döhren
Kids DOK 2020
Animated Film
Switzerland
2020
4 minutes
without dialogue
subtitles: 
None

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lena von Döhren
Gerd Gockell
SRF Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen
Georg Gruber
Lena von Döhren
Lena von Döhren
Fee Liechti
Martin Waespe

It’s spring and the little bird discovers the first leaves on his tree. Already the buds open and the bee comes buzzing. Curious, the little bird stumbles after it and almost overlooks the fox who is growling hungrily again. After the farting caterpillar last year, the bird can now be happy about a new companion.

#
Witty
Audience Award Competition 2021
Media Name: a3e7fde0-de60-4478-bf48-e80fa78bb5b3.jpg
Dida Nikola Ilić, Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Nikola lives between two countries and three women: mother, wife and grandmother. When big changes lie ahead, the roles are redistributed. With great charm and humour.
Media Name: a3e7fde0-de60-4478-bf48-e80fa78bb5b3.jpg

Dida

Dida
Nikola Ilić, Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Competition for the Audience Award 2021
Documentary Film
Switzerland
2021
78 minutes
Serbian,
German
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nikola Ilić
Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Franziska Sonder
Karin Koch
Raffaella Pontarelli
Nikola Ilić
Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Pablo Ferro Živanović
Myriam Flury
Heidi Happy
Vladimir Rakić
Ivan Antić

Nikola is a son, husband and grandson who teams up with his wife Corina to make a film about this. At its centre is his mother Dida who, due to a learning disability, has always been dependent on Nikola’s grandmother and lives with her in a small two-room flat. So far, so good. But Granny is getting old and Dida longs for independence. So it’s up to Nikola, who suddenly finds himself in charge. A charming look at a family in transition.

It’s a constant back and forth, as the couple live in Switzerland while mother Dida and Granny Dobrila live in Belgrade. No sooner have Corina and Nikola stepped out of the bus in one place when they find themselves on the return journey. Or is it the outward journey? Grandmother and daughter are a functional-dysfunctional team – one of them the brain, the other the executing body. The fact that Dida is much more than a shadow of her carer becomes apparent when Dobrila increasingly withdraws into an observer’s position. How can the grandson take over his grandmother’s duties without trading his own independence for that of his mother? The two directors succeed in making a touching film about the inescapable changes in their family without slipping into heaviness, working with lots of humour and a camera that seems to be present under any circumstances.
Kim Busch
Nominated for MDR Film Prize
#
Small Worlds, Big People
Family Ties
Media Name: 25995f60-0bae-4810-94a1-5ef646a036c9.jpg

Fulesee

Fulesee
Christina Benz
International Competition Short Film 2020
Animated Film
Switzerland
2019
4 minutes
Swiss German
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christina Benz
Marco Leisi
Gabriela Bloch Steinmann
Christina Benz
Patric Marino
Christina Benz
Christina Benz
Christine Rüfenacht
Christof Steinmann
Oli Kuster

With darkness comes fear, and with fear the light disappears. During a dive together, sunken memories rise in “him”. And just like the process of sedimentation, when the lake “rots”, the open water becomes a swamp. Growing anxiety accelerates the breath to the rhythm of the increasingly intense lyrical language. Meanwhile the power of the vortices and expressive Swiss-German tone serve to tint and shape this captivatingly graphical sand animation.

André Eckardt
Nominated for mephisto 97.6 Audience Award
#
Small Worlds, Big People
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Sinn und Sein
Download Film Details PDF
Re-Visions 2020
Media Name: 05157710-9261-4de9-856f-433375b42230.png
Grüezi Jonas Raeber
A plaid man, a friendly hello, a praise of travelling to the South – followed by an animated escalation of everything that long needed to be said.
Media Name: 05157710-9261-4de9-856f-433375b42230.png

Hello

Grüezi
Jonas Raeber
Re-Visions 2020
Animated Film
Switzerland
1995
3 minutes
Swiss German
subtitles: 
German

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jonas Raeber
Jonas Raeber
SWAMP Animation Luzern
Jonas Raeber
Jonas Raeber
Daniel Bühler

A short yes and a long but. A man in a plaid shirt says a friendly hello and rhapsodizes about travelling to southern countries. But when he returns, he finds those southern foreigners have been swept, yes, into Switzerland. That’s not good. Not good at all! Every sentence fires up the next. The longer his hate-rant lasts, the redder and madder the otherwise friendly plaid man grows.

Ralph Eue
#
Zustand der Welt
Media Name: 2b6b2018-759e-45f6-82ac-b7bfdf4e2e7a.jpg

In Nature

Dans la nature
Marcel Barelli
Competition for the Audience Award Short Film 2021
Animated Film
Switzerland
2021
5 minutes
French
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcel Barelli
Nicolas Burlet
Marcel Barelli
Marcel Barelli
Jérôme Vittoz

Animals have no “LGBTQIA*”, they simply are and do, practicing gender, sexuality and family constellations according to desire and necessity. There is still a lot to discover here, as Marcel Barelli reports. He went stalking, observing and listening closely. Briskly animated and wittily narrated, he tells of fantastic zoological caprices and miraculous relationships.

André Eckardt
Nominated for mephisto 97.6 Audience Award
#
Love/Without Love
Witty
Media Name: 4b427c9e-7936-4444-b670-a341827ab861.jpg

Once I Entered a Garden

Pa’am nikhnasti legan
Avi Mograbi
Homage Avi Mograbi 2021
Documentary Film
Israel,
Switzerland,
France
2012
99 minutes
Arabic,
Hebrew
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Samir
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Phillipe Bellaïche
Rainer M. Trinkler
Noam Enbar
Florian Eidenbenz

Avi Mograbi met his grandfather in a dream. The setting: Damascus, 1920. Would the two have spoken Arabic or Hebrew at this impossible encounter? It’s amazing that they were able to communicate at all! For Mograbi barely speaks Arabic, and his grandfather only learned Ivrit later. Another impossible conversation begins in his friend Ali Al-Azhari’s flat: between Avi, the Jew, and Ali, the Palestinian. Their lively, affectionate exchange about ancestors, vocabularies and dreams is supposed to prepare for a film that ends up not being made. But since the footage has already been shot, why not use it to tackle a new Israeli-Palestine reality?

Sylvia Görke
#
State of the World
Kids DOK 2020
Media Name: d5cc04bd-8944-4e55-8c3b-24497d293b92.jpg
Souvenir Paloma Canonica, Cristina Vilches Estella
Father and daughter climb up high, glide through water, travel over land, fly through the air and into space. A film about collecting souvenirs.
Media Name: d5cc04bd-8944-4e55-8c3b-24497d293b92.jpg

Souvenir

Souvenir
Paloma Canonica, Cristina Vilches Estella
Kids DOK 2020
Animated Film
Spain,
Switzerland
2020
14 minutes
without dialogue
subtitles: 
None

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Cristina Vilches Estella
Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Sofía Oriana Infante
Cristina Vilches Estella
Eric Martín Álvarez
Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Cristina Vilches Estella
Alicia Bayona Casas
Paloma Canonica
Alicia Bayona Casas
Cristina Vilches Estella
Paloma Canonica

The day begins for father and daughter. They climb beyond their treehouse, glide over and under water, cross blooming landscapes, travel through the air and fly on into space. By ship, bicycle, balloon or on foot. A film about travelling, collecting souvenirs in passing and the question of what’s left at the end of a life.

#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Media Name: 8986de6e-bbee-46eb-ab90-f497cb630a44.jpg

Their Algeria

Leur Algérie
Lina Soualem
International Competition 2020
Documentary Film
Algeria,
France,
Switzerland,
Qatar
2020
70 minutes
Arabic,
French
subtitles: 
English

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lina Soualem
Marie Balducchi
Karima Chouikh
Palmyre Badinier
Anna Berthollet
Gladys Joujou
Julie Tribout
Rémi Durel

After 62 years of marriage Aïcha Soualem is on her own again. Mabrouk, whom she has left, is nevertheless supplied by her daily with food and sugar cubes. Director Lina Soualem is interested in the relationship between her grandparents, who, as the last remaining Algerians in Thiers, France, look back on an eventful past. An empathic investigation all the way back to their native village of Laaouamer which leaves room for ambiguous emotions.

“Soualem” is the password which not only enables Lina Soualem to unlock the tiny, snow-covered village full of cousins in Algeria, which her grandparents left a long time ago. In a sense, “Soualem” is also the title of this gentle investigation of a granddaughter. And Laaouamer, that little place in Algeria, is only the final destination of a long journey which may be narrated via geographical coordinates but interweaves them closely with biographical and emotional ones. Aïcha and Mabrouk rarely talk about themselves. Instead, self-affixed wall badges speak: “The world’s best mom lives here” or “Welcome to the world’s best grandma’s”. To learn more about the couple, whose lives were shaped by French colonialism, Lina Soualem uses private photos and videos. Her investigation is full of love: persistent, but never prying.
Carolin Weidner
Nominated for Prize of the Interreligious Jury, FIPRESCI Prize
#
Family Ties
Rural vs. Urban
Liebe/ ohne Liebe
Small Worlds, Big People
Download Film Details PDF

Filmarchiv

Jahr

Countries (Film Archive)

Kids DOK 2020
Media Name: 8c3c9530-475c-40f3-8898-f989cc36c6b9.jpg
Der kleine Vogel und die Bienen Lena von Döhren
Was ist das? Der kleine Vogel wundert sich über die summende Nachbarin und stolpert der Biene über die Wiesen hinterher. Doch aufgepasst, der Fuchs lauert schon hinterm Baum!
Media Name: 8c3c9530-475c-40f3-8898-f989cc36c6b9.jpg

Der kleine Vogel und die Bienen

Der kleine Vogel und die Bienen
Lena von Döhren
Kids DOK 2020
Animationsfilm
Schweiz
2020
4 Minuten
ohne Dialog
Untertitel: 
Keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lena von Döhren
Gerd Gockell
SRF Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen
Georg Gruber
Lena von Döhren
Lena von Döhren
Fee Liechti
Martin Waespe

Es ist Frühling und der kleine Vogel entdeckt die ersten Blätter an seinem Baum. Schon öffnen sich die Knospen und die Biene kommt angesummt. Neugierig stolpert der kleine Vogel ihr hinterher und übersieht dabei fast den Fuchs, der schon wieder hungrig knurrt. Nach der pupsenden Raupe im letzten Jahr darf sich der Vogel nun über eine neue Gefährtin freuen.

#
Witty
Wettbewerb Publikumspreis 2021
Media Name: a3e7fde0-de60-4478-bf48-e80fa78bb5b3.jpg
Dida Nikola Ilić, Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Nikola lebt zwischen zwei Ländern und drei Frauen: Mutter, Ehefrau und Oma. Als eine große Veränderung bevorsteht, werden die Rollen neu verteilt. Mit viel Charme und Humor.
Media Name: a3e7fde0-de60-4478-bf48-e80fa78bb5b3.jpg

Dida

Dida
Nikola Ilić, Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Schweiz
2021
78 Minuten
Serbisch,
Deutsch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Nikola Ilić
Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Franziska Sonder
Karin Koch
Raffaella Pontarelli
Nikola Ilić
Corina Schwingruber Ilić
Pablo Ferro Živanović
Myriam Flury
Heidi Happy
Vladimir Rakić
Ivan Antić

Nikola ist Sohn, Ehemann und Enkel und gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Corina macht er darüber einen Film. Im Zentrum steht seine Mutter Dida, die aufgrund einer Lernschwäche seit jeher auf Nikolas Großmutter angewiesen ist und mit ihr in einer kleinen Zweiraumwohnung zusammenlebt. So weit, so gut. Doch die Oma wird älter und Dida sehnt sich nach Unabhängigkeit. Also ist Nikola gefragt, der sich plötzlich in der Rolle des Verantwortlichen wiederfindet. Ein charmanter Blick auf eine Familie im Umbruch.

Es ist ein ewiges Hin und Her. Das Ehepaar wohnt in der Schweiz, Mutter Dida und Oma Dobrila in Belgrad. Kaum sind Corina und Nikola an einem Ort aus dem Bus gestiegen, befinden sie sich schon wieder auf der Rückfahrt. Oder ist es die Hinfahrt? Die Großmutter und ihre Tochter sind ein funktional dysfunktionales Team – die eine das Gehirn und die andere der ausführende Körper. Dass Dida viel mehr ist als der Schatten ihrer Versorgerin, wird dann sichtbar, als Dobrila sich zunehmend in eine Beobachterposition zurückzieht. Wie kann nun der Enkel die Aufgaben der Oma übernehmen, ohne seine eigene Unabhängigkeit für die seiner Mutter einzutauschen? Dem Regieduo gelingt es, einen berührenden Film über die unausweichlichen Veränderungen in der Familie zu machen, ohne ins Schwere abzugleiten – mit viel Humor und einer Kamera, die in allen Lebenslagen dabei zu sein scheint.
Kim Busch
Nominiert für: MDR-Film-Preis
#
Kleine Welten, große Menschen
Familienbande
Media Name: 25995f60-0bae-4810-94a1-5ef646a036c9.jpg

Fulesee

Fulesee
Christina Benz
Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurzfilm 2020
Animationsfilm
Schweiz
2019
4 Minuten
Schweizerdeutsch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Christina Benz
Marco Leisi
Gabriela Bloch Steinmann
Christina Benz
Patric Marino
Christina Benz
Christina Benz
Christine Rüfenacht
Christof Steinmann
Oli Kuster

Mit der Dunkelheit kommt die Angst, mit der Angst schwindet das Licht. Bei einem gemeinsamen Tauchgang steigen in „ihm“ versunkene Erinnerungen auf. Wie bei der Verlandung, beim „Faulen“ des Sees wird der Freiraum des Wassers zum Sumpf. Die wachsende Beklemmung beschleunigt den Atem im Rhythmus der intensiver werdenden lyrischen Sprache. Die Kraft der Strudel und der expressiven schweizerdeutschen Laute färben und formen die bestechend grafische Sandanimation.

André Eckardt
Nominiert für: mephisto 97.6-Publikumspreis
#
Small Worlds, Big People
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Sinn und Sein
Download Film Details PDF
Re-Visionen 2020
Media Name: 05157710-9261-4de9-856f-433375b42230.png
Grüezi Jonas Raeber
Ein karierter Herr, ein freundlicher Gruß, ein Lob auf das Reisen ins südliche Ausland – und dann eine animierte Eskalation von allem, was seit Langem einmal gesagt werden musste.
Media Name: 05157710-9261-4de9-856f-433375b42230.png

Grüezi

Grüezi
Jonas Raeber
Re-Visionen 2020
Animationsfilm
Schweiz
1995
3 Minuten
Schweizerdeutsch
Untertitel: 
Deutsch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Jonas Raeber
Jonas Raeber
SWAMP Animation Luzern
Jonas Raeber
Jonas Raeber
Daniel Bühler

Ein kurzes Ja und ein langes Aber. Ein Herr im Karohemd grüßt freundlich und schwärmt vom Reisen ins südliche Ausland. Aber wenn er zurückkommt, dann hat es diese südlichen Ausländer, ja, in die Schweiz geschwemmt. Das ist nicht gut. Gar nicht gut! Jeder Satz gibt dem darauffolgenden Feuer. Je länger die Hasstirade dauert, desto röter und böser wird der ansonsten freundliche, karierte Herr.

Ralph Eue
#
Zustand der Welt
Media Name: 2b6b2018-759e-45f6-82ac-b7bfdf4e2e7a.jpg

In Nature

Dans la nature
Marcel Barelli
Wettbewerb um den Publikumspreis Kurzfilm 2021
Animationsfilm
Schweiz
2021
5 Minuten
Französisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Marcel Barelli
Nicolas Burlet
Marcel Barelli
Marcel Barelli
Jérôme Vittoz

Tiere kennen kein „LGBTQIA*“, sie sind und machen einfach. Gender, Sexualität und Familienkonstellationen praktizieren sie nach Lust und Notwendigkeit. Da gibt es noch viel zu entdecken, wie Marcel Barelli zu berichten weiß. Er war auf der Pirsch, hat genauestens beobachtet und belauscht. Flott animiert und mit Witz erzählt er von großartigen zoologischen Launen und Beziehungswundern.

André Eckardt
Nominiert für: mephisto 97.6-Publikumspreis
#
Liebe/ohne Liebe
Gewitzt
Media Name: 4b427c9e-7936-4444-b670-a341827ab861.jpg

Once I Entered a Garden

Pa’am nikhnasti legan
Avi Mograbi
Hommage Avi Mograbi 2021
Dokumentarfilm
Israel,
Schweiz,
Frankreich
2012
99 Minuten
Arabisch,
Hebräisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Avi Mograbi
Serge Lalou
Samir
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Avi Mograbi
Noam Enbar
Phillipe Bellaïche
Rainer M. Trinkler
Noam Enbar
Florian Eidenbenz

Avi Mograbi begegnete im Traum seinem Großvater. Schauplatz: Damaskus, 1920. Ob die beiden bei diesem unmöglichen Zusammentreffen arabisch oder hebräisch sprachen? Dass sie sich überhaupt verständigen konnten! Denn Mograbi ist des Arabischen kaum mächtig, und der Großvater lernte Iwrit erst später. In der Wohnung des Freundes Ali Al-Azhari beginnt ein anderes unmögliches Gespräch: zwischen Avi, dem Juden, und Ali, dem Palästinenser. Ihr quirliger, zugewandter Austausch über Vorfahren, Vokabeln und Träume soll einen Film vorbereiten, der dann nicht entsteht. Aber da das Material nun schon einmal gedreht ist: Warum damit nicht eine neue israelisch-palästinensische Wirklichkeit in Angriff nehmen?!

Sylvia Görke
#
Zustand der Welt
Kids DOK 2020
Media Name: d5cc04bd-8944-4e55-8c3b-24497d293b92.jpg
Souvenir Paloma Canonica, Cristina Vilches Estella
Vater und Tochter klettern hoch hinaus, gleiten durchs Wasser, fahren über Land, fliegen durch die Luft und weiter bis ins All. Ein Film über das Sammeln von Erinnerungsstücken.
Media Name: d5cc04bd-8944-4e55-8c3b-24497d293b92.jpg

Souvenir

Souvenir
Paloma Canonica, Cristina Vilches Estella
Kids DOK 2020
Animationsfilm
Spanien,
Schweiz
2020
14 Minuten
ohne Dialog
Untertitel: 
Keine

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Cristina Vilches Estella
Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Sofía Oriana Infante
Cristina Vilches Estella
Eric Martín Álvarez
Paloma Canonica
Cristina Vilches Estella
Cristina Vilches Estella
Alicia Bayona Casas
Paloma Canonica
Alicia Bayona Casas
Cristina Vilches Estella
Paloma Canonica

Für Vater und Tochter beginnt der Tag. Sie klettern über ihr Baumhaus hinaus, gleiten über und unter Wasser, kommen durch blühende Landschaften, fahren durch die Luft und fliegen weiter ins All. Per Schiff, per Fahrrad, im Ballon oder zu Fuß. Ein Film über das Reisen, das Sammeln von Erinnerungsstücken im Vorbeiziehen und die Frage, was am Ende eines Lebens übrig bleibt.

#
Poesie und Grenzgänge
Media Name: 8986de6e-bbee-46eb-ab90-f497cb630a44.jpg

Their Algeria

Leur Algérie
Lina Soualem
Internationaler Wettbewerb 2020
Dokumentarfilm
Algerien,
Frankreich,
Schweiz,
Katar
2020
70 Minuten
Arabisch,
Französisch
Untertitel: 
Englisch

Credits DOK Leipzig Logo

Lina Soualem
Marie Balducchi
Karima Chouikh
Palmyre Badinier
Anna Berthollet
Gladys Joujou
Julie Tribout
Rémi Durel

Nach 62 Ehejahren steht Aïcha Soualem wieder auf eigenen Beinen. Mabrouk, den sie verlassen hat, wird von ihr dennoch täglich mit Speisen und Zuckerwürfeln versorgt. Regisseurin Lina Soualem interessiert sich für die Beziehung ihrer Großeltern, die als letzte verbliebene Algerier im französischen Thiers auf eine bewegte Vergangenheit blicken. Eine einfühlsame Recherche bis ins Heimatdorf Laaouamer, die uneindeutige Emotionen zulässt.

„Soualem“ lautet das Passwort. Es ermöglicht Lina Soualem nicht nur, den winzigen, verschneiten Ort in Algerien mitsamt seinen Cousins und Cousinen zu erschließen, aus dem ihre Großeltern vor sehr langer Zeit fortgegangen sind – „Soualem“ ist gewissermaßen auch die Überschrift für diese sanfte Nachforschung einer Enkelin. Und Laaouamer, jener algerische Flecken, bildet dabei nur den Endpunkt einer längeren Reise, die sich zwar über geografische Koordinaten erzählt, diese aber eng mit biografischen wie emotionalen verwebt. Aïcha und Mabrouk sprechen kaum über sich. Dafür sprechen selbst angebrachte Wandplaketten: „Hier wohnt die beste Mutter der Welt“ oder „Willkommen bei der besten Großmutter der Welt“. Um noch mehr über beide zu erfahren, für deren Lebensweg der französische Kolonialismus bestimmend war, nutzt Lina Soualem private Fotografien und Videoaufnahmen. Ihre Ermittlung ist eine liebevolle: nachdrücklich, nie bohrend.
Carolin Weidner
Nominiert für: Preis der Interreligiösen Jury, FIPRESCI Preis
#
Family Ties
Rural vs. Urban
Liebe/ ohne Liebe
Small Worlds, Big People
Download Film Details PDF